Switch Theme:

So... Harlequins  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

Today is the day RAW died on YMDC. If this and other threads keep up, it'll be renamed HIWPI tomorrow.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in dk
Infiltrating Prowler






We already had this discussion.. At least pretend to use the search function.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/633275.page
   
Made in gb
World-Weary Pathfinder





Wiltshire, UK

I think we're at the stage where we just agree to disagree. Yourself and Kriswall were staunch defenders of the other opinion in another thread I just discovered too so we'll just need to wait to see if the codex offers any clarification or if there is an FAQ.

I'm personally happy to let a Harlequin player use his Solitaire as a few of us have been arguing as I feel the rules are clear from my perspective and it seems to be a widespread view, but I'm happy to be proved wrong by GW.

I still think the new Harlies are awesome regardless! I'll personally be having a quick chat with any opponent about this before the game as I'm happy to play either way but still believe the kiss of death is rolled even when using the caress.

Ah well, good discussion peeps!

Check out my Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/blades_of_vaul

 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

3 weapons:
-Harlequin's Caress
-Harlequin's Embrace
-Harlequin's Kiss

3 Special Rules:
-Caress of Death
-Embrace of Death
-Kiss of Death

Both Embrace and Kiss mention "when equipped" with the weapon, making it sound like only possession of the weapon is needed in order to use the rule.
Why would these be 3 different weapons then, and not equipment?
If you have all 3, can you just use the Caress and have ALL the other rules?

As Krisswall has adequately described, you only have Special Rules on weapons when you use the weapon.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 BlackTalos wrote:
3 weapons:
-Harlequin's Caress
-Harlequin's Embrace
-Harlequin's Kiss

3 Special Rules:
-Caress of Death
-Embrace of Death
-Kiss of Death

Both Embrace and Kiss mention "when equipped" with the weapon, making it sound like only possession of the weapon is needed in order to use the rule.
Why would these be 3 different weapons then, and not equipment?
If you have all 3, can you just use the Caress and have ALL the other rules?

As Krisswall has adequately described, you only have Special Rules on weapons when you use the weapon.


I think the when equipped thing is just garbage rules writing. I really think GW intended for the "when equipped" rules to always function, but their own ruleset prevents this. I really just think this comes down to not playtesting and not having a technical writer on staff to edit the rules.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Kriswall wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
3 weapons:
-Harlequin's Caress
-Harlequin's Embrace
-Harlequin's Kiss

3 Special Rules:
-Caress of Death
-Embrace of Death
-Kiss of Death

Both Embrace and Kiss mention "when equipped" with the weapon, making it sound like only possession of the weapon is needed in order to use the rule.
Why would these be 3 different weapons then, and not equipment?
If you have all 3, can you just use the Caress and have ALL the other rules?

As Krisswall has adequately described, you only have Special Rules on weapons when you use the weapon.


I think the when equipped thing is just garbage rules writing. I really think GW intended for the "when equipped" rules to always function, but their own ruleset prevents this. I really just think this comes down to not playtesting and not having a technical writer on staff to edit the rules.


Its a case where codex trumps rulebook. It's obviously confusing or there wouldn't be multiple threads about it though.
   
Made in dk
Infiltrating Prowler






According to rigeld2 (from the other thread) the other weapon that grants HoW (embrace) won't actually grant give you HoW. According to him, the weapon only works at your initiative, so you can never make those HoW attacks (again, according to him)... Riight...

For what it's worth, I just read the WD and the way they describe him, the solitare actually really sounds like he was designed to be using both weapons.
Combining that with the fact that the wording on kiss actually supports using it with other weapons may be an indicator of RAI.. Too bad that they couldn't make it work RAW though! Here's to hoping for a quick FAQ though (a fools hope, I know)!
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Zewrath wrote:
According to rigeld2 (from the other thread) the other weapon that grants HoW (embrace) won't actually grant give you HoW. According to him, the weapon only works at your initiative, so you can never make those HoW attacks (again, according to him)... Riight...

For what it's worth, I just read the WD and the way they describe him, the solitare actually really sounds like he was designed to be using both weapons.
Combining that with the fact that the wording on kiss actually supports using it with other weapons may be an indicator of RAI.. Too bad that they couldn't make it work RAW though! Here's to hoping for a quick FAQ though (a fools hope, I know)!


And i'm actually agreeing to what Rigeld has said.

Sure, The rules are broken by RaW. Therefore we can all play by RaI and HYWPI: You CAN use all 3 powers while striking with the Caress.
Unfortunately you cannot say this is RaW.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in dk
Infiltrating Prowler






 BlackTalos wrote:
 Zewrath wrote:
According to rigeld2 (from the other thread) the other weapon that grants HoW (embrace) won't actually grant give you HoW. According to him, the weapon only works at your initiative, so you can never make those HoW attacks (again, according to him)... Riight...

For what it's worth, I just read the WD and the way they describe him, the solitare actually really sounds like he was designed to be using both weapons.
Combining that with the fact that the wording on kiss actually supports using it with other weapons may be an indicator of RAI.. Too bad that they couldn't make it work RAW though! Here's to hoping for a quick FAQ though (a fools hope, I know)!


And i'm actually agreeing to what Rigeld has said.

Sure, The rules are broken by RaW. Therefore we can all play by RaI and HYWPI: You CAN use all 3 powers while striking with the Caress.
Unfortunately you cannot say this is RaW.


I never made such claim, I think you should read my post again. I agree with the fact that you can't benefit from the kiss, if you use the caress, what I don't agree with is how, according to this guy, axe of blind fury don't give you -1 BS, Yriel isn't cursed and normal harlequin's can't use their embrace, because those things only work on initiate.
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

 Zewrath wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
 Zewrath wrote:
According to rigeld2 (from the other thread) the other weapon that grants HoW (embrace) won't actually grant give you HoW. According to him, the weapon only works at your initiative, so you can never make those HoW attacks (again, according to him)... Riight...

For what it's worth, I just read the WD and the way they describe him, the solitare actually really sounds like he was designed to be using both weapons.
Combining that with the fact that the wording on kiss actually supports using it with other weapons may be an indicator of RAI.. Too bad that they couldn't make it work RAW though! Here's to hoping for a quick FAQ though (a fools hope, I know)!


And i'm actually agreeing to what Rigeld has said.

Sure, The rules are broken by RaW. Therefore we can all play by RaI and HYWPI: You CAN use all 3 powers while striking with the Caress.
Unfortunately you cannot say this is RaW.


I never made such claim, I think you should read my post again. I agree with the fact that you can't benefit from the kiss, if you use the caress, what I don't agree with is how, according to this guy, axe of blind fury don't give you -1 BS, Yriel isn't cursed and normal harlequin's can't use their embrace, because those things only work on initiate.


"Unfortunately you cannot say this is RaW." Was a general "You". Should've written it as such:
'It cannot be said that this is RaW'

And the conclusion by RaW of only striking blows at your own initiative is correct, but obviously not HIWPI.

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Zewrath wrote:
 BlackTalos wrote:
 Zewrath wrote:
According to rigeld2 (from the other thread) the other weapon that grants HoW (embrace) won't actually grant give you HoW. According to him, the weapon only works at your initiative, so you can never make those HoW attacks (again, according to him)... Riight...

For what it's worth, I just read the WD and the way they describe him, the solitare actually really sounds like he was designed to be using both weapons.
Combining that with the fact that the wording on kiss actually supports using it with other weapons may be an indicator of RAI.. Too bad that they couldn't make it work RAW though! Here's to hoping for a quick FAQ though (a fools hope, I know)!


And i'm actually agreeing to what Rigeld has said.

Sure, The rules are broken by RaW. Therefore we can all play by RaI and HYWPI: You CAN use all 3 powers while striking with the Caress.
Unfortunately you cannot say this is RaW.


I never made such claim, I think you should read my post again. I agree with the fact that you can't benefit from the kiss, if you use the caress, what I don't agree with is how, according to this guy, axe of blind fury don't give you -1 BS, Yriel isn't cursed and normal harlequin's can't use their embrace, because those things only work on initiate.

Instead of just defaming me, how about you come up with rules reasons I'm wrong?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
World-Weary Pathfinder





Wiltshire, UK

Ok so this has got a bit nasty since I last checked in. A real shame.

I have emailed GW for rules clarification and they have sent it to the right team so I will post the response here when I recieve it.

For reference, the email address I was asked to use for the future is gamefaqs@gwplc.com

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/05 20:35:54


Check out my Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/blades_of_vaul

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





heres to hoping they answer it in a faq/errata
   
Made in jp
Regular Dakkanaut





a bit like a combat familiar ':/
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Would you try to argue that my autarch with the shard isn't fearless except for the instance he is attacking? I've already houserulled it with my whole gaming group, so this argument doesn't affect me. But I've followed each of these debates, and the codex trumps BRB should apply. The weapon itself uses language that expressly sets its special rule apart from normal bonuses, and the language is repeated on numerous special weapons in the game, if my rune priest used a krak grenade to attack, why would he lose the adamantine will special rule? These examples keep being brought up to help this argument, no one ever tried to deny these inherent bonuses before, but (for some reason) these are denied as perfect examples of past practice of this exact situation. My two cents.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/02/06 14:45:18


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





the RAW is clear.

choosing a weapon does not matter in this case, because you can get the effect without choosing the weapon.

Some people in this thread are not quoting the full rule of mixing and matching.

If a model has more than one Melee weapon, he must choose which one to attack with when he comes to strike blows – he cannot mix and match the abilities of several different Melee weapons.


Clearly it shows the rule is requiring you to strike with one melee one weapon, if you have two. And not allowing you to combine the effects of striking with another weapon.

However the rules for embrace and kiss are clear, they are not based on the weapon striking. Most weapons have rules like 'strikedown' 'shred' 'armourbane' 'unwieldly' etc which state specifically they are are only used when the weapon with that rule is striking with that weapon. Therefore if it is not the chosen weapon you do not get the rules that require it to be striking something.

Kiss and Embrace have rules stating they give the model an ability that works when the model makes its close combat attacks.

There is no rule anywhere stating you do not get the special abilities/rules of your models equipped items while in combat and not using that equipped item.

Anyone arguing that the model cannot use the abilities is breaking the RAW of the item, and further is making silly claims like special rules which affect models do not work, so a model with poison (not a weapon) does not work, the effect of rolling a 6 on the perils chart 'warp surge' would not grant fleshbane, armourbane, storm shields would never grant a save if you striek with another weapon, tyranid tail biomorphs would have no effect, etc.

anyone who claims these items do not work has no actual RAW support for the stance that models do not get the benefit of their wargear special rules when striking in assault. The ability granted by Kiss/Embrace is an ability granted to the model contingent on the model being in assault and striking, not the model striking with a chosen weapon. There is no requirement that the weapon is actually chosen to be the weapon you strike with in these cases, and further the misinterpretation of the RAW on more than one weapon is silly and actually breaks the RAW.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2015/02/06 16:11:13


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




No one has demonstrated why the kiss's rule doesn't trump the rule book. Codexes always trump the rule book.

"when a model equipped with a harlequins kiss makes its close combat attacks, one of it its attacks will be a kiss of death attack"

Overrides

"If a model has more than one Melee weapon, he must choose which one to attack with when he comes to strike blows – he cannot mix and match the abilities of several different Melee weapons."

Unless there is some reason it wouldn't that nobody has brought up.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Trystis wrote:
No one has demonstrated why the kiss's rule doesn't trump the rule book. Codexes always trump the rule book.

Does the Harlequin's Kiss explicitly say that it can be used with another weapon? If not, then it doesn't meet the requirement for 'Basic versus Advanced' to come into play.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





it explicitly says the special rule Kiss of death can be used by the model when it makes attacks in close combat attack.

so its not being used with another weapon, it gives the model a special rule that modifies its close combat attacks as per its RAW. see storm shield, dispersion shield, sump, shard, nightmare shroud, thunderwolf, a myraid of other wargear and equipped items that gives special rules to models when they strike in assault but not special rules that are based on choosing the weapon to strike with, as they are not special rules in any way tied to striking with the weapon as per the RAW.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

blaktoof wrote:
storm shield, dispersion shield, sump, shard, nightmare shroud, thunderwolf, a myraid of other wargear and equipped items that gives special rules to models when they strike in assault


And how many of these are melee weapons?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Crawfordsville Indiana

Doesn't the Storm shield count as a second close combat weapon? I am fairly certain the Wolf is wargear.

I'm not familiar with the others.

All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 megatrons2nd wrote:
Doesn't the Storm shield count as a second close combat weapon? I am fairly certain the Wolf is wargear.

I'm not familiar with the others.


Nope. The Storm Shield provides an invuln save and denies the 2 weapon Attack bonus.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Crawfordsville Indiana

 Happyjew wrote:
 megatrons2nd wrote:
Doesn't the Storm shield count as a second close combat weapon? I am fairly certain the Wolf is wargear.

I'm not familiar with the others.


Nope. The Storm Shield provides an invuln save and denies the 2 weapon Attack bonus.


Did it in the past? I could have sworn it was, but I quit marines because they are crappy models, and I hated the fluff for them. Oddly enough I haven't fought against storm shields in years.

All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




No where in basic versus advanced does it say that it must be explicitly stated that it overrides the rule book. It says that when there is a conflict then the rule printed in the codex always takes precedence.


   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Well in 3rd edition it was a once per turn use in melee only.
In 4th edition it was still melee only, but not once per turn. It also denied the bonus attack for two weapons.
In 5th it became as it is now - permanent invuln save, no 2 weapon bonus.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Trystis wrote:
No where in basic versus advanced does it say that it must be explicitly stated that it overrides the rule book. It says that when there is a conflict then the rule printed in the codex always takes precedence.

If its not explicitly stated then you don't have proof of a conflict. All you have is your opinion that the wording is sufficient when its not.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





I'm not sure why the Embrace and Kiss would not work. The rule simply need you to have the equipment, not use it.

The Embrace and Kiss are distinctively different from the Caress which states each hit made by a weapon with this special rule, while the others simple need a model to be equipped with it and it add special things.

The reason I am seeing why they are all melee weapons is so the troupes have to choose what they bring while models like the Solitude or the possible Great Harlequin can benefit from all of them if they choose to attack with the Caress.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/07 01:38:16


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Nilok, per the rules I choose to use the Embrace. Please show permission to benefit from the Kiss's special rules when making an attack.

Please note that the "wwhen a model equipped with a harlequins kiss makes its close combat attacks" is not permission.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Nilok wrote:
I'm not sure why the Embrace and Kiss would not work. The rule simply need you to have the equipment, not use it.

Because its still the ability of the weapon, and you would be trying to "... mix and match the abilities of several different Melee weapons..." which is explicitly forbidden by the rules, nor is there a rule letting you use the ability of a weapon just by being 'equipped' with it. The only rule we have for the special abilities of Melee weapons is by using that weapon to attack.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Crawfordsville Indiana

 Ghaz wrote:
 Nilok wrote:
I'm not sure why the Embrace and Kiss would not work. The rule simply need you to have the equipment, not use it.

Because its still the ability of the weapon, and you would be trying to "... mix and match the abilities of several different Melee weapons..." which is explicitly forbidden by the rules, nor is there a rule letting you use the ability of a weapon just by being 'equipped' with it. The only rule we have for the special abilities of Melee weapons is by using that weapon to attack.


Um, actually there is. It is the Kiss of Death Rule: "When a model equipped with a Harlequin's Kiss makes its close combat attacks, one of its Attacks will be a Kiss of Death Attack(Roll this Attack separately)."

That sure sounds like, just being equipped by it.

Core rules there is not, the Kiss of Death rule does explicitly state it.

All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: