Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/03 07:44:38
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
I'm with Blacktoof and Trasvi.
You don't fulfill the requirements, you don't have a reroll yet. You don't have a reroll you don't reroll gets hot. I wanted to be the one who asked if we could have PE orks and fire at Necrons then say I get to reroll my gets hot, by y'all's logic, but Trasvi beat me to it.
|
Warboss Troil
"Less chat, more splat!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/03 08:29:14
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
FratHammer wrote:I'm with Blacktoof and Trasvi.
You don't fulfill the requirements, you don't have a reroll yet. You don't have a reroll you don't reroll gets hot. I wanted to be the one who asked if we could have PE orks and fire at Necrons then say I get to reroll my gets hot, by y'all's logic, but Trasvi beat me to it.
So you're happy with the interpretation that means that the only thing in the game that can re-roll a Gets Hot result on a Blast weapon is a model using an Ammo Runt?
Twin-Linked, Prescience, Guide, BS6+, Preferred Enemy, Armorium Cherub, all of those have a requirement on the "To Hit" roll before they can "give" a re-roll, and the Gets Hot roll is done before any To Hit roll is made. That is the logical extension of what you're saying.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/03 08:43:07
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Quanar wrote:FratHammer wrote:I'm with Blacktoof and Trasvi.
You don't fulfill the requirements, you don't have a reroll yet. You don't have a reroll you don't reroll gets hot. I wanted to be the one who asked if we could have PE orks and fire at Necrons then say I get to reroll my gets hot, by y'all's logic, but Trasvi beat me to it.
So you're happy with the interpretation that means that the only thing in the game that can re-roll a Gets Hot result on a Blast weapon is a model using an Ammo Runt?
Twin-Linked, Prescience, Guide, BS6+, Preferred Enemy, Armorium Cherub, all of those have a requirement on the "To Hit" roll before they can "give" a re-roll, and the Gets Hot roll is done before any To Hit roll is made. That is the logical extension of what you're saying.
To further add to that the rules specifically call out Bs6 and twin linked as examples that work yet these guys are claiming the rules are wrong...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/03 14:40:39
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
FratHammer wrote:I'm with Blacktoof and Trasvi.
You don't fulfill the requirements, you don't have a reroll yet. You don't have a reroll you don't reroll gets hot. I wanted to be the one who asked if we could have PE orks and fire at Necrons then say I get to reroll my gets hot, by y'all's logic, but Trasvi beat me to it.
BS6 requires you to roll a one to hit, so if you don't roll to hit, you can't fulfil this requirement. So bs6 does not grant a reroll on gets hot
Oh shoot, it does do though. The rules explicitly state it does.
Guess that means your argument, and blaktoofs, remains as wrong as it ever has been then.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/03 22:56:12
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
I am happy with the interpretation that impossible to gain rerolls, that are not expressly mentioned by the rule itself, do not grant a gets hot reroll.
Don't put words in my mouth, I'll always tell you my opinion if you ask. Automatically Appended Next Post: And your attitude, as always, is indicative of your namesake.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/03 22:57:29
Warboss Troil
"Less chat, more splat!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/04 00:32:06
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
FratHammer wrote:I am happy with the interpretation that impossible to gain rerolls, that are not expressly mentioned by the rule itself, do not grant a gets hot reroll.
But... if a rule that has a similarly activated reroll or timing, and is equivalently difficult to activate, it doesn't count because it isn't the exact rule's example?
That is an overly strict interpretation that fails to consider the full context of the rule and disallowing any part of the rule to be representing a variable aspect, which that parenthetical portion including BS 6+ and Twin-Linked represent.
May as well consider that it does not tell you that you can play against a specific player, so you cannot play pick up games.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/04 04:01:08
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
FratHammer wrote:I am happy with the interpretation that impossible to gain rerolls, that are not expressly mentioned by the rule itself, do not grant a gets hot reroll.
Don't put words in my mouth, I'll always tell you my opinion if you ask.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
And your attitude, as always, is indicative of your namesake.
So you're stating hywpi and not arguing rules then?
You don't have to gain the reroll. Just have the ability. Which you unequivocally do in the case of PE. This is raw. House rule however you need to.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/04 07:53:45
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
The rule states if you can reroll, which you cannot. It does state that bs6 will qualify for this example, however we cannot assume all similar rules will work. Regardless of similarity.
Also, I didn't catch a definitive from y'all, did you think because PE CAN grant a reroll, that it works for gets hot regardless of if you're shooting at your PE? Because if you infer 1 wouldn't you have to infer both rules could be ignored?
Also, when did our rule system stop being permissive? Or is the argument, they are so similar we should treat them the same?
|
Warboss Troil
"Less chat, more splat!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/04 08:17:21
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
FratHammer wrote:The rule states if you can reroll, which you cannot. It does state that bs6 will qualify for this example, however we cannot assume all similar rules will work. Regardless of similarity.
Also, I didn't catch a definitive from y'all, did you think because PE CAN grant a reroll, that it works for gets hot regardless of if you're shooting at your PE? Because if you infer 1 wouldn't you have to infer both rules could be ignored?
Also, when did our rule system stop being permissive? Or is the argument, they are so similar we should treat them the same?
Since when did a list of examples have to be total? Do you play that the only special rule that can effect an IC joined to a unit is Stubborn as it's the only example given?
For the PE vs. other, if you were firing a weapon with a 'normal' To Hit roll, can you re-roll? No. Therefore you are not able to re-roll a Blast. Is that me being overly pedantic about the difference between "the ability" to re-roll and "an ability" to re-roll? Maybe, but that's what I take from that sentence (p158, Blast Weapons and Re-rolls).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/04 08:18:19
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
FratHammer wrote:The rule states if you can reroll, which you cannot. It does state that bs6 will qualify for this example, however we cannot assume all similar rules will work. Regardless of similarity.
Also, I didn't catch a definitive from y'all, did you think because PE CAN grant a reroll, that it works for gets hot regardless of if you're shooting at your PE? Because if you infer 1 wouldn't you have to infer both rules could be ignored?
Also, when did our rule system stop being permissive? Or is the argument, they are so similar we should treat them the same?
So if you are given an example that means that the example works. It does not mean the example is an exception that would not work otherwise.That is not how English wworks. So you test your interpretation against that example if your interpretation does not lead to that example working then your interpretation must be incorrect. Automatically Appended Next Post: So for instance my precise interpretation of the rather vague "ability to reroll To Hit" is:
If you were making a To Hit roll in that shooting attack instead of a scatter roll would it be possible for you to reroll the dice.
That follows the language of "ability to reroll To Hit" in meaning and when we test against the examples given both work.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/04 08:21:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/04 13:55:13
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
FratHammer wrote:The rule states if you can reroll, which you cannot. It does state that bs6 will qualify for this example, however we cannot assume all similar rules will work. Regardless of similarity.
Also, I didn't catch a definitive from y'all, did you think because PE CAN grant a reroll, that it works for gets hot regardless of if you're shooting at your PE? Because if you infer 1 wouldn't you have to infer both rules could be ignored?
Also, when did our rule system stop being permissive? Or is the argument, they are so similar we should treat them the same?
No, it does NOT state if you can reroll. It states if you have the ability to reroll
No, if you are not shooting at your pe you have no ability to reroll. This was done to death, and proven.
Why are you considering an EXAMPLE list to be exhaustive? Pleas give your page number yo show this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/04 23:31:26
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
|
Nos, I'm not sure what your last sentence is asking either due to poor word choice or bad auto correct.
I'll agree that examples are not required to be exhaustive, but exceptions should be.
|
Warboss Troil
"Less chat, more splat!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 01:14:27
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:FratHammer wrote:The rule states if you can reroll, which you cannot. It does state that bs6 will qualify for this example, however we cannot assume all similar rules will work. Regardless of similarity.
Also, I didn't catch a definitive from y'all, did you think because PE CAN grant a reroll, that it works for gets hot regardless of if you're shooting at your PE? Because if you infer 1 wouldn't you have to infer both rules could be ignored?
Also, when did our rule system stop being permissive? Or is the argument, they are so similar we should treat them the same?
No, it does NOT state if you can reroll. It states if you have the ability to reroll
No, if you are not shooting at your pe you have no ability to reroll. This was done to death, and proven.
I've never seen where this is 'proven'. I've only seen you (and others) say 'na-uh it doesn't'.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 03:40:49
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Sigh
No, it was proven. There is a difference between having an ability to reroll regardless of how good a reroll it is, or whether you have the ability in the first place
When not firing at your pe you have no ability
When firing at your pe you have the ability to reroll
It's really quite straight forward. If you could avoid being so disrespectful next time that would help you come across as someone able to have an honest argument
Frot - the list is a list of examples. Nothing states those examples are the exceptions, so not sure why you somehow believe they are. If you believe the list of examples is a list of exceptions, please, show how this belief is supported. In anyway. I'd love to know how you get exception from example, I really would.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 08:13:01
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
FratHammer wrote:Nos, I'm not sure what your last sentence is asking either due to poor word choice or bad auto correct.
I'll agree that examples are not required to be exhaustive, but exceptions should be.
Cool so you agree the list isn't exhaustive. Now apply your understanding of "the ability to reroll to hit" to the examples given. Do they work? We already know ours does.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 16:40:46
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Sigh
No, it was proven. There is a difference between having an ability to reroll regardless of how good a reroll it is, or whether you have the ability in the first place
When not firing at your pe you have no ability
When firing at your pe you have the ability to reroll
It's really quite straight forward. If you could avoid being so disrespectful next time that would help you come across as someone able to have an honest argument
Frot - the list is a list of examples. Nothing states those examples are the exceptions, so not sure why you somehow believe they are. If you believe the list of examples is a list of exceptions, please, show how this belief is supported. In anyway. I'd love to know how you get exception from example, I really would.
the requirement to get the re-roll on gits hot/scatter is having a re-roll. Examples of things that can give a re-roll are listed, you are not told that having those things allows you to re-roll. You are told having a re-roll, allows you to SURPISE- re-roll.
Something that CAN give you a re-roll does not mean you always have a re-roll.
oh off the top of my head there are at least one tyranid formations that give blanket re-rolls to shooting attacks without any stipulation.
and if the above statement by nosferatu was correct, it is not in any way...
When firing at your pe you have the ability to reroll
if that were true then rolling to hit at BS 4 with a roll of 2 would have the ability to re-roll, it does not. Preferred enemy is not the ability to re-roll. It is the ability to get the ability to re-roll, if you roll a 1 to hit. If it were the ability to re-roll you could re-roll at any dice result.
what the actual rules say is the following corrected version
When firing at your PE you have the ability to re-roll your hit roll when you roll a 1 to hit.
did you roll a 1 to hit?
No- You do not have the ability to re-roll.
Yes- You have the ability to re-roll.
anything else is made up.
That some people here dislike they cannot re-roll blasts and gets hot with certain rules does not change the rules as written to allow them to do so.
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2015/10/05 17:11:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 17:19:53
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
did you roll a 1 to hit?
No- You do not have the ability to re-roll.
Yes- You have the ability to re-roll.
anything else is made up.
That some people here dislike they cannot re-roll blasts and gets hot with certain rules does not change the rules as written to allow them to do so.
So the rules are wrong when they call out Bs6 and twinlinked as examples of rules that trigger the ability to reroll To Hit clause. Got it your interpretation is that the rules are wrong. How on earth can you justify that the rules are wrong is a valid RaW or RaI stance? Please explain.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 17:41:47
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
the rules state that as an example of how to get a re-roll, the rules require you to have a re-roll to.....re-roll.
can you get a re-roll from PE, BS 6+. Yes?
Do they blanket give you the ability to re-roll? No.
Do they give you the ability to re-roll if you meet a condition? Yes
did you roll a 1 to hit?
No- You do not have the ability to re-roll.
Yes- You have the ability to re-roll.
anything else is made up.
I think its great you have a gaming group that has house ruled something a certain way, a lot of people play with house rules. However I am not sure you understand what the word interpretation means.
Here are some examples of interpretations
This special rule says I need to roll a 1 to get the ability to re-roll my hit roll, therefore I have the ability to re-roll my to hit roll all the time if I have this rule.- A poor interpetation of what is written.
here is an example of an actual rule and applying it as written.
This special rule says I need to roll a 1 to get the ability to re-roll my hit roll, therefore if I roll a 1 I have the ability to re-roll my hit roll. Oh look I rolled a 1, I can re-roll my hit roll. Oh look I did not roll a 1, I do not have the ability to re-roll my hit roll.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/10/05 17:46:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 17:45:57
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
blaktoof wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Sigh
No, it was proven. There is a difference between having an ability to reroll regardless of how good a reroll it is, or whether you have the ability in the first place
When not firing at your pe you have no ability
When firing at your pe you have the ability to reroll
It's really quite straight forward. If you could avoid being so disrespectful next time that would help you come across as someone able to have an honest argument
Frot - the list is a list of examples. Nothing states those examples are the exceptions, so not sure why you somehow believe they are. If you believe the list of examples is a list of exceptions, please, show how this belief is supported. In anyway. I'd love to know how you get exception from example, I really would.
the requirement to get the re-roll on gits hot/scatter is having a re-roll. Examples of things that can give a re-roll are listed, you are not told that having those things allows you to re-roll. You are told having a re-roll, allows you to SURPISE- re-roll.
Something that CAN give you a re-roll does not mean you always have a re-roll.
oh off the top of my head there are at least one tyranid formations that give blanket re-rolls to shooting attacks without any stipulation.
and if the above statement by nosferatu was correct, it is not in any way...
When firing at your pe you have the ability to reroll
if that were true then rolling to hit at BS 4 with a roll of 2 would have the ability to re-roll, it does not. Preferred enemy is not the ability to re-roll. It is the ability to get the ability to re-roll, if you roll a 1 to hit. If it were the ability to re-roll you could re-roll at any dice result.
what the actual rules say is the following corrected version
When firing at your PE you have the ability to re-roll your hit roll when you roll a 1 to hit.
did you roll a 1 to hit?
No- You do not have the ability to re-roll.
Yes- You have the ability to re-roll.
anything else is made up.
That some people here dislike they cannot re-roll blasts and gets hot with certain rules does not change the rules as written to allow them to do so.
And the same disproven gak from blaktoof again. How exciting
Bs6 gives you the ability to reroll your to hit. This is proven ZBY THE WRITTEN RULES yet blaktoof dislikes that this is PROVEN BY THE WRITTEN RULES and so, bizarrely, claims that what is written is not, in fact, there
It is a bizarre, unsupportable stance that belies logic and reason.
I have no idea why they refuse to believe what the rules state, or why they spout literal nonsense on the subject. Unlike blaktoof I will not presume bias in the other poster (I have nothing with PE so cannot use this rule, balls, guess that blows blaktoofs final sentence out the water,p. Again. )
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 17:46:02
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
blaktoof wrote:the rules state that as an example of how to get a re-roll, the rules require you to have a re-roll to.....re-roll.
can you get a re-roll from PE, BS 6+. Yes?
Do they blanket give you the ability to re-roll? No.
Do they give you the ability to re-roll if you meet a condition? Yes
did you roll a 1 to hit?
No- You do not have the ability to re-roll.
Yes- You have the ability to re-roll.
anything else is made up.
So again please justify why the rules being wrong is a valid RaW argument?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 17:48:30
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:blaktoof wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Sigh
No, it was proven. There is a difference between having an ability to reroll regardless of how good a reroll it is, or whether you have the ability in the first place
When not firing at your pe you have no ability
When firing at your pe you have the ability to reroll
It's really quite straight forward. If you could avoid being so disrespectful next time that would help you come across as someone able to have an honest argument
Frot - the list is a list of examples. Nothing states those examples are the exceptions, so not sure why you somehow believe they are. If you believe the list of examples is a list of exceptions, please, show how this belief is supported. In anyway. I'd love to know how you get exception from example, I really would.
the requirement to get the re-roll on gits hot/scatter is having a re-roll. Examples of things that can give a re-roll are listed, you are not told that having those things allows you to re-roll. You are told having a re-roll, allows you to SURPISE- re-roll.
Something that CAN give you a re-roll does not mean you always have a re-roll.
oh off the top of my head there are at least one tyranid formations that give blanket re-rolls to shooting attacks without any stipulation.
and if the above statement by nosferatu was correct, it is not in any way...
When firing at your pe you have the ability to reroll
if that were true then rolling to hit at BS 4 with a roll of 2 would have the ability to re-roll, it does not. Preferred enemy is not the ability to re-roll. It is the ability to get the ability to re-roll, if you roll a 1 to hit. If it were the ability to re-roll you could re-roll at any dice result.
what the actual rules say is the following corrected version
When firing at your PE you have the ability to re-roll your hit roll when you roll a 1 to hit.
did you roll a 1 to hit?
No- You do not have the ability to re-roll.
Yes- You have the ability to re-roll.
anything else is made up.
That some people here dislike they cannot re-roll blasts and gets hot with certain rules does not change the rules as written to allow them to do so.
And the same disproven gak from blaktoof again. How exciting
Bs6 gives you the ability to reroll your to hit. This is proven ZBY THE WRITTEN RULES yet blaktoof dislikes that this is PROVEN BY THE WRITTEN RULES and so, bizarrely, claims that what is written is not, in fact, there
It is a bizarre, unsupportable stance that belies logic and reason.
I have no idea why they refuse to believe what the rules state, or why they spout literal nonsense on the subject. Unlike blaktoof I will not presume bias in the other poster (I have nothing with PE so cannot use this rule, balls, guess that blows blaktoofs final sentence out the water,p. Again. )
The rules state you get a re-roll from BS 6 when you roll a 1 to hit. Not that you get to re-roll your to hit rolls. I am not sure when you wrote your rule book to prove these made up written rules, but the rules do not actually state what you claim. Anywhere.
Rulebook, page 33 wrote:
Ballistic Skill of 6 or Better
If a model has BS 6 or higher, it gains a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit with ranged attacks.
here's a rules quote, since you wont bother to supply one or look it up.
So the model GAINS a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 to hit with ranged attacks.
So does BS6 grant a re-roll? Nope.
However if you have BS6 and roll a 1, You do get a re-roll. You GAIN the re-roll when you roll a 1 to hit, not before.
If you GAINED the re-roll WHENEVER you rolled a 1, You did not have the ability to re-roll jack or squat before rolling the 1 did you?
wow! writing and reading! Honestly it boggles the mind that you could read the above and say the model has gained the ability to re-roll all the time because it is BS6, when it clearly states it gains the ability WHENEVER it rolls a 1. Not at any other point.
Perhaps models firing weapons have the ability to wound you, so therefore they do without rolling when you play? Honest question there.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
FlingitNow wrote:blaktoof wrote:the rules state that as an example of how to get a re-roll, the rules require you to have a re-roll to.....re-roll.
can you get a re-roll from PE, BS 6+. Yes?
Do they blanket give you the ability to re-roll? No.
Do they give you the ability to re-roll if you meet a condition? Yes
did you roll a 1 to hit?
No- You do not have the ability to re-roll.
Yes- You have the ability to re-roll.
anything else is made up.
So again please justify why the rules being wrong is a valid RaW argument?
I am sorry, there is a famous Mark Twain quote that prevents me from replying to you ever again.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2015/10/05 17:56:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 17:59:52
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
So the gets hot rules can just be ignored by you then? As ever?
I'm shocked. Truly, shocked
They list bs 6 as something that gives you an ability to reroll to hit. As ever, you ignore the rules that you don't find convenient to your disproven, poorly constricted argument of the day. This is no different.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 18:01:03
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
So are the rules wrong when they say Bs6 triggers the clause "has the ability to reroll To Hit"?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 18:07:40
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The rules do not say BS6 allows you to re-roll gets hot.
The rules say:
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule), a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.
"because of BS6+"
when does BS6 give you the ability to re-roll?
If a model has BS 6 or higher, it gains a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit with ranged attacks.
So to get the re-roll from BS6+ you have to get it BECAUSE you rolled a 1. Not BECAUSE you have BS6+ because BS6+ does not give you the ability to re-roll, which is what is required to get the re-roll for gets hot. You get the Re-roll from rolling a 1, so you do not have the ability to re-roll because of BS6+ or PE until you roll a 1 and GAIN the ability to re-roll.
Do you have the ability to re-roll from BS6+ when you do not roll a 1 to hit? No.
Rulebook, page 33 wrote:
Ballistic Skill of 6 or Better
If a model has BS 6 or higher, it gains a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit with ranged attacks.
if you are truly shocked by the RAW I do not know how to help you.
But good job at taking examples of ways to get an ability to re-roll to hit and then claiming they just give you the ability to re-roll to hit without actually using the rules for those abilities to GET the re-roll as the rules as written. I am sure that has done you well in games over the years.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/05 18:09:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 18:10:40
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Again insinuations of bias. You just can't help but argue dishonestly, can you?
The rules are clear that twin link also gives you the ability to reroll to hit, but yet again you will take that rule and twist it to suit your agenda
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 18:14:56
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Again insinuations of bias. You just can't help but argue dishonestly, can you?
The rules are clear that twin link also gives you the ability to reroll to hit, but yet again you will take that rule and twist it to suit your agenda
Rulebook, page 33 wrote:
Ballistic Skill of 6 or Better
If a model has BS 6 or higher, it gains a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit with ranged attacks.
so me saying you need to roll a 1 before you gain the ability to re-roll to hit with BS6+ is twisting the RAW.
fascinating.
I'm done posting. I concede, you are the font of all rules knowledge and all should bow before you and your correct understanding of the rules.
Claiming that you must roll a 1 with BS6+ to gain a re-roll is purely my HIWPI stance, and is in no way supported by the rules on p.33 where it says:
Rulebook, page 33 wrote:
Ballistic Skill of 6 or Better
If a model has BS 6 or higher, it gains a re-roll whenever it rolls a 1 To Hit with ranged attacks.
You are correct, and completely in the majority- not just on these forums but in the entire world. I am just a lone poor deluded soul who has no idea how to read, or think, and am completely trying to twist the above to gain an unfair advantage when I play.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 18:30:19
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
blaktoof wrote:The rules do not say BS6 allows you to re-roll gets hot.
The rules say:
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule), a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.
QED mate. You just quoted a rule that stated the exact opposite of your position.
1) So if I was to state "BS6 allows you to re-roll gets hot" would I be wrong? Yes or No
2) Given your quote proves the rules state that saying I am wrong is the same as saying the rules are wrong. Thus why is your interpretation based on the rules being wrong?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 18:35:31
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
FlingitNow wrote:blaktoof wrote:The rules do not say BS6 allows you to re-roll gets hot.
The rules say:
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule), a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.
QED mate. You just quoted a rule that stated the exact opposite of your position.
1) So if I was to state "BS6 allows you to re-roll gets hot" would I be wrong? Yes or No
2) Given your quote proves the rules state that saying I am wrong is the same as saying the rules are wrong. Thus why is your interpretation based on the rules being wrong?
at this point you should complete your trolling with what the discussion is really about and say you can re-roll scatter because made up reasons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/05 18:44:45
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
blaktoof wrote: FlingitNow wrote:blaktoof wrote:The rules do not say BS6 allows you to re-roll gets hot.
The rules say:
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule), a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.
QED mate. You just quoted a rule that stated the exact opposite of your position.
1) So if I was to state "BS6 allows you to re-roll gets hot" would I be wrong? Yes or No
2) Given your quote proves the rules state that saying I am wrong is the same as saying the rules are wrong. Thus why is your interpretation based on the rules being wrong?
at this point you should complete your trolling with what the discussion is really about and say you can re-roll scatter because made up reasons.
So RaW the rules are wrong according to you how do we know when the rules ate right and when they are wrong?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/10/06 15:10:11
Subject: Preferred Enemy & Gets Hot with Blast weapons.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
blaktoof wrote: FlingitNow wrote:blaktoof wrote:The rules do not say BS6 allows you to re-roll gets hot.
The rules say:
If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit (including because of BS6+ or the Twin-linked special rule), a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit.
QED mate. You just quoted a rule that stated the exact opposite of your position.
1) So if I was to state "BS6 allows you to re-roll gets hot" would I be wrong? Yes or No
2) Given your quote proves the rules state that saying I am wrong is the same as saying the rules are wrong. Thus why is your interpretation based on the rules being wrong?
at this point you should complete your trolling with what the discussion is really about and say you can re-roll scatter because made up reasons.
Reported, again
So the rule showing you are wrong - is that just a figment of our imagination? You have yet to answer as to why the written rule is somehow wrong, or doesn't exist
Accusations of trolling - reported. Continues to show the level of honesty in your debate.
|
|
 |
 |
|