Switch Theme:

Obsec when embarked non dedicated transport  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




London UK

If an obsec unit is embarked on a non dedicated transport and contests an objective is it still able to claim obsec status?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes. Why wouldnt it?

Page 89, from memory, states you measure a range to/from an embarked unit by measuring to the hull, and nothing in embarking removes or otherwse limits the OS rule.
   
Made in gb
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




London UK

It has been suggested to me that is the vehicle contesting the objective and embarked troops are not relevant in this case. I can't see a rule that specifically outlines this.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Why cant you see a rule?

The rule is that you must be within X" to claim / deny an objective

Page 89 (or thereabouts) tells you, under Embarking, that if you need to measure ranges to the embarked unit, you measure to /from the hull

If the hull is within x", then so are the unit inside. Thus, the unit inside AND the vehicle are claiming the objective

If the unit inside has ObSec, then this rule is still used.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos






Units embarked on a transport share (most) rules with that transport, and since ObSec is a "unit-level" rule, yes. The Transport would also have ObSec. However, if the unit were to disembark, the transport would lose that USR.

2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
 
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest






 EnTyme wrote:
Units embarked on a transport share (most) rules with that transport, and since ObSec is a "unit-level" rule, yes. The Transport would also have ObSec. However, if the unit were to disembark, the transport would lose that USR.


As I understand the rules for embarked troops and transports this isn't quite right, though functionally (when claiming/contesting objectives) the result is essentially the same. The embarked unit doesn't share any of the rules belonging to the transport though the unit does gain Fearless and other rules start to apply to it, such as taking Ld tests when the vehicle is Shaken etc. Being embarked doesn't prevent a unit from claiming an objective, or prevent the vehicle itself from claiming one either, you simply measure how close the embarked unit is to the objective from the hull of the vehicle. This way a unit with ObSec embarked on a non-ObSec transport can claim the objective using that rule and conversely an ObSec transport can use that rule to claim an objective even with a non-ObSec unit embarked on it.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 EnTyme wrote:
Units embarked on a transport share (most) rules with that transport...

I would love to see the quote and/or reference that states that.

I can actually tell you of a few cases where that is where it is only allowed in specific cases, and calls it out as such, and aside from Psychic Powers, the Vehicles are all Dedicated Transports.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob






I think you can decide which unit is capturing the objective -- the transport, or the troops unit. This seemed very strange to me the first time I heard about it, but after reading the rules again I guess it's possible/allowed.


My P&M blog: Cleatus, the Scratch-building Mekboy
Successful Swap Trades: 6 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos






 Charistoph wrote:
 EnTyme wrote:
Units embarked on a transport share (most) rules with that transport...

I would love to see the quote and/or reference that states that.

I can actually tell you of a few cases where that is where it is only allowed in specific cases, and calls it out as such, and aside from Psychic Powers, the Vehicles are all Dedicated Transports.


Transports with embarked units are considered a combined unit, are they not? Unit-level rules are shared with the whole unit. I've seen you make this exact argument.

2000 Khorne Bloodbound (Skullfiend Tribe- Aqshy)
1000 Tzeentch Arcanites (Pyrofane Cult - Hysh) in progress
2000 Slaves to Darkness (Ravagers)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, they're not. At all. They're ALWAYS separate units.
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest






 Cleatus wrote:
I think you can decide which unit is capturing the objective -- the transport, or the troops unit. This seemed very strange to me the first time I heard about it, but after reading the rules again I guess it's possible/allowed.


You don't even have to choose which unit is claiming it, the transport and the unit embarked on it are both controlling the objective unless there is also an enemy unit within 3". A unit can only ever claim one objective at a time (you must declare which Objective Marker it is claiming if it's within 3" of multiple objectives) but we aren't told to declare which unit is claiming an objective if we have more than one unit within 3" of a single objective. We're just told that "you control an Objective Marker if there is at least one model from one of your scoring units, and no models from enemy scoring units, within 3" of it".
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 EnTyme wrote:
Transports with embarked units are considered a combined unit, are they not? Unit-level rules are shared with the whole unit. I've seen you make this exact argument.
They are not the same unit. No rule states that they are. There are rules that allow them to combine a reserves roll, and the special rules Infiltrate, Outflank and Scout specifically state they are shared with a dedicated transport if beginning embarked. That's it.
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

nosferatu1001 wrote:
No, they're not. At all. They're ALWAYS separate units.


Well, they are separate units, but the obsec unit is still inside the transport vehicle. So, ork boyz (have obsec) in a battlewagon (no obsec) are within 3" of an objective. Boyz are inside the battlewagon, which is within 3" of the objective. Consequently, the boyz are within 3" of the objective, as they are inside the battlewagon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/04/27 19:41:39


"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Which is not the same as them being combined as a unit.

They are still very much 2 separate units that occupy the same space.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Aspiring Champion of Chaos






 Quanar wrote:
 EnTyme wrote:
Transports with embarked units are considered a combined unit, are they not? Unit-level rules are shared with the whole unit. I've seen you make this exact argument.
They are not the same unit. No rule states that they are. There are rules that allow them to combine a reserves roll, and the special rules Infiltrate, Outflank and Scout specifically state they are shared with a dedicated transport if beginning embarked. That's it.


Hmm. Maybe I'm extrapolating the reserve rules then. Either way, as other said, the unit inside is considered to be <3" away if the transport is <3" away, so the objective is still being controlled by an ObSec unit.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob






Other threads that have already discussed this topic:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/602834.page

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/642774.page

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/1560/643980.page#8335775

In 6th ed a unit embarked on a transport was specifically listed as not counting as a scoring unit. There is no such restriction in 7th ed.


My P&M blog: Cleatus, the Scratch-building Mekboy
Successful Swap Trades: 6 
   
Made in gr
Longtime Dakkanaut




Halandri

Unlike 6th, almost every unit in 7th is a scoring unit though, so that reminder would be rather redundant.

What units don't score in 7th these days? I know spawns and daemon princes resulting from a boon table roll don't score, but that is pretty much it.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






nareik wrote:
What units don't score in 7th these days? I know spawns and daemon princes resulting from a boon table roll don't score, but that is pretty much it.
Things that are Swooping, Zooming or embarked in something that is Zooming. Also, units that are falling back.
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




 EnTyme wrote:
Hmm. Maybe I'm extrapolating the reserve rules then.


Or you've just been playing with people who assume it is so. My group had some heated discussions on it too, with some guys thinking their Fast transports somehow granted the passengers permission to shoot better than the basic Firepoints rule does simply because the transport gets to shoot more guns better when moving.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: