Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 19:57:26
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.
|
It happened last night in a game. I figured the vehicle was for all intents and purposes "destroyed". Kill points didnt matter, it was a capture and control game anyway.
A Leman Russ Executioner attempts to enter the board after being in reserves. It entered the board going thru difficult (dangerous) terrain that was on the very board edge and makes its check. It rolled a '1' for going thru the terrain.
Hence, actually, the tank couldnt make it all the way on the board. My opponent asks me what happens, I told him I thought it was destroyed.
Correct?
|
I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!
The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 20:00:04
Subject: Re:Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
The model may overlap the edge, otherwise you'd never be able to get a Monolith onto the board.
|
I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 20:04:03
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!
|
yes but the model stops at the point in which it enters the terrain i think so it would not even make it to the board edge
hmm dunno tho i may have made that up
|
Chibi Bodge-Battle wrote:
Bedtime Horlicks malty drink: ON
Comfy Slippers: ON
and relax...
Only Slightly Crazy wrote: GO CROGGY GO!
Underhand wrote:
The answer is never the Devildog.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 20:08:33
Subject: Re:Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Was the terrain touching or up against the table edge?
I ask because:
"A result of 1 means that
the vehicle halts immediately and suffers an
Immobilised damage result, so if it was attempting to
enter difficult terrain it stops just outside."
Under "Vehicles," subsection "Vehicles and Movement," subsection "Terrain Effects."
Seems to indicate that if the difficult terrain was touching the table edge, the vehicle didn't even partially make it onto the board ("stops just outside [the terrain]"). Therefore, the vehicle would be destroyed.
However, if the vehicle was partially on the board, I can't find anything saying that a vehicle partially off the board is entirely off the board, so it'd be immobilized but still in play. He could still shoot, and the vehicle, IIRC, would be worth 50% victory points at the end of the game.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 20:09:29
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You can be partially on the board and fully, 100% satisfy the requirement to move onto the board.
Unless your terrain was perfectly flush the model will be at least 0.00001", and will be fine.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 20:10:01
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Hellacious Havoc
|
Edit again:
For the sake of the game the vehicle would be placed onto the board edge with its back against it. and immobalised
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/07 20:11:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 20:10:19
Subject: Re:Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Sslimey Sslyth
Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.
|
Mahtamori wrote:The model may overlap the edge, otherwise you'd never be able to get a Monolith onto the board.
Deepstriking?
Where does the rulebook state that? Models are supposed to be on the game board right? Half-on Half-off is not on the gameboard. Noone knows what conditions OFF the gamboard are. Perhaps its ALL Line of sight blocked...essentially if its off the 6'4" table...its not in play.
Partially off the board is partially "out of play"...sort of like partially "pregnant" Automatically Appended Next Post: SaintHazard wrote:Was the terrain touching or up against the table edge?
I ask because:
"A result of 1 means that
the vehicle halts immediately and suffers an
Immobilised damage result, so if it was attempting to
enter difficult terrain it stops just outside."
Under "Vehicles," subsection "Vehicles and Movement," subsection "Terrain Effects."
Seems to indicate that if the difficult terrain was touching the table edge, the vehicle didn't even partially make it onto the board ("stops just outside [the terrain]"). Therefore, the vehicle would be destroyed.
However, if the vehicle was partially on the board, I can't find anything saying that a vehicle partially off the board is entirely off the board, so it'd be immobilized but still in play. He could still shoot, and the vehicle, IIRC, would be worth 50% victory points at the end of the game.
It was touching the table edge.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/07 20:11:39
I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!
The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 20:20:48
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!
|
dead then
|
Chibi Bodge-Battle wrote:
Bedtime Horlicks malty drink: ON
Comfy Slippers: ON
and relax...
Only Slightly Crazy wrote: GO CROGGY GO!
Underhand wrote:
The answer is never the Devildog.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 20:24:22
Subject: Re:Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Like Nos said, you could probably finagle a millimeter or so out of it and technically claim it's on the board, and it's legally so...
...but honestly, who'd do that? I'd play this one as destroyed.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 20:26:37
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Deadshane - no such rule exists. Partially on resolves entirely and 100% the requirement for moving onto the board.
You may play it differently, but that is a houserule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 20:35:31
Subject: Re:Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
deadshane, I believe pregnancy is usually measured in weeks or months, not binary (for several reasons I will refuse to discuss analogies regarding reserve rolls, thank you). I also believe that there are no rules regarding what happens if a model is outside the board edge, only fuzzy rules regarding how close to the edge models may traverse.
|
I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 20:38:01
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Hard-Wired Sentinel Pilot
|
I'd say its destroyed, it never really made it onto the board due to failing its test.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 20:50:49
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
For simplicities sake I would just call it destroyed and leave it off the table. I think if something hasn't come on the board by the end of the game it counts as destroyed anyways.
|
GENERATION 10: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 20:52:13
Subject: Re:Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Deadshane1 wrote: Where does the rulebook state that? Models are supposed to be on the game board right?
Models cannot move off of the board, but that is not the same thing. Deadshane1 wrote:Half-on Half-off is not on the gameboard.
So how about this, is the ruler on the table? I love that image.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/07 20:52:38
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 20:55:28
Subject: Re:Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That ruler is about three times more awesome than a Leman Russ Executioner (full-size, functioning). I'd allow it to say that it is 100% on the table simply because I'd be afraid it'd kick my ass if I said otherwise.
|
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 23:19:00
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
So thats what Schrodinger was talking about!
I get it now, the ruler is simultaneously on and off the table at the same time!
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/07 23:27:02
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/07 23:32:32
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
OH-I Wanna get out of here
|
I'd put the LR on the edge of the table, immobilized, becuase I think it's a bit douchey to short someone on points (oh you loose 150 points of your 1500 point army, that sucks). I'd rather it be on the board with a chance to do something. I can see the other side of the coin though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 00:41:28
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
whalemusic360 wrote:I'd put the LR on the edge of the table, immobilized, becuase I think it's a bit douchey to short someone on points (oh you loose 150 points of your 1500 point army, that sucks). I'd rather it be on the board with a chance to do something. I can see the other side of the coin though.
But bringing in an Executioner from reserves through difficult terrain? Not the smartest decision on the part of his opponent...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/08 00:46:55
DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 00:54:20
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
In your squads, doing the chainsword tango
|
whalemusic360 wrote:I'd put the LR on the edge of the table, immobilized, becuase I think it's a bit douchey to short someone on points (oh you loose 150 points of your 1500 point army, that sucks). I'd rather it be on the board with a chance to do something. I can see the other side of the coin though.
Pffft, if he rolls his biker squadron through said terrain and rolls five "1"'s, does he get to keep his squad? He took a risk, it bit him in the arse. If the terrain is flush with the tabletop, BL chump- thats what risks are about. If it's not flush with the tabletop then its immobolized with its bum hanging out. Move a LandRaider onto the table, and you will have a portion of your tank off the field... or even better, as someone mentioned, use a monolith
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/08 00:54:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 01:43:57
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Infiltrating Hawwa'
|
Jihallah wrote:whalemusic360 wrote:I'd put the LR on the edge of the table, immobilized, becuase I think it's a bit douchey to short someone on points (oh you loose 150 points of your 1500 point army, that sucks). I'd rather it be on the board with a chance to do something. I can see the other side of the coin though.
Pffft, if he rolls his biker squadron through said terrain and rolls five "1"'s, does he get to keep his squad? He took a risk, it bit him in the arse. If the terrain is flush with the tabletop, BL chump- thats what risks are about. If it's not flush with the tabletop then its immobolized with its bum hanging out. Move a LandRaider onto the table, and you will have a portion of your tank off the field... or even better, as someone mentioned, use a monolith
Agreed.
Deadshane, it seems like you're making up rules to justify your benefit. The rulebook is not clear, and you and your opponent didn't agree on it beforehand.
4+ it, or decide before. You're not going to have the rules back you up on this one.
|
DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 09:05:17
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Well, the rulebook IS clear - if you can get even 0.000001" on, you are fine.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 09:35:18
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Well, the rulebook IS clear - if you can get even 0.000001" on, you are fine.
ref?
|
Black Templar |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 10:05:06
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Dispassionate Imperial Judge
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Well, the rulebook IS clear - if you can get even 0.000001" on, you are fine.
Agreed - 0.1" on the table is still on the table.
Additionally, if the model will not float in mid-air on the edge of the table you can take it off and just hold it in place every time you want to shoot/get shot at - see Wobbly Model Syndrome box in the movement section.
Of course, I'd probably just move the damn tank on and leave it there, immobilised, for the sake of simplicity....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 10:21:17
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
The Book wrote:If the unit has a special rule forcing it to move in a specific direction (*example*) or that could stop it from moving, the rule is ignored in the phase when it arrives from Reserve.
The unit is being affected by a special rule that could stop it from moving. Ignore the rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 10:27:26
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Arctik - incorrect. You can ignroe the *units* special rules, not the rules of terrain on the table.
Epic - from the fact the reserve rules tell you to move onto the table, without qualifying "onto" both "entirely" and "partially" satisfy this requirement.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 10:36:11
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
If that's how you choose to read it, it's still a Vehicle and hence a special rule applies.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 10:50:16
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Its not how I choose to read it, it is how the rule is written.
The rule lets you ignore Special rules of the *unit* that would prevent the unit from moving on. It does not allow you to ignore other rules that could stop you moving
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 11:06:05
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
The unit is a Vehicle. Special rules apply. You can't decide which rules are 'special'. If a vehicle moves into difficult terrain and fails its test, it is stopped from moving. Hence, by the rules as written, a vehicle unit cannot be immobilised in the phase it arrives from Reserve because that would stop them from moving. It's not like I've come across this weird phenomenon before and I'm coming from a predetermined position - that's what the rules say.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/08 11:08:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 11:13:15
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Except they dont say that.
Is it a special rule OF THE UNIT? No, it is a special rule of the terrain (difficult or dangerous terrain) and as such the allowance to ignore special rules *of the unit* does not apply as it is not a special rule *of the unit*.
It cant be made much clearer than that....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/09/08 11:20:40
Subject: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
It is not a special rule of the terrain, it is a special rule pertaining to vehicles under the 'Terrain Effects' heading in the vehicles section. It does not apply to anything but Vehicle units.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/08 11:21:40
|
|
 |
 |
|