Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 15:25:52
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
been too long since I last encountered this situation.
Necrons deepstrike with veil and are VERY close to the table edge. First circle of models cannot be completed. Mishap or rest of the unit killed?
Thanks for help guys
|
Space Marines 6700pts Tyranids 5000pts Tau 2350pts Blood Angels 2850pts Orcs & Goblins 1350pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 15:27:10
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Mishap, as the DS'ing unit hit either an enemy unit, Edge of the board, Impassable terrain ETC
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 15:27:32
Subject: Re:ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
woops sorry was wrong. mishap
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/20 15:29:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 15:30:25
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
Thank you
|
Space Marines 6700pts Tyranids 5000pts Tau 2350pts Blood Angels 2850pts Orcs & Goblins 1350pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 15:30:32
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
And for page Reference its Deep Strike Mishaps PG 95 right hand side
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 15:37:29
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
In the situation you described, as long as the first model was on the board, and you fit as many models in the first circle that you can fit, you move on to the second circle, then to the third etc. you only mishap if you are within 1 inch of an enemy, on top of a model, in impassible terrain, or off the board. The brb P.95 says that "Each circle should include as many models as will fit" So if you are next to impassible terrain, or the board edge, you include as many models as will fit in that circle, and move to the next circle.,
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/20 15:38:48
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 17:33:52
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Operative word there is "circle" if you can not complete the circle and still have models then you mishap. You can't go on to the third circle until the second one is complete.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 17:40:56
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Boss GreenNutz wrote:Operative word there is "circle" if you can not complete the circle and still have models then you mishap. You can't go on to the third circle until the second one is complete.
I wholeheartedly agree with this statement as if you don't complete it than it's not a circle, and therefore a mishap.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 17:59:23
Subject: Re:ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Slippery Ultramarine Scout Biker
|
I read it as you must complete the first circle or it's a mishap. It says you can make more circles after the first one is completed.
|
We follow in the footsteps of Guilliman.
As it is written in the Codex, so shall it be.
- Marneus Calgar
1000pts
Matches(W/L/T):
5/8/0
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 18:20:46
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
If that is the case what would stop me from completing the inner circle, placing one model and calling it the second circle then one beside it (extending outwards) calling it the 3rd and so on. It would be great if this was the case for me. I'd actually use Zaggstruk as it would all but guarantee he will never mishap and I'd always get the assault off with a mob of 15 Stormboyz.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 18:20:57
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Yes, and each circle must be completed before you can move to the next one. Any circle that is incomplete (while still having models to place) due to enemy models, board edge or impassable terrain results in a mishap.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 18:50:14
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
"Each circle should include as many models as will fit." p.95 so if you have the initial model next to impassible terrain, lets say a friendly tank, and you can only place 4 models in the first circle that is "as many models as will fit" and you move to the second circle. thus no mishap. Boss GreenNutz wrote:If that is the case what would stop me from completing the inner circle, placing one model and calling it the second circle then one beside it (extending outwards) calling it the 3rd and so on. The rule stating "Each circle should include as many models as will fit." p.95 is what stops you from placing 1 model and calling it.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/20 18:51:39
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 18:52:53
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
DeathReaper wrote:"Each circle should include as many models as will fit." p.95
so if you have the initial model next to impassible terrain, lets say a friendly tank, and you can only place 4 models in the first circle that is "as many models as will fit" and you move to the second circle.
thus no mishap.
Boss GreenNutz wrote:If that is the case what would stop me from completing the inner circle, placing one model and calling it the second circle then one beside it (extending outwards) calling it the 3rd and so on.
The rule stating "Each circle should include as many models as will fit." p.95 is what stops you from placing 1 model and calling it.
Then it's not a circle though. I read it as talking about base size. You cannot fit as many terminators in each circle as you can regular infantry.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:00:31
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
But it is a circle with as many models as will fit, since you cant fit anymore you move on to the next circle.
the circle is complete when there is no more room to place remaining models, in the case of impassible terrain this may make models begin another circle before the first one touches end to end.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:02:42
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Grand ol US of A
|
Models can't ift but it is not a circle so you cannot go to the next circle until the previous one is finished.
|
d3m01iti0n wrote:
BT uses the Codex Astartes as toilet paper. They’re an Imp Fist successor, recruit from multiple planets, and are known to be the largest Chapter in the galaxy. They’re on a constant Crusade, keeping it real for the Emperor and not bumming around like the other guys. They hate psykers and can’t ally with them. They’re basically an entire chapter of Chaplains. CC lunatics. What every Space Marine should aspire to be, if not trapped in a Matt Ward nightmare.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:15:48
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Hungry Little Ripper
|
DeathReaper wrote:But it is a circle with as many models as will fit, since you cant fit anymore you move on to the next circle.
the circle is complete when there is no more room to place remaining models, in the case of impassible terrain this may make models begin another circle before the first one touches end to end.
What you're describing is not a circle with as many models that will fit. You are describing the area of a circle with as many models in it as possible. Big difference.
If you can't complete the circle due to terrain / edge of board / enemy unit, then you mishap.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:20:14
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
DR is describing a pie with a slice or few missing
As many models will fit describes how many models will fit in said circle.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:23:50
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
What I am describing IS a circle with as many models as will fit.
The models that will fit are put in a circle around the first, then you move on to the second circle with as many models as will fit.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:26:24
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
As long as it's a complete circle, yea we're all saying the same thing. No slices of pie missing until the last circle
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:29:12
Subject: Re:ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
Could be a circle as in group of persons.
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:30:34
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:As long as it's a complete circle, yea we're all saying the same thing. No slices of pie missing until the last circle
It is as complete as the rules allow for.
Which is as many models as will fit.
if that is 3 models because of impassible terrain or board edges, then so be it, the rules have been satisfied because that is as many models as will fit.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:33:10
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Ruthless Interrogator
|
Maybe this needs its own thread..but is there any criteria for how the furthest outside circle is arranged? Say I complete my first and second circle and have two models remaining. Can I put one on the front of the second circle and one on the back (also touching the second circle, but not the other "third circle" model)? Or do the two "third circle" models have to be right next to each other?
I've always played it that the outermost, incomplete circle can include any number of gaps, but I'm not sure if that's entirely correct.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:34:22
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
DeathReaper wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:As long as it's a complete circle, yea we're all saying the same thing. No slices of pie missing until the last circle
It is as complete as the rules allow for.
Which is as many models as will fit.
if that is 3 models because of impassible terrain or board edges, then so be it, the rules have been satisfied because that is as many models as will fit.
No sir that is not a Circle that is a pie missing some slices.
If you cannot complete a circle due to impassable terrain, enemy units, board edge, etc you will mishap.
The "each circle should include as many models as will fit" does not work as you are trying to say it does.
if you can fit 5 SM's in a circle around the center SM and Impassable Terrain Prevents 2/5 from being placed, they are Mishapped
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/20 19:35:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:37:54
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above
If you cannot place any models where they could go, were it not for impassable terrain / etc, then you mishap.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:43:12
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The rules allow for you to place as many models in the circle that will fit.
If you cant fit 6, and you can only fit 4 then you fit 4 and move to the next circle.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:44:52
Subject: Re:ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
I think you are misreading the rule. Its talking about base size. As in fit as many as you can, so like 6 regular bases or 4 terminators. As others have said, DS rules state that if you cannot place ANY models for impassable terrain then it's a mishap.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:45:00
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
And why cant you fit 6? Because of impassable terrain. You know, the stuff that causes mishaps?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 19:46:09
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
DeathReaper wrote:What I am describing IS a circle with as many models as will fit.
The models that will fit are put in a circle around the first, then you move on to the second circle with as many models as will fit.
Let me guess. You also believe that a model that could not completely come on the table is considered to be on the table since part of it is....correct? As many models as will fit means how many you can place in a complete circle. You can get more 25MM bases in a circle than you can 40s or 60s.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 20:00:17
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Boss GreenNutz wrote:Let me guess. You also believe that a model that could not completely come on the table is considered to be on the table since part of it is....correct?
The exact opposite actually. I was in the if its not on (as in 100% on) then you have not moved onto the table.
As shown in This thread
Boss GreenNutz wrote:As many models as will fit means how many you can place in a complete circle. You can get more 25MM bases in a circle than you can 40s or 60s.
Right, and the rules allow for circles with as many models that will fit. so if that is a 4 model circle then you move to the next circle and get as many models as will fit in the next circle.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/20 20:02:27
Subject: ongoing game! Deepstrike
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
DeathReaper wrote:Boss GreenNutz wrote:Let me guess. You also believe that a model that could not completely come on the table is considered to be on the table since part of it is....correct?
The exact opposite actually. I was in the if its not on (as in 100% on) then you have not moved onto the table.
As shown in This thread
Boss GreenNutz wrote:As many models as will fit means how many you can place in a complete circle. You can get more 25MM bases in a circle than you can 40s or 60s.
Right, and the rules allow for circles with as many models that will fit. so if that is a 4 model circle then you move to the next circle and get as many models as will fit in the next circle.
That's not true you can fit more, however doing so will cause you to mishap.
You're reading out of context
|
|
|
 |
 |
|