Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/12 14:32:36
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
Newcastle, NSW ,Australia
|
The terminator armour entry specifically states that a model in terminator armour may never preform a sweeping advance. Does this still apply for a model in a chariot?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/12 14:37:51
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Do you mean a model in termie armor in a chariot? If so, I would say yes.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/12 15:14:36
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
Newcastle, NSW ,Australia
|
Yes, specifically Logan Grimnar
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/12 15:28:10
Subject: Re:Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Grim Rune Priest in the Eye of the Storm
|
Well under Chariots: Fighting from a Chariot:
It says they fight like infantry Models and can perform Sweeping Advances.
I would have to ask, if Logan is on this Chariot, is he an Infantry Model in Terminator Armor or a Chariot.
[I would answer this myself, but my book does not get here until Thursday]
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/12 15:29:04
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor
Gathering the Informations.
|
He would be Chariot(Character) when on the Chariot and Infantry(Character) on foot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/12 15:37:44
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Isn't this a moot point, as the Codex has a write up on what changes having a chariot does for good old Logan? If I only was at the Library to confirm....
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/08/12 16:06:13
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/12 16:48:47
Subject: Re:Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
|
Anpu42 wrote:Well under Chariots: Fighting from a Chariot:
It says they fight like infantry Models and can perform Sweeping Advances.
I would have to ask, if Logan is on this Chariot, is he an Infantry Model in Terminator Armor or a Chariot.
[I would answer this myself, but my book does not get here until Thursday]
Well, there is no unit type "Infantry(terminator armour)" as the armour is simply wargear. The armour itself is what prevents the sweeping advance, not the unit type. So unless the chariot entry specifically states Logan can perform a sweeping advance, his permission to do so has already been revoked by his wargear.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/12 17:13:03
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
I did manage to take a quick review and noticed it does not mention Sweeping Advances. Because it does not mention Sweeping Advances at all, it does not change the Default state or over-turn any additional Restriction that may be in play. This means we fall back on the fundamental concept that Restrictions trump Permissions, and of any Restriction against an action means that the action may not be undertaken. In this situation Logan may not proceed with a Sweeping Advance, it matters not that Models on Chariots can Sweep or the fact that Sweeping Advances are permitted by default, because there still is a Restriction making the action illegal which has yet to be over-turned. Trying to Sweep in this situation would be identical to Assaulting out of an Open Topped Vehicle that just arrived from Reserves.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/12 17:55:12
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/12 17:17:49
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
while it is somehwat confusing,
RAW is clear,
logan cannot sweeping advance due to his termi armour
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/12 19:32:18
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Grim Rune Priest in the Eye of the Storm
|
I figured as much, was hoping he could, but Logan having a sweeping advance would have been fun.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 03:12:54
Subject: Re:Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor
Gathering the Informations.
|
ClassicCarraway wrote: Anpu42 wrote:Well under Chariots: Fighting from a Chariot:
It says they fight like infantry Models and can perform Sweeping Advances.
I would have to ask, if Logan is on this Chariot, is he an Infantry Model in Terminator Armor or a Chariot.
[I would answer this myself, but my book does not get here until Thursday]
Well, there is no unit type "Infantry(terminator armour)" as the armour is simply wargear. The armour itself is what prevents the sweeping advance, not the unit type. So unless the chariot entry specifically states Logan can perform a sweeping advance, his permission to do so has already been revoked by his wargear.
That's the most ridiculous way of reading a rule I have seen in a long time.
The wargear prevents him from doing it when on foot. When on his Chariot, he uses the rules for a Chariot.
This isn't rocket science.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 03:16:37
Subject: Re:Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Kanluwen wrote: ClassicCarraway wrote: Anpu42 wrote:Well under Chariots: Fighting from a Chariot:
It says they fight like infantry Models and can perform Sweeping Advances.
I would have to ask, if Logan is on this Chariot, is he an Infantry Model in Terminator Armor or a Chariot.
[I would answer this myself, but my book does not get here until Thursday]
Well, there is no unit type "Infantry(terminator armour)" as the armour is simply wargear. The armour itself is what prevents the sweeping advance, not the unit type. So unless the chariot entry specifically states Logan can perform a sweeping advance, his permission to do so has already been revoked by his wargear.
That's the most ridiculous way of reading a rule I have seen in a long time.
The wargear prevents him from doing it when on foot. When on his Chariot, he uses the rules for a Chariot.
This isn't rocket science.
I don't see anywhere in the terminator armor rule that says it only applies while on foot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 03:49:56
Subject: Re:Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor
Gathering the Informations.
|
CrownAxe wrote: Kanluwen wrote: ClassicCarraway wrote: Anpu42 wrote:Well under Chariots: Fighting from a Chariot:
It says they fight like infantry Models and can perform Sweeping Advances.
I would have to ask, if Logan is on this Chariot, is he an Infantry Model in Terminator Armor or a Chariot.
[I would answer this myself, but my book does not get here until Thursday]
Well, there is no unit type "Infantry(terminator armour)" as the armour is simply wargear. The armour itself is what prevents the sweeping advance, not the unit type. So unless the chariot entry specifically states Logan can perform a sweeping advance, his permission to do so has already been revoked by his wargear.
That's the most ridiculous way of reading a rule I have seen in a long time.
The wargear prevents him from doing it when on foot. When on his Chariot, he uses the rules for a Chariot.
This isn't rocket science.
I don't see anywhere in the terminator armor rule that says it only applies while on foot.
Where in the Chariots rule does it say "You cannot Sweeping Advance while wearing Terminator Armor"?
Chariots can perform Sweeping Advances. Unless it specifically states in Logan Grimnar's rules that Stormrider cannot Sweeping Advance due to his Terminator Armor, then the model can Sweeping Advance.
Honestly this is as stupid as people saying Terminator Armour does not get an Invulnerable Save when hit by weapons that ignore armor unless they have some secondary source of Invulnerable.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/13 03:51:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/02 03:59:38
Subject: Re:Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Kanluwen wrote:Where in the Chariots rule does it say "You cannot Sweeping Advance while wearing Terminator Armor"?
The same place as the Infantry rules say that...
Or, to put it another way, they don't need to. The general rules allow a sweeping advance. A specific rule of the model forbids it. In order to break no rule, you can't make a sweeping advance.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 04:04:32
Subject: Re:Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Grim Rune Priest in the Eye of the Storm
|
insaniak wrote: Kanluwen wrote:Where in the Chariots rule does it say "You cannot Sweeping Advance while wearing Terminator Armor"?
The same place as the Infantry rules say that...
Or, to put it another way, they don't need to. The general rules allow a sweeping advance. A specific rule of the model forbids it. In order to break no rule, you can't make a sweeping advance.
As much as I hate to Agree, Terminator Armor would prevent Sweeping Advance, in the same manner as Relentless does not allow Slow and Purposeful to Fire Overwatch or Counter Attack. I saw nothing under chariot that Grants Sweeping Advances to units that can't
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 04:06:25
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor
Gathering the Informations.
|
It's a rule of Logan, not Stormrider.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 04:17:52
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
The Rule is on the Model as a whole....
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/13 04:21:32
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 04:24:14
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
The chariot and the rider are considered a single model for all rules purposes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 04:25:03
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
A chariot and a rider are a single model. So Logan's rules affect the whole model, both rider and chariot.
So if logan can't sweep, the chariot can't sweep either.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 04:27:58
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Grim Rune Priest in the Eye of the Storm
|
insaniak wrote:
The chariot and the rider are considered a single model for all rules purposes.
True they have all the same rules.
>Chariot Gants Sweeping Advance
>Terminator Armor Denies Sweeping Advance even of other models have it in the same unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 08:59:38
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Its a rule of the model, as the chariot rules explicitly state the rider and chariot are one model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 09:09:27
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I've always taken sweeping advance in a fluff sense to be shooting them in the back as they flee
|
3000 Points - Right Hands of the Emperor, Imperial Fists Successor
1000 Points - Right Hands of the Emperor Elite PDF force
Bolt Action 1500 pts US Army
Bolt Action 1000 pts US Airborne
X Wing - Giant rebel fleet
Halo Fleet Battles - 1000 pt UNSC Force, 1000 pt Covenant Force
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DR:80S++G++MB+IPw40k96#+D+A++/areWD-R+T(T)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 10:02:16
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
throwoff wrote:I've always taken sweeping advance in a fluff sense to be shooting them in the back as they flee
Sorry, I'm not seeing what that has to do with the discussion at hand.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 11:27:10
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor
Gathering the Informations.
|
insaniak wrote:
The chariot and the rider are considered a single model for all rules purposes.
Right, but if you read the rules on p86:
A Chariot is an unusual unit with a dual profile--a non-vehicle profile for the rider of the Chariot(see below), and a vehicle profile for the Chariot itself. However, a Chariot is always treated as a single model. For the purposes of characteristic tests, always use the rider's profile. Furthermore any characteristics modifiers that affect a Chariot model apply to both rider and Chariot.
Nowhere in that does it say that "the effects of wargear on the rider extend to the Chariot".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 11:57:37
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Kanluwen wrote: insaniak wrote:
The chariot and the rider are considered a single model for all rules purposes.
Right, but if you read the rules on p86:
A Chariot is an unusual unit with a dual profile--a non-vehicle profile for the rider of the Chariot(see below), and a vehicle profile for the Chariot itself. However, a Chariot is always treated as a single model. For the purposes of characteristic tests, always use the rider's profile. Furthermore any characteristics modifiers that affect a Chariot model apply to both rider and Chariot.
Nowhere in that does it say that "the effects of wargear on the rider extend to the Chariot".
Read the entry for Terminator Armor. It says models in terminator armor can't sweep. Since a chariot and rider a are a single model and termi armor affects models then the only interaction is that termi armor affect both part of the model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 12:11:54
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor
Gathering the Informations.
|
That's the most ridiculous reading ever.
Keep believing it. It's wrong, but you can keep believing it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 12:13:35
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
So its one model, terminator armour restricts the model, yet thats wrong?
Please support your assertion with some rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 12:19:12
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Kanluwen wrote:That's the most ridiculous reading ever.
Keep believing it. It's wrong, but you can keep believing it.
Be in denial all you want, I supported my stance with the rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/13 12:19:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 13:08:31
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Kanluwen wrote:That's the most ridiculous reading ever.
Keep believing it. It's wrong, but you can keep believing it.
If it's wrong, surely you can cite some rules to support that statement?
Or some other reason besides "it's wrong"?
Leaving it at "It's wrong" is kind of rude.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/13 13:48:23
Subject: Terminator armour restricting a sweeping advance
|
 |
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor
Gathering the Informations.
|
Terminator Armor is wargear. The effects of wargear only apply to the model wearing/utilizing said wargear unless otherwise specified.
So, again, unless specifically stated in Grimnar's profile that "Stormrider cannot Sweeping Advance because of Grimnar being in Terminator Armor"--he can advance while riding the Chariot.
|
|
 |
 |
|