| Author | 
					Message | 
				
				
  | 
| 
 | 
  | 
| 
Advert
 | 
  
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
 - No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
 
 - Times and dates in your local timezone.
 
 - Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
 
 - Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
 
 - Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
  If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |   
  
  
 
 | 
				 
				
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 10:42:32
	  
	    Subject: Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Camouflaged Zero
	 
 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									So firstly I get that if you have a flamer and target a unit, it can hit models from another unit that may also be under the template. But the situation I'm unsure of is this; say a landspeeder with a multi-melta and a heavy flamer.
  If there is a unit of guardsmen 5" in front and following the same line, a chimera 10" away, could I fire the multi melta at the chimera and call it my target. Then regardless of what happens to the chimera, can I fire my heavy flamer at it as well which will either a/ not damage it and/or b/ be out of range. Then when placing the flamer template it covers the guardsmen as they are in the way between the landspeeder and the chimera.
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
 If your attack is going too well, you have walked into an ambush
 
 The easy way is always mined
 
     | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 11:47:36
	  
	    Subject: Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
	 
 
 
	
	
	 
	
 
		
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									If your template is out of range it automisses so yes you can do this but no guardsmen are hit.
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
  | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 11:59:11
	  
	    Subject: Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
[DCM] 
                            Moustache-twirling Princeps 
	 
 
 
		
	
	
	
	
	 Gone-to-ground in the craters of Coventry
	
		
  
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									As long as you can hit your unit's target, flame away.
  But, if the template doesn't reach your target model, and is then out of range, it doesn't fire at all.
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
  | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 12:06:05
	  
	    Subject: Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
	 
 
 
		
		
	
	
	
	
	 Newcastle, NSW ,Australia
	
		
  
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									You must also cover as much of the enemy vehicle as possible
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
  | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 12:26:20
	  
	    Subject: Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
[DCM] 
				Tilter at Windmills
	 
 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									As the others said.  If the template is not in range to hit/cover the targeted unit, it does not fire at all, per the 6th ed shooting rules.
  
  But otherwise yes, if it were close enough to cover even a little of the chimera, and as long as it is placed to cover as much of the Chimera's hull as you can (as the template rules require), then you can hit any intervening guardsmen as well.
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
 Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226 
  More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 //  BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
 DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
 A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
 The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
 The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
 
 Maelstrom's Edge!   | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 16:54:45
	  
	    Subject: Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Captain of the Forlorn Hope
	 
 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							
									  Mannahnin wrote:As the others said.  If the template is not in range to hit/cover the targeted unit, it does not fire at all, per the 6th ed shooting rules.
 
  But otherwise yes, if it were close enough to cover even a little of the chimera, and as long as it is placed to cover as much of the Chimera's hull as you can (as the template rules require), then you can hit any intervening guardsmen as well. 
 This is correct.
 
  The bigger question is Why would you target the vehicle that you can not damage when the guardsmen are so close you can just cover a bunch of them?
							  
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
 "Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
 
 I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
 
 We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
    | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 17:12:13
	  
	    Subject: Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
	 
 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							
									
 
 you must cover as much of the enemy vehicle without touching any of your own models.  
 
  own models > cover as much as possible
							  
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
         Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog   
  My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog.  Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly.  Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand    chapter and Dark     Mechanicus Allies.  Bionics++       | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 17:15:33
	  
	    Subject: Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            The Conquerer
	 
 
 
		
		
	
	
	
	
	 Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
	
		
  
 						 | 
		
						
						
							
									  DeathReaper wrote:  Mannahnin wrote:As the others said.  If the template is not in range to hit/cover the targeted unit, it does not fire at all, per the 6th ed shooting rules.
 
  But otherwise yes, if it were close enough to cover even a little of the chimera, and as long as it is placed to cover as much of the Chimera's hull as you can (as the template rules require), then you can hit any intervening guardsmen as well. 
 This is correct.
 
  The bigger question is Why would you target the vehicle that you can not damage when the guardsmen are so close you can just cover a bunch of them?  
 
 Because you are also shooting the  MM at the vehicle.
							  
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
 Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
 
 Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
 
 MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!!   | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 18:02:15
	  
	    Subject: Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Fresh-Faced New User
	 
 
	
	
	 
	
 
		
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									In a similar vein to the above question, can the flamer be shot if it can't hurt the target? Over the weekend I had a dreadnought shoot his flamer and melta at my tank and he flamed a bubble wrap unit out of the way so he could charge the tank after. Could he even have fired the flamer at the tank as it had no chance of hurting AV14 and he just used it to flame an intervening unit(while still covering a part of the tanks hull).
  
  In addition can I fire a chimera's heavy bolter at his AV13 dread with no chance of hurting it simply to searchlight it for other units?
							 
							
						 | 
					
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 18:10:00
	  
	    Subject: Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice
	 
 
 
	
	
	 
	
 
	 Columbia SC
	 
		
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							
									magicafiend wrote:In a similar vein to the above question, can the flamer be shot if it can't hurt the target? Over the weekend I had a dreadnought shoot his flamer and melta at my tank and he flamed a bubble wrap unit out of the way so he could charge the tank after. Could he even have fired the flamer at the tank as it had no chance of hurting AV14 and he just used it to flame an intervening unit(while still covering a part of the tanks hull).
 
  In addition can I fire a chimera's heavy bolter at his AV13 dread with no chance of hurting it simply to searchlight it for other units?   
 
 Yes to both questions.
							  
							
						 | 
					
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 18:37:10
	  
	    Subject: Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            The Hive Mind
	 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									As long as the Flamer covered as much of the tank as possible it's fine to burn the bubble wrap. 
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
 My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.    | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 18:51:41
	  
	    Subject: Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Fresh-Faced New User
	 
 
	
	
	 
	
 
		
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									Dam my poor Russes, he was using those forgeworld drop pods with ironclad dreads in them so I was down 2 units of bubble wrap and 2 russes before I had even moved T.T
							 
							
						 | 
					
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 19:26:21
	  
	    Subject: Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Lethal Lhamean
	 
 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									yea i do this all the time, with dreads. ill drop in next to a tank or transport etc next to a bunch of guys, flame the tank as primary (and bake the guys next to it) then use the multimelta to pop the tank. 
  
  as mentioned, as long as your clear what the primary target is, and cover as much of the tank as possible, or in a way thats not just "nicking" the tank to get the infantry, i think its fine. [roviding the template hits the tank.
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
  | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 20:02:30
	  
	    Subject: Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
	 
 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							
									magicafiend wrote:In a similar vein to the above question, can the flamer be shot if it can't hurt the target? Over the weekend I had a dreadnought shoot his flamer and melta at my tank and he flamed a bubble wrap unit out of the way so he could charge the tank after. Could he even have fired the flamer at the tank as it had no chance of hurting AV14 and he just used it to flame an intervening unit(while still covering a part of the tanks hull).
 
  In addition can I fire a chimera's heavy bolter at his AV13 dread with no chance of hurting it simply to searchlight it for other units?   
 
 you could even shoot the heavy bolter at AV12 dreads, cant hurt them either.  
							  
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
         Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog   
  My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog.  Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly.  Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand    chapter and Dark     Mechanicus Allies.  Bionics++       | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 20:55:52
	  
	    Subject: Re:Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Camouflaged Zero
	 
 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									Thanks for the responses. It makes sense about not being able to fire it if the flamers out of range, although I am a little surprised you can shoot it at a vehicle with no chance of hurting it purely to remove bubblewrap units. It will be something to consider in the future. Am I correct in saying that this would also apply to infantry squads, e.g tactical marines with a combi-flamer and meltagun. Use sergeants combiflamer on an AV13 tank to clear the bubble wrap and then get a clear shot with the meltagun?
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
 If your attack is going too well, you have walked into an ambush
 
 The easy way is always mined
 
     | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2013/01/28 21:18:55
	  
	    Subject: Flamers and targeting with intervening models 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
	 
 
 
	
	
	 
	
 
		
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									Remember all shooting from a unit occurs simultaneously so .clearing the bubble wrap would have no impact on the melta shot and the tank would still get a coversave.
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
  | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
				
		
				  | 
				
					| 
						
					 |