Switch Theme:

Do I have to declare Search Light when I shoot my weapon on my Razorback/Rhinos?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot



Texas

rigeld2 wrote:You're asserting that using a searchlight is the NF check. Correct?
I'm not sure how you're reading the searchlight rules to make that assertion. Could you help me understand?
I think (hope?) that he's saying it *could* be the NF check. It's not defined as such. But it's not defined as a "successful NF check" either. It's not defined. That's the epiphany Kirsanth and I both came to, I think - that we'd been playing it one way when it could just as easily be the other.

@Kirsanth - the reason I'm not advocating hard for the "exposed if fail check" position is that in actuality searchlight usage doctrine usually boiled down to, "don't". There was some silliness about searchight dazzle as a viable tactic in WWII and Cold War era field manuals, but in reality it was a huge, "shoot me!" sign. Searchlights don't work in the sort of setting we're using them, in most cases (Vietnam etc.) they were used in environments where one side had a huge firepower advantage and the other depended on stealth.

So, again, either interpretation is just as valid as the other.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Randall Turner wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:You're asserting that using a searchlight is the NF check. Correct?
I'm not sure how you're reading the searchlight rules to make that assertion. Could you help me understand?
I think (hope?) that he's saying it *could* be the NF check. It's not defined as such. But it's not defined as a "successful NF check" either. It's not defined. That's the epiphany Kirsanth and I both came to, I think - that we'd been playing it one way when it could just as easily be the other.


A Night Fight check is well defined - as a Tyranid, I can make them whenever needed. A searchlight has no effect on the Night Fight check. Therefore rolling for Night Fight cannot be how a searchlight is used.
If the rule said that a searchlight check is made - which is the same as a NF check - that'd be one thing.
But the rules tell you to do something that has nothing to do with a searchlight, and then after it works you do searchlight stuff.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Randall Turner summed it up well.

The thing is weirder than it should be.
Let's meet back here in two weeks and see if they made it more clear in the change.


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Pete Haines



Springfield, MA

Randall Turner wrote:in reality it was a huge, "shoot me!" sign


I guess I take back what I said about real life having nothing to do with this rule. 40k seems to use the tactic of not lighting up until the enemy is spotted.

"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."

I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

The rules are in effect the whole turn, the rules also are in effect only when rolling to see.
They are in effect whether or not that roll prevents you from firing, or you would have fired!!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/13 19:40:26


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Thunderhawk Pilot Dropping From Orbit





Dayton, TN

Page 63 of the space wolf codex searchlight rules tells me that you pick your target, roll 2d6 to see the target (even if it has a searchlight) having acquired a target will illuminate the target. This is non debatable - the light comes on when a target is acquired meaning rolled to see and passed. It goes on to say that the rest of your army can see the target spotlighted and your models do not test for night fighting if shooting at the initial targeted enemy. ( here's the however part). However, a vehicle using a search light can be seen in the next turn because the enemy can see it.

It's pretty straight forward... Every time you pass the night fight rule test and your vehicle has search lights it is used. Don't keep lighting up different targets with all your other models because they use their lights then...shoot the same model and they don't.


Simple rule IMO and worded fine.

Click the images to see my armies!


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Kal-El wrote:Page 63 of the space wolf codex searchlight rules tells me that you pick your target, roll 2d6 to see the target (even if it has a searchlight) having acquired a target will illuminate the target. This is non debatable - the light comes on when a target is acquired meaning rolled to see and passed. It goes on to say that the rest of your army can see the target spotlighted and your models do not test for night fighting if shooting at the initial targeted enemy. ( here's the however part). However, a vehicle using a search light can be seen in the next turn because the enemy can see it.

It's pretty straight forward... Every time you pass the night fight rule test and your vehicle has search lights it is used. Don't keep lighting up different targets with all your other models because they use their lights then...shoot the same model and they don't.


Simple rule IMO and worded fine.

It's like you didn't even read the thread. The SW codex rules don't differ from any of the others that have been quoted.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot



Texas

I'm going to take exception to this, Kal-El. You're saying it's very clear that searchlights are only used, ie, only come on, when the target is illuminated. That's not true. It simply does not say that. ie,

"Every time you pass the night fight rule test and your vehicle has search lights it is used." Doesn't say that, does it.
   
Made in us
Pete Haines



Springfield, MA

It is a simple rule, but page 4 and still going.

We haven't even talked about choosing to not use your searchlight, it makes sense that you wouldn't have to every time.

"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."

I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





erikwfg wrote:It is a simple rule, but page 4 and still going.

We haven't even talked about choosing to not use your searchlight, it makes sense that you wouldn't have to every time.

You don't have the choice at all. Making sense or not doesn't matter - the rule doesn't allow you to have a choice.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

rigeld2 wrote:You don't have the choice at all. Making sense or not doesn't matter - the rule doesn't allow you to have a choice.
That much we all agree on!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/13 20:05:56


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

erikwfg wrote:We haven't even talked about choosing to not use your searchlight, it makes sense that you wouldn't have to every time.

That was covered at the start of the thread. You don't have a choice to not use it.

 
   
Made in us
Pete Haines



Springfield, MA

Perhaps, but it's kind've an unspoken rule that you don't always have to use your wargear and abilities that give you an advantage. The assault rules say models will always fight and will use their special attacks in close combat, yet people are pretty sure that you can choose to not use the power fist and strike at a higher initiative.

"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."

I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

erikwfg wrote:The assault rules say models will always fight and will use their special attacks in close combat, yet people are pretty sure that you can choose to not use the power fist and strike at a higher initiative.


Only if you have a different special close combat weapon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/13 20:08:20


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot



Texas

Maybe they'll change that (auto use) in 6th too. <shrug> Again, it simply wasn't much of an issue before Necrons came along.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





erikwfg wrote:Perhaps, but it's kind've an unspoken rule that you don't always have to use your wargear and abilities that give you an advantage. The assault rules say models will always fight and will use their special attacks in close combat, yet people are pretty sure that you can choose to not use the power fist and strike at a higher initiative.

And people are wrong. You're not allowed to make that choice at all.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Pete Haines



Springfield, MA

That changes the game for alot of people then.

How would one determine what you are using to fight a walker with then? Grenades might be better but hit worse, any special close combat weapon could potentially be worse. Would you really have to use the special weapon?

These are somewhat rhetorical, but it gets you thinking. I will admit the searchlight doesn't say "may" anywhere or otherwise imply you have a choice.

"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."

I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





erikwfg wrote:How would one determine what you are using to fight a walker with then? Grenades might be better but hit worse, any special close combat weapon could potentially be worse. Would you really have to use the special weapon?

You can always opt for grenades against vehicles. But in a normal CC you can't pick.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

erikwfg wrote:Perhaps, but it's kind've an unspoken rule that you don't always have to use your wargear and abilities that give you an advantage.

It's really not.

You don't have to use wargear or abilities that are written in such a way as to make their use optional. You do have to use wargear or abilities that automatically apply.


The assault rules say models will always fight and will use their special attacks in close combat, yet people are pretty sure that you can choose to not use the power fist and strike at a higher initiative.

You can only choose to not use the powerfist if you have a different Special Close Combat weapon to use instead, in which case you choose which to use. The rules are crystal clear on that one.

 
   
Made in us
Pete Haines



Springfield, MA

I think that's too literal of a rules interpretation. You will never take my freedom.

"A rule is only as good as the reasoning behind it."

I played Ordo Malleus since before it had a codex. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





erikwfg wrote:I think that's too literal of a rules interpretation. You will never take my freedom.

Too literal? It's exactly what the rules say. Page 42, right side, "A normal and a special weapon"

Have fun with your house rule.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

rigeld2 wrote:Have fun with your house rule.

For the next few weeks.

Last edition you could choose to turn off the powerfist. Who knows how it will work next edition...

 
   
Made in us
Thunderhawk Pilot Dropping From Orbit





Dayton, TN

rigeld2 wrote:
Kal-El wrote:Page 63 of the space wolf codex searchlight rules tells me that you pick your target, roll 2d6 to see the target (even if it has a searchlight) having acquired a target will illuminate the target. This is non debatable - the light comes on when a target is acquired meaning rolled to see and passed. It goes on to say that the rest of your army can see the target spotlighted and your models do not test for night fighting if shooting at the initial targeted enemy. ( here's the however part). However, a vehicle using a search light can be seen in the next turn because the enemy can see it.

It's pretty straight forward... Every time you pass the night fight rule test and your vehicle has search lights it is used. Don't keep lighting up different targets with all your other models because they use their lights then...shoot the same model and they don't.


Simple rule IMO and worded fine.

It's like you didn't even read the thread. The SW codex rules don't differ from any of the others that have been quoted.


I read everything that was posted. There is a lot of back and forth. Imo You do not need to declare that your using a search light because if your firing with a vehicle that has a search light it is considered used once you roll to see if you can see your oppon
ent and hits, per searchlight rules. The rules seem pretty clear to me - The area I play in though does not play this way...you declare your using your light before your roll and press on accordingly. It is a loophole way around still firing your vehicles without lighting up own vehicles so the other guy has to use night fight also.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/13 21:44:35


Click the images to see my armies!


 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

If Searchlights were used before spotting the enemy, they'd probably make the Night Fighting roll easier. As it stands, they don't impact it at all.

If you're looking for realism/versimilitude, the tactic being simulated is that the guys don't expose themselves with their lights until and unless they find a target. Once they do, they do ahead and light up.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

insaniak wrote:
erikwfg wrote:The assault rules say models will always fight and will use their special attacks in close combat, yet people are pretty sure that you can choose to not use the power fist and strike at a higher initiative.

You can only choose to not use the powerfist if you have a different Special Close Combat weapon to use instead, in which case you choose which to use. The rules are crystal clear on that one.

Or if you have 3 or more weapons...

But lets not get into that so close to 6th ed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/06/14 06:35:09


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

DeathReaper wrote:
insaniak wrote:
erikwfg wrote:The assault rules say models will always fight and will use their special attacks in close combat, yet people are pretty sure that you can choose to not use the power fist and strike at a higher initiative.

You can only choose to not use the powerfist if you have a different Special Close Combat weapon to use instead, in which case you choose which to use. The rules are crystal clear on that one.

Or if you have 3 or more weapons...

But lets not get into that so close to 6th ed.


Not necessarily. If I have a Powerfist, pistol, and combat blade (don't think it's possible, but whatever), I still must use the Powerfist, even though I have 3 close combat weapons.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Brainless Zombie



plymouth (England)

What if theres no search light or it's broken, perhaps The weapon doesnt work, then what would you do..... that my friends is the bigger question

remember if you can't think of any thing to say just shout....................... FOR GONDOR !!!!!!

vampire counts: 1 - 0 - 3 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Happyjew wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:Or if you have 3 or more weapons...

But lets not get into that so close to 6th ed.


Not necessarily. If I have a Powerfist, pistol, and combat blade (don't think it's possible, but whatever), I still must use the Powerfist, even though I have 3 close combat weapons.

There are not really any clear rules to what happens when someone has 3 weapons. (I thought the language was clear, but others disagree so it is not clear)

But it does not need to be rehashed here.

as this has all the information on both sides of the ball: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/393443.page

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

One last post on 3+ close combat weapons. Iirc, having more than 2 weapons doesn't do anything, you just get the +1attack for 2 ccw. Note that this only applies if you do not have 2 different special ccws.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Happyjew wrote:One last post on 3+ close combat weapons. Iirc, having more than 2 weapons doesn't do anything, you just get the +1attack for 2 ccw. Note that this only applies if you do not have 2 different special ccws.

There are no rules for models with 3 special weapons or models with two special weapons and one normal weapon, or models with one special weapon and two special weapons.

Yakface explains it very well:

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/90/240925.page#730967

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: