Switch Theme:

Is the Space Marine Relic Blade two handed  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Is the Space Marine Relic Blade a two-handed weapon?
Yes, it is a two-handed weapon.
No, it is not a two-handed weapon.

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Simple question:

Is the Space Marine Relic Blade two handed

Here is the quote from Page 99 of the SM codex:

"Relic blades are two-handed swords or axes sheathed in an armor-sundering power field. most have their origins in the dark days of the Horus Heresy, although some have been crafted in the long centuries since, in commemoration of other momentous events. Only a Space Marine of long and faultless service can earn the right to wield a relic blade

A relic blade counts as a power weapon whose hits are resolved at Strength 6. Due to its size and weight, a model wielding a relic blade cannot get an extra attack for an additional close combat weapon."

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps






well yes it is, but what does it matter? You can still wield it and another 2 handed weapon on a captain.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Yes, sí, نعم, да, ναί, 예, ja, ใช่, and हां.

"That's not a CLUB boy, it's a Baton!"
'What do you do with it?'
"We CLUB people with it." 
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot





Indianapolis, Indiana

Think of it as a power claymore



Attention all space marine bashing neckbeards: Nobody cares what you have to say, so stop trying and go cry yourself to sleep. 
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Battle Creek, MI

While it says it is you can still carry and Relic Blade and a Storm Shield

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Swords and Axes are NOT close combat weapons. Therefore that first line, like ALL of that paragraph, is fluff

They are one handed because a) they are a power weapon, defined as one handed and b) it then states they do not gain the bonus due to their size and weight

All entirely superfluous if you just wrote that they were two handed.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





nosferatu1001 wrote:Swords and Axes are NOT close combat weapons.

I'll just leave that here.

They are one handed because a) they are a power weapon, defined as one handed and b) it then states they do not gain the bonus due to their size and weight

And all power weapons are exactly the same, and there is no such thing as a two handed power weapon.

All entirely superfluous if you just wrote that they were two handed.

Because GW never writes redundant rules?

cmon nos - you're better than that.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Manhunter





HIDING IN METAL BAWKSES!

In this case, you can imagine it as it NEEDING two hands wo wield.

Lokas wrote:...Enemy of my enemy is kind of a dick, so let's kill him too.

"Without judgement there is no obstacle to action." ~ Kommander Oleg Strakhov
 
   
Made in gb
Servoarm Flailing Magos





Nowhere in the RAW states it is two-handed. The model is clearly capable of weilding something else in addition to the blade, and the rule specifically states you don't get the extra +1A for "additional close combat weapon", a line which would be irrelavent if it were two-handed.
QED.

Ever thought 40k would be a lot better with bears?
Codex: Bears.
NOW WITH MR BIGGLES AND HIS AMAZING FLYING CONTRAPTION 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Actually, the Howling Banshee Executioner is a 2-handed power weapon.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Zealous Shaolin




England

Wow. Games like this really bring out people's inner pedant, don't they? I understand the rules lawyering in the case of ambiguous rules that actually matter, but this distinction is completely redundant.

DeathReaper wrote:A relic blade counts as a power weapon whose hits are resolved at Strength 6. Due to its size and weight, a model wielding a relic blade cannot get an extra attack for an additional close combat weapon.


That last bit implies that the weapon is two-handed, because this is exactly how a two-handed weapon works. That, and the fluff describes it as being a two-handed weapon.

So, we have a choice between...

1) Two-handed weapon
2) One-handed weapon that is described as a two-handed weapon in the fluff and also works like a two-handed weapon.

At the end of the day, both give you the same result. I just know which one sounds more sensible to me. RAI FTW.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/02 04:10:48


 
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

rigeld2 wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Swords and Axes are NOT close combat weapons.

I'll just leave that here.

They are one handed because a) they are a power weapon, defined as one handed and b) it then states they do not gain the bonus due to their size and weight

And all power weapons are exactly the same, and there is no such thing as a two handed power weapon.

All entirely superfluous if you just wrote that they were two handed.

Because GW never writes redundant rules?

cmon nos - you're better than that.





I beg to differ:

Klaive (DE codex) - Klaives are two-handed power weapons that confer +1 str

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in ca
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet






Canada

It may not be an actual two-handed weapon, but for all intents and purposes, it functions like one. Can someone think of a situation where the distinction would actually matter?

   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

additional cc weapon for a regular power weapon.

If it's one handed you can still get the +1 atk

If the relic blade specifically states you don't get the additional attack, it's probably because you don't have a hand free, but GW is expecting easter egg hunters...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/02 04:33:06


The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in ca
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet






Canada

Ascalam wrote:additional cc weapon

If it's one handed you can still get the +1 atk


I know... I probably should have specified what I meant, but hoped I wouldn't have to. I mean, is there any actual difference between "one handed weapon that doesn't allow you to gain bonus attacks for 2 weapons" and "two handed weapon"?

   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

edited my post for clarity above.

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in ca
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet






Canada

Ascalam wrote:If the relic blade specifically states you don't get the additional attack, it's probably because you don't have a hand free, but GW is expecting easter egg hunters...


To be fair, +2S and a 3++ save is an amazing combo that I wish my Wolf Lord could take...

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Yes there is.

You can use two single-handed weapons in close combat.

You can only use one two-handed weapon in close combat.

So the question arises:

What happens when a SM honor guard squad model buys a Relic blade?

The model will now have a Power Weapon, Bolt Pistol, and Relic Blade.

How do we determine what weapons he uses in CC?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

DeathReaper wrote:Yes there is.

You can use two single-handed weapons in close combat.

You can only use one two-handed weapon in close combat.

So the question arises:

What happens when a SM honor guard squad model buys a Relic blade?

The model will now have a Power Weapon, Bolt Pistol, and Relic Blade.

How do we determine what weapons he uses in CC?


He can choose between the power weapon, gaining +1 attack from the bolt pistol, or the relic blade, gaining no additional attack.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

You have 2 choices: Relic Blade or Power Weapon and Bolt Pistol, However due to the fact you have 2 SCCW you would never get a bonus attack for 2 CCW

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

"a model wielding a relic blade cannot get an extra attack for an additional close combat weapon."

a model wielding, you have to be wielding the relic blade for it to deny the attack.

But this is already being discussed here:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/90/393443.page

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/11/02 04:45:37


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Sorry DR

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





dead account

For some reason I always thought it was two handed... I thought I read it somewhere either in the codex or a FAQ or something.

*runs off to look up codex and FAQs*
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

From the FAQ:
The rules for both the relic blade and the storm shield simply state that a model with one of these pieces of wargear cannot have +1 Attack for an additional close combat weapon. Is it therefore possible to equip a model with both a storm shield and a relic blade? (p99, 101)
The rules for two-handed weapons in the rulebook and the rules for storm shields and relic blades are not in contradiction. So you can have both a storm shield and a relic blade, which I think makes for rather cool models!

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





nosferatu1001 wrote:
Also, as pointed out earlier - the GK FAQ has told us that Fluff CAN = rules, when determining what counts as plasma you ar told to look in the fluff. This means that "melta" isnt needed in the rules for it to count, sadly


This amused me - it's from the Melta Bombs vs Stormraven thread. So if the "Two-handed" is fluff, and fluff can equal rules...

RB and SS is still a valid combination - The only restriction on a 2 handed weapon is that you cannot wield 2 CCWs. The SS isn't a CCW.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

Really?

Really?

This is the debate we're having?

We're arguing about a rule that has absolutely no effect on the game.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
Made in ca
Dour Wolf Priest with Iron Wolf Amulet






Canada

Grakmar wrote:Really?

Really?

This is the debate we're having?

We're arguing about a rule that has absolutely no effect on the game.


Thank you!

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I find it interesting that Nos argues that fluff can = rules and is now saying fluff does not equal rules. As it is, I don't think it matters if the weapon is 2-handed or not. If you use it you don't get the attack for 2 CCW. It's part of the rules. Why does it matter if it's 2-Handed?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut



Beaver Dam, WI

I think the question is can he use a SS in addition. Per the rules I would say yes. However per the rules he cannot use two relic blades to gain +1 A.

2000
2000
WIP
3000
8000 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

If he is wielding a Relic Blade he does not get +1 A for CCW (whether or not it's 2-handed has no bearing on this as it's in the rules for the weapon). Per the FAQ, you can wield both a SS and Relic Blade. I have posted the question and answer in its entirety above.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: