| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 18:13:12
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Griever wrote:So what's the point in giving the Dreadknight dreadnought close combat weapons that it can't use?
They nerfed the crap out of the poor DK, it went from bad to sucktastic.
As previously noted, they are Nemesis weapons; without them, the Dreadknight wouldn't have a Force weapon.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 18:16:59
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
|
So what's the point in giving the Dreadknight dreadnought close combat weapons that it can't use?
I believe it still counts as a power weapon because of the DCCW rules, a very useful thing. They nerfed the crap out of the poor DK, it went from bad to sucktastic.
Nerfed? Hardly. Though S10 would be nice for GK players, the Dreadknight is a Monstrous Creature and as such gets 2D6 for armor penetration in most situations. Dreadnoughts get S10, but only get one 1D6 penetration, so it kind of balances it out. And that's the key word there, balance. S10 plus 2D6 would have been excessive for opponent players. The big Hammer gives a higher strength, but it costs more points.
|
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2011/06/13 18:21:00
"I hate movies where the men wear shorter skirts than the women." -- Mystery Science Theater 3000
"Elements of the past and the future combining to create something not quite as good as either." -- The Mighty Boosh
Check out Cinematic Titanic, the new movie riffing project from Joel Hodgson and the original cast of MST3K.
See my latest eBay auctions at this link.
"We are building a fighting force of extraordinary magnitude. You have our gratitude!" - Kentucky Fried Movie |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 18:24:32
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
Griever wrote:So what's the point in giving the Dreadknight dreadnought close combat weapons that it can't use?
They nerfed the crap out of the poor DK, it went from bad to sucktastic.
Bad? You need to look at Nid codex if you want to see bad. Your 120 point monster makes a mockery of our Tyranofexes, Harpies, and Carnifexes. Even our Hive Tyrants look overpriced when compared to a DK.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 18:27:20
Subject: Re:GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Thousand Nuns wrote:em_en_oh_pee wrote:Thousand Nuns wrote:Pg 2 of the rulebook faq states that you can use all grenades carried in an assault, so an ordo xenos can potentially dump rad, psychotrope and psyk-out i think in one go if they assault. Doesn't this make them a touch over powered? (Feel free to correct me on the list my codex is on loan at a mates)
GMs and Techmarines can do this too and I find those more scary than OXI.
Oh joy thanks for pointing them out as well. I'll be looking forward to that i've got two regular gaming buddies who've just started GK armies.
That IC ends up being pretty darn expensive. It just ends up being a unit you need to shoot rather than try to beat in CC. There are plenty of those already anyhow, no big deal.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 18:28:07
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Central MO
|
If you can only cast a psychic power once does that mean Eldar can only fortune once?
|
Lifetime Record of Awesomeness
1000000W/ 0L/ 1D (against myself)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 18:30:58
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
MD
|
wyomingfox wrote:
Bad? You need to look at Nid codex if you want to see bad. Your 120 point monster makes a mockery of our Tyranofexes, Harpies, and Carnifexes. Even our Hive Tyrants look overpriced when compared to a DK. 
Exactly, just compared to the Carnifex the DK is much more survivable with way better weapon options. And Carnifexes can't take a jump pack option either....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 18:34:32
Subject: Re:GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM
|
targetawg wrote:
That IC ends up being pretty darn expensive. It just ends up being a unit you need to shoot rather than try to beat in CC. There are plenty of those already anyhow, no big deal.
dude, you can stack them all on an inquisitor and he turns out to be like 75 points, with (now stacking) hammerhand on him he's just barely over 100 and sure it'll go down if someone gets a good strength swing in on him, but good luck surviving all the s6 i6 halbards at -1toughness, psychotrope, blind, ect.
It's rough, but on average i can see them eating a sacrificial unit then dying in the followung turns shooting.
|
Godforge custom 3d printing / professional level casting masters and design:
https://www.etsy.com/shop/GodForge |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 18:34:44
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
ArtfcllyFlvrd wrote:If you can only cast a psychic power once does that mean Eldar can only fortune once?
Unless they are Eldrad Ulthran, yes.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 18:37:33
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Inspiring Icon Bearer
|
Wouldnt having 2 different Farseers get around that issue? And if you only have one farseer, you couldnt cast it twice before anyways.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 18:44:39
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I like how they made a giant laundry list of what counts as Daemons...but forgot to include one of the most obvious choices...the Daemon Lords from IA books...LOL. DUMB!
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 18:45:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 18:48:49
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator
Dudley, England
|
Noir Eternal wrote:wyomingfox wrote:
Bad? You need to look at Nid codex if you want to see bad. Your 120 point monster makes a mockery of our Tyranofexes, Harpies, and Carnifexes. Even our Hive Tyrants look overpriced when compared to a DK. 
Exactly, just compared to the Carnifex the DK is much more survivable with way better weapon options. And Carnifexes can't take a jump pack option either....
Flying Carnifexes give such a funny image in my head...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 18:50:16
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
CaptKaruthors wrote:I like how they made a giant laundry list of what counts as Daemons...but forgot to include one of the most obvious choices...the Daemon Lords from IA books...LOL. DUMB!
The standard FAQs never address FW stuff.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 18:53:43
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
fox-light713 wrote:Q: What counts as a plasma weapon for the Ulumeathi Plasma Syphon? (p62) A: All Plasma weapons, as well as Eldar missile launchers firing plasma missiles, burst cannons, starcannons, all Tau pulse weapons and any weapon described as using ‘plasma’ as its effect or in its special rules. Wow, that's just, wow. Way to **** over tau with 90% of the their weaponry. The only weapons I can think of that arn't effected are rail guns, missile pods, seeker missiles, possibly Ion Cannons, kroot weapons, and vespid weapons. The tau Plasma rifle was an obvious one, but gees just wow. Actually Kroot rifles are effected too: they shoot Pulse rounds, just like Pulse Rifles. Really, this was just a stupid ruling on already stupid wargear, because there is no category called "Plasma weapons", meaning that players have to rely on fluff description, which breaks the practice of ignoring the fluff regards the rules and opens a whole new can of worms. I am also surprised why people think that nobody will ever take Plasma Siphon. Ordo Xenos Inquisitor with Siphon costs only 35 points. Sure he's pretty useless character by himself, but I can see him being potentially useful protecting a Paladin Deathstar. OK, the range is just 12" but still. By the way, how do Markerlights stack with Plasma Siphon? Other comments... The GK codex was sloppily written rules-wise. Unfortunately some questions remain unanswered. Such as Vindicares Turbo-penetrator. Answer for "I've been expecting you" query made things just even more muddy. Whole definition of "Plasma weapon" remains equally muddy. I mean, almost everything has "plasma" in it. Railgun slugs have plasma around them when they fly through atmosphere.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 18:55:52
Mr Vetock, give back my Multi-tracker! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 18:58:12
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Drew_Riggio
Russia
|
hilarious.. so many argued for +2A from falchions and now disappointed )))
but another big question: CoM vs GK units\Transport still unresolved.
|
are writer, not reader
FB DE 1-0-0 | 1-1-0 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 19:01:18
Subject: Re:GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Mind War, Paroxysm, and JotWW require a to-hit roll now. Interesting.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 19:07:59
Subject: Re:GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
DarknessEternal wrote:Mind War, Paroxysm, and JotWW require a to-hit roll now. Interesting.
I think you might have missed a paragraph:
Q: What psychic powers count as psychic shooting attacks? (p50)
A: Any psychic power with a profile like that of a ranged weapon (i.e. has a range, strength and AP value) and any psychic power that specifically states that it is a psychic shooting attack.
Q: Do psychic shooting attacks need to roll to hit? (p50)
A: Yes.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 19:11:01
Subject: Re:GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
veritechc wrote:DarknessEternal wrote:Mind War, Paroxysm, and JotWW require a to-hit roll now. Interesting.
I think you might have missed a paragraph:
Q: What psychic powers count as psychic shooting attacks? (p50)
A: Any psychic power with a profile like that of a ranged weapon (i.e. has a range, strength and AP value) and any psychic power that specifically states that it is a psychic shooting attack.
Q: Do psychic shooting attacks need to roll to hit? (p50)
A: Yes.
All three of those are specifically called Psychic Shooting Attacks in their descriptions.
|
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 19:11:49
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
Ummm no. Codex still trumps rulebook and its relevant rule book FAQ. The Tyranid codex specifically states that I "automaticall hit" an enemy unit. So again, no, I don't need to roll to hit.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 19:23:34
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
|
wyomingfox wrote:Griever wrote:So what's the point in giving the Dreadknight dreadnought close combat weapons that it can't use?
They nerfed the crap out of the poor DK, it went from bad to sucktastic.
Bad? You need to look at Nid codex if you want to see bad. Your 120 point monster makes a mockery of our Tyranofexes, Harpies, and Carnifexes. Even our Hive Tyrants look overpriced when compared to a DK. 
130 points for the DK, I think. Also, Dreadknights come pretty bare, and now don't even hit at st 10. All the upgrades come at a decent price, except one. The Personal Teleporter makes any Dreadknight very expensive, and only so-so in usefullness.
|
The Emperor Protects
_______________________________________
Inquisitorial lesson #298: Why to Hate Choas Gods, cont'd-
With Chaos, Tzeench would probably turn your hands, feet and face into
scrotums, complete with appropriate nerve endings. Then Khorne would
force you and all your friends to fight to the death using your new
scrotal appendages. Once they get tired of that, you get tossed to
Slaanesh who <censored by order of the Inquisition>, until you finally
end up in Nurgle's clutches and he uses you as a loofah. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 19:32:59
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
Very dissapointed with the Falchions ruling. Makes them next to useless for the points cost now considering you give up either I6 of a S8(10) hammer. Ah well....
L. Wrex
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 19:39:41
Subject: GK FAQ up
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
SLC, UT
|
targetawg wrote:I would have like to of seen a ruling (even though I feel it's clear) on the psychic pilot rule:
Are vehicles psykers all the time or not?
I'm fairly certain it's answered in the rule itself that they're only psykers for the purposes stated, but I know it's one that's had some contention around it.
Other than that, good faq (including the BRB). Just nice to have answers, not sure I agree with them all, but I'll play it however told.
I don't understand this question. It specifically says they count as psykers for psychic tests and PotW. A specific ruling here. They're not psykers normally. How is this a question? Automatically Appended Next Post: ArtfcllyFlvrd wrote:If you can only cast a psychic power once does that mean Eldar can only fortune once?
They've never been able to. Under spirit stones is specifically says that you can't use the same power twice in one turn.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 19:41:42
"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."
Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.
Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 20:03:54
Subject: Re:GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
DarknessEternal wrote:veritechc wrote:DarknessEternal wrote:Mind War, Paroxysm, and JotWW require a to-hit roll now. Interesting.
I think you might have missed a paragraph:
Q: What psychic powers count as psychic shooting attacks? (p50)
A: Any psychic power with a profile like that of a ranged weapon (i.e. has a range, strength and AP value) and any psychic power that specifically states that it is a psychic shooting attack.
Q: Do psychic shooting attacks need to roll to hit? (p50)
A: Yes.
All three of those are specifically called Psychic Shooting Attacks in their descriptions.
Mind War is used in the shooting phase but is not specifically a Psychic Shooting Attack.
Now Jaws of the World Wolf is a Psychic Shooting Attack so it looks like to me you have to pass a Psychic test and then roll to hit.
Paroxysm states it is a Psychic Shooting Attack that automatically hits so no roll to hit there.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 20:06:05
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 20:19:59
Subject: Re:GK FAQ up
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
yakface wrote:The only ruling that rankles me a bit is the one that says that Coteaz's 'I've been expecting you' rule is resolved "as soon as a valid target is placed on the board", but then says after the shots are resolved the unit "can complete its move".
This seems to imply that units moving on from a board edge from reserves are placed on the table and then moved, which seems to be contrary to how the rules for units arriving from reserves are written.
That one jumped out at me, also. I suspect that they meant the 'complete its move' bit to apply to Deep Strikers and not to units moving normally, but it does read as an odd twist on the rules for moving onto the table.
Edit: No, that doesn't work. Deep Strikers can't move... Curse you early morning!
So, no, no idea what they meant with that one.
The ruling on scoring vehicles is a change to the RAW, but not at all unexpected.
Likewise:
Thanatos_elNyx wrote:My defence of Daemon Princes in the past has been based around the agreement with most people who debated with me that surely possessed, oblits, etc don't count as daemons since they are described in the fluff as only being partially daemonic. But now, if my Great, Great, Great, Great, Great Grandfather was a daemon, and everyone else was Human, the GK would get PE against me!
Oblits are a new addition to the list, but Daemon Princes and Possessed counted as Daemons in the last Chaos codex, so it really shouldn't have surprised anyone that they would still be included.
Regardless of opinions on specific rulings, going by the sorts of discussions I can recall seeing in YMDC since the codex's release, this would seem to be perhaps the most comprehensive first FAQ GW have released in some time. So kudos to them for that.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 20:45:35
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 20:21:20
Subject: Re:GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
veritechc wrote: Mind War is used in the shooting phase but is not specifically a Psychic Shooting Attack. Yes, it is, and has been since the Eldar Codex FAQ(which apparently no one else bothered to read).
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 20:23:17
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 20:22:43
Subject: Re:GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
veritechc wrote:DarknessEternal wrote:veritechc wrote:DarknessEternal wrote:Mind War, Paroxysm, and JotWW require a to-hit roll now. Interesting.
I think you might have missed a paragraph:
Q: What psychic powers count as psychic shooting attacks? (p50)
A: Any psychic power with a profile like that of a ranged weapon (i.e. has a range, strength and AP value) and any psychic power that specifically states that it is a psychic shooting attack.
Q: Do psychic shooting attacks need to roll to hit? (p50)
A: Yes.
All three of those are specifically called Psychic Shooting Attacks in their descriptions.
Mind War is used in the shooting phase but is not specifically a Psychic Shooting Attack.
Now Jaws of the World Wolf is a Psychic Shooting Attack so it looks like to me you have to pass a Psychic test and then roll to hit.
Paroxysm states it is a Psychic Shooting Attack that automatically hits so no roll to hit there.
Mind War was FAQed to be a PSA along with E. Storm.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 20:29:10
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
So now that it is official that you must roll to hit with JotWW, does this allow the Aegis to kick in for some protection from it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 20:39:14
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
NecronLord3 wrote:So now that it is official that you must roll to hit with JotWW, does this allow the Aegis to kick in for some protection from it?
Thats wierd though since I don't have to target a model other then my own. Does the Rune Priest manage to miss himself?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 20:45:46
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
andrewm9 wrote:Does the Rune Priest manage to miss himself?
Why not? Certain RPGs let you roll to hit and miss the ground.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 20:50:52
Subject: GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
andrewm9 wrote:NecronLord3 wrote:So now that it is official that you must roll to hit with JotWW, does this allow the Aegis to kick in for some protection from it?
Thats wierd though since I don't have to target a model other then my own. Does the Rune Priest manage to miss himself?
Per the SW FAQ, the first enemy unit that has a model under the line is the target unit.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/13 20:51:54
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/13 20:55:40
Subject: Re:GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released
|
 |
Angered Reaver Arena Champion
|
So I was looking through the updates, and this caught my eye:
The Assault Phase
Q: Can a model equipped with multiple grenades use
all of them in the same Assault phase? (p36)
A: Yes.
At first glance (without having a book on hand to see what its referencing p.36 for), I read that you can use multiple grenade types in assault. For instance, frag has S4, and Krack S6. So you can use both at once in an assault against a vehicle? Or if you have frag, krak and melta you can use all 3?
Am I misreading that?
|
Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|