Switch Theme:

Vehicle Deployment Tactic, Pivoting  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

I know many people use the sideways vehicle trick to gain an extra 2-3" over the starting line on turn 1, but can this same thing be legally used other situations, such a outflank? I'm bookless at work, and fuzzy on the exact wording, I feel like it says the model comes onto the edge of the table and then makes it's normal movement. Does this mean that it has to come onto the edge facing in the direction it wants to travel? (like zooming flyers) Or can it start from the edge sideways, pivot, then start counting movement?


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




NO reason why it couldnt do that.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

There's no requirement that vehicles drive "forward." You can do your pivot at the end of the movement, instead of the beginning. This might be easier to visualise for your opponent., rather than pivoting while part of the vehicle is hanging off the board.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







I would re-read p124 if I were you. It specifically states that all models move on from reserves as if they were positioned just off the board. Aspect changing shenanigans would be prevented by this.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Flinty wrote:
I would re-read p124 if I were you. It specifically states that all models move on from reserves as if they were positioned just off the board. Aspect changing shenanigans would be prevented by this.

No they wouldn't. What does being positioned just off the board have to so with pivoting before moving?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ie
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Limerick

 Flinty wrote:
I would re-read p124 if I were you. It specifically states that all models move on from reserves as if they were positioned just off the board. Aspect changing shenanigans would be prevented by this.


A tank positioned just off the board and turned sideways is still positioned just off the board. The above rule changes nothing in this argument.

Read Bloghammer!

My Grey Knights plog
My Chaos Space Marines plog
My Eldar plog

Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Stabbin' Skarboy





armagedon

Id call BS if you did that to me, thats obviously exploitation of the rules.

3500pts1500pts2500pts4500pts3500pts2000pts 2000pts plus several small AOS armies  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Zognob Gorgoff wrote:
Id call BS if you did that to me, thats obviously exploitation of the rules.

No it isnt. This has been a feature of the vehicle movement rules since 3rd edition - 1998. The studio is fully aware of this.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

I would be inclined to move a vehicle forward onto the table ; it has to move onto the board, and pivoting does not count as movement.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Pivoting *alone* does not count as movement; there is no reason they cannot start sideways, start movement, and turn.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The rulebook states that they must move onto the table, as if they were positioned just off of it; if pivoting by itself does not count as moving, then pivoting would not be a legal way to get the model onto the table.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Mannahnin wrote:
pivoting would not be a legal way to get the model onto the table.
I think they're talking about positioning off-table sideways, moving on sideways, then pivoting to face forward.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Mannahnin wrote:
The rulebook states that they must move onto the table, as if they were positioned just off of it; if pivoting by itself does not count as moving, then pivoting would not be a legal way to get the model onto the table.

Pivoting alone does not count as movement.
The vehicle is not pivoting alone - it's pivoting and them moving.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







 Godless-Mimicry wrote:
 Flinty wrote:
I would re-read p124 if I were you. It specifically states that all models move on from reserves as if they were positioned just off the board. Aspect changing shenanigans would be prevented by this.


A tank positioned just off the board and turned sideways is still positioned just off the board. The above rule changes nothing in this argument.


But if any part of the tank moves further onto the board than its permitted movement it is breaching the movement rules as stated on p10. There is even a little call out box showing what is correct and incorrect.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Flinty - incorrect, you measure from one place and one place only. Displacement is NOT movement
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

nosferatu1001 wrote:Pivoting *alone* does not count as movement; there is no reason they cannot start sideways, start movement, and turn.


rigeld2 wrote:
 Mannahnin wrote:
The rulebook states that they must move onto the table, as if they were positioned just off of it; if pivoting by itself does not count as moving, then pivoting would not be a legal way to get the model onto the table.

Pivoting alone does not count as movement.
The vehicle is not pivoting alone - it's pivoting and them moving.


It does not really matter as you can simply pivot at the end of the move instead but... technically you are not permitted to 'pivot' onto the board. You are only permitted to 'move' onto it. Placing it just off the board edge sideways and pivoting places part of the vehicle on the board without moving. That is not permitted as you must 'move' onto the board.

To properly cheese your way into some extra movement you'd need to move it in sideways from the board edge and then pivot.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







nosferatu1001 wrote:
Flinty - incorrect, you measure from one place and one place only. Displacement is NOT movement


But coming in from reserves the only point you can possibly measure from is the first bit of the vehicle that comes onto the board. You can't measure from the centre of the vehicle because that is off in limbo somewhere.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, you measure the side of the vehicle; i never said the centre.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Abandon wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Pivoting *alone* does not count as movement; there is no reason they cannot start sideways, start movement, and turn.


rigeld2 wrote:
 Mannahnin wrote:
The rulebook states that they must move onto the table, as if they were positioned just off of it; if pivoting by itself does not count as moving, then pivoting would not be a legal way to get the model onto the table.

Pivoting alone does not count as movement.
The vehicle is not pivoting alone - it's pivoting and them moving.


It does not really matter as you can simply pivot at the end of the move instead but... technically you are not permitted to 'pivot' onto the board. You are only permitted to 'move' onto it. Placing it just off the board edge sideways and pivoting places part of the vehicle on the board without moving. That is not permitted as you must 'move' onto the board.

To properly cheese your way into some extra movement you'd need to move it in sideways from the board edge and then pivot.

Pivoting is part of moving. The vehicle is moving onto the table.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in sa
Longtime Dakkanaut





Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia

Personally I'd measure from the board edge to the furthest point on the hull.
If the vehicle can move 12" (for example), I'd say that it can't end up more than 12" from the entry point.

If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it.
item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





And it doesn't.
There's no difference between this and deploying sideways.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 marv335 wrote:
Personally I'd measure from the board edge to the furthest point on the hull.
If the vehicle can move 12" (for example), I'd say that it can't end up more than 12" from the entry point.

MOvement (in 40k terms) != displacement.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: