Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2266/06/10 00:45:30
Subject: Stacking Cursed Earth
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
One thing I've yet to see brought up that may be relevant is that Blessings as stated in the rules "grant extra abilities to the Psyker's allies, such as characteristics boosts or additional special rules." It then goes onto stat that "Blessings target one or more friendly units..." Could the argument then be made that since the bonus, as its about the only thing I can call the effect, of Cursed Earth applies to both friend and foe that its not therefore a blessing?
EDIT: Also anyone trying to argue target may be in for a nasty surprise. Hammerhand is worded the same way, targeting only the psyker but effecting the whole unit. So if you indeed do believe that you can stack Cursed Earth on Cursed Earth because its target is the psyker and any units that benefit will benefit from all the same would apply to hammerhands making it so while sure the character wasn't getting buffed so much the unit could get pretty beefy quickly.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/10 00:50:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/10 03:33:31
Subject: Stacking Cursed Earth
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
'The benefit of a blessing can only be gained once per unit per turn' line pretty much clinches the 'no' for me. Which is to bad, as my daemon army would've loved it.
|
warboss wrote:Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/11 00:29:53
Subject: Stacking Cursed Earth
|
 |
RogueSangre
The Cockatrice Malediction
|
grendel083 wrote:morgoth wrote:The thing is, the units do not gain the benefit, proof is that if you move them away they don't have it anymore.
If the Psyker dies ? they lose the effect.
That's not proof. That's fiction. They have the benefit as long as they're in range.
Meaning, they never gained "The benefit" of that Blessing in the first place.
Of course they did! They just loose it again if no longer in range.
So what happens if during my Shooting Phase my unit passes within 12" of one psyker with Cursed Earth and ends its run within 12" of another? I suppose they get no bonus to their invulnerable save during my opponent's Shooting Phase, right? Because they already benefited for the turn?
+1 to your invul save is most certainly a benefit. Do you conisder it a hinderance instead?
If it prevents me from getting +1 to my invulnerable save later when the enemy actually starts shooting at me? Yeah, I'd say that's a hindrance.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/11 00:34:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/11 01:30:56
Subject: Stacking Cursed Earth
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Abadabadoobaddon wrote:So what happens if during my Shooting Phase my unit passes within 12" of one psyker with Cursed Earth and ends its run within 12" of another? I suppose they get no bonus to their invulnerable save during my opponent's Shooting Phase, right? Because they already benefited for the turn?
"Per Turn" means per Player turn (not game turn), so relax this won't happen.
So where the unit is positioned at the start of your opponents turn is going to determine what model is getting a benefit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/24 11:15:22
Subject: Stacking Cursed Earth
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote: Abadabadoobaddon wrote:So what happens if during my Shooting Phase my unit passes within 12" of one psyker with Cursed Earth and ends its run within 12" of another? I suppose they get no bonus to their invulnerable save during my opponent's Shooting Phase, right? Because they already benefited for the turn?
"Per Turn" means per Player turn (not game turn), so relax this won't happen.
So where the unit is positioned at the start of your opponents turn is going to determine what model is getting a benefit.
Of course not, per turn means per turn (which means per game turn), and the reason it is set up that way is that every turn you get a psychic phase, and what the sentence means is that you can gain the benefit once per psychic phase - that's it.
Besides, Cursed Earth could be cast by your enemy and you could get +1 to invul during his turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2015/03/24 12:21:23
Subject: Re:Stacking Cursed Earth
|
 |
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego
|
Thread is being locked due to thread necromancy.
|
The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king, |
|
 |
 |
|