Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/18 20:26:24
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I edit all of my posts a lot...see a minor typo, edit. Suddenly get a better idea on how to phrase a sentence...edit. I'm really OCD when it comes to it /e: Or, as in this case, screw up with editing quotes and fix them...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/18 20:26:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/19 05:39:26
Subject: Re:Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
Kutlakh and Maynarkh Overlords have permission to buy a CCB as a dedicated transport.
The BRB gives permission for the purchasing unit, and no other unit, to be deployed on a dedicated transport at the start of the game.
The BRB also states "A character mounted on a chariot is referred to as the rider."
Tricky one, but absent an amendment I'd say they have permission to deploy mounted on it and therefore to ride it. True, there's no "Rider: Necron Overlord" equivalent on the profile for the other units that can still buy one, but the BRB rules don't refer to this part of the profile or define what it means.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/19 06:12:43
Subject: Re:Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Tekron wrote:Kutlakh and Maynarkh Overlords have permission to buy a CCB as a dedicated transport.
The BRB gives permission for the purchasing unit, and no other unit, to be deployed on a dedicated transport at the start of the game.
The BRB also states "A character mounted on a chariot is referred to as the rider."
Tricky one, but absent an amendment I'd say they have permission to deploy mounted on it and therefore to ride it. True, there's no "Rider: Necron Overlord" equivalent on the profile for the other units that can still buy one, but the BRB rules don't refer to this part of the profile or define what it means.
No, what's missing is a FW update for 7th. The rules for chariots were completely changed between 6th and 7th and the FW stuff needs to be updated to reflect this before they can be allowed. You can't field a 6th edition CCB in a 7th edition game. The onus is on FW to update their info for 7th or on the TO to specifically allow it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/19 09:55:30
Subject: Re:Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
col_impact wrote:
No, what's missing is a FW update for 7th. The rules for chariots were completely changed between 6th and 7th and the FW stuff needs to be updated to reflect this before they can be allowed. You can't field a 6th edition CCB in a 7th edition game. The onus is on FW to update their info for 7th or on the TO to specifically allow it.
Absolutely I completely agree it's down to FW, but as they don't seem to be bothering I was just speculating on what might be current RAW.
Here are the possibilities I can see:
1) Maynarkh lists may not purchase CCBs whatsoever.
2) Maynarkh Overlords and Kutlakh may purchase CCBs and ride on them exactly like current 7th ed Necron Overlords can.
3) Maynarkh Overlords and Kutlakh may purchase CCBs but they may not ride on them, so the CCB follows the 7th ed rules for an empty chariot.
4) (Ridiculous) Maynarkh Overlords and Kutlakh may purchase CCBs exactly as defined in Codex: Necrons + the FAQ, which includes a Necron Overlord as a rider.
5) (No RAW support whatsoever) Maynarkh Overlords can use CCBs, but Kutlakh can't, because that's what happened with the main codex and so that might be RAI and blablabla...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/19 13:16:53
Subject: Re:Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Tekron wrote:col_impact wrote:
No, what's missing is a FW update for 7th. The rules for chariots were completely changed between 6th and 7th and the FW stuff needs to be updated to reflect this before they can be allowed. You can't field a 6th edition CCB in a 7th edition game. The onus is on FW to update their info for 7th or on the TO to specifically allow it.
Absolutely I completely agree it's down to FW, but as they don't seem to be bothering I was just speculating on what might be current RAW.
Here are the possibilities I can see:
1) Maynarkh lists may not purchase CCBs whatsoever.
2) Maynarkh Overlords and Kutlakh may purchase CCBs and ride on them exactly like current 7th ed Necron Overlords can.
3) Maynarkh Overlords and Kutlakh may purchase CCBs but they may not ride on them, so the CCB follows the 7th ed rules for an empty chariot.
4) (Ridiculous) Maynarkh Overlords and Kutlakh may purchase CCBs exactly as defined in Codex: Necrons + the FAQ, which includes a Necron Overlord as a rider.
5) (No RAW support whatsoever) Maynarkh Overlords can use CCBs, but Kutlakh can't, because that's what happened with the main codex and so that might be RAI and blablabla...
The answer is 3. If you look closely at the 7th edition Necron FAQ changes, the CCB replaced the "transport capacity: one Independent Character" line with "Rider: Necron Overlord". The CCB can no longer have anything on it except specifically a Necron Overlord that has been permanently fused with it as its rider.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/19 16:41:36
Subject: Re:Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
col_impact wrote:
The answer is 3. If you look closely at the 7th edition Necron FAQ changes, the CCB replaced the "transport capacity: one Independent Character" line with "Rider: Necron Overlord". The CCB can no longer have anything on it except specifically a Necron Overlord that has been permanently fused with it as its rider.
Yes but by that interpretation of the "Rider: Necron Overlord" part of the unit profile, there is no more permission to take an empty one than their is to mount up Kutlakh. An empty CCB still has "Rider: Necron Overlord" on the profile. So Option 3 is out.
The problem is that everything else on a units profile is defined in the rules (characteristics, wargear, unit type, weapons, transport capacity etc.) but the "Rider: xxxxx" part is not even mentioned in the rule book.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/19 23:20:18
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Gargantuan Gargant
|
I don't have anything witty to say at the moment, I'm just posting a reply so I can follow the thread
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/19 23:48:58
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
Can the command barge with overlord join a unit? Say scarabs?
|
I do drugs.
Mostly Plastic Crack, but I do dabble in Cardboard Cocaine. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 00:45:57
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
RAI: it shouldn't be allowed to.
RAW: because it's still got independent character, it could be argued that it can (most TOs do not allow it, though).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 00:59:41
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes.
Both the Chaos Chariot and the Space Wolf Chariot include statements which explicitly take away IC status and the ability to join units from their chariots, whereas for the CCB no such statements exists.
However, take note that both the BAO and NOVA have added statements to their FAQs that prevent the CCB from joining units. This was done as a conservative thinking power-level nerfing based on faulty testing and faulty understandings. The decision was wrongly based on thinking that the bargeLord is able to Look Out Sir with the unit he was joined to. The bargeLord is not allowed to use Look Out Sir as it is against the rules in 7th to Look Out Sir.
My own testing indicates that the bargeLord joined to the unit is not OP and is very self-limiting. Per the rules, the bargeLord cannot use Look Out Sir and gives up critical mobility if he is used to shield a unit from small arms fire. Moreover no other IC can join the unit per the rules. Although the conservative decision by the BAO and NOVA was appreciated, the power-level nerfing by the BAO and NOVA should be re-assessed.
So yes, unless a TO takes away the ability, the bargeLord per RAW can join units.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 01:55:04
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
col_impact wrote:
Yes.
Both the Chaos Chariot and the Space Wolf Chariot include statements which explicitly take away IC status and the ability to join units from their chariots, whereas for the CCB no such statements exists.
However, take note that both the BAO and NOVA have added statements to their FAQs that prevent the CCB from joining units. This was done as a conservative thinking power-level nerfing based on faulty testing and faulty understandings. The decision was wrongly based on thinking that the bargeLord is able to Look Out Sir with the unit he was joined to. The bargeLord is not allowed to use Look Out Sir as it is against the rules in 7th to Look Out Sir.
My own testing indicates that the bargeLord joined to the unit is not OP and is very self-limiting. Per the rules, the bargeLord cannot use Look Out Sir and gives up critical mobility if he is used to shield a unit from small arms fire. Moreover no other IC can join the unit per the rules. Although the conservative decision by the BAO and NOVA was appreciated, the power-level nerfing by the BAO and NOVA should be re-assessed.
So yes, unless a TO takes away the ability, the bargeLord per RAW can join units.
Good to know.
He joined his barge lord to a unit of scarabs hiding in a ruin, which let him assault my wraithknight. (the barge lord was out of range, scarabs were in) and when I tried to shoot at the unit, he tanked it with the barge.
Its nasty.
|
I do drugs.
Mostly Plastic Crack, but I do dabble in Cardboard Cocaine. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 02:00:35
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
ninjafiredragon wrote:col_impact wrote:
Yes.
Both the Chaos Chariot and the Space Wolf Chariot include statements which explicitly take away IC status and the ability to join units from their chariots, whereas for the CCB no such statements exists.
However, take note that both the BAO and NOVA have added statements to their FAQs that prevent the CCB from joining units. This was done as a conservative thinking power-level nerfing based on faulty testing and faulty understandings. The decision was wrongly based on thinking that the bargeLord is able to Look Out Sir with the unit he was joined to. The bargeLord is not allowed to use Look Out Sir as it is against the rules in 7th to Look Out Sir.
My own testing indicates that the bargeLord joined to the unit is not OP and is very self-limiting. Per the rules, the bargeLord cannot use Look Out Sir and gives up critical mobility if he is used to shield a unit from small arms fire. Moreover no other IC can join the unit per the rules. Although the conservative decision by the BAO and NOVA was appreciated, the power-level nerfing by the BAO and NOVA should be re-assessed.
So yes, unless a TO takes away the ability, the bargeLord per RAW can join units.
Good to know.
He joined his barge lord to a unit of scarabs hiding in a ruin, which let him assault my wraithknight. (the barge lord was out of range, scarabs were in) and when I tried to shoot at the unit, he tanked it with the barge.
Its nasty.
Which is why TOs have been disallowing it.
Frankly, the whole thing could easily be cleared up with a simple FAQ update, but GW are being GW and dragging their feet.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 02:20:44
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Gargantuan Gargant
|
skoffs wrote:Frankly, the whole thing could easily be cleared up with a simple FAQ update, but GW are being GW and dragging their feet.
Which we'll probably get a week after the new hardcover codex comes out.
Assuming it does not then have working matching that of the new Space Wolf Chariot, preventing the whole situation in the first place.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 03:35:51
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
ninjafiredragon wrote:col_impact wrote:
Yes.
Both the Chaos Chariot and the Space Wolf Chariot include statements which explicitly take away IC status and the ability to join units from their chariots, whereas for the CCB no such statements exists.
However, take note that both the BAO and NOVA have added statements to their FAQs that prevent the CCB from joining units. This was done as a conservative thinking power-level nerfing based on faulty testing and faulty understandings. The decision was wrongly based on thinking that the bargeLord is able to Look Out Sir with the unit he was joined to. The bargeLord is not allowed to use Look Out Sir as it is against the rules in 7th to Look Out Sir.
My own testing indicates that the bargeLord joined to the unit is not OP and is very self-limiting. Per the rules, the bargeLord cannot use Look Out Sir and gives up critical mobility if he is used to shield a unit from small arms fire. Moreover no other IC can join the unit per the rules. Although the conservative decision by the BAO and NOVA was appreciated, the power-level nerfing by the BAO and NOVA should be re-assessed.
So yes, unless a TO takes away the ability, the bargeLord per RAW can join units.
Good to know.
He joined his barge lord to a unit of scarabs hiding in a ruin, which let him assault my wraithknight. (the barge lord was out of range, scarabs were in) and when I tried to shoot at the unit, he tanked it with the barge.
Its nasty.
You will have to elaborate on what is going on here, since it's not clear. If the scarabs are closest to the WraithKnight he has to allocate the hits to the scarabs until the bargeLord is closest. You should also be able to jump to a flank with a Wraithknight and shoot the scarabs if the bargelord is out in front.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/20 03:38:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 19:16:08
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
It was his turn. Barge lord was to far to the right to get into combat ( I know because I measured), but he moved the lord into the scarab squad which then jumped out of the ruins they were hiding in and assaulted my wraith knight, In one turn. If it had been over multiple turns sure I could have kept the wraith knight out of combat. But sense he was able to join them and assualt me on the same turn I wasnt able to shoot them. Then, after they ate my wraith knight, he was able to position the bargelord so my wave serpents werent able to get a shot on the scarabs. (I think I was able to kill one base)
|
I do drugs.
Mostly Plastic Crack, but I do dabble in Cardboard Cocaine. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 20:28:48
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
ninjafiredragon wrote:It was his turn. Barge lord was to far to the right to get into combat ( I know because I measured), but he moved the lord into the scarab squad which then jumped out of the ruins they were hiding in and assaulted my wraith knight, In one turn. If it had been over multiple turns sure I could have kept the wraith knight out of combat. But sense he was able to join them and assualt me on the same turn I wasnt able to shoot them. Then, after they ate my wraith knight, he was able to position the bargelord so my wave serpents werent able to get a shot on the scarabs. (I think I was able to kill one base)
How did the S3 scarabs eat the T8 Wraithknight?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/21 02:30:09
Subject: Re:Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
Presumably the bargelord's charge move got him close enough to be engaged, and then his warscythe did the job.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/21 03:08:48
Subject: Re:Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Tekron wrote:Presumably the bargelord's charge move got him close enough to be engaged, and then his warscythe did the job.
Except that he said " they ate my wraith knight." My guess is that the Necron player wrongly played out the scarabs as able to actually hurt the Wraithknight. The Wraithknight is favored in CC versus a bargeLord + scarabs since the Wraithknight can instant-kill the bargeLord and the scarabs cannot provide LOS. The combat will hinge mostly on the MSS rolls.
At any rate, this signifies nothing special added by the bargeLord. This could have easily been a destroyer lord joining a unit of scarabs, and in fact a destroyer lord is much worse for the Wraithknight to see in CC, since the scarabs can provide a meatshield in the form of LOS. Not seeing how this is a case of a bargeLord being especially nasty.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/21 03:14:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/21 06:47:44
Subject: Re:Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
No it's a neat trick, but hardly overpowered.
Do people play him with the phase shifter invuln conferring on the CCB? That is much nicer than the IC status.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/21 08:14:00
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
I don't suppose he was playing Zahndrekh in that list, was he?
If so, those Scarabs could have been given Furious Charge.
Wouldn't they be able to hurt the WK then?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/21 08:35:09
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
skoffs wrote:I don't suppose he was playing Zahndrekh in that list, was he?
If so, those Scarabs could have been given Furious Charge.
Wouldn't they be able to hurt the WK then?
You need S5 to hurt T8.
But that all is besides the point. He was claiming that a bargeLord joined to a unit of scarabs was "nasty." I am not seeing how it is any more or less nasty than any other IC of comparable point value joined to a unit.
A bargeLord that can join a unit is no more or less nasty than a Chapter Master on a Bike joined to a unit. Sure a Chapter Master is nasty, but that's how many points are going into the bargeLord.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/21 14:45:48
Subject: Re:Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
col_impact wrote:Tekron wrote:Presumably the bargelord's charge move got him close enough to be engaged, and then his warscythe did the job.
Except that he said " they ate my wraith knight." My guess is that the Necron player wrongly played out the scarabs as able to actually hurt the Wraithknight. The Wraithknight is favored in CC versus a bargeLord + scarabs since the Wraithknight can instant-kill the bargeLord and the scarabs cannot provide LOS. The combat will hinge mostly on the MSS rolls.
At any rate, this signifies nothing special added by the bargeLord. This could have easily been a destroyer lord joining a unit of scarabs, and in fact a destroyer lord is much worse for the Wraithknight to see in CC, since the scarabs can provide a meatshield in the form of LOS. Not seeing how this is a case of a bargeLord being especially nasty.
Sorry by they I mean the unit, including the bargelord. Mostly mind shackle scarabs... Automatically Appended Next Post: col_impact wrote: skoffs wrote:I don't suppose he was playing Zahndrekh in that list, was he?
If so, those Scarabs could have been given Furious Charge.
Wouldn't they be able to hurt the WK then?
You need S5 to hurt T8.
But that all is besides the point. He was claiming that a bargeLord joined to a unit of scarabs was "nasty." I am not seeing how it is any more or less nasty than any other IC of comparable point value joined to a unit.
A bargeLord that can join a unit is no more or less nasty than a Chapter Master on a Bike joined to a unit. Sure a Chapter Master is nasty, but that's how many points are going into the bargeLord.
Only thing that was made it "nasty" for me was that the lord was other wise out of range of my wraith knight, and then after that bit the dust he had easy picking on the rest of my army.
Now if I had been playing my space marines, it would have been a different story.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/21 14:48:15
I do drugs.
Mostly Plastic Crack, but I do dabble in Cardboard Cocaine. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/21 21:17:02
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
col_impact wrote: skoffs wrote:I don't suppose he was playing Zahndrekh in that list, was he?
If so, those Scarabs could have been given Furious Charge.
Wouldn't they be able to hurt the WK then?
You need S5 to hurt T8.
But that all is besides the point. He was claiming that a bargeLord joined to a unit of scarabs was "nasty." I am not seeing how it is any more or less nasty than any other IC of comparable point value joined to a unit.
A bargeLord that can join a unit is no more or less nasty than a Chapter Master on a Bike joined to a unit. Sure a Chapter Master is nasty, but that's how many points are going into the bargeLord.
Well, he is "nasty" if he is able to get up front to tank all of the small-arms firepower. That's what usually killed my wraithstar (D-lord + wraiths) back in 6th - volume of fire ( VoF). Tau and mechdar used to be tough matches for necrons because they could focus-fire down almost any Necron IC+unit combo that existed. But not if the bargelord is leading the unit. Nowadays, bargelord joining a unit would give us the upper-hand against a lot of these VoF builds.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/21 22:39:35
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
jy2 wrote:col_impact wrote: skoffs wrote:I don't suppose he was playing Zahndrekh in that list, was he?
If so, those Scarabs could have been given Furious Charge.
Wouldn't they be able to hurt the WK then?
You need S5 to hurt T8.
But that all is besides the point. He was claiming that a bargeLord joined to a unit of scarabs was "nasty." I am not seeing how it is any more or less nasty than any other IC of comparable point value joined to a unit.
A bargeLord that can join a unit is no more or less nasty than a Chapter Master on a Bike joined to a unit. Sure a Chapter Master is nasty, but that's how many points are going into the bargeLord.
Well, he is "nasty" if he is able to get up front to tank all of the small-arms firepower. That's what usually killed my wraithstar (D-lord + wraiths) back in 6th - volume of fire ( VoF). Tau and mechdar used to be tough matches for necrons because they could focus-fire down almost any Necron IC+unit combo that existed. But not if the bargelord is leading the unit. Nowadays, bargelord joining a unit would give us the upper-hand against a lot of these VoF builds.
Sure, a bargeLord can be used to deliver a unit of wraiths to the opponent's backfield. But so what? A good general will feed it a speed bump and/or position its AT to mow down the bargeLord that has no LOS protection from the wraiths. And they will get one to two extra rounds of shooting AT against the bargeLord since the bargeLord has volunteered to slow its movement down in order to babysit the wraiths. That's hardly OP. It's just an incremental gain. At most it will require Tau players to do a little retooling to regain their long-held upper-hand against the wraithWing strategy.
Investing 500 points to deliver a unit of wraiths to the opponent's backfield measures pretty low on the 40k power scale.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/21 22:54:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/21 23:36:15
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
col_impact wrote: jy2 wrote:col_impact wrote: skoffs wrote:I don't suppose he was playing Zahndrekh in that list, was he?
If so, those Scarabs could have been given Furious Charge.
Wouldn't they be able to hurt the WK then?
You need S5 to hurt T8.
But that all is besides the point. He was claiming that a bargeLord joined to a unit of scarabs was "nasty." I am not seeing how it is any more or less nasty than any other IC of comparable point value joined to a unit.
A bargeLord that can join a unit is no more or less nasty than a Chapter Master on a Bike joined to a unit. Sure a Chapter Master is nasty, but that's how many points are going into the bargeLord.
Well, he is "nasty" if he is able to get up front to tank all of the small-arms firepower. That's what usually killed my wraithstar (D-lord + wraiths) back in 6th - volume of fire ( VoF). Tau and mechdar used to be tough matches for necrons because they could focus-fire down almost any Necron IC+unit combo that existed. But not if the bargelord is leading the unit. Nowadays, bargelord joining a unit would give us the upper-hand against a lot of these VoF builds.
Sure, a bargeLord can be used to deliver a unit of wraiths to the opponent's backfield. But so what? A good general will feed it a speed bump and/or position its AT to mow down the bargeLord that has no LOS protection from the wraiths. And they will get one to two extra rounds of shooting AT against the bargeLord since the bargeLord has volunteered to slow its movement down in order to babysit the wraiths. That's hardly OP. It's just an incremental gain. At most it will require Tau players to do a little retooling to regain their long-held upper-hand against the wraithWing strategy.
Investing 500 points to deliver a unit of wraiths to the opponent's backfield measures pretty low on the 40k power scale.
I think you are truly under-estimating the viability of this "tactic" (of joining a bargelord to a unit of wraiths). Against screening units, the "bargestar" (bargelord + wraiths) have plenty of options:
1. They can potentially jump over the screening unit entirely.
2. Bargelord sweep attacks the unit. Against a vehicle he can potentially destroy it. Against infantry, he can potentially create a hole for the wraiths to fit through.
3. They can split up. Bargelord just turbos over the unit whereas wraiths assault it.
4. They can just assault it, wipe it out and then reposition so that the bargelord is in front again and tanking VoF shots again.
It isn't very easy to "mow down" the bargelord unless you are running massed S10 shots (i.e. 2-3 wraithknights). You bring meltas and the bargelord can allocate the shots onto the Overlord's 3++. I've had my bargelord survive a Farsight-bomb before with easily 10 meltas fired into him (by the F-bomb and nearby fusion troop suits). And even if he goes down, there is a 50% chance of him getting back up with ResOrbs. So all that firepower wasted on the bargelord and he isn't even dead. It is just ludicrous the amount of firepower a bargelord can absorb. Only shooting by triple wraithknights have been able to take down my bargelord with any kind of efficiency.
Most importantly, you use the bargelord to protect against the initial alpha-strikes of the VoF armies. Afterwards, you can split them up if you want. Let them shoot at your wraiths on T2 if they want, especially when you already have your bargelord in their deployment zone already. To you, it may be an "incremental gain", but in a competitive matchup against another highly-optimized army, that "incremental gain" can make a world of difference. And against one of our worse matchups, that difference is enough to spell victory or defeat.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/22 00:23:38
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
jy2 wrote:col_impact wrote: jy2 wrote:col_impact wrote: skoffs wrote:I don't suppose he was playing Zahndrekh in that list, was he?
If so, those Scarabs could have been given Furious Charge.
Wouldn't they be able to hurt the WK then?
You need S5 to hurt T8.
But that all is besides the point. He was claiming that a bargeLord joined to a unit of scarabs was "nasty." I am not seeing how it is any more or less nasty than any other IC of comparable point value joined to a unit.
A bargeLord that can join a unit is no more or less nasty than a Chapter Master on a Bike joined to a unit. Sure a Chapter Master is nasty, but that's how many points are going into the bargeLord.
Well, he is "nasty" if he is able to get up front to tank all of the small-arms firepower. That's what usually killed my wraithstar (D-lord + wraiths) back in 6th - volume of fire ( VoF). Tau and mechdar used to be tough matches for necrons because they could focus-fire down almost any Necron IC+unit combo that existed. But not if the bargelord is leading the unit. Nowadays, bargelord joining a unit would give us the upper-hand against a lot of these VoF builds.
Sure, a bargeLord can be used to deliver a unit of wraiths to the opponent's backfield. But so what? A good general will feed it a speed bump and/or position its AT to mow down the bargeLord that has no LOS protection from the wraiths. And they will get one to two extra rounds of shooting AT against the bargeLord since the bargeLord has volunteered to slow its movement down in order to babysit the wraiths. That's hardly OP. It's just an incremental gain. At most it will require Tau players to do a little retooling to regain their long-held upper-hand against the wraithWing strategy.
Investing 500 points to deliver a unit of wraiths to the opponent's backfield measures pretty low on the 40k power scale.
I think you are truly under-estimating the viability of this "tactic" (of joining a bargelord to a unit of wraiths). Against screening units, the "bargestar" (bargelord + wraiths) have plenty of options:
1. They can potentially jump over the screening unit entirely.
2. Bargelord sweep attacks the unit. Against a vehicle he can potentially destroy it. Against infantry, he can potentially create a hole for the wraiths to fit through.
3. They can split up. Bargelord just turbos over the unit whereas wraiths assault it.
4. They can just assault it, wipe it out and then reposition so that the bargelord is in front again and tanking VoF shots again.
It isn't very easy to "mow down" the bargelord unless you are running massed S10 shots (i.e. 2-3 wraithknights). You bring meltas and the bargelord can allocate the shots onto the Overlord's 3++. I've had my bargelord survive a Farsight-bomb before with easily 10 meltas fired into him (by the F-bomb and nearby fusion troop suits). And even if he goes down, there is a 50% chance of him getting back up with ResOrbs. So all that firepower wasted on the bargelord and he isn't even dead. It is just ludicrous the amount of firepower a bargelord can absorb. Only shooting by triple wraithknights have been able to take down my bargelord with any kind of efficiency.
Most importantly, you use the bargelord to protect against the initial alpha-strikes of the VoF armies. Afterwards, you can split them up if you want. Let them shoot at your wraiths on T2 if they want, especially when you already have your bargelord in their deployment zone already. To you, it may be an "incremental gain", but in a competitive matchup against another highly-optimized army, that "incremental gain" can make a world of difference. And against one of our worse matchups, that difference is enough to spell victory or defeat.
All of these points I am not disagreeing with. A bargeLord attached to a unit of wraiths is tactically useful and sure it could nudge the scales a bit. It may even be key in getting an upperhand against the old gunline style armies of 6th edition until they adjust. But, this power level is all on par with the amount of points being invested into it. My argument is that it is not OP and therefore does not need a power-level edit. RAW is clear that a bargeLord can join units.
You really have to show in your argument that it is OP since you are advocating going against RAW and taking the extraordinary step of a power-level edit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/22 01:27:24
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
I just assumed the TOs ruled against it being able to join units because it was more than likely never intended to be able to (ie. just another rules oversight/loophole that no one caught before it went to press).
It probably hasn't been addressed yet because they haven't been doing FAQs lately (except for books that have only just been released)
Though, for all I know, they analized it and decided it shouldn't be allowed on a power level basis. No idea, there.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/22 02:25:58
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
skoffs wrote:I just assumed the TOs ruled against it being able to join units because it was more than likely never intended to be able to (ie. just another rules oversight/loophole that no one caught before it went to press).
It probably hasn't been addressed yet because they haven't been doing FAQs lately (except for books that have only just been released)
Though, for all I know, they analized it and decided it shouldn't be allowed on a power level basis. No idea, there.
BAO TOs analyzed it. They wrongly thought that the unit could provide LOS for the bargeLord and that other ICs could join the unit. If those things were true, the bargeLord would be OP. However, neither of those things are true. Quick conservative judgements were made without a thorough analysis of all the rules involved.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/22 05:18:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/23 13:55:40
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
Netherlands
|
Is anyone else looking at the Culexus Assassin and hoping they use that as inspiration for a new Pariah-unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/23 15:24:41
Subject: Necrons in 7th
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
I'm probably in the minority, but personally, I hope they don't bring Pariahs back.
Not that the mechanic wouldn't be welcome, because it would, we definitely need some added psychic defense... I would just rather it come in the form of added wargear (ie. Lord/Harbinger options) than an individual unit.
But this is discussion better saved for the rumor thread than the tactics thread.
As far as current tactics go, how viable would running a Culexus in a 'Cron army be?
Is it even possible in competitive settings?
|
|
|
 |
 |
|