Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/25 22:01:51
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
Holy Terra
|
If you have to bend the rules to win are you really winning? It can be done but should it be done?
|
"Stand with me Brothers together we cannot fail!" Chapter master Orizan Battle for New Custer
1000pts
Sons of Orizan around 8000
3000
92% of teens have moved on to rap. If you are one of the 8% who still listen to real music, copy and paste this into your sig. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/25 22:22:12
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
Jwalker52 wrote:If you have to bend the rules to win are you really winning? It can be done but should it be done?
I don't see how this is bending the rules. You're either breaking them (if the jumping IC is in the assaulting squad), or you're using a perfectly legal tactic (if the IC is in a separate squad capable of moving 12" or if he is alone).
Cheating is one thing. Moving tactically is another. The ideal player would foresee such a tactic, and adjust his/her tactics accordingly. While we can't all be the ideal player (I'm certainly not), being aware of valid tactics and understanding when someone has outplayed oneself is an important part of any competitive game. Immediately crying that it's "bending the rules" or "cheesy tactics" is just refusing to adapt and improve.
Now, if a tactic is continuously wrecking your army regardless of all reasonable attempts to counter it, then perhaps there is an aspect of the tactic that unfairly disadvantages you, but I seriously doubt that between two equally skilled players, these sorts of assault shenanigans make a game-breaking difference.
/2cents
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/25 23:12:30
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
I am pretty much on the 'Slingshot isn't legal' side of the fence but something I have been noticing posted I want to see if I can get a clear understanding of what is being said, insaniak I am going to use something you posted as an example for what I am trying to say/ask.
insaniak wrote:For the IC to leave the unit, he has to be more than 2" away when the unit's movement is complete. So if you have determined that he has left the unit, you can not then go and move the unit... they've already had their movement, otherwise the IC couldn't have left.
The way some of the posts on this are written seems like the IC can't use their normal movement mode if they are choosing to leave a unit (meaning they wont be within 2" after IC and Unit have moved). However from my understanding of the rules if (using OP example) a jump pack equipped IC is with a unit of Terminators wishes to advance further then the Terminators can he moves the distance he wises to move (up to 12") while the Terminators can move their 6", only stipulation is at the end of this combined movement the IC needs to be 2.01" away from the Terminators. Am I wrong in this assumption?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/25 23:33:47
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Saiisil wrote:I am pretty much on the 'Slingshot isn't legal' side of the fence but something I have been noticing posted I want to see if I can get a clear understanding of what is being said, insaniak I am going to use something you posted as an example for what I am trying to say/ask.
insaniak wrote:For the IC to leave the unit, he has to be more than 2" away when the unit's movement is complete. So if you have determined that he has left the unit, you can not then go and move the unit... they've already had their movement, otherwise the IC couldn't have left.
The way some of the posts on this are written seems like the IC can't use their normal movement mode if they are choosing to leave a unit (meaning they wont be within 2" after IC and Unit have moved). However from my understanding of the rules if (using OP example) a jump pack equipped IC is with a unit of Terminators wishes to advance further then the Terminators can he moves the distance he wises to move (up to 12") while the Terminators can move their 6", only stipulation is at the end of this combined movement the IC needs to be 2.01" away from the Terminators. Am I wrong in this assumption?
The only thing is when does the unit stop being 1 and become 2? IIRC it checks at the end of the units movemet
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/25 23:52:34
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Saiisil wrote:The way some of the posts on this are written seems like the IC can't use their normal movement mode if they are choosing to leave a unit (meaning they wont be within 2" after IC and Unit have moved).
This is correct. It's not how a lot of people play it, though.
However from my understanding of the rules if (using OP example) a jump pack equipped IC is with a unit of Terminators wishes to advance further then the Terminators can he moves the distance he wises to move (up to 12") while the Terminators can move their 6", only stipulation is at the end of this combined movement the IC needs to be 2.01" away from the Terminators. Am I wrong in this assumption?
Technically yes.
The thing is. at the time you choose to move the IC, he is a part of the unit. As such, he has to move at the same speed as the unit. The fact that he chooses to move off in a different direction makes no difference to this, because there is no 'declaration' for leaving a unit. You just move the IC and/or the unit, and if the end result is that the IC is more than 2" away from the unit, he has left them.
So as the IC hasn't left them until he has completed his movement, and he is a part of the unit when he performs that movement, he is constrained by their movement rate.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/26 03:15:16
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
On a related note - I move my warboss on a bike 8" in front of a group of SM (who are now 6" away). I then move a group of nobz forward 6". The nobz are 2" behind the Warboss and I declare the Warboss joining the nobz. I then declare an assault on the SM. As it stands ONLY my warboss is in b2b contact, and the nobz are at best 2" away from the warboss. Would I be right in assuming ONLY the warboss gets to attack (assuming the SMs made their defenders react move towards the warboss)?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/26 03:16:38
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/26 03:18:39
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
But the SM's have to react to the nobz. You must try to b2b any model in a unit that assaulted you. Since the nobz will be within 6" and not all of the SM's can simply mob the warboss, some will have to engage the nobz unless the SM's are strung out as well...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/26 03:20:23
Subject: Re:Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Allow me to make a slight change to the question. Instead of a group of SM, it's a single model, whether an IC, MC, or Walker.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/26 03:23:46
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If it's a single model, I have already been locked in combat by the warboss, so it can't engage anything else.
Since none of the nobz got b2b, then none of them can attack the model assaulted nor can that model allocate any attacks vs the nobz.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/26 04:00:25
Subject: Re:Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
We have a player that does this Shrike. Our group seems to be of the opinion that this is a legal move. All this thread has done is made me want to re-read the IC rules. I believe that Insaniak has the right of this. When I have played I have always declared my IC as leaving the unit and moved his full distance (I use Shrike exclusively with my Codex Marine Army). Interesting arguement.
|
When in doubt.........Duck!
Even in the far future there can still be heroes... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/26 08:02:07
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:On a related note - I move my warboss on a bike 8" in front of a group of SM (who are now 6" away). I then move a group of nobz forward 6". The nobz are 2" behind the Warboss and I declare the Warboss joining the nobz. I then declare an assault on the SM. As it stands ONLY my warboss is in b2b contact, and the nobz are at best 2" away from the warboss. Would I be right in assuming ONLY the warboss gets to attack (assuming the SMs made their defenders react move towards the warboss)?
An IC has to move to join a unit, the unit cannot move to join him. So you would have to move the unit of nobz first, and then hope your warboss can get through without passing "through" the nobz.
Technically you onlyu determine who can attck once, BEFORE you resolve any attacks. P49 states an IC is a separate unit during "Resolve attacks", meaning when you work out who can attack it is one unit, and so the nobz can attack even a single model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/26 16:18:33
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Happyjew wrote:On a related note - I move my warboss on a bike 8" in front of a group of SM (who are now 6" away). I then move a group of nobz forward 6". The nobz are 2" behind the Warboss and I declare the Warboss joining the nobz. I then declare an assault on the SM. As it stands ONLY my warboss is in b2b contact, and the nobz are at best 2" away from the warboss. Would I be right in assuming ONLY the warboss gets to attack (assuming the SMs made their defenders react move towards the warboss)?
An IC has to move to join a unit, the unit cannot move to join him. So you would have to move the unit of nobz first, and then hope your warboss can get through without passing "through" the nobz.
Technically you onlyu determine who can attck once, BEFORE you resolve any attacks. P49 states an IC is a separate unit during "Resolve attacks", meaning when you work out who can attack it is one unit, and so the nobz can attack even a single model.
Also, if the large base size of the ork warboss on a bike enhances this tactic (assuming you do it legally like Nosf says), prepare to be called ont he carpet for an oversized or elongated bike base.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/26 20:24:58
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
Happyjew wrote:On a related note - I move my warboss on a bike 8" in front of a group of SM (who are now 6" away). I then move a group of nobz forward 6". The nobz are 2" behind the Warboss and I declare the Warboss joining the nobz. I then declare an assault on the SM. As it stands ONLY my warboss is in b2b contact, and the nobz are at best 2" away from the warboss. Would I be right in assuming ONLY the warboss gets to attack (assuming the SMs made their defenders react move towards the warboss)?
As I have pointed out and as Nos has pointed out, Nobz cannot move to join a warboss. The warboss is compelled by the rules to be the party that joins and or leaves a unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/26 20:31:35
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Brother Ramses wrote:As I have pointed out and as Nos has pointed out, Nobz cannot move to join a warboss. The warboss is compelled by the rules to be the party that joins and or leaves a unit.
Since the check for joining is simply 'Is he within 2" at the end of the phase' it is commonly played that it doesn't matter which of them moves into that range, regardless of what the rules seem to indicate in this situation though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/26 20:39:55
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
insaniak wrote:Brother Ramses wrote:As I have pointed out and as Nos has pointed out, Nobz cannot move to join a warboss. The warboss is compelled by the rules to be the party that joins and or leaves a unit.
Since the check for joining is simply 'Is he within 2" at the end of the phase' it is commonly played that it doesn't matter which of them moves into that range, regardless of what the rules seem to indicate in this situation though.
The check is based upon a specific direction given in the rule itself;
The IC has to move so he is within 2" of a friendly unit at the end of their movement phase.
I don't see permission for the unit to move within 2" of an IC so he will be within 2" of them at the end of their movement phase. What I see is that the IC has to make the move so that he is, not will be within 2" of a friendly unit at the end of their movement phase.
That leaves only one possible scenario for an IC to join a unit,
1. The friendly unit either moves/does not move.
2. The IC moves so that he is within 2" at the end of their movement phase.
Any attempt to first move the IC and then move a unit so they are within 2" of the IC to join is changing the rule to read,
"The IC can move so that he will be within 2" of a friendly unit at the end of their movement phase."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/26 20:53:00
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
I understand what the rules say. My point was simply that a lot of players don't care, and play that it doesn't matter who moves.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/26 20:59:48
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I think this needs a 'how would you play it' poll for both situations. People play it 'wrong' but don't care because it 'feels' right to them.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/26 21:19:32
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
For this "tactic" to work, you'd have to play 3 rules wrong:
1) an IC can leave a unit using his own movement
2) an IC can leave a unit then be joined by the same unit during the same movement phase
3) a unit can join an IC by moving close enough to an IC
Yes, if you normally play all 3 of those rules wrong, this tactic works just fine.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/27 06:25:35
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
rigeld2 wrote:For this "tactic" to work, you'd have to play 3 rules wrong:
1) an IC can leave a unit using his own movement
Actually an IC can use his movement to leave a unit, as he is only bound by the speed of the slowest model whilst they stay together.
rigeld2 wrote:2) an IC can leave a unit then be joined by the same unit during the same movement phase
This is correct.
rigeld2 wrote:3) a unit can join an IC by moving close enough to an IC
The rules state that "in order to join a unit, an IC has to move so that he is within the 2" coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of their movement phase."
So as long as the IC moved.
and is within the 2" coherency distance of a friendly unit at the end of their movement phase.
he can join the unit.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/27 08:37:57
Subject: Re:Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
DR you last point is wrong.
The IC has to move so he is within 2" of a friendly unit at the end of their movement.
not
The IC has to move so he will be within 2" of a friendly unit at the end of their movement.
When you say the IC moved and then add your period as if that is the limit of his action, you are wrong. He has to move so he is within 2" of a friendly unit at the end of their movement. As I pointed out, there is only one possible scenario for that to happen.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/27 10:52:31
Subject: Re:Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Everyone seems to be ignoring the last part of the joining rule. The IC has to move so that he is within 2" of a friendly unit at the end of their move. Presumably the "their move" refers to the unit he wants to join. So it is not as clear cut as everyone is making it out to be. It seems that so long as the IC and unit are within 2" of each other regardless of who moves first they are joined.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/27 10:59:43
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Given context "their" means the IC
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/27 11:43:06
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
|
IMHO, we have to remember that every member of the unit has to move like the slowest one... Saying that you can leave the unit and join it again at the end of movement phase... totally invalidate the rule( and jump packs are not the only example... what if I move out of a terrain first to use the 3d6 roll and then I move the unit?)... or am I wrong? From a RAW perspective such a move could even be legal but... I think that a little common sense would help...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/10/27 11:44:46
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/27 11:43:23
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Although ‘their’ is sometimes used as a singular pertaining to an individual it is most often used as a singular pertaining to a group (a team, a class, a unit, etc). I think, given the context, the fact that ICs are referred to quite consistently throughout the section as he/his/it when in the singular indicates that ‘their’ pertains to ‘a unit’. Granted, GW are inconsistent with their phrasing but to me this seems at best readable either way (ie it might mean the character, it might just as sensibly mean the unit).
|
Choose an army you can love, even when it loses - Phil Barker
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/27 11:59:58
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Actually whe nyou read the whole sentence it only really makes sense if it were the IC. Otherwise the IC can be "joined" to the unit by simply passing within 2" at some point during their movement
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/27 12:06:23
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Actually, that would assume every unit has a ‘movement phase’ rather than just the side. It’d be more sensible to assume that ‘their’ applies to both the IC and the unit.
|
Choose an army you can love, even when it loses - Phil Barker
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/27 12:58:09
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:rigeld2 wrote:For this "tactic" to work, you'd have to play 3 rules wrong:
1) an IC can leave a unit using his own movement
Actually an IC can use his movement to leave a unit, as he is only bound by the speed of the slowest model whilst they stay together.
Actually, since he's a member of the unit at the beginning of his movement, and a unit must move at the speed of the slowest member, he may not. The "while they stay together" portion of the rule is a reminder that he's not restricted after he leaves the unit. But until he ends out of coherency, he is still a member of the unit since the rules mention nothing of intent.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/27 14:49:34
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
There is only one movement phase. Individual models do not have their own movement phase. So at the end of the movement phase you determine if an IC is within 2" of another unit. If so he joins. Or are you telling me that I have an IC completely by himself. He never moves. a Unit moves in and completely surronds him, you are telling me he is not a part of that unit???
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/27 14:55:57
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, because HE did not move, as required by the rule. What it means is the unit must stay more than 2" away
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/10/27 15:42:43
Subject: Legal or not? Jump Pack IC extending assault range.
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:No, because HE did not move, as required by the rule. What it means is the unit must stay more than 2" away
Exactly.
The rule tells you specifically, that the IC HAS to move so he is within 2" of a friendly unit at the end of their Movement phase. Those are the specific conditions. There is no permission for a unit to move within 2" of a friendly IC at the end of their Movement phase and force him to join. This isn't a blind 2" check at the end of their Movement phase to determine if the IC is joined to a unit. You have to follow the rules for joining an IC to a unit and it does not include units moving to within 2" of a friendly IC.
|
|
 |
 |
|