Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 09:45:28
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Lotta fuss here over whether or not Guilliman gets an extra die to destroy his opponents.
I'll weigh in:
"The weapons are used together" suggests that they are treated as a single weapon, unless(Of course) A single lightning claw counts as extra close combat weapons - I have built the Marines from the Betrayal of Calth boxed set and each blade is a separate entity. As per the honorable Col_Impact's reading, that indicates it counts as 3 close combat weapons.
In fact, that means each weapon beyond the first gets the Additional Close Combat weapon! Betrayal at Calth provides lightning claws that provide +5 attacks when used as a pair. WOO!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 12:20:21
Subject: Re:Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
col_impact wrote:Therefore, the profile for the Emperor's Sword (which is one of the weapons) is . . . and the Hand of Dominion (which is the other weapon) is . . . Actually col_impact, I think you (and me earlier) were the ones reading into the rules. We're being told that, when used together, the two weapons have a profile of what you've quoted. We are not explicitly told what they're like when they're not used together. Reading it such that they're two weapons that have the same profile (minus the ranged weapon on the Hand of Dominion) isn't really what it's telling us. It's just telling us what they're like when used together. And when used together, we only have a single weapon with the value of "Melee". Outside of the rule giving the Hand of Dominion a ranged attack, we have no other rules telling us what the weapons are like when used separately. As far as I'm aware, when used separately they'd fall under the category of being an undefined weapon (or is it called an Improvised weapon, not sure) and thus would be counted as a mere Close Combat Weapon with the Melee type. THEORETICALLY (and this may be a stretch, but might not, and would rather see this now debated here) this means you could have Roboute Gulliman fight without selecting to use both weapons together for their combined profile and instead selecting just one of the two weapons, and doing THAT would give the +1 Attack, but then you wouldn't get access to the S10, AP1, Armourbane, Concussive, Soul Blaze, Touch of the Emperor, Whirling Flame goodness. In any case, we are only given the combined profile that, when combined, is a single weapon with the Melee type. We are not given their individual values, and we can't presume that the combined profile means that they have that profile when used separately.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/03/28 12:21:11
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 14:42:42
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Lance845 wrote:GodDamUser wrote: Lance845 wrote:If he has 2 weapons with a single profile and that gets him an extra attack then the lashwhip + bonesword counts as 2 weapons for all tyranids and they can use their other arms to bring a gun.
I.E. there is already a precedent for this. A single profile is a single weapon. It doesn't matter how many arms it takes or different weapons are in different hands.
Actually lash whip and Bone Sword do have separate profiles.. In both Codex Tyranids and Codex Genestealer Cult
There are Lashwhips (used by venomthropes and toxicrenes) Bone Swords (used by many things) and Lashwhip & Bonesword which is used by Hive Tyrants and Warriors and is a single weapon with a single profile.
Indeed. They are specifically listed as a single Weapon. And there is precedent for this, as I believe Abaddon's Sword and Talon in 4th Edition were both treated as one Weapon:
Abaddon has been gifted the arcane blade Drach'nyen, which contains the bound essence of a writhing warp entity, and wears the Talon of Horus, legendary weapon of the great Warmaster. The effect of these two powerful artefacts means that Abaddon counts as equipped with a Daemon Weapon that doubles his Strength instead of the normal +1, and he may re-roll any failed roll to wound in close combat. * Abaddon has +D6 Attacks from his Daemon Weapon.
And in the 6th Edition codex, they changed it to that the Sword and Talon were two separate Weapons listed with their own profiles.
Yarium wrote:In any case, we are only given the combined profile that, when combined, is a single weapon with the Melee type. We are not given their individual values, and we can't presume that the combined profile means that they have that profile when used separately.
While I haven't seen the datasheet of Guillaman in person, its pretty easy to tell if it is one Weapon or two. If it has a title and a profile, it is one Weapon. Surprisingly, GW has been consistent in this regard. Aside from Pistols and a few things where they state they count as a Power Weapon or Power Fist, Weapons are listed with their own profile. Indeed, most Artifacts these days are listed with their own profile even if their text references the Power Weapon/Fist/etc they are based off of.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 15:30:00
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
The RAI argument is definitely the one asserting they count as two weapons.
"Used together," given one profile, they are one weapon RAW.
Just as "Lashwhip and Bonesword" is its own profile separate from "Lashwhip" alone and "Bonesword" alone - "Lashwhip and Bonesword" specifically does not grant extra attacks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 15:41:52
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
Jacksmiles wrote:The RAI argument is definitely the one asserting they count as two weapons.
"Used together," given one profile, they are one weapon RAW.
Just as "Lashwhip and Bonesword" is its own profile separate from "Lashwhip" alone and "Bonesword" alone - "Lashwhip and Bonesword" specifically does not grant extra attacks.
Hold on a second, here. The fact that they're given 'one profile' isn't a RAW factor; it's a RAI one. The quote of the rules has nothing to do with profiles. It just says each weapon must be the Melee type.
I also might be crazy here, but don't the Lashwhip and Bonesword specifically state in the rules that they do not count as two weapons? Rending Claws too I think. Something to consider if so.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 15:44:50
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
Audustum wrote:Jacksmiles wrote:The RAI argument is definitely the one asserting they count as two weapons.
"Used together," given one profile, they are one weapon RAW.
Just as "Lashwhip and Bonesword" is its own profile separate from "Lashwhip" alone and "Bonesword" alone - "Lashwhip and Bonesword" specifically does not grant extra attacks.
Hold on a second, here. The fact that they're given 'one profile' isn't a RAW factor; it's a RAI one. The quote of the rules has nothing to do with profiles. It just says each weapon must be the Melee type.
I also might be crazy here, but don't the Lashwhip and Bonesword specifically state in the rules that they do not count as two weapons? Rending Claws too I think. Something to consider if so.
It is indeed clarified that Lashwhip and Bonesword do not count as two weapons, just as there is clarification in this instance that when RG uses his weapons "together" you use the one (1) profile.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:06:00
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
|
How is this even a debate?
Seems like a desperate grab at a free attack.
While he is modelled with 2 weapons, they act as a single weapon in combat.
This gives them a single profile with the melee rule.
To gain the extra attack you would need to use a 2nd weapon with that profile.
Please do show me where both weapons have a separate profile though?
Or where it mentions he has 2 lots of this in the setup (ie: 2x boneswords, talons etc)
The reason the weapon is strong is because it's a combined profile to summarise both of his weapons working together.
So if they are to be used as 2 seperate weapons, they would need 2 separate profiles.
Also, how do we know the extra attack has not been added to the profile (giving him 6A as standard) when they made his profile?
Long story short, words can be twisted as much as people want.
There is no 2nd weapon profile with melee as a rule.
Without that second profile no extra attack is given.
Even more amusing, a quick look at the rules doesn't even show it as 2 handed, even though it's a fist and a sword clearly modelled in seperate hands.
Long story short, it doesn't need a FAQ atall.
It needs people to stop trying to spin words and just follow the rules.
Not try and create their own from abstract wording or by the look of the actual model.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:09:50
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
This little tidbit underscores what you are overlooking.
No where in the rules is it stated that if you are given one profile that you are to consider a listing of weapons as a single weapon. You are making a big assumption, not supported by any rule, that a single profile listed after a listing of weapons indicates the weapons are to be counted as a single weapon. This is why I have continuously pointed out that the RAI argument is supplying with its assumptions an additional line to the effect of "counting as a single weapon" without any support in the rules themselves.
The rules say rather that . . .
"Every weapon has a profile."
So the listing of a single profile after a listing of weapons indicates that the weapons share the single profile.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Jackal wrote:
While he is modelled with 2 weapons, they act as a single weapon in combat.
This is a big assumption on your part. Do you have rules backing up your claim that Robute's weapons act as a single weapon in combat?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
We are not told that they count as single weapon. So you have 2 weapons with the melee type. Therefore, +1A.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Charistoph wrote:
While I haven't seen the datasheet of Guillaman in person, its pretty easy to tell if it is one Weapon or two. If it has a title and a profile, it is one Weapon.
This is an assumption on your part. Do you have a rule in the BRB stating this? Otherwise, your argument is a perfect example of a RAI argument, where you are basing your argument on what you assume the rules to say rather than what they actually say.
Yarium wrote:
Actually col_impact, I think you (and me earlier) were the ones reading into the rules. We're being told that, when used together, the two weapons have a profile of what you've quoted. We are not explicitly told what they're like when they're not used together. Reading it such that they're two weapons that have the same profile (minus the ranged weapon on the Hand of Dominion) isn't really what it's telling us. It's just telling us what they're like when used together. And when used together, we only have a single weapon with the value of "Melee".
There is no rule telling us that when they are used together we only have a single weapon with the value of "Melee"
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2017/03/28 16:29:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:20:36
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
|
Do i have rules to back it up?
Please read the rules.
It says both weapons are used with the combined profile.
It's has a single profile making it a single weapon.
How much clearer does it need to be?
Now can you show me the 2nd weapon profile please with the melee rule?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:23:30
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Jackal wrote:
It's has a single profile making it a single weapon.
This is an assumption on your part.
Single profile does not mean "counts as a single weapon".
Single profile after a listing of weapons means use this profile for these weapons.
Missing in your argument is any actual declaration in the rules that the weapons "count as a single weapon".
Absent the "counts as a single weapon", there are two weapons with the melee type. Therefore, +1 A.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/28 16:26:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:26:38
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
|
Show me the 2nd profile with the melee type.
Wait, it doesn't exist.
Read the rule book please.
It states you need 2 weapons with the melee type to claim a bonus attack.
You have a single profile here so doesn't meet the criteria. Automatically Appended Next Post: It says they are used together with the following profile.
1 single profile.
Now show me where the 2nd profile is please.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/28 16:27:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:29:05
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Question for you col_impact. I (foolishly) charge Roboute with Jain Zar. She disarms him.
1. Does Roboute "lose" both sword and fist, or just one?
2. If he only loses 1, what profile do you use for the other?
3. Where did you find the profile for your answer on #2?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:29:22
Subject: Re:Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
Yeah. If it said "The Hand Of Dominion is a Powerfist" or something, I'd agree he has two weapons.
But it doesn't.
It has one melee profile.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:31:52
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Lady of the Lake
|
col_impact wrote: This little tidbit underscores what you are overlooking. No where in the rules is it stated that if you are given one profile that you are to consider a listing of weapons as a single weapon. You are making a big assumption, not supported by any rule, that a single profile listed after a listing of weapons indicates the weapons are to be counted as a single weapon. This is why I have continuously pointed out that the RAI argument is supplying with its assumptions an additional line to the effect of "counting as a single weapon" without any support in the rules themselves. The rules say rather that . . . "Every weapon has a profile." So the listing of a single profile after a listing of weapons indicates that the weapons share the single profile. Bobby G's rules supersede that by saying they are one weapon RAW and use the same profile at the same time. Where a codex and the rulebook conflict, the codex takes precedence. Rulebook says every melee weapon has a profile Bobby G's rules says his melee weapons are 1 combined profile Thus RAW Bobby G has 1 weapon.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/28 16:33:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:37:27
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
n0t_u wrote:
Bobby G's rules supersede that by saying they are one weapon RAW and use the same profile at the same time. Where a codex and the rulebook conflict, the codex takes precedence.
Rulebook says every melee weapon has a profile
Bobby G's rules says his melee weapons are 1 combined profile
Thus RAW Bobby G has 1 weapon.
Point out in the rules where the weapons are stated as "counting as one weapon"
1 profile does not mean "count as one weapon". Have I overlooked that in the BRB somewhere. Kindly point out that rule to me.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:38:09
Subject: Re:Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
What is the second weapon?
You've got the Sword. What's the second melee weapon?
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:40:20
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
Okay, I think everyone getting caught up on 1 profile is missing a bit of the point. RAW doesn't talk about profiles and doesn't care about them for purposes of +1A (as quoted in this thread).
Now, let's look at RG's actual rules:
These weapons are used together, using the profile below.
This doesn't actually answer our question one way or the other. I 'use two swords together' if I am dual-wielding but I also 'use two swords together' if I merged them into sword-chucks (yo).
The only other part of the profile is the gun:
The Hand of Dominion can also be used as a ranged weapon, using the profile below. It may be used as both a melee weapon and a ranged weapon in the same turn.
Notice here the Hand receives permission to be used both as ranged and melee weapon in the same turn, but this permission is independent of any permission given to the sword. The Hand is treated as an entirely separate item.
You could infer from that then that the Primarch has two weapons that each use the melee profile. This supports Col, but it's a RAI argument.
RAW, the language of "use together" is completely ambiguous.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:41:29
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
|
You seem to miss every valid part of arguments and answer the pointless parts.
As stated by me and others.
1: is jain zar disarms him, what weapon does he lose.
2: it states that all weapons have a profile.
3: please show us where this phantom 2nd profile is.
It's all well and good picking what questions you answer but your missing every valid one and just avoiding them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:42:16
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Lady of the Lake
|
col_impact wrote: n0t_u wrote:
Bobby G's rules supersede that by saying they are one weapon RAW and use the same profile at the same time. Where a codex and the rulebook conflict, the codex takes precedence.
Rulebook says every melee weapon has a profile
Bobby G's rules says his melee weapons are 1 combined profile
Thus RAW Bobby G has 1 weapon.
Point out in the rules where the weapons are stated as "counting as one weapon"
1 profile does not mean "count as one weapon". Have I overlooked that in the BRB somewhere. Kindly point out that rule to me.
Uh how many weapons is a Lascannon?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:44:53
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:Question for you col_impact. I (foolishly) charge Roboute with Jain Zar. She disarms him.
1. Does Roboute "lose" both sword and fist, or just one?
2. If he only loses 1, what profile do you use for the other?
3. Where did you find the profile for your answer on #2?
Simple. No where in Robute's rules does it say that his weapons count as a single weapon.
Jain Zar disarms only a weapon, not weapons, so just one weapon would be lost by Robute.
Emperor's Sword has the profile listed on Robute's Army List Entry. Hand of Dominion has the profile listed on Robute's Army List Entry.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:44:53
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
Jackal wrote:You seem to miss every valid part of arguments and answer the pointless parts.
As stated by me and others.
1: is jain zar disarms him, what weapon does he lose.
2: it states that all weapons have a profile.
3: please show us where this phantom 2nd profile is.
It's all well and good picking what questions you answer but your missing every valid one and just avoiding them.
He actually answered this one earlier. His argument is that both weapons use the same profile. So if you disarmed one the Primarch would still use that profile for the other.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:44:54
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Audustum wrote:Okay, I think everyone getting caught up on 1 profile is missing a bit of the point. RAW doesn't talk about profiles and doesn't care about them for purposes of +1A (as quoted in this thread). Now, let's look at RG's actual rules: These weapons are used together, using the profile below.
This doesn't actually answer our question one way or the other. I 'use two swords together' if I am dual-wielding but I also 'use two swords together' if I merged them into sword-chucks (yo). The only other part of the profile is the gun: The Hand of Dominion can also be used as a ranged weapon, using the profile below. It may be used as both a melee weapon and a ranged weapon in the same turn.
Notice here the Hand receives permission to be used both as ranged and melee weapon in the same turn, but this permission is independent of any permission given to the sword. The Hand is treated as an entirely separate item. You could infer from that then that the Primarch has two weapons that each use the melee profile. This supports Col, but it's a RAI argument. RAW, the language of "use together" is completely ambiguous. Except rules dispute this. Every weapon has a profile If a model has more than one Melee weapon, he must choose which one to attack with when he comes to strike blows – he cannot mix and match the abilities of several different Melee weapons Since every weapon has a profile, you need to show the second profile for him claim a bonus attack. Even the special rules refer to the combined weapon as a single weapon. "Any attacks with this weapon...", otherwise it would say with "these" weapons.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/03/28 16:46:04
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:45:42
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
n0t_u wrote:col_impact wrote: n0t_u wrote:
Bobby G's rules supersede that by saying they are one weapon RAW and use the same profile at the same time. Where a codex and the rulebook conflict, the codex takes precedence.
Rulebook says every melee weapon has a profile
Bobby G's rules says his melee weapons are 1 combined profile
Thus RAW Bobby G has 1 weapon.
Point out in the rules where the weapons are stated as "counting as one weapon"
1 profile does not mean "count as one weapon". Have I overlooked that in the BRB somewhere. Kindly point out that rule to me.
Uh how many weapons is a Lascannon?
Lascannons also don't say there are two weapons present in their rules text.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:46:52
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Lady of the Lake
|
Audustum wrote: n0t_u wrote:col_impact wrote: n0t_u wrote:
Bobby G's rules supersede that by saying they are one weapon RAW and use the same profile at the same time. Where a codex and the rulebook conflict, the codex takes precedence.
Rulebook says every melee weapon has a profile
Bobby G's rules says his melee weapons are 1 combined profile
Thus RAW Bobby G has 1 weapon.
Point out in the rules where the weapons are stated as "counting as one weapon"
1 profile does not mean "count as one weapon". Have I overlooked that in the BRB somewhere. Kindly point out that rule to me.
Uh how many weapons is a Lascannon?
Lascannons also don't say there are two weapons present in their rules text.
What about a twin linked one?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:47:02
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
Fragile wrote:Audustum wrote:Okay, I think everyone getting caught up on 1 profile is missing a bit of the point. RAW doesn't talk about profiles and doesn't care about them for purposes of +1A (as quoted in this thread).
Now, let's look at RG's actual rules:
These weapons are used together, using the profile below.
This doesn't actually answer our question one way or the other. I 'use two swords together' if I am dual-wielding but I also 'use two swords together' if I merged them into sword-chucks (yo).
The only other part of the profile is the gun:
The Hand of Dominion can also be used as a ranged weapon, using the profile below. It may be used as both a melee weapon and a ranged weapon in the same turn.
Notice here the Hand receives permission to be used both as ranged and melee weapon in the same turn, but this permission is independent of any permission given to the sword. The Hand is treated as an entirely separate item.
You could infer from that then that the Primarch has two weapons that each use the melee profile. This supports Col, but it's a RAI argument.
RAW, the language of "use together" is completely ambiguous.
Except rules dispute this.
Every weapon has a profile
If a model has more than one Melee weapon, he must choose which one to attack with when he comes to strike blows – he cannot mix and match the abilities of several different Melee weapons
Since every weapon has a profile, you need to show the second profile for him claim a bonus attack.
Even the special rules refer to the combined weapon as a single weapon. "Any attacks with this weapon...", otherwise it would say with "these" weapons.
The singular actually helps Col's point, which is that each weapon uses that profile on its own as well as together. Thus, if you attack with either "this weapon" will do X. There's no rule violation here, RAW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:47:32
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If a vehicle with a single hurricane bolter gets a weapon destroyed effect, does it get to fire its remaining 2 bolters ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:47:54
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
col_impact wrote: Happyjew wrote:Question for you col_impact. I (foolishly) charge Roboute with Jain Zar. She disarms him.
1. Does Roboute "lose" both sword and fist, or just one?
2. If he only loses 1, what profile do you use for the other?
3. Where did you find the profile for your answer on #2?
Simple. No where in Robute's rules does it say that his weapons count as a single weapon.
Jain Zar disarms only a weapon, not weapons, so just one weapon would be lost by Robute.
Emperor's Sword has the profile listed on Robute's Army List Entry. Hand of Dominion has the profile listed on Robute's Army List Entry.
But only when used together do they have a profile at all. RAW. So if you try to use one over the other, BAM, no profile exists. Meaning you can't use one and claim an extra attack from the existence of the other. RAW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:48:11
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
n0t_u wrote:Audustum wrote: n0t_u wrote:col_impact wrote: n0t_u wrote:
Bobby G's rules supersede that by saying they are one weapon RAW and use the same profile at the same time. Where a codex and the rulebook conflict, the codex takes precedence.
Rulebook says every melee weapon has a profile
Bobby G's rules says his melee weapons are 1 combined profile
Thus RAW Bobby G has 1 weapon.
Point out in the rules where the weapons are stated as "counting as one weapon"
1 profile does not mean "count as one weapon". Have I overlooked that in the BRB somewhere. Kindly point out that rule to me.
Uh how many weapons is a Lascannon?
Lascannons also don't say there are two weapons present in their rules text.
What about a twin linked one? 
Aha!
In all seriousness though, I think twin-linked weapons only talk about being two in the italicized fluffy part, not the plain text ruley part. Could be wrong though. Automatically Appended Next Post: Jacksmiles wrote:col_impact wrote: Happyjew wrote:Question for you col_impact. I (foolishly) charge Roboute with Jain Zar. She disarms him.
1. Does Roboute "lose" both sword and fist, or just one?
2. If he only loses 1, what profile do you use for the other?
3. Where did you find the profile for your answer on #2?
Simple. No where in Robute's rules does it say that his weapons count as a single weapon.
Jain Zar disarms only a weapon, not weapons, so just one weapon would be lost by Robute.
Emperor's Sword has the profile listed on Robute's Army List Entry. Hand of Dominion has the profile listed on Robute's Army List Entry.
But only when used together do they have a profile at all. RAW. So if you try to use one over the other, BAM, no profile exists. Meaning you can't use one and claim an extra attack from the existence of the other. RAW.
Go back to one of my posts. 'Use together' can just as easily mean dual-wielding as 'like one weapon'.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/28 16:49:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:49:12
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
Audustum wrote:Fragile wrote:Audustum wrote:Okay, I think everyone getting caught up on 1 profile is missing a bit of the point. RAW doesn't talk about profiles and doesn't care about them for purposes of +1A (as quoted in this thread). Now, let's look at RG's actual rules: These weapons are used together, using the profile below.
This doesn't actually answer our question one way or the other. I 'use two swords together' if I am dual-wielding but I also 'use two swords together' if I merged them into sword-chucks (yo). The only other part of the profile is the gun: The Hand of Dominion can also be used as a ranged weapon, using the profile below. It may be used as both a melee weapon and a ranged weapon in the same turn.
Notice here the Hand receives permission to be used both as ranged and melee weapon in the same turn, but this permission is independent of any permission given to the sword. The Hand is treated as an entirely separate item. You could infer from that then that the Primarch has two weapons that each use the melee profile. This supports Col, but it's a RAI argument. RAW, the language of "use together" is completely ambiguous. Except rules dispute this. Every weapon has a profile If a model has more than one Melee weapon, he must choose which one to attack with when he comes to strike blows – he cannot mix and match the abilities of several different Melee weapons Since every weapon has a profile, you need to show the second profile for him claim a bonus attack. Even the special rules refer to the combined weapon as a single weapon. "Any attacks with this weapon...", otherwise it would say with "these" weapons. The singular actually helps Col's point, which is that each weapon uses that profile on its own as well as together. Thus, if you attack with either "this weapon" will do X. There's no rule violation here, RAW. It doesn't help Col's point, it simply doesn't go against it. Automatically Appended Next Post: Audustum wrote: n0t_u wrote:Audustum wrote: n0t_u wrote:col_impact wrote: n0t_u wrote: Bobby G's rules supersede that by saying they are one weapon RAW and use the same profile at the same time. Where a codex and the rulebook conflict, the codex takes precedence. Rulebook says every melee weapon has a profile Bobby G's rules says his melee weapons are 1 combined profile Thus RAW Bobby G has 1 weapon. Point out in the rules where the weapons are stated as "counting as one weapon" 1 profile does not mean "count as one weapon". Have I overlooked that in the BRB somewhere. Kindly point out that rule to me. Uh how many weapons is a Lascannon? Lascannons also don't say there are two weapons present in their rules text. What about a twin linked one?  Aha! In all seriousness though, I think twin-linked weapons only talk about being two in the italicized fluffy part, not the plain text ruley part. Could be wrong though. Automatically Appended Next Post: Jacksmiles wrote:col_impact wrote: Happyjew wrote:Question for you col_impact. I (foolishly) charge Roboute with Jain Zar. She disarms him. 1. Does Roboute "lose" both sword and fist, or just one? 2. If he only loses 1, what profile do you use for the other? 3. Where did you find the profile for your answer on #2? Simple. No where in Robute's rules does it say that his weapons count as a single weapon. Jain Zar disarms only a weapon, not weapons, so just one weapon would be lost by Robute. Emperor's Sword has the profile listed on Robute's Army List Entry. Hand of Dominion has the profile listed on Robute's Army List Entry. But only when used together do they have a profile at all. RAW. So if you try to use one over the other, BAM, no profile exists. Meaning you can't use one and claim an extra attack from the existence of the other. RAW. Go back to one of my posts. 'Use together' can just as easily mean dual-wielding as 'like one weapon'. "Like one weapon" as in "using these together counts as one weapon." This furthers the point that the combined weapons have 1 profile and count as one weapon.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/03/28 16:51:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/28 16:53:40
Subject: Does Robute Guilliman have two close combat weapons for counting attacks in CC?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Fragile wrote:
Since every weapon has a profile, you need to show the second profile for him claim a bonus attack.
Incorrect. Robute's two weapons share the same profile so each of the weapons has a profile.
There is no rule in the BRB that each weapon has a unique profile.
So Robute has two weapons of the Melee type. Therefore, +1A.
|
|
 |
 |
|