Switch Theme:

Monolith Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except, by RAW, it doesn't.

UNless you can provide some rules?
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

P45 Bio Acid. Strength: 3 AP: 3

Unless my codex is outdated.




 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nosferatu1001 wrote:Except, by RAW, it doesn't.

UNless you can provide some rules?
Ridcully wrote:P45 Bio Acid. Strength: 3 AP: 3Unless my codex is outdated.


Confirming Ridcully has it correct.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Ridcully wrote:P45 Bio Acid. Strength: 3 AP: 3

Unless my codex is outdated.

This is correct, however it is also irrelvant when dealing with AV.
They have a special rule that says they use 2d6+3 versus AV.
Note: This is not 3+2d6.


Tourneys have ruled variously on this, and are for this reason (in addition to others) not worth mentioning.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







kirsanth wrote:Note: This is not 3+2d6.
Math Disagrees with you :(

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

You're arguing about the order...? That seems ludicrous. A silly way for Farsight, and any other similarly worded models, to get around a pretty straight forward rule that deliberately attempts to cover everything. No matter what. No matter if it's worded backwards with identical meaning.

p51 words the monsterous creatures penetration as 2d6+S. They're listed as an example in the monolith entry of adding dice for armour penetration. What more do you need?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/22 14:39:57





 
   
Made in gb
Mindless Spore Mine




The Middle

The problem is not the order 3+2D6 or 2D6+3 as you say no difference.

Bio-Acid spore mines do not use their strength they apply a "special rule" it just so happens that the special rule says you always role 2D6+3 to penetrate vehicle armour.

So they could be strength 10 if you like, you would still have to roll 2D6+3 which is why I think kirsanth was saying it was irrelevant.




 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

If that's the case, then Eldrich Storm and Farsight are included in this. Their strength has likewise "just so happened" to equal the figure added to 2d6 for armour penetration.




 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Nope.
Not arguing order, pointing out that it is relevant, however. This is related for the same reason the hole in the center of the blast is not relevant to the dice rolls for armor pen.

They roll 2d6+3 even if the blast marker barely touches the vehicle.

3+2d6 leads to an inference that the "3" is the stregth value of the Bio-Acid - which is not the case.
2d6+3 is obviously a special rule, akin to the 3d6 for vindicares.

shrug

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

kirsanth wrote:3+2d6 leads to an inference that the "3" is the stregth value of the Bio-Acid - which is not the case.
2d6+3 is obviously a special rule, akin to the 3d6 for vindicares.

Order has absolutely nothing to do with it. Nothing. Not a thing. All three examples imply the figure comes from the base strength, even though they are written in your preferred order. But to quote Oscar Wilde:

"I'm happy for you to have your bio acid's 1/36 chance of armour penetration against a monolith if my Farsight gets a 1/6 chance of armour penetration."




 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

So you think bio-acid mines roll 1+2d6 when the hole is not over the vehicle?

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Ridcully wrote:
kirsanth wrote:3+2d6 leads to an inference that the "3" is the stregth value of the Bio-Acid - which is not the case.
2d6+3 is obviously a special rule, akin to the 3d6 for vindicares.

Order has absolutely nothing to do with it. Nothing. Not a thing. All three examples imply the figure comes from the base strength, even though they are written in your preferred order. But to quote Oscar Wilde:

"I'm happy for you to have your bio acid's 1/36 chance of armour penetration against a monolith if my Farsight gets a 1/6 chance of armour penetration."


THe reason it is not S3 is that it always rolls 2D6+3, even when the hole is not over the model. THis means that there cannot be a normal strength component, as it does not folow the normal armour penetration rules.
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

Ugh what? No. If we were saying the bio acid is affected by the monolith, then it would use its strength and a d6 no matter what. I don't understand how 1+2d6 fits into either of those categories, seeing as 1 isn't the strength an 2d6 isn't the limit.

Edit: Btw this post was for kirsanth. I see what you're saying, with the hole bit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/22 16:10:06





 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Gwar! wrote:
kirsanth wrote:Note: This is not 3+2d6.
Math Disagrees with you :(

I am not saying the equation results in a different result when written as the book uses it instead of the examples here.
cykosis wrote:So they could be strength 10 if you like, you would still have to roll 3+2D6 which is why I think kirsanth was saying it was irrelevant.





Automatically Appended Next Post:
Ridcully wrote: All three examples imply the figure comes from the base strength, even though they are written in your preferred order.

If it was strength related, it would be halved and rounded down.
1+2d6.

It is a special rule, not bonus dice.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/22 16:12:06


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

And you're arguing that Farsight and Eldrich Storm are likewise valid monolith destroyers, yes?




 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

No, I am talking about bio-acid spore mines.

But I will read more.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

If you haven't already:

Eldrich S:3 AP-

"vehicles touched by the template suffer a hit with 2D6+3 armour penetration"

Farsight S:5

"rolls 2d6+5 when rolling to penetrate the armour of a vehicle"

Both equally valid.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/22 16:22:05





 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




And both seem to be valid exceptions to the monolith rules.
   
Made in gb
Mindless Spore Mine




The Middle

Falconlance wrote:I don't understand why this is so difficult to get. Is it a "Your codex says NEVER and mine says ALWAYS issue?


Ridcully wrote:If you haven't already:

Eldrich S:3 AP-

"vehicles touched by the template suffer a hit with 2D6+3 armour penetration"

Farsight S:5

"rolls 2d6+5 when rolling to penetrate the armour of a vehicle"

Both equally valid.


I don't see the word always in there

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/22 16:36:10


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

nosferatu1001 wrote:And both seem to be valid exceptions to the monolith rules.

To which I have only a few things to add:
1) Generally bonus dice are denied vs Living armor. Specifically a small set of weapons/attacks state that they use a different method vs AV.
2) The Tyranid FAQ goes a steps farther than either codex and states that the bio-acid always uses a special rule, not its str + dice.
3) Both myself and the (only) Necron player I game with regularly have the older Necron Codex - which has caused issues before.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

cykosis wrote:
Falconlance wrote:I don't understand why this is so difficult to get. Is it a "Your codex says NEVER and mine says ALWAYS issue?


Ridcully wrote:If you haven't already:

Eldrich S:3 AP-

"vehicles touched by the template suffer a hit with 2D6+3 armour penetration"

Farsight S:5

"rolls 2d6+5 when rolling to penetrate the armour of a vehicle"

Both equally valid.


I don't see the word always in there

Yours doesn't say always either. He's quoting an FAQ.




 
   
Made in gb
Mindless Spore Mine




The Middle

Yes the official FAQ from the GW site.

Show me the FAQ which says Eldrich storm and Farsight always use etc...




 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

lol

Fine. If you show me why they need an FAQ specifying always with regard to halving strength, then i'll show you where in the FAQ it says it. Because that's what the 'nidz FAQ is.




 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

You mean "No, because they do not use their basic strength and apply a special rule instead. Bio-acid Spore Mines always roll 2D6+3 to penetrate vehicle armour, giving an average value of 10" is vague?

Or you think the "always" is unrelated to armor pen?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/22 16:50:43


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

Vague? No, very specific. Had Eldrich Storm not specified that any vehicle even touched by the template takes a certain hit, they would rightly deserve the very same FAQ. The fact that Farsight doesn't use a blast marker means his armour penetration always remains the same.




 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Aiming spore mines at the monolith in the first place is the real problem, imo.

Having them hit the monolith because the blasts touch it while hitting warriors is fine, and this invokes the "always" without question.

So lesson = shoot at the correct target.

(Also, does the Living Metal rule actually state "never" now?)

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

It says 'no matter what' in the one i have. Other than that it's your basic "so-and-so do not get extra dice" and "so-and-so do not work against..." etc.




 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




LM: works against weapons in general for that specific vehicle

BioAcid: works against all vehicles for that specific weapon.

Both seem equally specific.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Can we not compromise and let the Acid Mine roll 2D4?

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

nosferatu1001 wrote:LM: works against weapons in general for that specific vehicle

BioAcid: works against all vehicles for that specific weapon.

Both seem equally specific.


Except in the case of the LM, there are examples that get around it.

No bonus or additional is used for Bio-acid, just a special rule that can "always" apply.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: