| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 22:19:54
Subject: Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
Frater Militia
|
I searched for this and couldnt find an answer. If this has been covered please provide a link.
If a dreadnought assaults an ork vehicle with a boarding plank can the ork swing back in the same phase as the assault?
Thanks
|
Um... I think I ate your chocolate squirrel. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 22:27:02
Subject: Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
On the train headin down to delicious town
|
No I dont think so...your plank only works on your assault phase...it does state that you act as charging...
Hmmm...thinking about it I dont really know but Im inclined to say no...
|
loota boy wrote:Ah, I see you have run into the great Mephiston, Lord of Cheese! Not to worry, that block of chedder can be tied up easily with 30 boyz, can get his ass handed to him in a match with Ghazzy, and can be squigified with Zogwort. How satisfiying would that be? ....Squigfiston, Lord of gak...
grendel083 wrote:"Dis is Oddboy to BigBird, come in over."
"BigBird 'ere, go ahead, over." "WAAAAAAAAAGGGHHHH!!!! over"
"Copy 'dat, WAAAAAAAGGGHHH!!! DAKKADAKKA!!... over" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/23 22:29:15
Subject: Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
The Boarding Plank allows one embarked Ork model to make a round of attacks "as if" he were disembarked and charging, in his own assault phase. That's it. Nothing else.
Since he's not disembarked, and not actually charging, and not actually in base contact, and not actually engaged in combat, nothing else from close combat can happen. He doesn't swing if the Dread is assaulting the vehicle. When he uses the plank the dread can't swing. CR is never calculated, neither side can pile in or consolidate; nothing except what is expressly stated in the wargear description.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/23 22:30:17
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 15:35:27
Subject: Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
Frater Militia
|
Except that no where does it say "in his assault phase"
What is says (from memory, I'm at work): boarding plank allows one embarked ork to make his close combat attacks against one enemy vehicle within 2" as if disembarked and charging.
Phase is never mentioned, it is assumed that the attacks would happen during the assault phase because of the nature of the attacks and the [dated] reference to charging.
The second part to that is charging would imply that it only works in the ork turn, except isn't counter attack a counts as charging rule that occurs in the opponents turn?
I want to play this fairly without giving up a possible advantage.
|
Um... I think I ate your chocolate squirrel. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 16:20:24
Subject: Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Fair enough. There may not be an explicit prohibition on this idea. I don't have an Ork codex handy to double-check the phrasing.
A minority of 40k rules or special rules are able to be activated in the opponent's turn; most of them specify.
The BP allows him to attack "as if charging", which is usually only possible in your own turn.
Counter-Assault actually only allows you to get your bonus attack as if you were charging; it doesn't let you count as charging. The FAQ clarified that it doesn't work with Furious Assault, for example.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 16:25:51
Subject: Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Mannahnin wrote:The Boarding Plank allows one embarked Ork model to make a round of attacks "as if" he were disembarked and charging, in his own assault phase. That's it. Nothing else.
Since he's not disembarked, and not actually charging, and not actually in base contact, and not actually engaged in combat, nothing else from close combat can happen. He doesn't swing if the Dread is assaulting the vehicle. When he uses the plank the dread can't swing. CR is never calculated, neither side can pile in or consolidate; nothing except what is expressly stated in the wargear description.
"Orks often employ hinged planks that allow them to make daring attacks on nearby vehicles. A boarding plank allows a single embarked Ork to make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" exactly as if the Ork were disembarked and charging, provided neither vehicle has moved more than 12"."
My codex has no restriction concerning "his own assault phase"...
Also counter-attack does not make its user charging.
edit: ah, you were faster than me... but still, there is the exact codex quote
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/24 16:30:29
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 16:46:48
Subject: Re:Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
You can't act as if disembarked and charging during the enemy assault phase, which limits the boarding plank to working during your assault phase.
Getting charged and charging is different.
Can you disembark and charge during the enemy turn? No? Then you can't boarding plank an assaulting walker.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 17:24:56
Subject: Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Well, I don't think it's quite that simple, Dash. As he said, the BP allows him to make those attacks "as if" disembarked and charging; it doesn't actually cause him to disembark and charge.
I do think that while his idea MAY be RAW legal in the sense that it would fit in the "Fun list of RAW fun" thread, I don't think it passes the sniff test in terms of how intuitive it is and how likely opponents are to balk.
It's also a question of phrasing comparison to similar cases. IME most wargear like this which is meant to be used in your own turn uses the language "the assault phase" or "the shooting phase", and wargear/rules meant to be used in both players' turns usually say something like "in either player's assault phase".
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/24 23:42:04
Subject: Re:Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Just a quick FYI,
In the Witch Hunters book, there is a unit called Repentia who ARE allowed, (under certain conditions) to charge in the enemy assault phase.
I would Have so say that you CAN make attacks on the enemy turn.
There is nothing mentioned in the rules for the boarding plank that limit it to your turn, and you do get to make close combat attacks on the enemy turn. I do not think it even has to be a Walker attacking the vehicle. Any vehicle that is 2" away in either assault phase could be attacked....I think.
The wording is different for the wrecking ball as well, as it specifically mentions "the assault phase". There is no mention of phases or turns in the boarding plank's rules.
It is not intuitive at all however.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/02/24 23:46:12
40k: 2500 pts. All Built, Mostly Painted Pics: 1 -- 2 -- 3
BFG: 1500 pts. Mostly built, half painted Pics: 1
Blood Bowl: Complete! Pics: 1
Fantasy: Daemons, just starting Pic: 1 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/25 03:24:44
Subject: Re:Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ork players can start using boarding planks during the opposing player's turn when lash of submission works in the enemy player's shooting phase.
It's the same leap of logic involved.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/25 07:04:57
Subject: Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
Plus remember that the Sisters Repentia are from a 10 year old codex, and GW seems to be steering away from doing stuff during the other guys phase, Doom of Malentai excluded due to clueless cruddace...
Doesn't invalidate the Repentia's rule , but using the Repentia to justify this argument is a bit anorexic, IMO.
The phrasing that it allows the passenger to make it's close combat attacks as if disembarked and charging seems to RAI-Tilt it to being on your own turn, and i've never seen it played any other way, but you can Raw-Wrangle it if you must, ending in several possible 'logical' arguments that never resolve anything
I get enough guff from drive-by PK'ing my opponents vehicles as it is, without trying to argue it for every assault phase.
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/25 16:48:38
Subject: Re:Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
solkan wrote:Ork players can start using boarding planks during the opposing player's turn when lash of submission works in the enemy player's shooting phase.
It's the same leap of logic involved.
Not even close to the same. CC attacks are generaly allowed in the enemys assault phase. shooting attacks are not.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/25 18:05:43
Subject: Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
You can't charge in the enemy assault phase, nor disembark. If you make your close combat attack EXACTLY as if disembarked and charging then it can only be on your turn.
The repentia's rule allows a charge in the enemy phase instead of breaking and running (i think) but it's pretty much unique.
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/26 03:02:31
Subject: Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
Frater Militia
|
As the OP I'm going to conclude that:
1. it might be legal to use the plank in both phases. But the argument required to convince your opponent would be too long to be worth it during a game.
2. Using it is generally viewed as a douchy move.
3. Until this is covered by a FAQ or the INAT, etc I'll be planking only on my turn.
|
Um... I think I ate your chocolate squirrel. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/26 03:11:48
Subject: Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Good man. Good discussion.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/26 04:18:03
Subject: Re:Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
VoxDei wrote:solkan wrote:Ork players can start using boarding planks during the opposing player's turn when lash of submission works in the enemy player's shooting phase.
It's the same leap of logic involved.
Not even close to the same. CC attacks are generaly allowed in the enemys assault phase. shooting attacks are not.
Close combat attacks are allowed when locked in close combat, and the close combats are resolved in the order chosen by the player whose turn it is. Explain when during the enemy assault phase the boarding plank attack takes place.
The answer is exactly the same as the case for using Lash during the opponent's shooting phase.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/26 04:18:33
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/26 08:38:53
Subject: Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Ascalam wrote:You can't charge in the enemy assault phase, nor disembark. If you make your close combat attack EXACTLY as if disembarked and charging then it can only be on your turn.
The repentia's rule allows a charge in the enemy phase instead of breaking and running (i think) but it's pretty much unique.
You can't disembark in your own assault phase either. Doesn't stop you from using the boarding plank since it gives you permission to use your close combat attack anyway.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
solkan wrote:
Close combat attacks are allowed when locked in close combat, and the close combats are resolved in the order chosen by the player whose turn it is. Explain when during the enemy assault phase the boarding plank attack takes place.
The answer is exactly the same as the case for using Lash during the opponent's shooting phase.
When the enemy declares the assault...(well ok during the combat of this assault the enemy has declared). In close combat both sides get to make attacks. Shooting both sides do not get to make attacks and that's why your example of the Lash is not even close to the same thing
|
|
This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2011/02/26 08:57:31
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/26 09:24:33
Subject: Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
Interesting.
Disclaimer: I play Ork Trukks with Boarding Planks (3 in 1000-1250pts)
I play both player's assault phases. I never saw it differently than both players' models being able to make close combat attacks in both player's assault phases - ie exactly like if you assault a vehicle and then that vehicle doesn't move away in the other player's turn, you can make your close combat attacks against it again in their phase. The only difference being you wouldn't get the charge bonus (and in Orks case, Furious Charge bonus) in that particular case... I guess another reason it is odd is that you can't move within 1" of an enemy on your turn without assaulting - but you can move within 2" - ie you would never be able to move a vehicle next to an enemy model and have that model strike you in your assault phase unless you had assaulted (normally, ignoring Boarding Planks)...
I've rarely had it come up though - though that may just be a lack of games!
I usually warn my opponents of the Boarding Planks - so they will rarely enter the 2" on their turn *unless* it's a charging Dreadnought. I guess this also provides an opportunity to discuss the rule beforehand too. (I did knock down a Tau Piranha once though - a little overconfident in his meltas vs a KFF)
It has almost always been after I have moved flat-out - so I can't use the boarding plank that turn anyway (moved over 12")
The time I've been charged (by a Killa Kan) when not having moved over 12" - well the Powerklaw is still I1 and DCCW auto pen - so I didn't *have* a boarding plank at I1  (Though admittedly, I think he needed a 6 to hit - lucky guy!)
I guess the particular scenario I'd expect to happen more often (though I can't recall it happening yet!) is I move up in my turn, Boarding Plank your vehicle (whatever) - but only manage to stun or immobilise it. In your turn, you fail to destroy the Trukk. Then, similarly to actual vehicles assaults - as you haven't moved away I'd make another hit at you in your assault phase via the Boarding Plank. (The reason I've never seen it happen is I either destroy the vehicle in my turn, or, the Trukk is destroyed in theirs - but it *could* happen...)
So - I've never considered it "overpowered" enough to question the charge + furious charge in my opponent's assault phase. But I could be biased
Interested to see where this discussion goes though...
[Edit - removed a lot of unnecessary blank lines...]
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/02/26 09:27:20
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/02/28 10:25:31
Subject: Boarding plank and a dreadnought- different question
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Well, I use Battleweagons with planks and grabbin' klaws vs my common Eldar enemy. Those are a bit more durable than trukks, so his skimmers will most likely die on a 4+(klaw) unless he gets some good rearshots at the battleweagon.
Still agree with Carbide though, unless fighting fire with fire.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|