Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 14:42:28
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
I remember reading a pre release FAQ that said Pedro and Lysander could not be in the same legal list.
However- upon receiving my codex last night (and I was just skimming for rules changes) I did not see anything preventing Lysander and Pedro being in the same list.
Anyone?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 14:45:12
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
Netherlands
|
Both have Chapter Tactics (Imperial Fist).
That means both of them can be taken in an Imperial Fists list.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 14:46:50
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Chapter Tactics (not sure page).
While both have the same Chapter Tactics rule, Pedro is Crimson Fists and Lysander is Imperial Fists.
The problem is that there is no Chapter Tactics (Crimson Fists) special rule so at the moment we're not quite sure how Pedro Kantor is supposed to be used.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 15:01:13
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
He can be taken in Imperial Fist detachments. What's the confusion?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 15:39:08
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
this was my understanding as well.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 16:28:26
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
way i see it, imperial fists and crimson fists are 2 separate armies, but share the same tactics. you can take both in the same army, but kantor's special rules will only affect the crimson fists datachment, while lysander will only affect the imperial fists, unless his rules state that they affect the models with the tactics, unlike kantor's rules which specify crimson fists.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 16:35:12
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
One of the 2 would be an allied detachment, with unit requirements having to be matched (1 troop min).
Whats interesting is Lysanders Morale re-roll effects everyone with the IF tactics...which includes CFs...but Kantor's Preffered enemy (Orks) only works on CFs.
So yeah, you could take Kantor, but it would have to be an Allied Detachment (in the same way you could also take Vulkan or calgar, or Shrike).
|
Life isn't fair. But wouldn't it be worse if Life were fair, and all of the really terrible things that happen to us were because we deserved them?
M. Cole.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 16:38:44
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
Chapters with the same CT count as the same detachment, so no allies are required, they are just one army. You can legally take Lysander and Pedro as one army just fine. There's no confusion in the rules as written, people are just getting hung up on incorrect rumours put out by 40k radio.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/10 16:39:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 16:48:08
Subject: Re:Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
You cannot have models with different chapter tactics in the same detachment, so since pedro has "crimson fists" and lysander has "imperial fists" it's no go RAW.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 16:52:16
Subject: Re:Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
juraigamer wrote:You cannot have models with different chapter tactics in the same detachment, so since pedro has "crimson fists" and lysander has "imperial fists" it's no go RAW.
No, Pedro has Chapter Tactics (Imperial Fists).
Also from page 77:
Note that you may field models from two different Chapters
that have the same Chapter Tactics (such as Ultramarines
and Praetors of Orpheus) in the same detachment - these
Chapters are so closely affiliated that they count as a single
army on the battlefield.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/10 16:56:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 16:59:45
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Yeah, page 115 of C: SM shows Pedro with CT: Imperial Fists, as does page 162.
Not sure where people are getting the idea that they have different Chapter Tactics.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 17:42:40
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Ok nevermind, the first guy I read in another thread had it wrong. You can do it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 17:50:17
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
Yeah... Page 77 seems to cover this quite nicely. Totally legal.
Also.. not going to call out any names but... astounded at the number of people coming in here stating things RAW, saying Crimson Fists have CT Crimson fists... who clearly have not even read the rulebook.
Just a pet peeve, but if you are going to post in a RULES forum... don't just make assumptions.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 18:55:34
Subject: Re:Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Just remember that the Oath of Rynn and the Icon of Obstinacy only work if the respective characters are your Warlord.
You can have them both in the same army, but 1 will be your warlord and the others rule will no longer function.
|
2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 19:39:58
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I think the rules should be that they can be in the same detachment and army, but only if the models deploy within 2" of each other for the purpose of performing a "bro fist".
Following this bro fist, they may re-deploy anywhere on the field, including into dedicated transports or even into reserves, and act as though they did not redeploy. They may also perform a further redeployment if some special rule allows it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 20:05:09
Subject: Re:Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
Lehnsherr wrote:Just remember that the Oath of Rynn and the Icon of Obstinacy only work if the respective characters are your Warlord.
You can have them both in the same army, but 1 will be your warlord and the others rule will no longer function.
That is a really good point! See... this is the kind of discussion that is helpful.
DogofWar1 wrote:I think the rules should be that they can be in the same detachment and army, but only if the models deploy within 2" of each other for the purpose of performing a "bro fist".
Following this bro fist, they may re-deploy anywhere on the field, including into dedicated transports or even into reserves, and act as though they did not redeploy. They may also perform a further redeployment if some special rule allows it.
This is a new house rule... thank you
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 21:27:59
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
SLC, UT
|
DogofWar1 wrote:I think the rules should be that they can be in the same detachment and army, but only if the models deploy within 2" of each other for the purpose of performing a "bro fist".
Following this bro fist, they may re-deploy anywhere on the field, including into dedicated transports or even into reserves, and act as though they did not redeploy. They may also perform a further redeployment if some special rule allows it.
Please note: The Bro Fist also applies to Blood Angels and Necrons, but only when facing a nid opponent.
|
"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."
Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.
Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 22:33:35
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
I was gettin geared up for a rule rampage then spotted people got it right n then laughed myself out of bed at the bro fist rule
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/10 23:07:31
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Does the Bro Fist Rule also require you to model your characters so that they are putting out their Bro Fists towards one another?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/11 00:55:43
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Sacrifice to the Dark Gods
|
Another question about Kantor and the IF tacs; does the bolter-fire IF tac effect Kantor's own "posh storm bolter"?
Is the paragraph describing Kantor's weapon as an ancient storm bolter just fluff?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/11 00:59:39
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)
|
bone idol wrote:Another question about Kantor and the IF tacs; does the bolter-fire IF tac effect Kantor's own "posh storm bolter"?
Is the paragraph describing Kantor's weapon as an ancient storm bolter just fluff?
There's already a thread on this.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/550876.page#6035515
|
"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War
"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."
10k
2k
500 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/11 01:06:09
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
TehCheator wrote:Does the Bro Fist Rule also require you to model your characters so that they are putting out their Bro Fists towards one another?
If you consider the Fist of Dorn a fist with which one can bro, then they already are.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/11 01:23:37
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
DogofWar1 wrote:If you consider the Fist of Dorn a fist with which one can bro, then they already are.
Hmmm, well that brings up a Lore question: Was Dorn a Bro?
I think Yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/11 01:37:07
Subject: Re:Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
Can someone clarify this for me ( related to the above question).
Are Special Characters relegated ONLY to the actual chapters they originate in or can you use "Marneus" as your chapter Master for your "Marines of Excellence" home brew chapter who use the Ultramarines Chapter Traits?
|
.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/11 02:33:55
Subject: Re:Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
General Hobbs wrote:
Can someone clarify this for me ( related to the above question).
Are Special Characters relegated ONLY to the actual chapters they originate in or can you use "Marneus" as your chapter Master for your "Marines of Excellence" home brew chapter who use the Ultramarines Chapter Traits?
Counts as SCs are fine so long as the army works with the right CT. Successors simply use the CTs of their parent chapters.
You can take Calgar in your Ultramarines, but not Kantor. You can take Kantor in your Crimson Fists (Imperial Fists), but not Calgar. You CAN ally them though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/11 02:56:59
Subject: Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
This thread is a cool bro story.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/12 00:49:18
Subject: Re:Pedro + 'counts as' Lysander in the same "Chapter Tactics: Imperial Fists" army?
|
 |
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
DogofWar1 wrote:General Hobbs wrote:
Can someone clarify this for me ( related to the above question).
Are Special Characters relegated ONLY to the actual chapters they originate in or can you use "Marneus" as your chapter Master for your "Marines of Excellence" home brew chapter who use the Ultramarines Chapter Traits?
Counts as SCs are fine so long as the army works with the right CT. Successors simply use the CTs of their parent chapters.
You can take Calgar in your Ultramarines, but not Kantor. You can take Kantor in your Crimson Fists (Imperial Fists), but not Calgar. You CAN ally them though.
Furthermore there is absolutely nothing wrong with saying your... Crimson Fist painted marines have a "Counts as Sicarious" or "Counts as Telion" model and using Ultramarines CT. So long as you declare what CT you are using at the beginning of the game and it does not conflict with any special characters then you are 100% legal
I plan on running a lot of Counts As something else 'crimson fist' armies
|
|
 |
 |
|