Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/29 17:12:16
Subject: Why can't I cast Hammerhand two or three times?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
DarknessEternal wrote:Trickstick wrote:DarknessEternal wrote:Also, Autarchs are a precedent. Each of them provide +1 to reserve rolls.
Astropaths and Officers of the fleet, however, do not stack in multiples. So you can't really cite precedent when there is a competing precedent that rules the other way.
I'm aware, but Dash said there were "no" precedents of things stacking without explicitly saying they could. There are.
I agree the GK codex is unclear on the stacking of Hammerhand and am only arguing the point that it's uncertain. Anyone who thinks they have 100% accurate interpretation of it is full of hubris.
The precedent I'm referring to is stacking multiple of the same things on one unit, not multiple units stacking benefits to something other than either unit.
One unit casting hammerhand on itself twice is not the same as two separate autarchs stacking reserve bonuses.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/29 17:21:34
Subject: Why can't I cast Hammerhand two or three times?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
So, how about a Wolf Lord wielding two frost axes as a precendent?
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/29 17:35:45
Subject: Why can't I cast Hammerhand two or three times?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
thats different, as a WL only gets the frost axe bonus when he uses the weapon, and cannot use both of them in CC
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/29 17:43:21
Subject: Re:Why can't I cast Hammerhand two or three times?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
he can use both as they are the same special weapon.
I would say he doesn't get +2 Str because the Frast Blade description says "The wielder of a Frost Blade gains +1Str"
the Wolf Lord is wielding a frost blade. therefore he gets +1Str and fulfills the requiorements of both blades.
Hammerhand is different as Psychic powers aren't resolved simultainiously.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/29 17:45:06
Subject: Re:Why can't I cast Hammerhand two or three times?
|
 |
Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Grey Templar wrote:he can use both as they are the same special weapon.
I would say he doesn't get +2 Str because the Frast Blade description says "The wielder of a Frost Blade gains +1Str"
the Wolf Lord is wielding a frost blade. therefore he gets +1Str and fulfills the requiorements of both blades.
Hammerhand is different as Psychic powers aren't resolved simultainiously.
I'm not sure how you can say that doesn't stack, because he's weilding two weapons and each seperate one grants +1 Strength in combat. Therefore he has one for each blade.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/29 17:48:53
Subject: Why can't I cast Hammerhand two or three times?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
GT - reread the Close combat rules. they state you pick ONE weapon and use THAT weapon. The other weapon, at best, can add an extra attack.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/29 17:49:47
Subject: Why can't I cast Hammerhand two or three times?
|
 |
Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:GT - reread the Close combat rules. they state you pick ONE weapon and use THAT weapon. The other weapon, at best, can add an extra attack.
I had a feeling you guys might use that one against me.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/29 17:50:32
Subject: Re:Why can't I cast Hammerhand two or three times?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
thats what i meant.
he only gets the bonus for 2 CCWs as the special bonus is fulfilled for both weapons when it is activated.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/29 19:11:48
Subject: Why can't I cast Hammerhand two or three times?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Dashofpepper wrote:
The precedent I'm referring to is stacking multiple of the same things on one unit, not multiple units stacking benefits to something other than either unit.
One unit casting hammerhand on itself twice is not the same as two separate autarchs stacking reserve bonuses.
Weaken Resolve is the same though. Two penalties, both apply. Same as two bonuses, both apply.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 16:53:20
Subject: Re:Why can't I cast Hammerhand two or three times?
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
Birmingham, UK
|
omerakk wrote:I think it was intended that hammerhand cant stack with itself, just because of the fact that the might of titan rule has the line written in "this ability stacks with hammerhand"
Why would they bother putting that line in if hammerhand or might of titan stacked with themselves? Why would might even be needed at all when a unit could just keep boosting itself with multiple hammerhands?
Same thing with pys communion. "this ability stacks with other uses of communion"
If abilities were able to passively stack with themselves, they wouldn't have needed to write that rule in.
As a general rule, no ability, pys or otherwise can stack with itself unless the rule states otherwise.
This has settled it for me. Many thanks omerakk. From now on, our group will only read that things stack if specifically permitted. I'm not trying to impose this ruling on anyone else but it seems logical to me as it's part of the content of the latest codex.
The reason for using might is that it boosts your armour penetration potential against vehicles more than hammerhand does.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/01 16:57:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/02 00:19:34
Subject: Why can't I cast Hammerhand two or three times?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
These things don't come up in playtesting because they discuss the rules with each other. They know, in their heads, that they can't stack hammerhand. So they don't. They cast Might of Titan, which they intended to stack with hammerhand, which they spell out.
So no time in playtesting did anyone ever try to cast hammerhand multiple times - they know they can't, it never even occurs to them.
We just don't see all that. We don't even know that happened. All we see is a broken rule, and people call it how they see it.
I personally see clear intent and precedent even within the same codex. My local players do not, and see nothing stopping them.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
|