Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 20:00:42
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
easysauce wrote:doesnt matter if they choose it or whatever,
if they somehow, by any means, gain a power [during the game] in another tree, even the primaris, they lose P focus, and that is overtly stated in the rules on the same page that tells you about both focuses.
(Emphasis mine)
Fixed that for you
RAW and RAI do not allow you to have both focuses at once.... RAW does. reread the thread, it is clearly explained as to why this can happen fully supported by the RAW.
unless you are generating all your powers from the same tree your marks gives you the free primaris for, which in effect, is pointless.
as soon as you claim the primarice[sic] for CHAOS focus, you have powers in multiple trees, losing the P focus rule. simple as that, spelt out clear as day, but of course, that wont stop people from reading it wrong.
This is incorrect. Powers is multiple tree's is not what makes you lose Psychic Focus.
Generating powers from Multiple Disciplines does as well as gaining a Power from a different Discipline during the game. None of this happens with Chaos Psychic Focus.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 20:03:31
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
.. is the argument that having a power from the chaos discipline doesn't count, because of slightly ambiguous wording?
Nope. Sorry that's nonsense.
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 20:05:36
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
DeathReaper wrote:Generating powers from Multiple Disciplines does as well as gaining a Power from a different Discipline during the game. None of this happens with Chaos Psychic Focus.
you then have powers from two trees during the game though.
that meets the restrictions criteria.
you also have to generate from the same tree to gain p focus, since you are not generating all on one tree, again, you do not get it.
you are reading it wrong, simple as that.
just because chaos focuse doesnt randomly generate its power, does not mean it is not generating it... all powers are generated by some form or another, mid game, pre game, whatever. the restriction on "all powers from one tree or no P focus" still applies by RAW
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/18 20:07:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 20:09:26
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Captyn_Bob wrote:.. is the argument that having a power from the chaos discipline doesn't count, because of slightly ambiguous wording?
Nope. Sorry that's nonsense.
It is not ambiguous, you never generate the power associated with the patron god you have a mark of, if you are a daemon.
Generating powers have a specific process, and you do not follow this process with Chaos Psychic focus.
Rules quotes have been posted to back this up. Automatically Appended Next Post:
Sure, you have powers from two trees, but you never gain a psychic power from a different psychic discipline during the course of the game, so you do not lose Psychic Focus.
"If during the course of the game, that Psyker gains a psychic power from a different psychic discipline, he immediately loses Psychic Focus" (Psychic focus rules)
that meets the restrictions criteria.
as explained above, it does not.
you also have to generate from the same tree to gain p focus, since you are not generating all on one tree, again, you do not get it.
Except they are generating all of their powers from the same discipline. generating powers is a specific process you follow, which includes choosing a discipline and rolling a D6, something that never happens with CPF.
you are reading it wrong, simple as that.
Except I am not, and I have actual rules that back up my statements!
just because chaos focuse doesnt randomly generate its power, does not mean it is not generating it... all powers are generated by some form or another, mid game, pre game, whatever. the restriction on "all powers from one tree or no P focus" still applies by RAW
actually that is exactly what it means, as Generating powers is a specifically defined process in the BRB, something that CPF does not follow and as such you never generate the primaris for CPF or the Primaris for plain old Psychic Focus.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/18 20:15:05
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 20:19:52
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Saying it is not ambiguous, with this many people disagreeing, is laughable.
I appreciate your RAW interpretation. However you appear to assume that 'generate' has only one meaning, when in fact it is quite a common word, which can be applied to multiple things. Many English speakers could easily interpret gaining the chaos psychic focus as 'generating' it.
I will concede that it could use an FAQ to clarify, but I will not be playing that a model could gain both versions of psychic focus, as it is both clearly against the intent of the rules, and the most common sense interpretation of the wording.
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 20:21:20
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
so deathreaper, you use the power generating rules, which is where chaos focus is located, to get a power, in a 2nd tree,
use that power, from that 2nd tree, DURING the game,
and claim not only are you not generating that power, but you dont have it during the game?
yeah, thats your reading issue, you are welcome to your interpretation, but its not RAW, and the rules you are quoting dont back it up as you think they do. They confirm that you are incorrect in actual fact.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/18 20:23:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 20:21:41
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Generate has only one meaning in the 40K ruleset, because the 40K ruleset defines generating Psychic Powers. If it did not define Generate then we would fall back on the common English definition. Therefore the "most common sense interpretation of the wording" has no bearing on the rules discussion. easysauce wrote:so you use the power generating rules, which is where chaos focus is located, to get a power, in a 2nd tree,
Incorrect, you never generate the power associated with Chaos Psychic Focus. You generate powers as per the rules quotes above, which involve rolling a D6 etc... use that power, from that 2nd tree, DURING the game, and claim not only are you not generating that power, but you dont have it during the game? yeah, thats your reading issue, you are welcome to your interpretation, but its not RAW, and the rules you are quoting dont back it up as you think they do. They confirm that you are incorrect in actual fact. You have not generated that power, because generating powers is clearly definied in the BRB. I never said you don't have the power. but you have not used the rules for generating powers to get that power and as such the part about "If during the course of the game, that Psyker gains a psychic power from a different psychic discipline, he immediately loses Psychic Focus" does not apply.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/18 20:25:21
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/18 21:27:33
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
please quote the page that shows you how to "generate" any power without actually generating it.
that is in fact, the only way you get powers. even the assigned powers are a form of generating, you have no rules backing to back up that only random d6 rolls are "generating" powers.
the rules you use for chaos focus are conveinently with all the other generating powers rules, even force is a generated power, with instructions on when to generate it.
generating powers is clearly defined, and it clearly includes focus powers
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/19 01:04:58
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Screeching Screamer of Tzeentch
|
insaniak wrote: AlTzeentch wrote:I recommend everyone email GW with the questions (as I did) about Chaos Psychic Focus (and Psychic Focus) and how it interacts with Marks of Chaos etc.
That won't actually achieve anything any more 'official' than the answer you would get here. The customer service person you speak to or receive an email from doesn't have any special training in the rules... they're just mail order people who get the fun job of answering rules questions on the side. They're just going from their own understanding of the rules like the rest of us.
I was thinking more along the lines of: "If enough people e-mail them with a similar question, I think there is a possibility it will make it into the next FAQ, even if it is a small possibility"
|
"The only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance"
-Ahzek Ahriman |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/19 05:08:05
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
easysauce wrote:please quote the page that shows you how to "generate" any power without actually generating it.
You don't, you generate powers as per the process in the BRB.
that is in fact, the only way you get powers. even the assigned powers are a form of generating,
Not true at all, as generating powers is a specific process in the BRB.
you have no rules backing to back up that only random d6 rolls are "generating" powers.
I do, and I posted them before, I will recant to point them out.
"If a Psyker generates all of his psychic powers from the same psychic discipline, that Psyker will automatically know that discipline’s primaris power in addition to any other powers they know, as described in Psychic Focus (below)." (The psychic Phase section, Psychic focus sub-section).
"the Psyker knows a number of psychic powers equal to his Mastery Level. Each of these powers will need to be generated, as described below."(The psychic Phase section, Number of Psychic Powers sub-section)
Psykers generate powers randomly by rolling dice as per the rule below:
"To randomly generate a psychic power, first choose one of the psychic disciplines known to the Psyker. Then, roll a D6 and consult the chosen psychic discipline..." (The psychic Phase section, Generating Psychic Powers sub-section).
"In some Army List Entries, a Psyker will have one or more specific psychic powers listed – where this is the case, it will be clearly stated. These Psykers always start the game with those psychic powers. Otherwise, a Psyker generates random psychic powers from amongst the psychic disciplines known to him." (The psychic Phase section, Generating Psychic Powers sub-section).
So either a Psyker has one or more powers listed, or he "generates random psychic powers from amongst the psychic disciplines known to him." (The psychic Phase section, Generating Psychic Powers sub-section).
"To randomly generate a psychic power, first choose one of the psychic disciplines known to the Psyker. Then, roll a D6..." (The psychic Phase section, Generating Psychic Powers sub-section).
This is the defined process on how to generate Psychic powers. Chaos Psychic Focus and Psychic Focus are not generated powers, because to generate a power you follow the above process.
the rules you use for chaos focus are conveinently[ sic] with all the other generating powers rules, even force is a generated power, with instructions on when to generate it.
generating powers is clearly defined, and it clearly includes focus powers
generating powers is clearly defined, however you do not use that process to gain Chaos Psychic Focus or Psychic Focus, you get to invoke the Chaos Psychic Focus or Psychic Focus rules depending on how you generated your powers.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/19 05:48:14
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
yes death, again, you are not reading the rules properly...
or you willfully choose to interpret things wrongly by taking one word out of one sentence as the be all end all instead of taking all the rules on the pages into account.
page 23, top right, in BOLD...
"If a psyker has chosen all his powers from the same psychic discipline to gain psychic focus"
RAW doesnt only use the word "generate" and the rules for assigning powers are directly under the "generating powers" header, so you endlessly repeating one word of the rules to the exclusion of the other wording, as well as the context of the paragraphs of rules that are pertinent. This is why you are not following RAW.
the example also specifically talks about non daemon non mark of chaos for P focus as well
you are also ignoring pg 22 where it states gaining powers mid game that are not in the same tree makes you lose focus.
generating psychic powers header on pg 23 very much talks about psychic focus as being a part of it, you are ignoring the multiple references to it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/19 06:07:27
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
page 23, top right, in BOLD...
"If a psyker has chosen all his powers from the same psychic discipline to gain psychic focus"
Does a Psyker with a mark ever choose the primaris of his god's discipline? No? then the psyker has indeed "chosen all his powers from the same psychic discipline" ergo he gains Psychic Focus.
I am reading it properly.
I am not ignoring Page 22. It states that If during the course of the game, a Psyker gains a psychic power from a different psychic discipline.
Gaining the Primaris does not happen during the course of the game, it happens before the game starts so this does not apply either.
Any other rules based arguments, because all of your points are not valid as per the RAW I just posted.
If not then a Psyker can have Chaos Psychic Focus and Psychic Focus as I have shown with rules quotes to back up my argument.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/19 08:13:40
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DR is correct IMO.
As to the Chaos space marines, the Codex tells us we HAVE to roll ONE power on the respective gods table, you auto getting the primaris is not rolling for a power so you will end up with at least one generated power from their respective god and the primaris and which other powers you decided to roll for.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/20 20:14:26
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
DR is ignoring the entire opening paragraph of "Generating Psychic Powers". Furthermore, the assertion that "Generate" has been defined as "randomly generate" is patently false. If generation was always and only "randomly", it would not be stated. It is an adverb, thus it modifies the base definition. Ergo, the base is not "randomly". Psychic focus also doesn't use "Generate" but "generate".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/20 21:10:43
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yup.
Also of im rolling dice, the game has started, I dont care if the first turn hasn't.
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/20 21:17:52
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.
|
Here, read page 70 of the csm dex. It states marked sorcs must generate, specifically by rolling on the table, at least once and up half the powers known.
This means we must roll on the table to generate at least once and due to cpf we get its primaris for free as we as the roll.
The wording in the brb is reflective of chaos' unique situation of mandatory rolling one table.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/20 21:20:24
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Sort of, but daemons dont have the same restriction. They still can't get two psychic focuses tho.
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/20 21:26:20
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.
|
Marked and deamon of. Both are listed on page 70. Unless you're talking about chaos deamons as an army which last i checked had a similar wording to csm.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/20 21:34:29
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yeah chaos daemons dont have the same restrictions
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/20 21:38:59
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.
|
It doesn't say that a daemon of X must generate at least one power from its patron god?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/20 21:45:23
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Bausk wrote:It doesn't say that a daemon of X must generate at least one power from its patron god?
No .
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/20 22:23:44
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Angelic wrote:DR is ignoring the entire opening paragraph of "Generating Psychic Powers". Furthermore, the assertion that "Generate" has been defined as "randomly generate" is patently false. If generation was always and only "randomly", it would not be stated. It is an adverb, thus it modifies the base definition. Ergo, the base is not "randomly". Psychic focus also doesn't use "Generate" but "generate".
No I am not ignoring anything. There are specific rules on how to generate Psychic powers. There are two options. 1) The Psyker will have one or more specific psychic powers listed. Or 2) The Psyker will generate random Psychic powers form the disciplines available to him. Those are the only two ways to generate psychic powers. "In some Army List Entries, a Psyker will have one or more specific psychic powers listed – where this is the case, it will be clearly stated. These Psykers always start the game with those psychic powers. Otherwise, a Psyker generates random psychic powers from amongst the psychic disciplines known to him." (The Psychic phase section, Generating Psychic Powers sub-section, 2nd graph). and random generation works like this "To randomly generate a psychic power, first choose one of the psychic disciplines known to the Psyker. Then, roll a D6" (The Psychic phase section, Generating Psychic Powers sub-section, 3rd graph). and if they need to generate more than one. "If the Psyker needs to generate more than one psychic power, repeat the above process until the required number of psychic powers have been generated."(The Psychic phase section, Generating Psychic Powers sub-section, 4th graph). So generation is rolling randomly or having the powers listed as per the actual RAW. Got any rules quotes that say otherwise? Captyn_Bob wrote:Yup. Also of im rolling dice, the game has started, I dont care if the first turn hasn't.
You may not care if the first turn has not started. The rules do though, (And that is really what matters) and they specifically contradict your assertation that the game has started when you generate Psychic powers. "Psykers generate their psychic powers before the game begins. " (The Psychic phase section, Generating Psychic Powers sub-section, 1st graph, 1st sentence). So the game has not started when Psykers generate their powers, as per the actual rules. Captyn_Bob wrote:Sort of, but daemons dont have the same restriction. They still can't get two psychic focuses tho.
They can get Psychic Focus and Chaos Psychic Focus as per the RAW that I posted earlier in this very post.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/21 06:56:06
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/21 06:55:51
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I concede on the game definition (although I believe the authors intent was to make a sweeping statement to catch out weird rules contradictions)
I'm fairly confident that the intent is for psychic focus and chaos psychic focus to be exclusive. The point of contention is whether 'generate' is a specific term or a general one, in that when you take a chaos psychic focus you generate a power, even though you don't roll a d6 for it.
Alas the section on generating psychic powers is quite specific, and there is no statement to clarify that the psychic focuses are unique (perhaps the author assumed daemons and csms had the same restrictions).
I'm going to concede RAW (or rules as deliberately misinterpreted....). I won't be playing it that way, and will request it for the FAQ.
|
DFTT |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/21 06:58:15
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Captyn_Bob wrote:I'm fairly confident that the intent is for psychic focus and chaos psychic focus to be exclusive.
I agree, but that is not how they actually wrote the rules.
Unfortunate really.
P.S. I have not deliberately misinterpreted any rules.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/21 16:07:00
Subject: Re:Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Except for the example that spells out how to generate psychic powers and that specific powers that are named are still generated
Generating Psychic Powers
Psykers generate their psychic powers before the game begins.
This statement does not imply that psychic powers that are specified are not generated in fact it states the opposite it states you have to generate them randomly
In some Army List Entries, a Psyker will have one or more specific psychic powers listed – where this is the case, it will be clearly stated. These Psykers always start the game with those psychic powers. Otherwise, a Psyker generates random psychic powers from amongst the psychic disciplines known to him.
To randomly generate a psychic power, first choose one of the psychic disciplines known to the Psyker.
I don't think this means what you "think" it means. This statement isn't that all powers that are generated randomly are the only powers that are generated, that specifically means that they are only generated randomly. This is instructions on randomly generating psychic powers we already have the rules on how they are generated when not random.
Again you have to choose to gain psychic focus
Note that this means if a Psyker has chosen all of his powers from the same psychic discipline to gain Psychic Focus, he will already know that discipline’s primaris power and so cannot substitute any of his randomly generated powers.
This example clearly indicates that it is considered knowing a power, or a specify power is still "generated"
For example, Sarah has a Psyker in her army with a Mastery Level of 3 who knows powers from the Telepathy and Divination disciplines. The Psyker has no Mark of Chaos, nor is it a Daemon of a Chaos God. The Army List Entry does not specify that the Psyker knows any specific powers, so Sarah chooses the Telepathy discipline and rolls a D6. The result is a 3, thus generating Terrify. Sarah then chooses the Telepathy discipline again, rolling another 3. This is re-rolled, the result being a 1 this time, generating Dominate. However, Sarah chooses to swap Dominate for the Telepathy primaris power, Psychic Shriek. For her Psyker’s final randomly generated power, Sarah chooses to generate a power from the Divination discipline. She rolls a 6, thus generating the psychic power Scrier’s Gaze. As Sarah decided to generate psychic powers from more than one psychic discipline, she does not benefit from the Psychic Focus rule. Finally, Sarah’s Psyker is equipped with a force weapon, so her Psyker also knows Force.
This clearly lays out a example where the person does not in fact have a Chaos Primaris and would be able to get psychic focus, we know then that the opposite through deduction and reason would change this statement.
This is a semantic argument over whether psychic powers are generated when in fact the heading, the usage of the word and otherwise the rules themselves state that the only difference is that one power is generated randomly and one power is generated automatically. This is literally a semantic argument. We know through grammar that in fact those are instructions on how to generate psychic powers randomly not that the only powers that are generated are those that are generated randomly as both rules are under the heading GENERATING PSYCHIC POWERS
You can play word games or whatever but the fact is even if a power is specifically given it is still in fact generated, one is generated randomly , one is generated automatically.
We don't need further instructions on word usage as we know under the heading of Generating Psychic powers that specified powers are still in fact generated. We don't need to say generate specific psychic powers. As it's in the articles or subsections title itself. Psychic Focus and Chaos Focus are both ways to generate psychic powers which is why they are in the Generation of psychic Powers section. It even lays it out there for you in the example.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/06/21 16:29:19
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/21 18:12:16
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Except that Generate psychic powers has a specific meaning, and Psychic Focus and Chaos Psychic Focus do not fall into that definition.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/21 18:19:41
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
DeathReaper wrote:Except that Generate psychic powers has a specific meaning, and Psychic Focus and Chaos Psychic Focus do not fall into that definition.
It has the definition you've given it ,which a little bit reminds me of when my nephews were really little I'd point out stuff and tell them the wrongs name of it until they got it the youngest still refers to trees as fish, all of that is under the category of Generating a Psychic Powers which you continue to ignore.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/21 18:20:44
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/21 19:36:12
Subject: Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Hollismason wrote: DeathReaper wrote:Except that Generate psychic powers has a specific meaning, and Psychic Focus and Chaos Psychic Focus do not fall into that definition. It has the definition you've given it Actually the rules did that, I even provided the quotes... ,which a little bit reminds me of when my nephews were really little I'd point out stuff and tell them the wrongs name of it until they got it the youngest still refers to trees as fish, all of that is under the category of Generating a Psychic Powers which you continue to ignore.
I am ignoring nothing. Chaos Psychic Focus is not under Generating Psychic Powers...
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/21 19:37:11
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/21 21:02:33
Subject: Re:Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
It most certainly is. I am literally looking at my book well ebook, the next section is Manifesting Psychic Powers.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/21 21:02:45
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/21 21:36:07
Subject: Re:Daemon factory interpretations
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Hollismason wrote:It most certainly is. I am literally looking at my book well ebook, the next section is Manifesting Psychic Powers.
No it is not, Psychic Focus/Chaos Psychic Focus has its own box.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|