Switch Theme:

Drop pod scatters off the table partially, but still connects with a tank parked on the edge.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The 6th edition IGS rule says if you scatter off the table you mishap. The 5th(?) edition codex is silent on the matter.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




The Golden Throne

You reduce scatter after you scatter, obviously. Which means they scatter off the board, which incurs a mishap, then reduces it. IGS makes you take the mishap.

Build a man a fire, he will be warm for a night. Set a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life. 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





New Orleans

2 things are happening at once. The players who turn decides which happens first. if it were my turn I would choose to have the distance reduced and not mishap.

01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110  
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






 Mythra wrote:
2 things are happening at once. The players who turn decides which happens first. if it were my turn I would choose to have the distance reduced and not mishap.


This only applies when both players have something to do at the same time. This is not the case here.
   
Made in au
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot





 DeathReaper wrote:
Fragile wrote:
Only if you ignore the rule that says that if you scatter off the board, you mishap. That is also part of the IGS rule.

That's not a rule...

At least not one I am seeing in the Space Wolves codex.


Because space wolves are AWESOME!

I would side that it reduces the scatter from being over the tank, The rule doesn't say the Initial scatter just the scatter, so to me that means where it eventually lands after IGS. But probably a roll off is best till the sucker is FAQ'ed

~ Krieg 6k
~ Necrons 2.5k
~ Space Wolves 5K
~ :Khorne CSM 2k
 
   
Made in gb
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot






Manchester, UK

Ok,

So the drop pod is both on another unit, where it cannot land it's also scattered partially off the table. Both have happened simultaneously.

It's both scatter reduced and mis-happed.

Schrodinger's Drop pod.


   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot





Sparta, Ohio

I do not use Drop pods but if this were to come up when playing against someone who does, I would suggest that if it is over a tank and can not be deployed (set on the table) then you reduce the scatter. If it could be deployed (actually set on table) and it breaks the plane of the edge of the table it would be a mishap.

Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!)  
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





What we have here guys is an order of operations issue. I can't see any rules anywhere that state which order you check the conditions in.

For example, we have said that the pod is both on an enemy model AND off the table, so the question should be which condition is checked first, wouldn't it?

If you check for off the table first, then it mishaps. If you check for impassable/other models first, then you reduce the scatter.

I play pods a lot too and I have to admit I have never had this come up so I am curious to see if there is an official ruling myself....

9500 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot





Sparta, Ohio

Only thing that I can see for order of operations is that in the book, it has it written to reduce scatter in the first sentence, the second sentence covers the mishap.

Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!)  
   
Made in gb
Calculating Commissar





England

 Gideon999 wrote:
What we have here guys is an order of operations issue. I can't see any rules anywhere that state which order you check the conditions in.

For example, we have said that the pod is both on an enemy model AND off the table, so the question should be which condition is checked first, wouldn't it?

If you check for off the table first, then it mishaps. If you check for impassable/other models first, then you reduce the scatter.

I play pods a lot too and I have to admit I have never had this come up so I am curious to see if there is an official ruling myself....

If this is a case, then a D6 should be rolled to decide which takes precedence each time and it therefore mishaps on a 4+, is scatter reduced otherwise.

 ChargerIIC wrote:
If algae farm paste with a little bit of your grandfather in it isn't Grimdark I don't know what is.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Neither takes precedence; you have 2 rules one of which leads to a mishap, the other to no mishap

You, either way, have a mishap
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Gothenburg

Final position (scatter was lowered to no longer end up of the table) is not of table.
No way in hell I would call that a mishap no matter on which side of the game I was on!

Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

As far as RAW is concerned, I was in the mishap camp at first, but now I'm leaning the other way.

RAW - The way I see it, a deep strike mishap can logically only occur after the final placement of the model (or models) has been established. This must happen after the scatter has been fully determined or any rule that reduced or modified the scatter would be pointless (we don't determine if a blast template hits until we reduce the scatter by the BS of the firer, for example).

In the OP's example, the DP's initial placement was both on impassable terrain and off the table. Since the IGS rule specifically addresses the issue of impassable terrain, this rule comes into effect and the DP's scatter distance is reduced until it can be legally placed (or not, as the case may be, depending on your view of the initial DS placement rules). Once the final placement it determined, the check to see if the DP is still either in impassable terrain or off the table is made and a determination is made on whether a mishap occurred or not.

I don't believe this 'violates' a rule because both the IGS and the mishap rules have been satisfied (the former due to the initial scatter of the pod and the latter due to the final determination of the scatter).

HIWPI - The DP should probably mishap despite the wording of IGS. Anyone who manages to place a DP such that it scatters off the table—especially with pre-measuring and the IGS rule to protect them—really deserves to mishap... but that's another discussion.

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon






OKC, Oklahoma

 davou wrote:
yeah, The scatter was about 9 inches. At around 4 I hit the russ, then at 8 I was partially off the table, but still sitting well on top of the russ, if I reduced to get 'off' the tank, I would have been completely on the table.


It's a mishap.
Look at the distances.... there is a scatter of "about 9 inches", at 8 inches, it is "partially off the table". There is one more inch to go on the scatter before determining the final position. Since the Russ is hit at 4 inches, the table edge at between 6 and 8, the final inch would move the pod off the table by more than half its footprint..... thus mishap.

Of all the races of the universe the Squats have the longest memories and the shortest tempers. They are uncouth, unpredictably violent, and frequently drunk. Overall, I'm glad they're on our side!

Office of Naval Intelligence Research discovers 3 out of 4 sailors make up 75% of U.S. Navy.
"Madness is like gravity... All you need is a little push."

:Nilla Marines: 2500
:Marine "Scouts": 2500 (Systemically Quarantined, Unsupported, Abhuman, Truncated Soldiers)

"On one side of me stand my Homeworld, Stronghold and Brotherhood; On the other, my ancestors. I cannot behave otherwise than honorably."
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Macclesfield, UK

In the end it all boils down what occurs first. The mishap for being off the table or reducing the scatter because you're over another unit. Also the wording of the IGS rule will be important as well where it mentions a mishap for being off the table.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

 Mywik wrote:
 Mythra wrote:
2 things are happening at once. The players who turn decides which happens first. if it were my turn I would choose to have the distance reduced and not mishap.


This only applies when both players have something to do at the same time. This is not the case here.

Nope sorry this is wrong. When numerous things go off in your turn at the same time you decide the order of opperations. That way I can choose in what order I bring in reserves, cast maledictions and blessings and roll for outflank. There is a clear part in the rules on it and even an FAQ to boot.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in ca
Nasty Nob






 Pyriel- wrote:
Final position (scatter was lowered to no longer end up of the table) is not of table.
No way in hell I would call that a mishap no matter on which side of the game I was on!


Thats the thing; final position is not 'scatter'.

its another one of those words that need a definition.

ERJAK wrote:


The fluff is like ketchup and mustard on a burger. Yes it's desirable, yes it makes things better, but no it doesn't fundamentally change what you're eating and no you shouldn't just drown the whole meal in it.

 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Inertial Guidance System: Should a Drop Pod scatter on top
of impassable terrain or another model (friend or foe) then
reduce the scatter distance by the minimum required in
order to avoid the obstacle. Note that if a Drop Pod scatters
off the edge of the board, it suffers a Deep Strike Mishap as
per the Warhammer 40,000 rule book.

Directly from the new marine book. Following this rule because you do have to follow it in its entirety and not just the parts you like you will need to first check if it is on top of an enemy model and then before you do anything the rest of the rule would kick in and tell you you misshape. The mishap must still happen. This is not a case of two rules interacting and trying to figure out which goes first this is a case of one rule with two clauses triggering and since the second has triggered it must be resolved.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/12 18:35:46


3200 points > 5400 points
2500 points 
   
Made in us
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant





Guys, if it cannot be placed (IE, its partly on top of the tank) then it does NOT LAND THERE. you reduce the scatter, then see if it is off the board (most likely not) its really not that hard. you determine mishaps after IGS takes effect, otherwise their is no real point to IGS. if you scatter off the board, or on board edge w/out landing on another model, THEN you mishap as IGS does NOT take effect.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 davou wrote:
 Pyriel- wrote:
Final position (scatter was lowered to no longer end up of the table) is not of table.
No way in hell I would call that a mishap no matter on which side of the game I was on!


Thats the thing; final position is not 'scatter'.

its another one of those words that need a definition.


as I said, you determine "scatter" results after IGS takes effect.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/12 18:38:44


 Wyzilla wrote:

Because Plague Marines have the evasion abilities of a drunk elephant.


Burn the Heretic
Kill the mutant
Purge the Unclean 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Raided - retread, note that scattering off the board triggers a mishap, regardless of the presence of other models

It isn't that hard when you read ALL the rule.
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

If you go off the board, unless it reduces scatter when you do that, you mishap. You can't have 1/2 of a rule work.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant





but its not the actual scatter, because IGS takes effect before mishaps do (via REDUCING) the scatter.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/12 18:42:33


 Wyzilla wrote:

Because Plague Marines have the evasion abilities of a drunk elephant.


Burn the Heretic
Kill the mutant
Purge the Unclean 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 raiden wrote:
but its not the actual scatter, because IGS takes effect before mishaps do (via REDUCING) the scatter.

So you're just ignoring half of the quoted rule then?
Cool story.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant





rigeld2 wrote:
 raiden wrote:
but its not the actual scatter, because IGS takes effect before mishaps do (via REDUCING) the scatter.

So you're just ignoring half of the quoted rule then?
Cool story.


no, if the pod scatters off the table it takes a mishap, but because it landed half on a model (the tank in the OP situation) IGS takes effect reducing the pods scatter so it does not scatter off the table edge. because it CANNOT land on another model therefore would not even be ALLOWED to land their to begin with.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/12 18:49:13


 Wyzilla wrote:

Because Plague Marines have the evasion abilities of a drunk elephant.


Burn the Heretic
Kill the mutant
Purge the Unclean 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 raiden wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 raiden wrote:
but its not the actual scatter, because IGS takes effect before mishaps do (via REDUCING) the scatter.

So you're just ignoring half of the quoted rule then?
Cool story.


no, if the pod scatters off the table it takes a mishap, but because it landed half on a model (the tank in the OP situation) IGS takes effect reducing the pods scatter so it does not scatter off the table edge. because it CANNOT land on another model therefore would not even be ALLOWED to land their to begin with.

If it scatters on top of a model, reduce.
If it scatters off the table, mishap.

The same wording is used for both. You're attempting to follow one and not the other. Please explain why.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant





rigeld2 wrote:
 raiden wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 raiden wrote:
but its not the actual scatter, because IGS takes effect before mishaps do (via REDUCING) the scatter.

So you're just ignoring half of the quoted rule then?
Cool story.


no, if the pod scatters off the table it takes a mishap, but because it landed half on a model (the tank in the OP situation) IGS takes effect reducing the pods scatter so it does not scatter off the table edge. because it CANNOT land on another model therefore would not even be ALLOWED to land their to begin with.

If it scatters on top of a model, reduce.
If it scatters off the table, mishap.

The same wording is used for both. You're attempting to follow one and not the other. Please explain why.


the reason it doesn't mishap, as I have said several times now.. is because the IGS takes effect for it being on top of a model and therefore reduces the scatter, before determining mishaps. if, the pod goes off the edge w/out landing on a model. it mishaps as no IGS takes place. If pod reduces its scatter, and lands off the edge, it mishaps. the OP situation doesn't trigger the mishap because 1) it is on top of a model, which is not allowed, 2) IGS takes place reducing the scatter because it is on top of the model after reducing scatter if it is still over the board edge, it mishaps.

are you trying to say that mishaps happen before scatter is reduced?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/12 19:03:41


 Wyzilla wrote:

Because Plague Marines have the evasion abilities of a drunk elephant.


Burn the Heretic
Kill the mutant
Purge the Unclean 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 raiden wrote:
are you trying to say that mishaps happen before scatter is reduced?

I'm trying to say that the IGS rule says, and I'll quote it again so you hopefully see it this time:
Note that if a Drop Pod scatters off the edge of the board, it suffers a Deep Strike Mishap as per the Warhammer 40, 000 rule book.



My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The mishap for scattering off the table does, yes, because it states so. Scattering off the table, at all (it does not state before or after igs, so it is for both), means you kishap
   
Made in us
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant





rigeld2 wrote:
 raiden wrote:
are you trying to say that mishaps happen before scatter is reduced?

I'm trying to say that the IGS rule says, and I'll quote it again so you hopefully see it this time:
Note that if a Drop Pod scatters off the edge of the board, it suffers a Deep Strike Mishap as per the Warhammer 40, 000 rule book.




okay, so if it ends up off the board or halfway off it mishaps... its clarifying that you DO mishap. order of operations, its on top of a model therefore IGS takes effect before determining ANY mishaps. it reduces the scatter (note this is NOT A SEPERATE SCATTER) If it still winds up off the table edge it mishaps, if not, nothing happens, as the pod was never in the earlier position to begin with.

 Wyzilla wrote:

Because Plague Marines have the evasion abilities of a drunk elephant.


Burn the Heretic
Kill the mutant
Purge the Unclean 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 raiden wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 raiden wrote:
are you trying to say that mishaps happen before scatter is reduced?

I'm trying to say that the IGS rule says, and I'll quote it again so you hopefully see it this time:
Note that if a Drop Pod scatters off the edge of the board, it suffers a Deep Strike Mishap as per the Warhammer 40, 000 rule book.

okay, so if it ends up off the board or halfway off it mishaps... its clarifying that you DO mishap. order of operations, its on top of a model therefore IGS takes effect before determining ANY mishaps. it reduces the scatter (note this is NOT A SEPERATE SCATTER) If it still winds up off the table edge it mishaps, if not, nothing happens, as the pod was never in the earlier position to begin with.

... No.
Why do I say no?
Should a Drop Pod scatter on top of impassable terrain or another model

Note how it's literally the exact same wording (Should a Drop Pod scatter, do X. If a Drop Pod scatters, do Y.).
See how using actual rules in a discussion is important? The trigger for both is the same - if you scatter somewhere, do something. One allows you to decrease the scatter. The other says you mishap. So reduce all you want, but if you don't mishap you're not following the actual rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/12 19:13:29


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: