Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/07 05:47:00
Subject: Re:How do SM chapter tactics affect allied units?
|
 |
Flailing Flagellant
USA: Michigan
|
I've posted this before, but never got any kind of feedback so I'm posting it once more.
This is another rule I found in the WH codex that has similar wording to Vulkan's. I am posting this text in order to provide another example of "army" allies rule wording, while steering away from the sharp stigma Vulkans rule has attained. Its not perfect, but it may help.
If I ally 750pts of sisters with 1500pts of SM (total 2250), can I equip a "sacred Banner of the Order Militant"?
TEXT rule for Sacred Banner of the Order Militant: "... may only be used in an army of 2000pts or more". (pg.22)
TEXT rule for Vulkan ----------------------------------"all thunder hammers in your army will count as master-crafted..."
Allow me to explain:
If the term "army" only applies to the codex in which the rules where written (or units purchased), then I only have a 750pt Sisters army and logic deems that I cannot use the banner. If the sisters are in fact a part of the army then the banner can be applied (as well as Vulkan's rules).
If the example posted is only applicable to one instance but not another, please explain how the applied uses of army are different.
|
"Starved to Death in a Land of Plenty."
Blue dragons, sisters of battle, mercenaries, tyranids |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/07 09:17:49
Subject: How do SM chapter tactics affect allied units?
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Fire_hive if you take any WH or DH units as allies they caount as part of the army they've joined to. As such if the army is 2000pts or more you may take the banner.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/07 15:09:18
Subject: Re:How do SM chapter tactics affect allied units?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Fire_hive wrote:If I ally 750pts of sisters with 1500pts of SM (total 2250), can I equip a "sacred Banner of the Order Militant"?
TEXT rule for Sacred Banner of the Order Militant: "... may only be used in an army of 2000pts or more". (pg.22)
TEXT rule for Vulkan ----------------------------------"all thunder hammers in your army will count as master-crafted..."
The DH/ WH books make a difference between "army" and "hunter army" for some things. The special characters may only lead a 'Hunter army of the right size, for example. That banner could be carried by the bodyguards of a Canoness even if allied to another army.
But the banner won't spark a fight anyway as it only works for SoB. ;-)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/07 15:55:50
Subject: Re:How do SM chapter tactics affect allied units?
|
 |
Flailing Flagellant
USA: Michigan
|
Spetulhu wrote:Fire_hive wrote:If I ally 750pts of sisters with 1500pts of SM (total 2250), can I equip a "sacred Banner of the Order Militant"?
TEXT rule for Sacred Banner of the Order Militant: "... may only be used in an army of 2000pts or more". (pg.22)
TEXT rule for Vulkan ----------------------------------"all thunder hammers in your army will count as master-crafted..."
...That banner could be carried by the bodyguards of a Canoness even if allied to another army. But the banner won't spark a fight anyway as it only works for SoB. ;-)
It's not about starting a new debate as much as defining what allies means in an army. So if you can piggyback the points off the SM army to grant point restricted items for the sisters codex, then would it provide evidence that sisters and SM are integrated into a grand ARMY (not just side by side), and thus be able to piggyback rules from the SM codex applying to the "army" as well? The use or application of this rule as a tactic is not important, only how the term "army" is used.
Thank you for your response though  .
|
"Starved to Death in a Land of Plenty."
Blue dragons, sisters of battle, mercenaries, tyranids |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/07 16:00:33
Subject: Re:How do SM chapter tactics affect allied units?
|
 |
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher
Castle Clarkenstein
|
And the problem that keeps getting hit, is that the word "army" is used differently in different parts of the rules. GW rules, especially those written years ago, were not written with RAW in mind.
|
....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/07 16:40:00
Subject: Re:How do SM chapter tactics affect allied units?
|
 |
Flailing Flagellant
USA: Michigan
|
mikhaila wrote:And the problem that keeps getting hit, is that the word "army" is used differently in different parts of the rules. GW rules, especially those written years ago, were not written with RAW in mind.
I do agree with that point, but in this case non of us knows which definition to apply at what time, and GW is too busy counting cash to answer any of our questions or offer any assistance. Its obvious that that people feel strongly about this topic.
Somebody go to a T ornament and bug a judge about this.
|
"Starved to Death in a Land of Plenty."
Blue dragons, sisters of battle, mercenaries, tyranids |
|
 |
 |
|