Switch Theme:

First Turn Assault & Detachments /w Formations  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lesser Daemon of Chaos




ERROR 223781: This user is currently at large and has no fixed position

My main question is whether or not you're are allowed to assault on your first turn. Simple enough just a yes or no question.

My second question is mainly just curiosity. The Necron Decurion Detachment says that you can count formations you take as part of the detachment as well (so long as it's within the boundaries). So does that mean that you couldn't take a Helfast Murderpack and count it as in your Combined Arms Detachment even though it fits the boundaries? And can you take both a Decurion Detachment and a Combined Arms Detachment?

Long live the Chaos Space Marines!!!  
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 marrowick wrote:
My main question is whether or not you're are allowed to assault on your first turn. Simple enough just a yes or no question.

My second question is mainly just curiosity. The Necron Decurion Detachment says that you can count formations you take as part of the detachment as well (so long as it's within the boundaries). So does that mean that you couldn't take a Helfast Murderpack and count it as in your Combined Arms Detachment even though it fits the boundaries? And can you take both a Decurion Detachment and a Combined Arms Detachment?


Main question... yes, but it's EXTREMELY difficult to pull off as you're almost always going to be out of range and most ways of getting in range prohibit assaults. If you want to know about a specific situation, let us know the details.

Second question... NO. The wording in the Necron Decurion Detachment is only applicable to that Detachment. Any models belonging to a Helfast Muurderpack would not be able to also belong to a CAD as models normally can't belong to more than one formation/detachment.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Keep in mind pretty much every form of getting closer to you opponent before the game starts (infiltrate, scout, reserves) all specifically prohibit charging
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

To answer your first question: Yes, you can. It is normally near impossible to do however, given the distance between deployment zones, and specific exceptions contained within Special Rules (Infiltrate for example).

For the second question: A unit cannot belong to more than one Detachment (unless given a specific exception).

edit: Damned Ninjas!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/14 02:44:52


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 marrowick wrote:
My second question is mainly just curiosity. The Necron Decurion Detachment says that you can count formations you take as part of the detachment as well (so long as it's within the boundaries). So does that mean that you couldn't take a Helfast Murderpack and count it as in your Combined Arms Detachment even though it fits the boundaries? And can you take both a Decurion Detachment and a Combined Arms Detachment?

The others have answered the question, but I'll just add that it seems you have some misconceptions on how the Necron Decurion works. The Decurion is not like other detachments and does not have a Force Organization chart. It instead consists of a mandatory Formation, an optional 0-1 Formation and a choice of one to ten auxiliary Formations/specific units you add to create the Decurion Detachment.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Lesser Daemon of Chaos




ERROR 223781: This user is currently at large and has no fixed position

Okay. Thanks guys.

Long live the Chaos Space Marines!!!  
   
Made in us
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter







Outside of Apocalypse first-turn charges basically require player one to decide to get charged and move forward as fast as he can.

Balanced Game: Noun. A game in which all options and choices are worth using.
Homebrew oldhammer project: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/790996.page#10896267
Meridian: Necromunda-based 40k skirmish: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/795374.page 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Eversor in a Landraider works methinks. The new Solitaire in a transport could also work.
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





ryuken87 wrote:
Eversor in a Landraider works methinks. The new Solitaire in a transport could also work.

Warp Spiders have a good shot as well with up to an 18" move. Powerblades anyone? lol.

4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





He's referring to the Necron Scarabs, and the new creation rules. Yes it can be done, they are beast, not slowed by any terrain, and have fleet. If your opponent sets up max deployment, you will most likely need a 10, possibly a 9 or 8.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2015/02/16 00:35:38


2014 Templecon/Onslaught 40k T, Best overall
2015 Templecon/Onslaught 40kGT, Best overall
2015, Nova open 40kGT Semifinalist.
2015 40k Golden Sprue Champ.
2016 Best General Portal Annual Spring 40kGT
2017 Best General, 3rd Annual Winter 40kGT Hosted by The Portal.
2018 Triumph 40k GT. Best Overall.
2018 Best General, 4th Annual Winter 40kGT Hosted by The Portal.



,  
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Opponent deploys 24" away

Spider and Scarab unit deploy on that line 24" away

Spawn a scarab 6" forward of the Spyder (18" away now)

Movement phase move 12" towards the enemy (6" away now)

So you only need a 6" charge to make it into combat.. holy crap!

EDIT - Wait you can't place the scarab 6" away.. it still needs to be in coherency so you can only place it 2" away from the nearest scarab base. So you will be around 3" closer to the enemy (2" coherency + 1" scarab base). Meaning you will need a 9" charge..

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/02/16 07:37:20


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





bodazoka wrote:
Opponent deploys 24" away

Spider and Scarab unit deploy on that line 24" away

Spawn a scarab 6" forward of the Spyder (18" away now)

Movement phase move 12" towards the enemy (6" away now)

So you only need a 6" charge to make it into combat.. holy crap!

EDIT - Wait you can't place the scarab 6" away.. it still needs to be in coherency so you can only place it 2" away from the nearest scarab base. So you will be around 3" closer to the enemy (2" coherency + 1" scarab base). Meaning you will need a 9" charge..


Keep in mind you can add in more Canoptek Spyders.

Take 3 for example:
Spyders move up 6 and start spawning, 1 scarab base is as you said, then 2nd scarab base is now 2" from that 1st base, and 3rd scarab base is now 2" from the 2nd Scarab base.

Now you have 3 scarab bases + 6" of "coherency" space added to the original scarab unit. Next you move the scarabs forward and with Fleet, a 1st turn assault is very much "doable"
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One





Chariots can make these charges with Master of the Vanguard lol.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Macclesfield, UK

 marrowick wrote:
My main question is whether or not you're are allowed to assault on your first turn. Simple enough just a yes or no question.

My second question is mainly just curiosity. The Necron Decurion Detachment says that you can count formations you take as part of the detachment as well (so long as it's within the boundaries). So does that mean that you couldn't take a Helfast Murderpack and count it as in your Combined Arms Detachment even though it fits the boundaries? And can you take both a Decurion Detachment and a Combined Arms Detachment?


Yes to the first question, they is no rule in the rulebook that disallows a first turn charge completely, there are situations where it is not allowed as mentioned above like infiltrate, scout, etc. There is a Blood Angel formation called Angel Fury Spearhead which can allow a first turn charge from the first turn depending on wither you roll for the formation first turn. It allows units coming in from deep strike reserve to assault if it's within 12" of two of the sotrmravens that can come on first turn. This includes deep strike reserves from drop pods.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





bodazoka wrote:
Opponent deploys 24" away

24.1" - you must deploy more than 12" from the center line... so a 10 in charge.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




By my reckoning the new harlies with the right formation and warlord trait can make a 33" charge. You can also dance an enemy 2d6" towards you.

(Of course this is based on rules hearsay)

DFTT 
   
Made in us
Lesser Daemon of Chaos




ERROR 223781: This user is currently at large and has no fixed position

Thanks. But I don't think any of you have asked my final question, though it's quite possible you didn't see it. Can you take both the Decurian detachment and the Combined Arms detachment?

Long live the Chaos Space Marines!!!  
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/636048.page

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

rigeld2 wrote:
bodazoka wrote:
Opponent deploys 24" away

24.1" - you must deploy more than 12" from the center line... so a 10 in charge.
Don't think that's a rule in this edition.
"At least 24"" I believe it says now, so exactly 24" is valid.

Of course you can just deploy half an inch back...
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 grendel083 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
bodazoka wrote:
Opponent deploys 24" away

24.1" - you must deploy more than 12" from the center line... so a 10 in charge.
Don't think that's a rule in this edition.
"At least 24"" I believe it says now, so exactly 24" is valid.

Of course you can just deploy half an inch back...

Nope. There's a midline for each deployment type, and 12" in both directions before the deployment zone starts. So exactly 24" is incorrect.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

rigeld2 wrote:
Nope. There's a midline for each deployment type, and 12" in both directions before the deployment zone starts. So exactly 24" is incorrect.

Where is the 'thickness' of this midline defined?

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Ghaz wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Nope. There's a midline for each deployment type, and 12" in both directions before the deployment zone starts. So exactly 24" is incorrect.

Where is the 'thickness' of this midline defined?

It doesn't matter. It has a non-existent thickness. Then you have 12" of deadzone in each direction. Which means there's 24" of deadzone you need to cross.
"We’ve found that 12" away from the centre line works best; this ensures that the armies will start at least 24" apart, which makes first turn charges hard to achieve while still giving you enough space on a typical table to deploy your army."

Okay, I see what you're saying - but I would require that anyone claiming a 24" charge is possible get a more precise measuring device than a tape measure.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 marrowick wrote:
Thanks. But I don't think any of you have asked my final question, though it's quite possible you didn't see it. Can you take both the Decurian detachment and the Combined Arms detachment?


Yes. Nothing prevents beyond possible event specific rules. Just remember Units in the CAD can not be units in the Decurian.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: