Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 13:30:44
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
Ireland
|
Hey all, another new Chaos Space Marines question.
If I attach Abaddon to a squad of Terminators with the Mark of Slaanesh and the Icon of Excess, does he also gain Feel No Pain? (For example, this would apply to all Marks and Icons for Abaddon)
I believe he does as the Icon rules state that "All models in the unit with the Mark of.... have the ... rule" and due to Mark of Chaos Ascendant he has all four marks and while attached to that squad he is a model in that unit.
Am I reading this wrong?
I suppose the question can be broken down like this:
1. Do ICs joined to squads benefit from the squads Icon if they have the correct mark?
2. Does Abaddon have all four Marks of Chaos for the purposes of the Icon?
3. Can Abaddon even join a Marked Squad as if the above is true, he does technically have a different Mark of Chaos to the Mark of the Squad? (Mark of Chaos rules state that an Independent Character cannot join a squad with a different Mark of Chaos)
|
By the 37 keys of Tzeentch,We open the way for our brothers,
By the 1000 whispers of Slaanesh we call to them,
By the 12 plagues of Nurgle we fell their enemies,
And by the mighty axe of Khorne we cut open the world for them!
- Ritual of Summoning, Recited by Amphion and Zethus Dark Sorcerers of the Deimos Peninsula,Kronos
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 14:02:51
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
1. Yes, the icon rules say that all models in the unit benefit. An IC attached is by definition a model in the unit.
2. Yes, Abaddon's rules specify that... "He also has all four Marks of Chaos."
3. Moot due to above.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 14:35:27
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler
Ireland
|
Thanks for confirming that. I reread (and comphrended) the Mark rules and I definitely got it back asswards. Nothing stopping an Abaddon joining a squad with a Mark as there isn't any squad who can take a different Mark to Abaddon.
|
By the 37 keys of Tzeentch,We open the way for our brothers,
By the 1000 whispers of Slaanesh we call to them,
By the 12 plagues of Nurgle we fell their enemies,
And by the mighty axe of Khorne we cut open the world for them!
- Ritual of Summoning, Recited by Amphion and Zethus Dark Sorcerers of the Deimos Peninsula,Kronos
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 14:45:24
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Heres a fun question...
Abbaddon turns into a Daemon Prince...
Does he get all 4 Mark bonuses  ?
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 14:54:20
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
ATL, GA
|
Bloodhorror wrote:Heres a fun question...
Abbaddon turns into a Daemon Prince...
Does he get all 4 Mark bonuses  ?
He becomes a Daemon Prince dedicated to all four Gods, and therefor benefits simultaneously from all of the subsets ( DP of Tzeentch reroll 1s to save, etc.) With RAW there is no other way to do this until FAQ'd.
He does NOT however gain the benefit of the individual Marks. AKA he does not have +1 to his invul from MoT, and does not gain +1 Toughness from MoN. This is because Daemon Princes themselves can never take Marks. Reread the unit's entry in the army list.
"Must be upgraded to be a: Daemon of. . . " they never purchase Marks directly.
Under the rules for Dark Apotheosis: "If a champion has a Mark of Chaos, the Daemon Prince is instead a Daemon of the same Chaos god." Emphasis: instead. They lose the mark, become dedicated to X god. Therefor Abaddon loses his Marks & the Mark of Chaos Ascendant rule and becomes a Daemon Prince benefitting from the rules of all 4 gods with power armor and the Black Crusader warlord trait.
To OP:
Thank you thank you thank you Thank you thank you thank you Thank you thank you thank you Thank you thank you thank you Thank you thank you thank you Thank you thank you thank you
Abaddon will now have an escort with Feel no Pain, HUZZAH
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/08 14:55:43
"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.
"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John
-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:
15 : 0 : 2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 16:28:19
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I dont think, Abby can join other squads if they are mark with anything.
RAW says that an IC with a Mark of Chaos may not join a unit with a different Mark of Chaos.
While he does have one same Mark, the other three Marks prevent him from joining any Marked unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 17:21:18
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners
Boston, MA
|
40k-noob wrote:I dont think, Abby can join other squads if they are mark with anything.
RAW says that an IC with a Mark of Chaos may not join a unit with a different Mark of Chaos.
While he does have one same Mark, the other three Marks prevent him from joining any Marked unit.
I dare you to find a Chaos player that will agree that the Warmaster of the Black Legion, head of 13 Black Crusades, and the most hated and feared Chaos Space Marine in the known galaxy can't join any damn unit he wants.
Abbadon is not marked to one particular god. All the gods normally oppose and hate each other, however Abbadon is blessed by all four.
|
0000 - Rest Period - BUT YOU BETTER NOT SPEND FOUR WHOLE HOURS SLEEPING. IF YOU DO YOU ARE NOT ANGRY ENOUGH AND TOMORROW YOU GET THE FIRST CHANCE TO PLAY PIN THE TAU ON THE CARNIFEX. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 17:29:20
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
djdarknoise wrote:40k-noob wrote:I dont think, Abby can join other squads if they are mark with anything.
RAW says that an IC with a Mark of Chaos may not join a unit with a different Mark of Chaos.
While he does have one same Mark, the other three Marks prevent him from joining any Marked unit.
I dare you to find a Chaos player that will agree that the Warmaster of the Black Legion, head of 13 Black Crusades, and the most hated and feared Chaos Space Marine in the known galaxy can't join any damn unit he wants.
Abbadon is not marked to one particular god. All the gods normally oppose and hate each other, however Abbadon is blessed by all four.
Fluff is nice...but it is not Rules
Abby is strong enough as is.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/08 17:30:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 17:34:06
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
ATL, GA
|
40k-noob wrote: djdarknoise wrote:40k-noob wrote:I dont think, Abby can join other squads if they are mark with anything.
RAW says that an IC with a Mark of Chaos may not join a unit with a different Mark of Chaos.
While he does have one same Mark, the other three Marks prevent him from joining any Marked unit.
I dare you to find a Chaos player that will agree that the Warmaster of the Black Legion, head of 13 Black Crusades, and the most hated and feared Chaos Space Marine in the known galaxy can't join any damn unit he wants.
Abbadon is not marked to one particular god. All the gods normally oppose and hate each other, however Abbadon is blessed by all four.
Fluff is nice...but it is not Rules
Abby is strong enough as is.
Your opinion that he is strong enough as is. . is, unsurprisingly, also not Rules.
The Rules as Written:
"An Independent Character with a Mark of Chaos may not join a unit with a different Mark of Chaos."
Ex:
A Chaos Lord w/ Mark of Khorne may NOT join a unit of Thousand Sons which bear the Mark of Tzeentch.
Abaddon, who has ALL FOUR MARKS, may join any damn unit he wants, because none of them will ever have a different mark than what he bears.
|
"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.
"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John
-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:
15 : 0 : 2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 17:34:38
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
40k-noob wrote:I dont think, Abby can join other squads if they are mark with anything.
RAW says that an IC with a Mark of Chaos may not join a unit with a different Mark of Chaos.
While he does have one same Mark, the other three Marks prevent him from joining any Marked unit.
Not sure I agree with this.
If the rule stated that a unit could not be joined by an IC with a different Mrk, then he would not be ale to join any marked units.
However, sine the rule says that a marked IC cannot join a marked unit with a different Mark, Abby should still be able to join as he is joining a marked unit with the same Mark that he has.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 17:40:34
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:40k-noob wrote:I dont think, Abby can join other squads if they are mark with anything.
RAW says that an IC with a Mark of Chaos may not join a unit with a different Mark of Chaos.
While he does have one same Mark, the other three Marks prevent him from joining any Marked unit.
Not sure I agree with this.
If the rule stated that a unit could not be joined by an IC with a different Mrk, then he would not be ale to join any marked units.
However, sine the rule says that a marked IC cannot join a marked unit with a different Mark, Abby should still be able to join as he is joining a marked unit with the same Mark that he has.
Lets look at it this way:
Abby has Mark of Khorne - Can he join Slaanesh unit = No
Abby has Mark of Nurgle - Can he join Slaanesh unit = No
Abby has Mark of TZ - Can he join Slaanesh unit = No
Abby has Mark of Slaanesh - Can he join Slaanesh unit = Yes
You have 3 no's and 1 yes.
I would say no he cannot joined any marked units.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 17:57:25
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
ATL, GA
|
Mother fether.
So Abaddon the Despoiler, Warmaster of Chaos and leader of 13 Black Crusades cannot join any unit which bears a Mark of Chaos.
Let's see how long that holds up after the FAQ.
|
"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.
"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John
-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:
15 : 0 : 2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 18:08:24
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
40k-noob has a valid point, as I read the RAW. Good catch.
I suspect/hope GW will fix it (or confirm it) in their FAQ, if people ask. Everyone be sure to email them your questions!
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 18:20:37
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
ATL, GA
|
Mannahnin wrote:40k-noob has a valid point, as I read the RAW. Good catch.
I suspect/hope GW will fix it (or confirm it) in their FAQ, if people ask. Everyone be sure to email them your questions!
Aaannnd sent.
Damn. Hopefully my buds don't try and force this one because I really, really don't agree with it.
|
"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.
"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John
-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:
15 : 0 : 2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 18:24:15
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So what email should I send it to?
The customer service one or is there an FAQ email?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 18:29:37
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
ATL, GA
|
40k-noob wrote:So what email should I send it to?
The customer service one or is there an FAQ email?
On this page: http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/content/article.jsp?catId=cat440134a&categoryId=1000018§ion=&aId=3000006
There is information for how to send in an FAQ.
Address is Gamefaqs@gwplc.com
|
"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.
"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John
-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:
15 : 0 : 2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 18:32:37
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Awesome!! Thanks.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/08 18:32:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 18:34:53
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
gamefaqs@gwplc.com
I called and double-checked. The guy I spoke to was interested and said he'd forward the questions on himself as well. He knew about the Plague Zombie question and said where he works at GW they're leaning toward that being a deliberate restriction because enormous units of Plague Zombies would be crazy. He didn't know about the Abaddon issue and agreed it's an issue and should go in the FAQ. I also let him know about the terminators, and he agreed that power fist + combi-weapon being incompatible looks like a mistake.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/08 18:42:53
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 19:24:08
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
ATL, GA
|
That's awesome news, Mannahnin. That would fix two of my three main issues with the new codex. Thank you for the update!
|
"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.
"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John
-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:
15 : 0 : 2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/08 19:26:29
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Abaddon, leader of the 13th black crusade can't currently join any marked unit. No wonder he's having trouble with the imperium.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 22:11:07
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
SLC, UT
|
I completely disagree with 40k noob's point. It says an "IC cannot join"... not "a unit can't be joined." There for, he has a mark. The unit has a mark. Does he have same mark as unit? Yes he does. He also has different marks. However there is no restriction for the squad, only the IC. Because the restriction is IC mark based, he will always have the same mark as the squadhe wwishes to join. This concludes that he can always join any squad.
|
"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."
Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.
Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 22:32:44
Subject: Re:Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
ATL, GA
|
Your trying to break down the grammar as if it means something else. As much as I don't like it, and despite the fact that I intend to play in direct contradiction to it, the interpretation stands.
Abaddon will always have 3 marks any given unit does not have.
Therefor he will always be joining a Unit which has a "different" mark than him (at least 3 times).
His post above provides a good example of why this is a problem.
40k-noob wrote:Happyjew wrote:40k-noob wrote:
Lets look at it this way:
Abby has Mark of Khorne - Can he join Slaanesh unit = No
Abby has Mark of Nurgle - Can he join Slaanesh unit = No
Abby has Mark of TZ - Can he join Slaanesh unit = No
Abby has Mark of Slaanesh - Can he join Slaanesh unit = Yes
You have 3 no's and 1 yes.
I would say no he cannot joined any marked units.
In the above example, written as a word problem.. lol
Abaddon has the Mark of Khorne. True.
Abaddon is trying to join the unit of Noise Marines / CSM with Mark of Slaanesh.
An independent character cannot join a unit with a different Mark of Chaos.
Shut case.
|
"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.
"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John
-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:
15 : 0 : 2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 22:39:34
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
Sothas wrote:I completely disagree with 40k noob's point. It says an " IC cannot join"... not "a unit can't be joined." There for, he has a mark. The unit has a mark. Does he have same mark as unit? Yes he does. He also has different marks. However there is no restriction for the squad, only the IC. Because the restriction is IC mark based, he will always have the same mark as the squadhe wwishes to join. This concludes that he can always join any squad.
Yes but having the same mark doesnt matter only having a different mark. An unmarked lord can join a unit with a mark whereas a marked unit always has a different mark than Abby and therefore can't join.
Again for the purposes of the rule marks that are the same don't matter.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/09 22:41:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 23:00:23
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
SLC, UT
|
Hmmm.... I see the point. I feel this wording can go either way. Its a matter of interpretation. Hurray more questions for the FAQ.
|
"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."
Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.
Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/10 02:12:03
Subject: Re:Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Boneblade wrote:Your trying to break down the grammar as if it means something else. As much as I don't like it, and despite the fact that I intend to play in direct contradiction to it, the interpretation stands.
Abaddon will always have 3 marks any given unit does not have.
Therefor he will always be joining a Unit which has a "different" mark than him (at least 3 times).
His post above provides a good example of why this is a problem.
40k-noob wrote:Happyjew wrote:40k-noob wrote:
Lets look at it this way:
Abby has Mark of Khorne - Can he join Slaanesh unit = No
Abby has Mark of Nurgle - Can he join Slaanesh unit = No
Abby has Mark of TZ - Can he join Slaanesh unit = No
Abby has Mark of Slaanesh - Can he join Slaanesh unit = Yes
You have 3 no's and 1 yes.
I would say no he cannot joined any marked units.
In the above example, written as a word problem.. lol
Abaddon has the Mark of Khorne. True.
Abaddon is trying to join the unit of Noise Marines / CSM with Mark of Slaanesh.
An independent character cannot join a unit with a different Mark of Chaos.
Shut case.
I don't recall saying this... Automatically Appended Next Post: And I will fix the above when I get home and cash use my computer instead of my phone.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/10 02:13:52
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/10 02:16:07
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
ATL, GA
|
From my phone:
Yeahhh the quote thingy messed up
But the point got across
I see you suffer from the symptoms lol
|
"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.
"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John
-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:
15 : 0 : 2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/10 02:27:43
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
There was a similar debate on whether or not Abaddon would benefit from Tally of Pestilence because he technically has a mark of nurgle. Other people would say no because it is worded as "Mark of Chaos Ascendant". Either way, unless the unit Abaddon was joining had a Mark of Chaos Ascendent he could not join.
That said I cant see this one holding up very long, Pretty sad when we already need an FAQ, they only had 4 years to proofread the next codex *smirk.
|
Mess with the best, Die like the rest
4800+ Chaos Space Marines |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/12 21:17:01
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant
|
Just as a heads up on this, I believe people are taking things out of context and not reading properly, that these hatred rulings simply affect DAEMONS they are joining... Non Daemons are simply unaffected.
|
Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.
12,000
14,000
11,000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/12 21:21:49
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
ATL, GA
|
GoliothOnline wrote:Just as a heads up on this, I believe people are taking things out of context and not reading properly, that these hatred rulings simply affect DAEMONS they are joining... Non Daemons are simply unaffected.
Not sure what in the 'eff you are talking about, man. The rules on Pg 30 of the new Chaos dex are fairly clear, otherwise I'd still be in this thread arguing tooth and nail.
Relevant line:
"An Independent Character with a Mark of Chaos may not join a unit with a different Mark of Chaos."
Nowhere in this section, on this page or in this codex is there a specific restriction (or permission) regarding Daemons one way or another. However, in the Daemons codex & FAQ there are plenty of rules stating why ICs from other Codices / dedicated to other Gods cannot join their units.
1) Abaddon could never join a unit of Chaos Daemons as he is not from Codex: Chaos Daemons
2) Abaddon cannot join any Marked unit from Codex: Chaos Space Marines (6th ed) as he will always have at least 3 different Marks than what they have (as illustrated in posts above)
3) No one who plays with me cares and besides which it'll be FAQ'd to death and hopefully soon.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/12 21:22:37
"Better have one flexible neck to be making that shot," Bob said.
"You only assume the Balefire is coming out of his mouth, Bob. In my world, the Heldrake is pooping daemonic fire on your troops as it jets away from their mangled and now burning corpses." -John
-----
CSM: Black Legion
6th Edition Scores:
15 : 0 : 2 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/12 21:32:55
Subject: Abaddon and Squad Icons
|
 |
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant
|
Boneblade wrote:GoliothOnline wrote:Just as a heads up on this, I believe people are taking things out of context and not reading properly, that these hatred rulings simply affect DAEMONS they are joining... Non Daemons are simply unaffected.
Not sure what in the 'eff you are talking about, man. The rules on Pg 30 of the new Chaos dex are fairly clear, otherwise I'd still be in this thread arguing tooth and nail.
Relevant line:
"An Independent Character with a Mark of Chaos may not join a unit with a different Mark of Chaos."
Nowhere in this section, on this page or in this codex is there a specific restriction (or permission) regarding Daemons one way or another. However, in the Daemons codex & FAQ there are plenty of rules stating why ICs from other Codices / dedicated to other Gods cannot join their units.
1) Abaddon could never join a unit of Chaos Daemons as he is not from Codex: Chaos Daemons
2) Abaddon cannot join any Marked unit from Codex: Chaos Space Marines (6th ed) as he will always have at least 3 different Marks than what they have (as illustrated in posts above)
3) No one who plays with me cares and besides which it'll be FAQ'd to death and hopefully soon.
Last I checked from the older codex rules Mark of Chaos Ascendant, wasn't itself listed as all four marks or for that matter having the name of all four marks... It simply incurred the benefits of all 4 marks =/ As for the Daemon rules several units in the CSM codex have the Daemon rules actually lol for instance, Warp Talons!
|
Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.
12,000
14,000
11,000
|
|
 |
 |
|