Switch Theme:

ongoing game! Deepstrike  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ruthless Interrogator





Ann Arbor, MI

DeathReaper wrote:Right, and the rules allow for circles with as many models that will fit. so if that is a 4 model circle then you move to the next circle and get as many models as will fit in the next circle.


A four model circle is always less than what will fit (assuming there are more than 5 total models to place). If terrains blocks you from making a complete circle, you mishap. Very simple.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Nowhere does it say that if you can not fit more into the first circle you mishap.

you fill the circles with as many models as will fit, and move to the next circle.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

alright so if your circle will fit 6 models and you only place 4 because of Impassable Terrain ... you mishap.


   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




..and the reason they wont fit is because of impassable terrain, which causes you to mishap.

You're avoiding mishap by misreading a rule. It does not give you permission to avoid the mishap.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:alright so if your circle will fit 6 models and you only place 4 because of Impassable Terrain ... you mishap.



No, because as many models as will fit is 4 models, so you move to the next circle.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

DeathReaper wrote:What I am describing IS a circle with as many models as will fit.

No it's not. You're describing a circle with as many models as can be placed. You can fit more models into that circle, you just can't legally place them. Which is what triggers a mishap.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




I get it. A model has to be 100% on the table to be on the table but a circle doesn't have to be complete to be a circle. OK then.................
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Boss GreenNutz wrote:I get it. A model has to be 100% on the table to be on the table but a circle doesn't have to be complete to be a circle. OK then.................


Because the rules allow for as many models as will fit.

I am describing a circle with as many models as will fit, according to the rules this is allowed. be it 3 or 5 models, then you move on to the next circle.

insaniak wrote:You can fit more models into that circle, you just can't legally place them. Which is what triggers a mishap.


You can not fit more, because there is impassible terrain there.

so no mishap.

Either way, it will not come up much, and the rule is written poorly so I will leave it at that.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/20 20:19:32


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

DeathReaper wrote:
Boss GreenNutz wrote:I get it. A model has to be 100% on the table to be on the table but a circle doesn't have to be complete to be a circle. OK then.................


Because the rules allow for as many models as will fit.

I am describing a circle with as many models as will fit, according to the rules this is allowed. be it 3 or 5 models, then you move on to the next circle.

insaniak wrote:You can fit more models into that circle, you just can't legally place them. Which is what triggers a mishap.


You can not fit more, because there is impassible terrain there.

so no mishap.

Either way, it will not come up much, and the rule is written poorly so I will leave it at that.


Actually the rules are written fine, you're misinterpreting them. As many models as will fit, is quite diferent than as many models that will legally fit.
when you place your 4/6 you are inherently ignoring the DS rules

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

DeathReaper wrote:You can not fit more, because there is impassible terrain there.

so no mishap.

By this argument, a mishap is never going to occur unless the original model scatters onto an obstacle.

If you have more than a base-sized gap between models in the circle, you can fit more models in the circle. The fact that impassable terrain is preventing you from placing them is exactly what triggers the mishap... where the model needs to go is somewhere that it can't be placed.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

insaniak wrote:By this argument, a mishap is never going to occur unless the original model scatters onto an obstacle.

If you have more than a base-sized gap between models in the circle, you can fit more models in the circle. The fact that impassable terrain is preventing you from placing them is exactly what triggers the mishap... where the model needs to go is somewhere that it can't be placed.

I read it the other way as it says as many as will fit.

If the "as many as will fit" clause was not there I could see it working as you have described.

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Actually the rules are written fine, you're misinterpreting them.


In your opinion.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




So what in your interpretation of the rules would cause a mishap to occur? From what I see it would only happen if the center model scattered onto impassible terrain, an enemy unit or off the table.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

DeathReaper wrote:If the "as many as will fit" clause was not there I could see it working as you have described.

Sorry, that makes no sense. You're saying that if it didn't require you to place as many as can fit, then you would have to place as many as can fit... but because it does say that you have to place as many as can fit, you don't actually have to?

 
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




DeathReaper wrote:What I am describing IS a circle with as many models as will fit.

The models that will fit are put in a circle around the first, then you move on to the second circle with as many models as will fit.



No, what you're describing is an arc, which is a portion of a circle.

To clarify, for something to be "a circle with as many models as will fit," it must first be a circle. If the models only complete a portion of the circle, then you have an arc, not a circle, and have failed to satisfy the first part of the requirement.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/20 20:53:54


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Boss GreenNutz wrote:So what in your interpretation of the rules would cause a mishap to occur? From what I see it would only happen if the center model scattered onto impassible terrain, an enemy unit or off the table.

That's the way I read that part of the rules as well, so DR isn't alone in his way of thinking. It didn't even occur to me that it might not be the right way of doing it until this thread - now I'm not sure.

I guess for Drop Pods/Mycetic Spores, the deployed troops aren't DSing, they're disembarking but count as DSing?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/20 20:50:36


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, which means you abide by both rules - however the general movement rules (cant move into impassable terrain) prevents you from making them mishap
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Boss GreenNutz wrote:So what in your interpretation of the rules would cause a mishap to occur? From what I see it would only happen if the center model scattered onto impassible terrain, an enemy unit or off the table.
That or if you were surrounded by enemy models and or impassible terrain, and could not place all the models in the DSing unit due to ther being no space at all.
insaniak wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:If the "as many as will fit" clause was not there I could see it working as you have described.

Sorry, that makes no sense. You're saying that if it didn't require you to place as many as can fit, then you would have to place as many as can fit... but because it does say that you have to place as many as can fit, you don't actually have to?

I am saying that the rules say to place as many as will fit. If there is impassible terrain in the way then clearly the models can not fit, and you are allowed to make another circle, as per the rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/20 21:10:14


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

DeathReaper wrote: If there is impassible terrain in the way then clearly the models can not fit, ...

Except they can. If the circle is not complete, there is room to fit more models. If there is impassable terrain in the way, that simply means that the models can not be placed, not that they can't fit in the circle.

You don't have a complete circle, because the terrain is preventing you from completing it. Hence, a mishap.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/20 21:19:30


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

So what you are saying is, there is no way to Deep Strike a unit of 3 or 4 models, since you will not have a complete circle?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

No, I'm saying you have to complete a circle before you can move onto the next. Having insufficient models to complete a circle does not prevent you from placing models.

If a model can not be legally placed in the appropriate circle, the unit mishaps.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

insaniak wrote:No, I'm saying you have to complete a circle before you can move onto the next. Having insufficient models to complete a circle does not prevent you from placing models.

If a model can not be legally placed in the appropriate circle, the unit mishaps.


We clearly read that differently, and that is okay.

The rules are a bit ambiguous.

Moving on now. Thank you all for the discussion.

-DR

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

DeathReaper wrote:
insaniak wrote:No, I'm saying you have to complete a circle before you can move onto the next. Having insufficient models to complete a circle does not prevent you from placing models.

If a model can not be legally placed in the appropriate circle, the unit mishaps.


We clearly read that differently, and that is okay.

The rules are a bit ambiguous.

Moving on now. Thank you all for the discussion.

-DR



If you really think every single person in this thread disagreeing with you are seeing something magical in the rules that you're not, I suggest you try making a poll thread where you post the rules and describe the situation and ask what people think the rules say in this case (mishap or no mishap). I think you will find an overwhelming majority of people disagree with you to the point where your interpretation borders on ridiculousness.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in ca
Lord of the Fleet






Halifornia, Nova Scotia

Anyone else find it a touch ironic that DeathReaper's signature contains the definition of the area of a circle?

On a constructive note, I'm with everyone else on the matter.

Mordian Iron Guard - Major Overhaul in Progress

+Spaceship Gaming Enthusiast+

Live near Halifax, NS? Ask me about our group, the Ordo Haligonias! 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





yakface wrote:If you really think every single person in this thread disagreeing with you are seeing something magical in the rules that you're not, I suggest you try making a poll thread where you post the rules and describe the situation and ask what people think the rules say in this case (mishap or no mishap). I think you will find an overwhelming majority of people disagree with you to the point where your interpretation borders on ridiculousness.


While I respect you yakface, I have to disagree with this post. As I said earlier, I read the rules the same way as DR and I'm still not convinced it's an incorrect reading. I'm sure I wouldn't be the only one.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

rigeld2 wrote:
While I respect you yakface, I have to disagree with this post. As I said earlier, I read the rules the same way as DR and I'm still not convinced it's an incorrect reading. I'm sure I wouldn't be the only one.


I certainly wasn't trying to imply that he would be the only person sharing that opinion. Experience with the INAT has taught me that no matter how outlandish the interpretation of the rules there are always at least some people who read it that way.

There is a big difference between an issue that is a 60/40 split and one that it is 90/10, and I would be very, very surprised to find that this issue is closer to the 60/40 situation then it is the 90/10.

But by all means, feel free to try to prove me wrong by creating a poll thread!


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





I would guess more of a 98/2 result.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

It's probably in the 20-25% range honestly

   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Agreed with Nos, Insaniak, Yak and almost everyone else in this thread.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

DeathReaper has a spiteful (and misguided) quote in his signature about what the area of a circle is, perhaps the rest of the definition of a circle should be included?

editing to add:
Not being able to complete a circle because of something that is defined as causing a mishap is definitely a strange thing to justify NOT causing a mishap.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/09/21 04:53:19


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

kirsanth wrote:DeathReaper has a spiteful (and misguided) quote in his signature about what the area of a circle is, perhaps the rest of the definition of a circle should be included?


First off, it is not a quote.

Second, why do you think its "spiteful (and misguided)"?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: