Switch Theme:

Can you (if you had the chance to) assault on first turn?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say






Can you (if you had the chance to) assault on the first turn?
E.G i have some ruststalkers hiding behind a building 12" away (as they have scout+cannot be seen) from a farseer council,i move 9" (as they have the dunestrider rule...but can i assault?
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




A unit that makes a Scout redeployment cannot charge in the first game turn.

Sometimes my dice rolls are a splash of brilliance in an otherwise vast ocean of failure... 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, if you can legally declare a charge first turn, you can do so.

Inquisitor with Liber, termies plus dedicated land raider, get Scout, the LR scouts, the unit inside does not.
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

Warp Spiders could potentially charge on the first turn. 2D6+6" warp jump, then 2D6" assault.
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

commander dante wrote:
Can you (if you had the chance to) assault on the first turn?
E.G i have some ruststalkers hiding behind a building 12" away (as they have scout+cannot be seen) from a farseer council,i move 9" (as they have the dunestrider rule...but can i assault?



If you have made a scout move or infiltrated, you cannot assault on the first game turn. see relevant special rules

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in ca
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Vancouver, BC

 jokerkd wrote:
commander dante wrote:
Can you (if you had the chance to) assault on the first turn?
E.G i have some ruststalkers hiding behind a building 12" away (as they have scout+cannot be seen) from a farseer council,i move 9" (as they have the dunestrider rule...but can i assault?



If you have made a scout move or infiltrated, you cannot assault on the first game turn. see relevant special rules


You cannot assault on your first game turn if you scout or infiltrate. Not necessarily the first game turn.

 warboss wrote:
Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Crazyterran wrote:
 jokerkd wrote:
commander dante wrote:
Can you (if you had the chance to) assault on the first turn?
E.G i have some ruststalkers hiding behind a building 12" away (as they have scout+cannot be seen) from a farseer council,i move 9" (as they have the dunestrider rule...but can i assault?



If you have made a scout move or infiltrated, you cannot assault on the first game turn. see relevant special rules


You cannot assault on your first game turn if you scout or infiltrate. Not necessarily the first game turn.

Scout and infiltrate specify that that unit can not assault on their first turn, not just the first player turn
   
Made in au
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





the down underworld

Infiltrate rule state "their first turn". scout states "first game turn"

"If you wait a few months, they'll pick one of the worst codexes and they'll nerf almost everything, its an abstract sort of balance, but it's the sort of balance gw likes... "
 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Anoka County, MN

Any Ork vehicle with Boarding Plank adds 2" to assault so if both armies are on their lines 24" apart, the Orks have a 1/12 chance of assaulting the first turn, per vehicle.

Fighting crime in a future time! 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 jokerkd wrote:
Infiltrate rule state "their first turn". scout states "first game turn"


Which really means the same thing ad you cannot assault in your opponents first player turn.

Iirc first player turn is naturally forbidden from charging(can't provide rules quote as i am not at home). So spiders cannot assault if the eldar player goes first(this is for balance).

Then infiltrators cannot assault their first player turn(so even if you go second they cannot assault).

Scouts cannot assault in the fist game turn(so same thing really)

Anything coming in from reserves cannot assault the turn they come in(this includes deepstrike which also specifically prohibits assault for things that get to deepstrike from the table. This is also a balance thing as anyone who has ever had a gunline army getting assaulted by ork commandos with snikrot in their own table edge can atest, sucks.)

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




There is no generic prohibition on first turn assaults.
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




There's a Skitarii formation that could easily let you assault turn one, with 4 units no less. The formation lets you run and assault once per game. Oh and they have dunstrider so +3" when moving running and assaulting.

So that's 9" move + 4"-9" run (don't forget to roll 2d6 for Crusader like I do all the time) + 5"-15" charge. That's an 18"-33" movement range. With 4 dedicated melee units.
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

BomBomHotdog wrote:
There's a Skitarii formation that could easily let you assault turn one, with 4 units no less. The formation lets you run and assault once per game. Oh and they have dunstrider so +3" when moving running and assaulting.

So that's 9" move + 4"-9" run (don't forget to roll 2d6 for Crusader like I do all the time) + 5"-15" charge. That's an 18"-33" movement range. With 4 dedicated melee units.


I believe the rule specifies turn 2 onwards.
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Anoka County, MN

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
 jokerkd wrote:
Infiltrate rule state "their first turn". scout states "first game turn"


Which really means the same thing ad you cannot assault in your opponents first player turn.

Iirc first player turn is naturally forbidden from charging(can't provide rules quote as i am not at home). So spiders cannot assault if the eldar player goes first(this is for balance).

Then infiltrators cannot assault their first player turn(so even if you go second they cannot assault).

Scouts cannot assault in the fist game turn(so same thing really)

Anything coming in from reserves cannot assault the turn they come in(this includes deepstrike which also specifically prohibits assault for things that get to deepstrike from the table. This is also a balance thing as anyone who has ever had a gunline army getting assaulted by ork commandos with snikrot in their own table edge can atest, sucks.)


Snik with full unit was never that devastating. Allowing unlimited IC's to accompany him was the real "broken" part of that. Yeah, Ghaz in his MegaArmor and crazy Mad Doc are going to sneak around back without being heard . . .

Honestly if they limited Snik with only Komandoes, no IC's to assault from reserves that wouldn't be that bad. They still have only the 6+ save and the opponents would still get to Overwatch.

Fighting crime in a future time! 
   
Made in gb
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say






What about the Sicarian Killclade?
Its says "once per game you may assault after running"
And codex overrides rulebook...
   
Made in gb
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





Oxfordshire, UK

If your enemy throws a drop pod at you, you can then assault whatever comes out on your first turn.

Swooping hawks now move 18. They can get far enough to assault first turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/05/15 18:16:01


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Ways to assault turn 1:

Hawks and Spiders (or Autarch with their equipment) from Eldar can both potentially move 18"+ turn 1 allowing a charge.

Scouting transports (marines have numerous ways of doing this Scouts in a LSS being the most obvious).

Angels Fury Formation allows assault from DS if you arrive within 12" of its homers which are delivered by Storm Raven and can arrive on turn 1 (on a 3+ with a reroll) add drop pods to the mix and turn 1 assault anywhere.

Pivot trick.

Enemy moving towards you or deepstriking near you (via for instance Drop Pod or NSF). Or assaulting your opponents Scouts and/or infiltrators

There is no blanket restriction on assaulting turn 1 it is just often difficult to achieve and most things that would enable it like scouting and infiltrating have a restriction against it. Likewise I believe every single run and charge rule prevents use on turn 1...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 FlingitNow wrote:
Ways to assault turn 1:

Pivot trick.


This actually no longer works in 7th ed.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

 DeathReaper wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Ways to assault turn 1:

Pivot trick.


This actually no longer works in 7th ed.


Agreed. No part of the vehicle's hull can end the move more than 6" (or whatever the max move is) from where the hull started. Ergo, if you pivot, then move to grant extra distance, you just have to pivot again to stay within the maximum range. You gain no distance this way.

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Yeah forgot that thanks guys

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Banshees out of a Raider can make it, no problem.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





I had considered them part of the pivot trick. Will still need a 10+ and your opponent to deploy opposite you, but certainly doable.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian






Ireland

However, according to that rule for edges it means that a ghost ark can never really turn, since it's so long and thin

"Suffering is Faith, Faith is Strength.

Generations have suffered with the same devotion that we can offer but once. Still, our Faith leads us through these dark times like a beacon. It will guide us to triumph over these abominations. Either by breaking them upon us like waves against a limitless, golden peak or by thrusting through them like the spear of the Immortal Emperor Himself." - Cannoness Aoife, Order of the desert rose #Yesallwomen

Just finished my second album: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptvBO4vwb-A 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

Someone mentioned that terminators in a dedicated landraider with scout could assault turn 1 because the landraider scouted and the terminators didn't.

Got news for you: Unless your landraider moved outside your deployment zone and the terminators were left behind, then they, too, made a scout move and you aren't able to charge turn 1 with them.

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
Grim Rune Priest in the Eye of the Storm





Riverside CA

I have done it with Arjac and his Amazing Precision Wack-A-Mole Drinking Buddies out a a LRC.
It only takes going 2nd and the other player to move into the middle of the board.

Space Wolf Player Since 1989
My First Impression Threads:
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/727226.page;jsessionid=3BCA26863DCC17CF82F647B2839DA6E5

I am a Furry that plays with little Toy Soldiers; if you are taking me too seriously I am not the only one with Issues.

IEGA Web Site”: http://www.meetup.com/IEGA-InlandEmpireGamersAssociation/ 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

I love when players with infiltrators set up their units in charge range. Sometimes that 12" away if the enemy can't see you just calls to them - and my maulerfiends move quite fast

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




commander dante wrote:
What about the Sicarian Killclade?
Its says "once per game you may assault after running"
And codex overrides rulebook...


Yes, that will handily let you assault after running. But it says nothing about any other thing that might prevent you from assaulting. So if you scout/infiltrate you still can't assault even if you run. You have two no-assault conditions and a special rule that gets rid of one.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Spetulhu wrote:
commander dante wrote:
What about the Sicarian Killclade?
Its says "once per game you may assault after running"
And codex overrides rulebook...


Yes, that will handily let you assault after running. But it says nothing about any other thing that might prevent you from assaulting. So if you scout/infiltrate you still can't assault even if you run. You have two no-assault conditions and a special rule that gets rid of one.


On turn 1 it gets rid of neither. It specifically tells you it can't be used turn 1 as I pointed out above.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Spellbound wrote:
Someone mentioned that terminators in a dedicated landraider with scout could assault turn 1 because the landraider scouted and the terminators didn't.

Got news for you: Unless your landraider moved outside your deployment zone and the terminators were left behind, then they, too, made a scout move and you aren't able to charge turn 1 with them.

Awesome, so they can only redeploy 6" even inside the vehicle?

No, wait. That's not the actual rule. The actual rule is that the terminators make no scout redeploy move at all. Their deployment - inside the land raider - remains the same. It is only the lr that scouts, rules wise. If you disagree, cite a real rule.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





nosferatu1001 wrote:
 Spellbound wrote:
Someone mentioned that terminators in a dedicated landraider with scout could assault turn 1 because the landraider scouted and the terminators didn't.

Got news for you: Unless your landraider moved outside your deployment zone and the terminators were left behind, then they, too, made a scout move and you aren't able to charge turn 1 with them.

Awesome, so they can only redeploy 6" even inside the vehicle?

No, wait. That's not the actual rule. The actual rule is that the terminators make no scout redeploy move at all. Their deployment - inside the land raider - remains the same. It is only the lr that scouts, rules wise. If you disagree, cite a real rule.


Also LSS works. See "Know your limits" a named rule for Scoutibg battlewagons that has to exist to restrict you doing that action. If you couldn't then they wouldn't have created a named special rule to stop you doing something you already couldn't do.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: