Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:11:13
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Alpharius wrote:Q: If mindshackle scarabs are used against a model with a force
weapon or a weapon which allows the wielder to inflict Instant Death
with a successful Leadership test, can the Necron player force the enemy
model to utilise this ability? (p81)
A: Yes.
Not being familiar at all with the new Necrons, can someone explain just what the hell all of that means then?
Lord with Mindshackle Scarabs gets a Librarian in base to base.
Librarian fails his Leadership test on 3d6 and hits himself a couple times.
Because I'm rolling for the Librarian I fail one of the saves.
As long as I have a Warp Charge available to spend on my Librarian, the Necron Lord can choose to force me to activate my Force weapon, causing the wound to be an ID wound and making me a sad panda.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:11:34
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Perfect Shot Black Templar Predator Pilot
|
Lungpickle wrote:oH Lordy to be correct on so many questions that have been argued here is valadating.
Only a weapon that auto hits, can hit flyers insted of using snap shots. Which weapons are those? I dont know of any weapon that auto hit? Anyone.
A Farseer using Mind War at a Flying Monstrous Creature.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:11:47
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
cuda1179 wrote: pretre wrote: Shots resolved at a Zooming Flyer can only be resolved as Snap Shots (unless the modelor weaponhas the Skyfire specialrule,as described on page 42).Template, Blast andLarge Blast weapons cannot hit Flyersin Zoom mode. Skyfire - Amodel with this special rule, or that is firing a weapon with this special rule, fires using its normal Ballistic Skill when shooting at Flyers,Flying Monstrous Creatures and Skimmers. Unless it also has the Interceptor special rule, it can only fire snap shots against other targets. There is no permission for templates or blasts to hit flyers in Skyfire. But it does allow things like the Deathray to be fired, as it isn't a blast weapon or a template. Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13) A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and novas. Nope.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 20:12:09
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:12:35
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
So, now that Vibro Cannons are out, Eldar are the only Codex with no Skyfire and no Flying things.
Woo?
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:13:06
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Jervis Johnson
|
It's just incredible that it took GW a couple months to make a few minor adjustments to the FAQs and they still managed to get some of them completely wrong while also failing to answer many crucial questions that needed clarification. They really seem to have a bunch of nutless monkeys running games design. They do only a little work and even that they do poorly.
Nope.
You're just quoting the FAQ which is a source of new rules with new strange exceptions. The person you were responding to was asking his question based on the rules of Warhammer 40K as they exist in the rulebook.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/09/07 20:15:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:14:11
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
DarknessEternal wrote:So, now that Vibro Cannons are out, Eldar are the only Codex with no Skyfire and no Flying things.
Woo?
Well, they still get fortifications and allies.
But yeah, kinda unfair. Any news on a eldar dex, or a WD flyer?
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:15:24
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Perfect Shot Black Templar Predator Pilot
|
DarknessEternal wrote:So, now that Vibro Cannons are out, Eldar are the only Codex with no Skyfire and no Flying things.
Woo?
This just means our Flyer will be all that much better. Right....RIGHT!?! Guided War Walkers can get the job done though most of the time.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:15:40
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Except the deathray doesn't use ballistic skill so doesn't interact with Skyfire at all. Automatically Appended Next Post: DarknessEternal wrote:So, now that Vibro Cannons are out, Eldar are the only Codex with no Skyfire and no Flying things.
Woo?
Sisters of Battle, Black Templars...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 20:16:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:17:46
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
DarknessEternal wrote:So, now that Vibro Cannons are out, Eldar are the only Codex with no Skyfire and no Flying things.
Woo?
Nope Tau have no Skyfire and no Flyers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:18:46
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
pretre wrote:Except the deathray doesn't use ballistic skill so doesn't interact with Skyfire at all.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
DarknessEternal wrote:So, now that Vibro Cannons are out, Eldar are the only Codex with no Skyfire and no Flying things.
Woo?
Sisters of Battle, Black Templars...
Tau...Dark Angels (or do they get stormtalons?)...
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:18:47
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Space Wolves don't have Skyfire or Flyers either, do they?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:19:11
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Of course, and it will also be required to buy Holofields, which for 35 points are worse than a 5 point upgrade on Tau vehicles.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:20:05
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
DarknessEternal wrote:So, now that Vibro Cannons are out, Eldar are the only Codex with no Skyfire and no Flying things.
Woo?
Black Templars?
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:20:16
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
CthuluIsSpy wrote: pretre wrote:Except the deathray doesn't use ballistic skill so doesn't interact with Skyfire at all.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
DarknessEternal wrote:So, now that Vibro Cannons are out, Eldar are the only Codex with no Skyfire and no Flying things.
Woo?
Sisters of Battle, Black Templars...
Tau...Dark Angels (or do they get stormtalons?)...
Dark Angels don't get Stormtalons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:22:42
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
pretre wrote:Space Wolves don't have Skyfire or Flyers either, do they?
I don't think so, no.
FMC now have skyfire right? I guess CSM, daemons and nids are good then.
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:22:56
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
So Tau, Dark Angels, Space Wolves, SoB, Black Templars and Eldar all don't have Skyfire. Guess we can shoot down that 'Woe is me, no Skyfire' bit for Eldar.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:24:12
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
I was hoping the my skyray might actually see some use : /
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:28:20
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Therion wrote:No, because Skyfire does not override the restriction for flyers not to be hit by prohibited weapons.
That's a great way to misguide your readers. What the heck are prohibited weapons? There is no such category. They list blast, template and large blast weapons. Death Ray is none of them.
And also No, because the FAQ says no.
This is correct. The only reason why Death Rays can't be shot at flyers is because the FAQ says so. It's not based on the rules of 40K.
Except it's a 'line' weapon that they mentioned, and because the FAQ Says you cannot fire the Death Ray at Zooming Flyers.
QQ?
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Bolded the part you seem to not understand.
This is awesome, too:
Q: Are the effects of the multiple Runes of Warding cumulative (i.e. two
Runes of Warding in range would cause the character to roll 4D6 when
taking psychic tests)? (p26)
A: No.
EDIT:
They changed all Techmarines Bolster back to ruins only. Fine with me.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 20:29:27
warboss wrote:Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:28:45
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
CthuluIsSpy wrote: cuda1179 wrote: pretre wrote:
Shots resolved at a Zooming Flyer can only be resolved as Snap Shots
(unless the modelor weaponhas the Skyfire specialrule,as
described on page 42).Template, Blast andLarge Blast weapons
cannot hit Flyersin Zoom mode.
Skyfire -
Amodel with this special rule, or that
is firing a weapon with this special rule,
fires using its normal Ballistic Skill when
shooting at Flyers,Flying Monstrous
Creatures and Skimmers. Unless it also
has the Interceptor special rule, it can
only fire snap shots against other targets.
There is no permission for templates or blasts to hit flyers in Skyfire.
But it does allow things like the Deathray to be fired, as it isn't a blast weapon or a template.
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Nope.
I realize what the FAQ states. The FAQ however is misquoting the rules. The FAQ in and of itself is wrong as there are many ways to hit a Flier without snapshots. So, if you can hit without snapshots (like when using skyfire) a weapon can still hit a flier. If it were not specifiacally called out in a FAQ (for no apparent reason) the Death Ray would be able to hit a Flier. Just like, hypothetically, if there was a vehicle mounted Blood Lance, it would work too.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:30:17
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Mighty Chosen Warrior of Chaos
Sorry can't disclose.....infiltrating
|
Well Gw has decided rerollable saves are problem for csm with the changes to fateweaver, even less a reason to buy that horrid model, but nurgle and its far worse "tally" man lists untouched......good call
|
My Armies :
VC
Warriors of Chaos
Dark Elves
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:30:24
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
cuda1179 wrote: CthuluIsSpy wrote: cuda1179 wrote: pretre wrote:
Shots resolved at a Zooming Flyer can only be resolved as Snap Shots
(unless the modelor weaponhas the Skyfire specialrule,as
described on page 42).Template, Blast andLarge Blast weapons
cannot hit Flyersin Zoom mode.
Skyfire -
Amodel with this special rule, or that
is firing a weapon with this special rule,
fires using its normal Ballistic Skill when
shooting at Flyers,Flying Monstrous
Creatures and Skimmers. Unless it also
has the Interceptor special rule, it can
only fire snap shots against other targets.
There is no permission for templates or blasts to hit flyers in Skyfire.
But it does allow things like the Deathray to be fired, as it isn't a blast weapon or a template.
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Nope.
I realize what the FAQ states. The FAQ however is misquoting the rules. The FAQ in and of itself is wrong as there are many ways to hit a Flier without snapshots. So, if you can hit without snapshots (like when using skyfire) a weapon can still hit a flier. If it were not specifiacally called out in a FAQ (for no apparent reason) the Death Ray would be able to hit a Flier. Just like, hypothetically, if there was a vehicle mounted Blood Lance, it would work too.
The Doom Scythe creates a line/area of effect. Reading the whole thing is hurrrd.
|
warboss wrote:Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:31:01
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Crazyterran wrote:
Except it's a 'line' weapon that they mentioned, and because the FAQ Says you cannot fire the Death Ray at Zooming Flyers.
QQ?
LOL they spell it out in black and white and people still QQ about it.
Guess he is feeling buyers remorse over those three doomscythes he recently purchased.
Can't wait to start tearing flyers a new one with my CSM daemon princes! Skyfire *and* vector strikes!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:33:58
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Crazyterran wrote: Therion wrote:No, because Skyfire does not override the restriction for flyers not to be hit by prohibited weapons.
That's a great way to misguide your readers. What the heck are prohibited weapons? There is no such category. They list blast, template and large blast weapons. Death Ray is none of them.
And also No, because the FAQ says no.
This is correct. The only reason why Death Rays can't be shot at flyers is because the FAQ says so. It's not based on the rules of 40K.
Except it's a 'line' weapon that they mentioned, and because the FAQ Says you cannot fire the Death Ray at Zooming Flyers.
QQ?
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Bolded the part you seem to not understand.
.
he understands perfectly. It seems you don't understand. He specifically stated that the ONLY reason a Deathray can't hit a flier is because of the FAQ. Without the FAQ trhe normal 40k rulebook allows the Death Ray to hit fliers if it uses Skyfire.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:35:07
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
cuda1179 wrote:Crazyterran wrote: Therion wrote:No, because Skyfire does not override the restriction for flyers not to be hit by prohibited weapons.
That's a great way to misguide your readers. What the heck are prohibited weapons? There is no such category. They list blast, template and large blast weapons. Death Ray is none of them.
And also No, because the FAQ says no.
This is correct. The only reason why Death Rays can't be shot at flyers is because the FAQ says so. It's not based on the rules of 40K.
Except it's a 'line' weapon that they mentioned, and because the FAQ Says you cannot fire the Death Ray at Zooming Flyers.
QQ?
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Bolded the part you seem to not understand.
.
he understands perfectly. It seems you don't understand. He specifically stated that the ONLY reason a Deathray can't hit a flier is because of the FAQ. Without the FAQ trhe normal 40k rulebook allows the Death Ray to hit fliers if it uses Skyfire.
Except the FAQ also states that any Template/Blast etc. cannot hit Flyers even with Skyfire special rule.
Again, reading, etc.
|
warboss wrote:Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:35:21
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
I disagree, but it doesn't matter because the FAQ answers the question for us.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:36:39
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Crazyterran wrote: cuda1179 wrote: CthuluIsSpy wrote: cuda1179 wrote: pretre wrote:
Shots resolved at a Zooming Flyer can only be resolved as Snap Shots
(unless the modelor weaponhas the Skyfire specialrule,as
described on page 42).Template, Blast andLarge Blast weapons
cannot hit Flyersin Zoom mode.
Skyfire -
Amodel with this special rule, or that
is firing a weapon with this special rule,
fires using its normal Ballistic Skill when
shooting at Flyers,Flying Monstrous
Creatures and Skimmers. Unless it also
has the Interceptor special rule, it can
only fire snap shots against other targets.
There is no permission for templates or blasts to hit flyers in Skyfire.
But it does allow things like the Deathray to be fired, as it isn't a blast weapon or a template.
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Nope.
I realize what the FAQ states. The FAQ however is misquoting the rules. The FAQ in and of itself is wrong as there are many ways to hit a Flier without snapshots. So, if you can hit without snapshots (like when using skyfire) a weapon can still hit a flier. If it were not specifiacally called out in a FAQ (for no apparent reason) the Death Ray would be able to hit a Flier. Just like, hypothetically, if there was a vehicle mounted Blood Lance, it would work too.
The Doom Scythe creates a line/area of effect. Reading the whole thing is hurrrd.
And yet, it it wren't for the FAQ, a line/are of effect weapon is NOT banned from hitting a flier as long as it has the skyfire rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:36:58
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Maelstrom808 wrote:Another change implied to how some people have been saying things should be played: Gun emplacement = emplaced gun. The FAQ refers to the weapons on the battlements of bastions/ FoR as gun emplacements, while the BRB says they are emplaced weapons, meaning that those two terms mean the same thing.
Emphasis mine, this is not what the BRB says. Aegis Defense Line and Imperial Bastion says "Gun Emplacement" for the upgrade; Bastion also has "Emplaced Heavy Bolters". Fortress of Redemption says "Emplaced Missile Silo" and can add "Emplaced Heavy Bolters".
ADL and Bastion upgrades are still Gun Emplacements which are still different from Emplaced Weapons.
As a backup for this, Tyranid FAQ:
FAQs
Q: Are Tyranid units inside buildings (i.e. the Bastion) subject to
instinctive behaviour tests? Furthermore, are they able to manual fire
emplaced weapons or weapon emplacements?
A: No to both questions.
Emphasis mine, this part is new in 1.1 (even though it's not Magenta color).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:39:00
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
The really sad thing is, according to the fluff, the Skyray is the Tau's anti-air tank.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:39:33
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
cuda1179 wrote:Crazyterran wrote: cuda1179 wrote: CthuluIsSpy wrote: cuda1179 wrote: pretre wrote:
Shots resolved at a Zooming Flyer can only be resolved as Snap Shots
(unless the modelor weaponhas the Skyfire specialrule,as
described on page 42).Template, Blast andLarge Blast weapons
cannot hit Flyersin Zoom mode.
Skyfire -
Amodel with this special rule, or that
is firing a weapon with this special rule,
fires using its normal Ballistic Skill when
shooting at Flyers,Flying Monstrous
Creatures and Skimmers. Unless it also
has the Interceptor special rule, it can
only fire snap shots against other targets.
There is no permission for templates or blasts to hit flyers in Skyfire.
But it does allow things like the Deathray to be fired, as it isn't a blast weapon or a template.
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Nope.
I realize what the FAQ states. The FAQ however is misquoting the rules. The FAQ in and of itself is wrong as there are many ways to hit a Flier without snapshots. So, if you can hit without snapshots (like when using skyfire) a weapon can still hit a flier. If it were not specifiacally called out in a FAQ (for no apparent reason) the Death Ray would be able to hit a Flier. Just like, hypothetically, if there was a vehicle mounted Blood Lance, it would work too.
The Doom Scythe creates a line/area of effect. Reading the whole thing is hurrrd.
And yet, it it wren't for the FAQ, a line/are of effect weapon is NOT banned from hitting a flier as long as it has the skyfire rule.
Oh well, it can't hit flyers regardless now, and nobody should feel bad for necron players in the least.
They already have too much in their codex as it is.
|
warboss wrote:Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:39:33
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Crazyterran wrote: cuda1179 wrote:Crazyterran wrote: Therion wrote:No, because Skyfire does not override the restriction for flyers not to be hit by prohibited weapons.
That's a great way to misguide your readers. What the heck are prohibited weapons? There is no such category. They list blast, template and large blast weapons. Death Ray is none of them.
And also No, because the FAQ says no.
This is correct. The only reason why Death Rays can't be shot at flyers is because the FAQ says so. It's not based on the rules of 40K.
Except it's a 'line' weapon that they mentioned, and because the FAQ Says you cannot fire the Death Ray at Zooming Flyers.
QQ?
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Gliding
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Bolded the part you seem to not understand.
.
he understands perfectly. It seems you don't understand. He specifically stated that the ONLY reason a Deathray can't hit a flier is because of the FAQ. Without the FAQ trhe normal 40k rulebook allows the Death Ray to hit fliers if it uses Skyfire.
Except the FAQ also states that any Template/Blast etc. cannot hit Flyers even with Skyfire special rule.
Again, reading, etc.
Are you intentionally NOT reading what is posted. Like we stated, we know what the FAQ states. We agree that NOW a Deathray can't hit a flier. We are saying that what the FAQ states was pulled from nowhere. Previously to the FAQ a deathray could hit a flier if it used shyfier.
This is just as silly as 4th edition when the FAQ stated that Tyranid Monsterous creatures didn't take instinctive behaviour tests because, and I quote, " They don't need to take the test because Fearless models never take Leadership tests anyway". That was totally wrong.
Later in 5th edition they FAQed that Monsterous creatures that could use two psychic powere per turn still couldn't fire two shooting pychic weapons as "A model is limited to firing one weapon per turn" This was wrong as Monsterous creatures CAN fire two weapons. They later realised this and changed it.
That is why I am hoping they will change this as well.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 20:46:16
|
|
 |
 |
|