Switch Theme:

Transports Outflanking/Deep Striking with Passengers: How do you play it?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Transports Outflanking/Deep Striking with Passengers: How do you play it?
Yes, they may.
No, they may not.

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






dietrich wrote:Playing a little Devil's Advocate with y'all.

Is there a rule allowing passengers without Scout to use a non-dedicated transport with Scout USR to Outflank? It's clear passengers with Scout don't confer that to a non-dedicated transport. Why would a non-dedicated transport confer that ability to the passengers then?

Again, I'm OK playing that the troopers can ride along for the Outflank. But, I don't think there's a clear answer to this. Feel free to find a rulebook quote to prove me wrong, but I don't think there is one. I think there's a set of rules that some people interpret to allow the maneuver, and some people don't interpret that way.
Yes there is a rule allowing passengers without Scout to use a non-dedicated transport with Scout USR to Outflank.

Drunkspleen wrote:Exactly, the rules don't cover this specific thing, so you default to the closest available, which is that the valkyrie has scout and so can outflank.

If a Valkyrie has no units inside it it can Outflank correct?

There is no rule which says that a Valkyrie that has units without scout in it cannot outflank.

Therefore, a Valkyrie with units in it that do not have scout can still outflank.

NOTE: This does not break the premise of a permissive rule set, permission has been given, and has not been taken away by other rules.

There is absolutely a RAW answer, which is that you may deploy a transport by a special deployment method that it qualifies for with a unit inside that transport that does not qualify for it.


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Long Beach, CA

IMO if a drop pod is not a dedicated transport then the same abilities apply to the Valk. It is irrelevant that the valk can do other things or not. I am not sure how a DP is classified but if it is not a Dedicated xport but has the DS rule and a passenger capacity and can bring a unit that does not have that rule then so can a valk. UNLESS there is a special rule for the DP saying it passes this ability onto a unit.

Similarly units can pass it onto an xport for outflanking even if the xport does not have it. Only as it applies to outflanking not infiltrating or DS. I do not recall it being the other way around but I believe it is implied. Although that is an ASSumption. RAW I would have to check. If it does not specifically say then the best way would be to compare the valks to the Drop pods. Ill check later at home.

"Do NOT ask me if you can fire the squad you forgot to shoot once we are in the assault phase, EVER!!!"

 
   
Made in us
Swift Swooping Hawk




Hmm, if one argues that the valk/ vendetta cant carry units and outflank....then by the same token would you argue that the valk cant carry units and use their scout move if they start on the board?

Its more closely tied to the movement rules, but the unit still doesnt have scout so they cant make a move before the game....but the valk carrying them does indeed have scout so it can make a pregame move.


As long as nondedicated transports can carry a unit, I really dont see any way to disallow any special move that the transport can make, be it deepstrike, outflank or a regular scout move.


Sliggoth

Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). 
   
Made in gb
Sneaky Sniper Drone






Gwar! wrote:And lets not forget Land Speeder Storms, which can Deep Strike with Scouts inside

dietrich wrote:SM Scouts have Infiltrate and Scouts. LSS has Scout (iirc). I don't see how that's a comparison either.


They may both have scout but do scouts have deep strike.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/26 11:31:32


And the Lord spake, saying, "First shalt thou take out the Holy Pin. Then shalt thou count to three, no more, no less. Three shall be the number thou shalt count, and the number of the counting shall be three. Four shalt thou not count, neither count thou two, excepting that thou then proceed to three. Five is right out. Once the number three, being the third number, be reached, then lobbest thou thy Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch towards thy foe, who, being naughty in my sight, shall snuff it. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: