| Poll |
 |
|
|
 |
| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 22:07:21
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
DarknessEternal wrote:Platuan4th wrote:
"Demiklaives are power weapons that can either be wielded separately - adding +2 to the bearer's Attacks - or clasped together to form a much larger blade that confers +2 to the wielder's Strength (choose which to use each round before the bearer make his attacks)."
Now, with the relevant rules, can we stop using the Demiklaives argument?
No. Demiklaive S means there are at least two of them.
And you know for certain that the s means plural how? The fact is, the rules don't say there are actually multiple demiklaives, just that you can use the demiklaives as separate parts.
Look at the Incubi entry, you replace a Klaive with Demiklaives. No mention of a number(just like the actual rules for Demiklaives).
Look at the Grey Knight entry, you replace their Nemesis Force Sword with a PAIR of Nemesis Force Falchions.
Do you see the difference or do I need to point you to something that explains the difference grammatically?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 22:59:53
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
It has already been stated that Demiklaives are 2 handed weapons, and as such, their arguement is moot.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/20 23:49:03
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
"Q: What weapons count as single-handed weapons for the purposes of gaining additional attacks in close combat? (p37)
A: All pistols, close combat weapons and any weapons that are specifically stated as single-handed weapons in their rules "
Doesn't DR say it best with the FAQ answer? And Shardnet & Impaler follow this reasoning ', a "Pair of Flachions" do not state that they count (or each count) as single-handed weapons, nor is there any option to buy a single Flachion, where-in one could be defined as a CCW.
So 'a Pair of flachions' is a single handed CCW as per the rules and FAQ, they grant a bonus attack due to it's rules, as if they were being weilded as a pair of special CCW.
There is not standpoint from a rules perspective to say that this pair counts as two CCW weapons - if they were meant to they would have a qualifer along the lines of 'counts as two CCWs' as we see in the DE codex. As things stand one recives the bouns of +1 attack as if one was using the rules for two of the same special CCW.
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 00:14:49
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Chris, A Nemeisis falchion is a single-handed CCW, but you buy a PAIR of Nemeisis falchions, so you get two falchions.
Seriously people check out the way the model is WYSIWYG on the 40k website, clearly a pair of Nemeisis falchions are two close combat weapons. It may not be clear in the rules, but the model is indisputable.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 00:25:08
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:Chris, A Nemeisis falchion is a single-handed CCW, but you buy a PAIR of Nemeisis falchions, so you get two falchions.
Where do you buy a single flachion? Where is the wargear entry for a single flacion? Where is a single Flachion defind as a weapon at all in the codex? Rules man.
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 00:34:18
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
There is no option to buy a single falchion, you must buy the pair for the for the points listed. Have you seen the model on the GW website? WYSIWYG!
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/21 00:34:35
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 00:51:43
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
ChrisCP wrote:"Q: What weapons count as single-handed weapons for the purposes of gaining additional attacks in close combat? (p37)
A: All pistols, close combat weapons and any weapons that are specifically stated as single-handed weapons in their rules "
Doesn't DR say it best with the FAQ answer? And Shardnet & Impaler follow this reasoning ', a "Pair of Flachions" do not state that they count (or each count) as single-handed weapons, nor is there any option to buy a single Flachion, where-in one could be defined as a CCW.
So 'a Pair of flachions' is a single handed CCW as per the rules and FAQ, they grant a bonus attack due to it's rules, as if they were being weilded as a pair of special CCW.
There is not standpoint from a rules perspective to say that this pair counts as two CCW weapons - if they were meant to they would have a qualifer along the lines of 'counts as two CCWs' as we see in the DE codex. As things stand one recives the bouns of +1 attack as if one was using the rules for two of the same special CCW.
it doesn't matter that they can't be purchased singly.
Nemisis Falchions are a Pair of nemisis weapons.
Nemisis Weapons are Force Weapons with additional rules for each type(Sword, Halbard, Falchion)
Force weapons are Power weapons with additional rules.
Power weaponms are, unless specified in an entry, a single close combat weapon.
because there is a PAIR of Falchions, the model is wielding 2 force weapons.
because Force Weapons are defined as Power weapons the model is wielding 2 CCWs.
the Falchion's rules also say the wielder gets +1A for using them.
therefore, the wielder gets +2A RAW.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 01:14:30
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It is still a single item therefore weapon when purchased.
If it counted for two then it would recive a qualifer like Hydra Gauntlets, a pair of gauntlets, which say 'These count as two CCW'.
The weapon, is a "Pair of Flachions", 'invariably wielded as a pair.' If a GK had a single Flachion they wouldn't be able to use it. If they counted as two CCWs then they would recive the same treatment as other items which count for two CCWs. Pending an FAQ ruling otherwise, they are bought as a single item and grant a bonus attack.
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 01:15:19
Subject: Re:RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
Grey Templar wrote:models buy a PAIR of nemisis falchions.
it is impossable to use two 2 handed weapons at once(and don't bring up Stormshields because they arn't weapons) therefore, they are a singlehanded weapon.
because there is a PAIR of weapons bought in this instance the model clearly has 2 Nemisis weapons.
Nemisis Weapons are defined as Force Weapons with additional rules for the different types.
Force Weapons are Power Weapons.
Power Weapons, unless otherwise specified, are single handed CCWs.
therefore, the model with Nemisis Falchions has a pair of Force Weapons that have an additional rule granting +1A.
Powerblades are also bought as a pair. Powerblades grant +1 Attack.
Power blades are power weapons. Power weapons are single handed.
So a model armed with powerblades gains +1 Attack, and +1 attack.
Chain sabres are also bought as a pair. Chainsabres grant +1 Attack.
Chainsabres are CCW, they are not stated as 2-handed, so are assumed to be single handed.
So a model arned with chainsabres gains +1 Attack, and +1 attack.
Now, if this is the case... why have the following...
Mirror swords are also bought as a pair. Mirror swords grant +2 Attack as opposed to the +1 normally for having 2 CCW.
---
If a pair of weapons, bought together as a single item (see Powerblades, chainsabres, mirror swords and falchions) indeed granted +1 +1 attacks. Why would you have the mirror swords entry?
|
WLD: 221 / 6 / 5
5 Dragons 2011: 2nd Overall
DT:80+S++G++M+B+I+Pw40k96++D++A++/mR+++T(T)DM+
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 01:18:14
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
ChrisCP, look at the model I referenced on the GW site, How many CCW's does it have?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/21 01:18:43
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 01:18:41
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
ChrisCP wrote:It is still a single item therefore weapon when purchased.
If it counted for two then it would recive a qualifer like Hydra Gauntlets, a pair of gauntlets, which say 'These count as two CCW'.
The weapon, is a "Pair of Flachions", 'invariably wielded as a pair.' If a GK had a single Flachion they wouldn't be able to use it. If they counted as two CCWs then they would recive the same treatment as other items which count for two CCWs. Pending an FAQ ruling otherwise, they are bought as a single item and grant a bonus attack.
just because they are bought together doesn't mean they are a single weapon.
my Assault Marine sergeant can buy a pair of LCs. does that mean he doesn't get the bonus for 2 CCWs?
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 01:26:48
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:ChrisCP, look at the model I referenced on the GW site, How many CCW's does it have?
We are discussing rules here DR, if you want to take that modelling stuff over to the P&M section I'll gladly address it there.
Again one buys 'Nemisis Flachions' as a pair. A single item of wargear or weapon. If they counted as two then they would have recived the same treatment as items from previous and recent codex by the same author 'Count as two CCW'.
They may have been meant to count as two sperate items of wargear but they do not when one follows the rules. They are a Pair of flachions and grant +1 attack, as if they were two of the same CCW. If they were two CCW's then the entry for this single item of wargear would state it.
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 01:37:08
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
ChrisCP wrote: Again one buys 'Nemisis Flachions' as a pair. A single item of wargear or weapon. If they counted as two then they would have recived the same treatment as items from previous and recent codex by the same author 'Count as two CCW'. What, you mean like in C: SM and C: BA, both written by the same author, where you buy a pair of Lightning Claws as a single item?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/21 01:37:26
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 01:38:27
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Zealous Sin-Eater
Chico, CA
|
ChrisCP wrote:Again one buys 'Nemisis Flachions' as a pair. A single item of wargear or weapon. If they counted as two then they would have recived the same treatment as items from previous and recent codex by the same author 'Count as two CCW'.
They may have been meant to count as two sperate items of wargear but they do not when one follows the rules. They are a Pair of flachions and grant +1 attack, as if they were two of the same CCW. If they were two CCW's then the entry for this single item of wargear would state it.
The model "has +1 Attack", thats not the same as being granted +1 attack. Uppercase means there talking about characteristics. While a pair of weapons (pair is what you buy then as, the codexs says so) gives a Bonus attack by BRB.
|
Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 01:43:53
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
ok chriscp let us discuss rules, WYSIWYG P.47 says '...weapons and wargear they can use - ... The rule is that such equipment must be visually represented on the model...'
So now please tell me: how many weapons are visually represented on the model that has a pair of nemesis falchions?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 02:13:00
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
[DCM]
GW Public Relations Manager (Privateer Press Mole)
|
DeathReaper wrote:ok chriscp let us discuss rules, WYSIWYG P.47 says '...weapons and wargear they can use - ... The rule is that such equipment must be visually represented on the model...'
So now please tell me: how many weapons are visually represented on the model that has a pair of nemesis falchions?
Where are their bolters?
Where are their bolt pistols and close combat weapons?
Where are their bolt pistols?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/21 02:14:23
Adepticon TT 2009---Best Heretical Force
Adepticon 2010---Best Appearance Warhammer Fantasy Warbands
Adepticon 2011---Best Team Display
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 02:20:25
Subject: Re:RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
There is wargear on the sprues to make those guys WYSIWYG if you want.
most people choose not to put the extra wargear on.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 02:22:35
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
What Grey Templar said. The GK pic shows you exactly what i mentioned, a Pair of Force falchions.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/21 02:23:05
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 02:24:02
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
Again, I bring up the idea of a "Pair of Trousers". There is no way to buy a single trouser.....
Just as there is no way to buy a single Falchion.
LCs can be bought singly, and buying a "pair" costs extra points.
Regardless of how the weapon is modelled, (granted it is listed as a "pair" when purchased) it is still a single weapon system, purchased as such, much like you would purchase a "pair" of scissors, which is, similarly a "pair" of blades that are invariably used together.
|
Of all the races of the universe the Squats have the longest memories and the shortest tempers. They are uncouth, unpredictably violent, and frequently drunk. Overall, I'm glad they're on our side!
Office of Naval Intelligence Research discovers 3 out of 4 sailors make up 75% of U.S. Navy.
"Madness is like gravity... All you need is a little push."
:Nilla Marines: 2500
:Marine "Scouts": 2500 (Systemically Quarantined, Unsupported, Abhuman, Truncated Soldiers)
"On one side of me stand my Homeworld, Stronghold and Brotherhood; On the other, my ancestors. I cannot behave otherwise than honorably."
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 02:28:00
Subject: Re:RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
[DCM]
GW Public Relations Manager (Privateer Press Mole)
|
Grey Templar wrote:There is wargear on the sprues to make those guys WYSIWYG if you want.
most people choose not to put the extra wargear on.
Of course, which was the point of me posting the picture. A person cannot reference a model from Games Workshop to reinforce an interpretation of the rules----as there are multiple instances of Games Workshop photos (which those are directly linked from their site) showing erroneously armed models.
|
Adepticon TT 2009---Best Heretical Force
Adepticon 2010---Best Appearance Warhammer Fantasy Warbands
Adepticon 2011---Best Team Display
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 02:31:56
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Renegade Inquisitor with a Bound Daemon
Tied and gagged in the back of your car
|
Why are we even talking about the appearance? It's the wording that's the issue.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 02:45:19
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Stoic Grail Knight
|
WYSIWYG is an awful argument. It only applies to specific war gear, as general war gear is automatically included. Just because something is represented as being 2 swords DOESN'T make it 2 swords in the game according to the rules. http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/catalog/productDetail.jsp?catId=cat440239a&prodId=prod1060094 Look at this Eldar Warlock. He is clearly wielding a 2 handed witch blade. We know he has a shuri pistol as well, but WYSIWYG- according to your interpretation would mean he would only get 1 attack because the pistol isn't modeled, and hes wielding a 2 handed weapon. WYSIWYG only applies insofar as your opponent can clearly understand what wargear you have. It does not dictate how many attacks you get per model or anything else.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/03/21 03:03:17
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 02:53:25
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The fact still remains that a PAIR of force weapons is two force weapons.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 03:01:30
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:ok chriscp let us discuss rules, WYSIWYG P.47 says '...weapons and wargear they can use - ... The rule is that such equipment must be visually represented on the model...' So now please tell me: how many weapons are visually represented on the model that has a pair of nemesis falchions? The upgrade, the weapon, has been clearly represented on the model. It's a pair of Flachions, and purchased as such. There is no privisor to count each as a 'single flachion' as they are invariably weilded as a pair. That's why one only pays the upgrade for the wargear item once. Point being the WYSIWYG is a seperate rule from the lack of one we are discussing - otherwise none could claim a FF save or any other pice of wargear that somehow misses it's visual representation... as others have already pointed out, plese stop throwing this strawman around. Again RAW we have a single wargear entry, no indication that it 'counts as two CCW'. Two blades invariably wielded as a pair, one weapon, one wargear purchase, one entry for the pair. And no text saying they count as more than one weapon.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/21 03:06:05
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 03:06:23
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
^This actually makes some sense...
My word that GK FAQ will be massive
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/21 03:06:42
2000 pts |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 03:17:40
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
They are bought as a pair of weapons. they are invariably wielded as a PAIR. This indicates there is 2 of them.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/21 03:19:20
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 03:21:23
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
DeathReaper wrote:They are bought as a pair of weapons. This indicates there is 2 of them.
and, since Nemisis Weapons are defined as Force Weapons with additional abilities,
and since Force Weapons are defined as Power Weapons with additional abilities,
and since Power Weapons are defined as CCWs that disallow armor saves in CC,
we can finally conclude that the Falchions give the wielded +2A total. one for being Nemisis Falchions, and 1 for being 2 CCWs.
and the pair of pants argument is a little rediclous. it's an exception rather then a rule.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/21 03:22:58
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 03:31:44
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
|
helgrenze wrote:Again, I bring up the idea of a "Pair of Trousers". There is no way to buy a single trouser..... Just as there is no way to buy a single Falchion. LCs can be bought singly, and buying a "pair" costs extra points. Regardless of how the weapon is modelled, (granted it is listed as a "pair" when purchased) it is still a single weapon system, purchased as such, much like you would purchase a "pair" of scissors, which is, similarly a "pair" of blades that are invariably used together. BA Assault terminators come by default with a "lightning claws". it doesn't say 1, 2 or even 3. I mean, technically, "claws" means 2 or more. My assault terminators could therefore have 20 lightning claws each if I wanted them to. Infantry rules state that they can only ever get +1 for 2 or more weapons though, but that's not he point here. The point is, we have to use the English language and the written rules to determine how many CCWs a model has. If anything, "claws" is more ambiguous than "A pair of nemesis falchions".
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/03/21 03:32:37
In regards to landraiders:
Joey wrote:
... that unit of badass assault troops which could all be wiped out by a single ordinance template is instead nuts deep in the enemy bowels and is pumping firey vengeance into their enemy's gunline.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 03:41:36
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes, and the pair of Flachions is defined as a single weapon as per the rules. To classify a piece of wargear as two CCWs one needs a qualifier as seen with 'Razorflails'.
They can't be used alone so how can one be one CCW weapon. It isn't and there is nothing in the rules to indicate that one is.
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/03/21 03:44:44
Subject: RAW vs RAI: Do Nemesis Falchions grant 2+ attacks?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The Word Pair in the rules is an indicator that it is in fact, a, wait for it, Pair of weapons, and not a single weapon.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|