Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 11:23:43
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
So I think everyone is freaking out over only a slight change. My group and I were looking at it, and we think you can still have units in reserves in each others transports... here is our argument. Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers embark in each other’s Transport vehicles during deployment? A: No. On another page... Q: Can you clarify the term ‘deploy’? A: ‘Deploy’ is a word for setting up a unit on the battlefield – this is something you do during deployment, but also when units arrive from Reserve and so on. ‘Deployment’ is the stage in ‘Preparing For Battle’ where the players set up their armies on the battlefield. Note the bold. Given that deployment is specifically the preparing for battle stage, and the BB FAQ states that you may not use transports during DEPLOYMENT only... Then you are still able to otherwise DEPLOY units in shared transports through reserves. ala War convocation in pods.. Wraith in raiders... whatever have you is all still fine if deploying from reserves. Figured I would let the internet hear our thoughts! Cheers! *EDIT* To clarify, we did peg the question back to GW to hopefully hear some further clarification, but wanted to see what the community thought of this interpretation if GW does not change what they said. *EDIT 2* After talking with a few people on the forum a few points were made that prevent even the argument I present from working; AND I AGREE WITH THEM. So please be nice when you comment below =) Cheers!
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2016/05/05 17:37:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 11:25:04
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Ask GW, not the internet.
They seem to be taking onboard questions and comments
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 11:26:44
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Ratius wrote:Ask GW, not the internet.
They seem to be taking onboard questions and comments 
We did as well... but the more people who read this, figure out their is a glimmer of hope and then go and like the question on Facebook, the more likely they will further clarify!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 11:38:34
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
Glimmer of hope? They seem to be specifically trying to stop this brand of cheese.
What is worse, it could be misread.. considering nobody embarks during the deployment phase at all. They deploy inside of a transport. They may very well have thought the question was asked that way.
Ambiguity continues, imperials will continue to abuse battle brothers
Edit, see pg132 brb
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/05 11:48:40
I am the kinda ork that takes his own washing machine apart, puts new bearings in it, then puts it back together, and it still works. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 11:53:07
Subject: Re:40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
No. Read the combined reserves rules. They state that during deployment you must specify if any units in reserve are embarked upon transports also in reserve. The FAQ explicity forbids this for battle brothers going in each others transports during deployment, so you still can't do it in the case of combined reserve units.
The intent, FAQ and RAW are very clear, this loophole just doesn't exist.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 12:11:13
Subject: Re:40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Tonberry7 wrote:No. Read the combined reserves rules. They state that during deployment you must specify if any units in reserve are embarked upon transports also in reserve. The FAQ explicity forbids this for battle brothers going in each others transports during deployment, so you still can't do it in the case of combined reserve units.
The intent, FAQ and RAW are very clear, this loophole just doesn't exist.
So both deploy and deployment specifically reference "setting up a unit on the battlefield". While in reserves nothing is on the battlefield. We did think of that and we don't see the prevention here, given that specific wording.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 12:13:32
Subject: Re:40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
Really, folks?
The FAQ are meant to clarify the intend, the meaning of the rule. They're VERY clearly trying to say "no" when it comes to sharing transports outside of "I embark on this transport that is on the table". Deal with it.
That being said I hope they make it even more obvious, just to stop this kind of argument.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/05 12:15:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 12:17:05
Subject: Re:40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
nekooni wrote:Really, folks?
The FAQ are meant to clarify the intend, the meaning of the rule. They're VERY clearly trying to say "no" when it comes to sharing transports outside of "I embark on this transport that is on the table". Deal with it.
That being said I hope they make it even more obvious, just to stop this kind of argument.
Me too! Which is why we did ask for clarification. If not me, someone is going to try and find away to share transports.. better to hash this all out now while it is still in rough draft mode no?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 13:19:48
Subject: Re:40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
Grizzyzz wrote: Tonberry7 wrote:No. Read the combined reserves rules. They state that during deployment you must specify if any units in reserve are embarked upon transports also in reserve. The FAQ explicity forbids this for battle brothers going in each others transports during deployment, so you still can't do it in the case of combined reserve units.
The intent, FAQ and RAW are very clear, this loophole just doesn't exist.
So both deploy and deployment specifically reference "setting up a unit on the battlefield". While in reserves nothing is on the battlefield. We did think of that and we don't see the prevention here, given that specific wording.
Deployment still includes combining units and putting them in reserve. You can't just ignore the BRB and look only at the FAQ.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 13:25:14
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Perhaps ask for clarification this way:
"In regards to Battle Brothers sharing their transports during deployment, do you mean that a Culexus Assassin cannot arrive via a Drop Pod purchased by their Battle Brothers, the Space Marines?
If so, perhaps the FAQ should be stated as such;
Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers start the game embarked in each other's transports, including those held in Reserves?
A: No."
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 13:30:17
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Yarium wrote:Perhaps ask for clarification this way:
"In regards to Battle Brothers sharing their transports during deployment, do you mean that a Culexus Assassin cannot arrive via a Drop Pod purchased by their Battle Brothers, the Space Marines?
If so, perhaps the FAQ should be stated as such;
Q: Can units that are Battle Brothers start the game embarked in each other's transports, including those held in Reserves?
A: No."
I agree a clarification such as this would prevent any misinterpretation.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 13:33:47
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
You have to declare units being embarked on transports during the deployment phase, even if they are starting in reserve. Units cannot embark while they are in reserve. Reserve rolls occur before the movement phase, when you are legally allowed to embark.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 13:34:13
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Pewling Menial
Right here, at the moment
|
I'm looking at it this way:
you couldn't use this method as you'd have to deploy the unit in a BB's transport, then disembark, which is specifically disallowed
it doesn't matter if it's the first turn, or the 4th, even pods count as transports, so you'd be in contravention of the FAQ, and BRB
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2016/05/05 13:34:54
5285 Carcharadons Astra, 3000 XIX Legion
AM: 3170, ABG: 5045, MT: 755
Skit: 1470, CM: 500, QKCL: 4870
2348
Assassins: 1140
750 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 13:34:44
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Reserves are declared during Deployment.
Since allies can't be put in Transports at that point, they never can.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 13:40:01
Subject: Re:40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
PA Unitied States
|
I do not have the rulebook I front of me sooo...... Isn't it; During deployment you choose to either place a unit in reserves or on the table, meaning placing a unit in reserves is a type of deployment.
|
22 yrs in the hobby
:Eldar: 10K+ pts, 2500 pts
1850 pts
Vampire Counts 4000+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 13:53:56
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
GW would need to errata Battle Brothers then, as the the last bullet point states that Battle Brothers may embark on each others' transports. The FAQ rulling seems to be refering to Dedicated Transports, not non-Dedicated Transports. This one of the counter intuitive rulings I mentioned earlier, as if GW answered the wrong question.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 13:56:04
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
jeffersonian000 wrote:GW would need to errata Battle Brothers then, as the the last bullet point states that Battle Brothers may embark on each others' transports. The FAQ rulling seems to be refering to Dedicated Transports, not non-Dedicated Transports. This one of the counter intuitive rulings I mentioned earlier, as if GW answered the wrong question.
SJ
Yep my thoughts exactly. Makes much more sense.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 13:58:32
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
They probably meant embark during the game all along.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 14:02:04
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
What they meant and what they wrote might not be the same thing, but what they FAQ'd appears to confuse what they originally wrote rather than clarify.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 14:22:22
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Even though it is a bit weird and needs to be moved to Errata, not FAQ, I am happy with it. The "Fleshtearers Taxi Service" never made sense to me.
Hopping into a Rhino after the Battle starts is fine, but deploying in them "pre-battle" implies long-term planning amongst the 2 armies that I don't believe would often happen. Space marines have there own Drop Pods, so them wouldn't use another chapter's, nor would they "loan out" the Pods to non-Space Marines. Eldar and Dark Eldar may fight together just fine, but DE usually arrive from Commoragh, a city in the Webway that Eldar would prefer to avoid.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 15:54:43
Subject: Re:40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Grizzyzz wrote:So both deploy and deployment specifically reference "setting up a unit on the battlefield". While in reserves nothing is on the battlefield. We did think of that and we don't see the prevention here, given that specific wording.
Not true. Another FAQ presented them as being a bit different.
Deployment is part of the game setup.
Deploying is putting units on the board. This most often means during Deployment, but also includes Arriving From Reserves (including Outflank and Deep Strike).
If you pay attention to when these words are used in the rulebook, this coincides with this judgement.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 16:53:54
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
|
guys, drop pod taxi is over. no more assassins in pods. no more grey knight purifier squads coming down on turn one in pods with no scatter nova aoe shenanigans, no more 60 skitarii with arc rifles coming down in pods. it is done. trying to say a clear faq just wasent 100 precent clear enough for your likeing wont change anything, and will make you look bad if you are still trying to get away with that.
|
warhammer 40k mmo. If I can drive an ork trukk into the back of a space marine dread and explode in a fireball of epic, I can die happy!
8k points
3k points
3k points
Admech 2.5k points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 17:44:58
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Um, reserves is deployment. It's even spelled out in the text you pasted. It's dead Jim, let it go.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/05 18:05:47
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
clively wrote:Um, reserves is deployment. It's even spelled out in the text you pasted. It's dead Jim, let it go.
Ha, yeah people have well .. made their point.. I am still going to feel bad for my skitarri player friends. Pretty much dead in the water now.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/06 00:41:02
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
|
I play skitarii. Eventually we will get transports of our own, so multiple wyverns dont just auto win vs us. Till then there is still rhinos, and though it wont help vs wyverns in the first turn, its good practice for when we do get vehicles.
|
warhammer 40k mmo. If I can drive an ork trukk into the back of a space marine dread and explode in a fireball of epic, I can die happy!
8k points
3k points
3k points
Admech 2.5k points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/06 02:24:54
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
Orock wrote:I play skitarii. Eventually we will get transports of our own, so multiple wyverns dont just auto win vs us. Till then there is still rhinos, and though it wont help vs wyverns in the first turn, its good practice for when we do get vehicles.
It's things like this that make me annoyed when people go "YAY! No more drop pod cheese!"
I brought some Chimeras or Rhinos so my spindly little T3 4+ sv Skitarii dudes don't die all across the board to barrage/indirect fire if I'm unlucky enough to lose the first turn roll. Yes, there were broken things that people were abusing with regards to drop pods and such, but it doesn't mean you have to squash every other potential combo in the game. I used to run my Inquisition back in 5th with allied Chimeras (when they were only dedicated transports) and had to bunch them up behind the tank, hoping they didn't get picked off. It was silly, unfluffy, and pointlessly nerfing both units. I appreciate the fact that GW is communicating better with their fanbase, but this was heavy-handed.
If you want to swat a mosquito, you don't use a grenade.
DoW
|
"War. War never changes." - Fallout
4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/06 11:23:08
Subject: Re:40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
Let's answer this.
I'm running a pure Space Marine army, meaning, say, all Ultramarines. Can I buy Drop Pods from a Cad for my Grav Cents bought from a Demi-Company?
|
.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/06 11:31:32
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Nope. You treat other detachments of the same faction as Battle Brothers. That means detachments without drop pods can't start in drop pods.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/06 11:57:27
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Been Around the Block
NY
|
^ Yep. This is blatantly a no drop pods for BB things. You can still embark into a BB's dedicated transports and non dedicated transports. Just not during deployment.
As for the last BB bullet in the BRB, is says they may embark, not deploy, in a battle brothers transport.
|
Only the heaviest of metals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/05/06 12:03:16
Subject: 40k FAQ - Battle Brother Transports, Why it still works
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
So if I have an Eldar CAD with fire dragons and an allied detach with some serpents the FDs cant start in the serpents?
|
Dman137 wrote:
goobs is all you guys will ever be
By 1-irt: Still as long as Hissy keeps showing up this is one of the most entertaining threads ever.
"Feelin' goods, good enough". |
|
 |
 |
|