Switch Theme:

Nightscythes and Triarch Praetorians  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer





Bringing this over from the Necron tactics thread.

Can Praetorians begin emarked on a Nightscythe?

My argument is no, they are Jump Infantry and nothing in the dedicated transport section specifically states that taking a DT allows you to ignore transport restrictions.

I also argue that "may select as a dedicated transport" only allows the Praetorians to purchase the Nightscythe as a DT and does not fulfill the condition of specifically stating the Praetorians can ignore transport restrictions.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/31 22:16:36


My win rate while having my arms and legs tied behind by back while blindfolded and stuffed in a safe that is submerged underwater:
100% 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

I would agree. The practical effect is that you get a "slotless" Night Scythe.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Virginia Beach, VA

 SilverDevilfish wrote:

I also argue that "may select as a dedicated transport" only allows the Praetorians to purchase the Nightscythe as a DT and does fulfill the condition of specifically stating the Praetorians can ignore transport restrictions.


Do you mean "does not?" Otherwise you're contradicting yourself. I think RAI are fairly clear that they can be embarked in the NS, and that the exception was overlooked. Can anyone show me another unit that can a DT that they can't ride in? I mean they used to be able to get in before. Needs an faq to be 100% legit.

   
Made in ca
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer





 NakedSeamus wrote:
 SilverDevilfish wrote:

I also argue that "may select as a dedicated transport" only allows the Praetorians to purchase the Nightscythe as a DT and does fulfill the condition of specifically stating the Praetorians can ignore transport restrictions.


Do you mean "does not?" Otherwise you're contradicting yourself. I think RAI are fairly clear that they can be embarked in the NS, and that the exception was overlooked. Can anyone show me another unit that can a DT that they can't ride in? I mean they used to be able to get in before. Needs an faq to be 100% legit.


Yes I do mean does not, I'll fix that.

My win rate while having my arms and legs tied behind by back while blindfolded and stuffed in a safe that is submerged underwater:
100% 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Depends on whether you consider "Can take as a dedicated transport" to meet the criteria of the vague phrase "unless stated otherwise", and that's really all it boils down to.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




changemod wrote:
Depends on whether you consider "Can take as a dedicated transport" to meet the criteria of the vague phrase "unless stated otherwise", and that's really all it boils down to.


'stated otherwise' is vague enough to cover the RAW permission.

I see no reason why we shouldn't allow the obvious that the Praetorians can indeed embark on the dedicated transport that they are expressly permitted to take.
   
Made in us
Gargantuan Gargant





New Bedford, MA USA

I think it's pretty obvious that the RAI is that they can ride in their own dedicated transport.




   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

RAW: I do not think the permission to take as DT is enough for 'unless stated otherwise'.
HIWPI: Sure they can.
How I Would Actually Play It: I wouldn't take them in a Flyer.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 adamsouza wrote:
I think it's pretty obvious that the RAI is that they can ride in their own dedicated transport.



So does that mean if I take a Wave Serpent (Capacity 12) for ten Wraithguard (Bulky) that I can embark them? After all it's pretty obvious that the RAI is they can ride in their own transport.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer





changemod wrote:
Depends on whether you consider "Can take as a dedicated transport" to meet the criteria of the vague phrase "unless stated otherwise", and that's really all it boils down to.


You do not have to embark on a selected dedicated transport, so how is "select as a dedicated transport" = "embarking on a dedicated transport"?

Also it's "specifically stated otherwise".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/31 22:29:09


My win rate while having my arms and legs tied behind by back while blindfolded and stuffed in a safe that is submerged underwater:
100% 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Happyjew wrote:
 adamsouza wrote:
I think it's pretty obvious that the RAI is that they can ride in their own dedicated transport.



So does that mean if I take a Wave Serpent (Capacity 12) for ten Wraithguard (Bulky) that I can embark them? After all it's pretty obvious that the RAI is they can ride in their own transport.


Sure, but 6 wraithguard is your max capacity.

No one is saying that the Praetorians would not have to follow capacity restrictions.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 SilverDevilfish wrote:
changemod wrote:
Depends on whether you consider "Can take as a dedicated transport" to meet the criteria of the vague phrase "unless stated otherwise", and that's really all it boils down to.


You do not have to embark on a selected dedicated transport, so how is "select as a dedicated transport" = "embarking on a dedicated transport"?

Also it's "specifically stated otherwise".


Sure I see "may select as a dedicated transport" fulfilling the requirement of "specifically stated otherwise."

What you are arguing actually goes against common sense to the point that there would need to be a line that says

"may select but may not embark upon"

I mean really this is a non-issue and intent is incredibly obvious and "stated otherwise" is vague enough to establish RAW.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/31 22:38:47


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

col_impact wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
 adamsouza wrote:
I think it's pretty obvious that the RAI is that they can ride in their own dedicated transport.



So does that mean if I take a Wave Serpent (Capacity 12) for ten Wraithguard (Bulky) that I can embark them? After all it's pretty obvious that the RAI is they can ride in their own transport.


Sure, but 6 wraithguard is your max capacity.

No one is saying that the Praetorians would not have to follow capacity restrictions.


And one of those restrictions is no Jump Infantry.

For an example of a transport that states otherwise - Drop Pods. May carry 10(?) Infantry, or 1 Dreadnought, or 1 Thunderfire Cannon.
Notice it specifically says that certain non-Infantry can be embarked.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/3390/626667.page#7544717

My take on the matter from when it was brought up in the Necron thread in News & Rumours. As of right now Praetorians can't embark in their dedicated transport and I'm not going to try and guess if that was GW's intent or not.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer





col_impact wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
 adamsouza wrote:
I think it's pretty obvious that the RAI is that they can ride in their own dedicated transport.



So does that mean if I take a Wave Serpent (Capacity 12) for ten Wraithguard (Bulky) that I can embark them? After all it's pretty obvious that the RAI is they can ride in their own transport.


Sure, but 6 wraithguard is your max capacity.

No one is saying that the Praetorians would not have to follow capacity restrictions.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 SilverDevilfish wrote:
changemod wrote:
Depends on whether you consider "Can take as a dedicated transport" to meet the criteria of the vague phrase "unless stated otherwise", and that's really all it boils down to.


You do not have to embark on a selected dedicated transport, so how is "select as a dedicated transport" = "embarking on a dedicated transport"?

Also it's "specifically stated otherwise".


Sure I see "may select as a dedicated transport" fulfilling the requirement of "specifically stated otherwise."

What you are arguing actually goes against common sense to the point that there would need to be a line that says

"may select but may not embark upon"

I mean really this is a non-issue and intent is incredibly obvious and "stated otherwise" is vague enough to establish RAW.


Oh believe me I'm not arguing RAI here, I'm bringing this up so that TOs and such can add the line "Praetorians may being embarked on selected Nightscythes" to their FAQs until the official FAQ comes out.

Also in the vague hope that GW is reading this (I know) and changes the Nightscythe Transport Capacity to allow Jump and Jet Infantry.

However common sense has no place in RAW.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/31 22:50:08


My win rate while having my arms and legs tied behind by back while blindfolded and stuffed in a safe that is submerged underwater:
100% 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Ghaz wrote:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/3390/626667.page#7544717

My take on the matter from when it was brought up in the Necron thread in News & Rumours. As of right now Praetorians can't embark in their dedicated transport and I'm not going to try and guess if that was GW's intent or not.


Oh really? As of right now Praetorian's can embark on their dedicated transport. That they may select a night scythe as a dedicated transport fulfills the "stated otherwise" requirement.
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

col_impact wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/3390/626667.page#7544717

My take on the matter from when it was brought up in the Necron thread in News & Rumours. As of right now Praetorians can't embark in their dedicated transport and I'm not going to try and guess if that was GW's intent or not.


Oh really? As of right now Praetorian's can embark on their dedicated transport. That they may select a night scythe as a dedicated transport fulfills the "stated otherwise" requirement.


You can select a Dedicated Transport without deploying in it. Nothing in being able to select a DT grants explicit permission to embark on that DT.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Happyjew wrote:
col_impact wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
 adamsouza wrote:
I think it's pretty obvious that the RAI is that they can ride in their own dedicated transport.



So does that mean if I take a Wave Serpent (Capacity 12) for ten Wraithguard (Bulky) that I can embark them? After all it's pretty obvious that the RAI is they can ride in their own transport.


Sure, but 6 wraithguard is your max capacity.

No one is saying that the Praetorians would not have to follow capacity restrictions.


And one of those restrictions is no Jump Infantry.

For an example of a transport that states otherwise - Drop Pods. May carry 10(?) Infantry, or 1 Dreadnought, or 1 Thunderfire Cannon.
Notice it specifically says that certain non-Infantry can be embarked.


Jump infantry cannot "unless specifically stated otherwise" which in the case of the Praetorians it has indeed been "stated otherwise"


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Kriswall wrote:
col_impact wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/3390/626667.page#7544717

My take on the matter from when it was brought up in the Necron thread in News & Rumours. As of right now Praetorians can't embark in their dedicated transport and I'm not going to try and guess if that was GW's intent or not.


Oh really? As of right now Praetorian's can embark on their dedicated transport. That they may select a night scythe as a dedicated transport fulfills the "stated otherwise" requirement.


You can select a Dedicated Transport without deploying in it. Nothing in being able to select a DT grants explicit permission to embark on that DT.


I am saying that "selecting a dedicated transport" fulfills the vague "stated otherwise" which it does because its vague.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also the definition of Dedicated Transport further enforces that the unit that buys the dedicated transport embarks on it (permission granted by buying it)

Spoiler:
Dedicated Transports

Sometimes a unit entry will include a transport option, allowing a vehicle to be selected together with the unit. These Dedicated Transports do not use up a slot on the force organisation chart, but count as having the same role as the unit they were bought for all other rules purposes.

For example, a Rhino bought for a Space Marine Tactical Squad (troops) counts as a unit of troops, but one bought for a unit of Space Marine Sternguard Veteran Squad (elites) counts as elites.

Other vehicles may also have a Transport Capacity, but they are chosen separately as normal, have a role and occupy a force organisation chart slot of their own.

The only limitation of a Dedicated Transport is that when it is deployed, it can only carry the unit it was selected with (plus any Independent Characters that have joined it). After the game begins, it can then transport any friendly Infantry unit, subject to Transport Capacity and other special exclusions, as explained in the vehicle’s entry.


Notice in the definition that select = carry.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/01/31 23:00:05


 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

"Stated otherwise" would have to be something STATING that they can embark overruling the restriction.

Permission to buy a DT never STATES anything about overcoming the restriction or even the fact that they may embark upon it....

DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 BlackTalos wrote:
"Stated otherwise" would have to be something STATING that they can embark overruling the restriction.

Permission to buy a DT never STATES anything about overcoming the restriction or even the fact that they may embark upon it....


Check the definition I quoted above.

Dedicated transports are defined as only being able to carry the units they are selected with.

Selection --> being able to carry

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/31 23:03:10


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

No, being able to buy a Night Scythe as a Dedicated Transport does not meet the definition of stated.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Ghaz wrote:
No, being able to buy a Night Scythe as a Dedicated Transport does not meet the definition of stated.


By Dedicated Transport definition being able to select means being able to carry. In fact it means "can only carry [when initially deployed]"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/01/31 23:13:27


 
   
Made in ca
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer





col_impact wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
No, being able to buy a Night Scythe as a Dedicated Transport does not meet the definition of stated.


By Dedicated Transport definition being able to select means being able to carry. In fact it means "can only carry [when initially deployed]"


can =/= must.

Ambiguity exists. Ambiguity is not specific, in fact it's pretty much the opposite.

My win rate while having my arms and legs tied behind by back while blindfolded and stuffed in a safe that is submerged underwater:
100% 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 SilverDevilfish wrote:
col_impact wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
No, being able to buy a Night Scythe as a Dedicated Transport does not meet the definition of stated.


By Dedicated Transport definition being able to select means being able to carry. In fact it means "can only carry [when initially deployed]"


can =/= must.

Ambiguity exists. Ambiguity is not specific, in fact it's pretty much the opposite.


Can grants permission. It is up to you to show where that permission is taken away.
   
Made in ca
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer





col_impact wrote:
 SilverDevilfish wrote:
col_impact wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
No, being able to buy a Night Scythe as a Dedicated Transport does not meet the definition of stated.


By Dedicated Transport definition being able to select means being able to carry. In fact it means "can only carry [when initially deployed]"


can =/= must.

Ambiguity exists. Ambiguity is not specific, in fact it's pretty much the opposite.


Can grants permission. It is up to you to show where that permission is taken away.


It's taken away by the rule saying "Only Infantry models can embark... unless specifically stated otherwise".

My win rate while having my arms and legs tied behind by back while blindfolded and stuffed in a safe that is submerged underwater:
100% 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 SilverDevilfish wrote:
col_impact wrote:
 SilverDevilfish wrote:
col_impact wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
No, being able to buy a Night Scythe as a Dedicated Transport does not meet the definition of stated.


By Dedicated Transport definition being able to select means being able to carry. In fact it means "can only carry [when initially deployed]"


can =/= must.

Ambiguity exists. Ambiguity is not specific, in fact it's pretty much the opposite.


Can grants permission. It is up to you to show where that permission is taken away.


It's taken away by the rule saying "Only Infantry models can embark... unless specifically stated otherwise".


You have got that backwards, the ability to embark is granted when the Praetorians are permitted to select a NS as a dedicated transport. See the definition of dedicated transport.
   
Made in ca
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer





col_impact wrote:
 SilverDevilfish wrote:
col_impact wrote:
 SilverDevilfish wrote:
col_impact wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
No, being able to buy a Night Scythe as a Dedicated Transport does not meet the definition of stated.


By Dedicated Transport definition being able to select means being able to carry. In fact it means "can only carry [when initially deployed]"


can =/= must.

Ambiguity exists. Ambiguity is not specific, in fact it's pretty much the opposite.


Can grants permission. It is up to you to show where that permission is taken away.


It's taken away by the rule saying "Only Infantry models can embark... unless specifically stated otherwise".


You have got that backwards, the ability to embark is granted when the Praetorians are permitted to select a NS as a dedicated transport. See the definition of dedicated transport.


Okay, you've convinced me. But do you understand why I wanted to bring this up (look how far you had to dig).

My win rate while having my arms and legs tied behind by back while blindfolded and stuffed in a safe that is submerged underwater:
100% 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Sure. The rules are clearly not written by a technical writer.
   
Made in gb
Deranged Necron Destroyer




If what you were saying held up, you would be able to put 20 warriors in a ghost ark at deployment. Clearly that is absurd, and overriden by the exception that you cannot fit more models in a transport than the capacity allows. This is similar, but is instead restricted by not being able to fit in jump infantry. You cannot ignore that restriction for the same reason as you cannot ignore transport capacity - it's against the rules. It's most likely a rules mess up, but that's how it is.
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners





Has anyone brought up the fact that the Night Scythe's cannot be embarked upon in the first place, and that it moves the unit from Reserves to the table.

3000+
6000+
2000+
2500+
2500+
:Orks 5000+ 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

That is only the fluff.
In the game-mechanics they are embarked in the Night Scythe and get placed into Reserves if it gets destroyed.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: