Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 06:44:01
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Birmingham, AL
|
Greetings!!!
I have been building up a new chaos army and want to field abbadon the despoiler as one of my HQ's.
I was curious how his interaction with squads is. Since he is stated to possess all four marks of chaos, can he join any squad he pleases, or none at all, since someone with an alignment mark cant join a differently or unaligned squad.
Thanks
Gunnvulcan
|
"The strength of a blade is tested by fire. The strength of a warrior is tested by actions."
4500 pts (1000 or so painted)
1850pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 06:45:19
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Strict RAW he may not join any marked squad.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 07:52:34
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
He can only join an unmarked squad our a squad with all 4 marks.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 08:03:44
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
He can join any squad with a mark or unmarked.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 08:17:53
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Not true. He cannot join a squad with a Mark of "W"" because he has a Mark of "X", "Y", and "Z".
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 08:27:51
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
What does the rule actually say?
"An Independent Character with a Mark of Chaos may not join a unit with a different Mark of Chaos."
Abbadon doesn't have a Mark, he has all four so he is unaffected by this rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/25 09:08:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 11:26:42
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Yes he does. He has 4 of them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 11:48:35
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Abaddon has a set of marks A, B, C and D.
If a squad has mark E they have a different one to his set of marks.
If a squad has mark A, they do not have a different mark, it is contained in Abaddon's set of marks.
|
Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 11:56:42
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
This has been argued a billion times and we don't need another thread about it.
Short story; you got two options
RAW he cannot join any marked squad as the rules for joining marked squads prevents him from doing this.
RAI he can join any squad because he has all four and is the warmaster.
That's it. No more discussion please. Its been argued over enough. Use the search button if you have more questions.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 15:58:39
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
By the rules he can join any squad. The rule refers to a character with only one mark.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 17:03:04
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
The rule isn't a Character cannot join a squad with a different Mark. the rule is a character cannot join a squad if he has a different Mark.
Abbaddon will ALWAYS have a different Mark. ergo he can never join a marked squad.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 17:04:36
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Dozer Blades wrote:By the rules he can join any squad. The rule refers to a character with only one mark.
Hmm must be opposite year where you live.
He has a mark of Khorne, a mark of nurgle, etc.
So yes he has a Different mark.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 17:07:04
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
It depends on what you consider different.
To me, it means 'diferent from the marks Abaddon has'.
|
Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 17:07:06
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Dozer Blades wrote:By the rules he can join any squad. The rule refers to a character with only one mark.
Abbadon has a mark, he has 4 of them. The rules do not refer to a character with only one mark, they refer to a character with a mark. Abbadon has a mark, he has a mark x4.
By the RAW he can not join a squad with an opposing mark.
Abbadon has the Mark of Khorne, and three other marks. Abbadon can not join a unit with the mark of nurgle because Abbadon has 1 mark that is the same, but 3 that are different.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 17:08:59
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Shandara wrote:It depends on what you consider different.
To me, it means 'diferent from the marks Abaddon has'.
Than certainly they're different as Abby has A,B,C,D Squad 4 only has C. Abby has Different via A,B,D
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 17:11:11
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
If the Squad has Mark A, it doesn't matter that Abbaddon has Mark A. What matters is that he also has Mark B, C, and D.
If the rule had been "A character can only join a marked squad if he has the same Mark" we would be fine. but instead it is the opposite requirement.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 18:11:36
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The rules only state a mark... By RAW he has all four so he can join any unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 18:17:23
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Dozer Blades wrote:The rules only state a mark... By RAW he has all four so he can join any unit. 
That works both ways.
He has a Mark of Khorne, a Mark of Nurgle...
He has a Mark of Khorne, which is different from the units Mark of Slaanesh.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 18:19:54
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Dozer Blades wrote:The rules only state a mark... By RAW he has all four so he can join any unit. 
If you would like to go that route, actually Abby has A Mark of Chaos Ascendant which is different from any other Mark out there so by your logic, No Abby cannot join any Marked squad.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 19:02:00
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Abby can only join an un-marked squad at the present time. Which is hilarious.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 19:06:56
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
Unfortunately, as written, Abbadon is stuck joining vanilla Troops or Terminators, or Chosen which count as Troops. So you could put him with 4 melta guns and some power fists in a Land Raider. I think they'll FAQ this soon, as that's just stupid that the Warmaster can't join any Marked units. But maybe that was their intention to limit his awesomeness.
Anyone tried him with Huron Blackheart? He doesn't have a Mark.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 19:11:02
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
40k-noob wrote: Dozer Blades wrote:The rules only state a mark... By RAW he has all four so he can join any unit. 
If you would like to go that route, actually Abby has A Mark of Chaos Ascendant which is different from any other Mark out there so by your logic, No Abby cannot join any Marked squad.
Fluff =\= Rules
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 22:01:33
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Dozer Blades wrote:40k-noob wrote: Dozer Blades wrote:The rules only state a mark... By RAW he has all four so he can join any unit. 
If you would like to go that route, actually Abby has A Mark of Chaos Ascendant which is different from any other Mark out there so by your logic, No Abby cannot join any Marked squad.
Fluff =\= Rules
You should READ the codex.
It is not Fluff. It is HIS Mark.
page 57 of the Codex.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 22:14:30
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I have it. He has all four marks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 22:40:55
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Yep, all 4 marks
A mark of Khorne
A mark of Slannesh
A mark of Tzeentch
A mark of Nurgle
So yes he will always have a different mark, if the unit itself has a mark.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/25 23:18:36
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
JD - I wouldnt bother arguing, we've been over this before and no matter how many times you prove that he will ALWAYS have a different mark to the unit he is attempting to join, certain posters will disagree, without providng any rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 03:01:44
Subject: Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Its obvious that he should have been allowed to join any unit but as nos stated its been discussed many times and he currently can not join units unless unmarked.
|
~Ice~
Da' Burnin Couch 2018 Best Overall
Beef and Wing ITC Major GT Best Overall 2018
2019 ITC #1 Overall Best Admech
LVO 2019 #1 Admech |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 03:07:28
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The rule say a character with A mark. Abbadon has four marks so it doesn't apply to him. That is totally RAW too.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 03:18:29
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Dozer Blades wrote:The rule say a character with A mark. Abbadon has four marks so it doesn't apply to him. That is totally RAW too. 
If you feel that way, do try to back it up than.
Feel free to explain out your ideas and such. Automatically Appended Next Post: nosferatu1001 wrote:JD - I wouldnt bother arguing, we've been over this before and no matter how many times you prove that he will ALWAYS have a different mark to the unit he is attempting to join, certain posters will disagree, without providng any rules.
Yea, tis true. Maybe it's troll season.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/26 03:18:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/26 05:12:02
Subject: Re:Abbadon's ability to join squads
|
 |
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch
|
Looking at it, I can find some RAW support to Dozer Blades' position, but I think it might be stretching it:
1.When an option is listed, such as a gift of mutation, it says they "may take a gift of mutation". This is generally interpreted to mean only one. You can't take 4 gifts of mutation, paying 40 pts, and saying "I took a gift of mutation, four times." So "a" != four.
2.The "Marks of Chaos" referred to on Pg. 30 are only the marks listed there. The "Mark of Chaos Ascendant" is thus not a "Mark of Chaos", and is not itself referenced by the restriction on Pg. 30.
Therefore, Abaddon does not fall under the restrictions on Pg. 30, and can join any squad. If that's the equivalency, I'd rather have Abaddon joining no Marked squads, and getting 4 gifts.
|
|
 |
 |
|