Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/17 13:24:51
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Orc Bully with a Peg Leg
The South
|
Been looking around for an answer on this and just havent come across it. When you are deploying using the pitched battle rules and you put out a skimmer are you placing the front edge of the base out 12 inches from the table edge or the front of the skimmer's hull out 12 inches from the table edge?
This came up in my local group's last game with Valkyries and no one could seem to find the definite answer in the BRB.
Thanks in advance
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/17 14:13:43
4,500 Points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/17 13:27:59
Subject: Re:Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
All measurements are made to the hull for movement and placement. . When being assaulted assaulting models have to reach the base or hull skimmer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/17 15:43:07
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
This means that you have to bring Valkyrie wholly on table, which means you cannot shoot all guns on the turn it arrives as Valkyrie is over 6" long.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/17 16:29:48
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Orc Bully with a Peg Leg
The South
|
Is there a section of the rulebook that defines the skimmer deployment rule about only measuring to the front of the hull? Automatically Appended Next Post: Luide wrote:This means that you have to bring Valkyrie wholly on table, which means you cannot shoot all guns on the turn it arrives as Valkyrie is over 6" long.
Yeah we didnt have any issues with that, we were just trying to find the rule about how to measure your deployment when using a skimmer (base or hull)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/17 16:31:34
4,500 Points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/17 17:18:47
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
jkpz28 wrote:Is there a section of the rulebook that defines the skimmer deployment rule about only measuring to the front of the hull?
BGB pg. 71 'Measuring Distances"
|
Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/17 18:14:58
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Orc Bully with a Peg Leg
The South
|
Thank you
|
4,500 Points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 00:29:55
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
Lawndale
|
This is not the case for Valk/Vend/Raven Flyers. Their errata makes them measure from the base for movement. Measure range from the hull, but movement is measured from the base only. This is a change to the rule that governs all other skimmers and is contained in the most recent FAQ on this subject. This does mean that in some cases, the models weapons can be an inch closer, or even off of the board.
|
11k 3k 5k 3k 2k
10k 10k 8k
3k 5k 4k 4k
Ogre 4k DElf 4k Brit 4k
DC:70+S++++G++MB+IPw40k00#+D++A++++WD251R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 02:27:51
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Orc Bully with a Peg Leg
The South
|
Can you tell me the ref# for the change you are talking about in the FAQ, I cant seem to find it.
|
4,500 Points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 02:58:16
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
axeman1n wrote:This is not the case for Valk/Vend/Raven Flyers. Their errata makes them measure from the base for movement. Measure range from the hull, but movement is measured from the base only. This is a change to the rule that governs all other skimmers and is contained in the most recent FAQ on this subject. This does mean that in some cases, the models weapons can be an inch closer, or even off of the board.
This is not true.
The only thing the FaQ did was clarify that a skimmer is only in terrain if its base is in the terrain.
You still measure ranges from the hull as normal for all vehicles, and LoS from the weapons mounting along the barrel, as normal for all vehicles.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 03:39:42
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
DR is correct. The models on the large oval flyer bases (valk/vend, stormraven, DE flyers) have certain exceptions, but for most purposes you still measure to and from the hull.
The exceptions are:
Disembarking and embarking
Contesting objectives
Difficult terrain
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 10:16:27
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
axeman1n wrote:This is not the case for Valk/Vend/Raven Flyers. Their errata makes them measure from the base for movement. Measure range from the hull, but movement is measured from the base only. This is a change to the rule that governs all other skimmers and is contained in the most recent FAQ on this subject. This does mean that in some cases, the models weapons can be an inch closer, or even off of the board.
The above is based on an incorrect reading of the FAQ about terrain for skimmers, where you only consider the base. THis does not provide ANY exception to the rules for measuring movement for skimmers to the hull of the model, and should not be taken as a correct reading of the rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 20:34:12
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Luide wrote:This means that you have to bring Valkyrie wholly on table, which means you cannot shoot all guns on the turn it arrives as Valkyrie is over 6" long.
Sure you can. Nothing says it has to come in 90 degrees to the table edge. It can be placed on an angle so that it can claim only 6" of movement for shooting.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/18 20:47:38
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
Legacy40k wrote:Luide wrote:This means that you have to bring Valkyrie wholly on table, which means you cannot shoot all guns on the turn it arrives as Valkyrie is over 6" long.
Sure you can. Nothing says it has to come in 90 degrees to the table edge. It can be placed on an angle so that it can claim only 6" of movement for shooting.
If you do that then part of the model is hanging over the table edge. With the wings the model is longer and wider than 6", which means it must move over 6" so as to not be hanging over the table edge.
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 03:42:19
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
There's literally no physical way* to move a Valk, Vendetta, or Stormraven fully onto the table using only 6" of movement. They just don't fit.
(*Well, if you took it off its flying stand and stood it on its nose or something, but that's not legit.)
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 14:49:57
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Mannahnin wrote:There's literally no physical way* to move a Valk, Vendetta, or Stormraven fully onto the table using only 6" of movement. They just don't fit.
(*Well, if you took it off its flying stand and stood it on its nose or something, but that's not legit.)
I don't have a Valk to actually try the measurements, but instead of deploying it nose first (or rotated 90 degrees so one wingtip is at the board edge), could you rotate it 45 degrees and have it fit? I guess it would depend on just how much longer than 6" the wings and body/tail of the valk are. It's entirely possible that there is no end-to-end measurement on the valk that is 6" or less.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 15:17:35
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
I have my Valkyrie in my hand, it's about 12" nose to tail with a 10" wingspan.
At 45 degree you're still looking at about 10"
I've tried every measurement, there is no way to fit it on the board moving 6". It's going to have to move 10" minimum.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 15:50:37
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
so after reading the.post I see some say.hull and some still say base...any faq ref# or page #'s yet. thanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 16:08:41
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Orc Bully with a Peg Leg
The South
|
One says base and never replied to being corrected about misunderstanding the FAQ; everyone else is saying hull in refereence to Page 71 under Skimmers Measuring Distances in the BRB.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/19 16:11:36
4,500 Points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 16:12:21
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
An image should make it clearer! The minimum space you need is 9" to get a Valkyrie on the board. No chance with a 6" move.
Hinkel wrote:so after reading the.post I see some say.hull and some still say base...any faq ref# or page #'s yet. thanks
The base is only used for embarking/disembarking and contesting objectives. Everything else uses the model itself.
Imperial Guard FAQ First question on page 3.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 16:25:03
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:An image should make it clearer! The minimum space you need is 9" to get a Valkyrie on the board. No chance with a 6" move.
Indeed it does! I figured it was something like that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 19:11:40
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
Lawndale
|
When measuring if the vehicle is off of the table, per the FAQ, what do you measure from? Off the table is off the universe. The only thing the FAQ says, to see if the vehicle is in difficult dangerous terrain or impassible, you measure to the base only. These rules overide the rules in the BRB for measuring to skimmers as they are more specific.
Prove that a valkyrie is not on the table after it has moved 6". The only way to show that it is off of the table requires you to measure if it's over top of the edge of the table. When measuring to see if it's over top of something, you use the base instead. Even if it were to be shot down, there are rules to allow it to move the minimum distance to be placed onto the table.
It's really the best way to play the vehicle. It speeds up game play, and is consistant.
|
11k 3k 5k 3k 2k
10k 10k 8k
3k 5k 4k 4k
Ogre 4k DElf 4k Brit 4k
DC:70+S++++G++MB+IPw40k00#+D++A++++WD251R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 19:18:47
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
axeman1n wrote:When measuring if the vehicle is off of the table, per the FAQ, what do you measure from? Off the table is off the universe. The only thing the FAQ says, to see if the vehicle is in difficult dangerous terrain or impassible, you measure to the base only. These rules overide the rules in the BRB for measuring to skimmers as they are more specific.
Prove that a valkyrie is not on the table after it has moved 6". The only way to show that it is off of the table requires you to measure if it's over top of the edge of the table. When measuring to see if it's over top of something, you use the base instead. Even if it were to be shot down, there are rules to allow it to move the minimum distance to be placed onto the table.
It's really the best way to play the vehicle. It speeds up game play, and is consistant.
False.
You are allowed to measure some distances to the hull.
The tail is part of the hull.
axeman1n wrote:Even if it were to be shot down, there are rules to allow it to move the minimum distance to be placed onto the table.
Rules citation? I'm not familiar with it.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 19:31:25
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Orc Bully with a Peg Leg
The South
|
IG.56A.02 – Q: What part of a Valkyrie/Vendetta
model needs to be in or on terrain in order for it to
count as being in or on the terrain piece?
A: While the Valkyrie/Vendetta is on its base, only if the base
is actually in or on the terrain would the model count as
being in or on the terrain (unless both players agree
otherwise) [clarification].
Ref: BA.38A.02, DE.46A.02, GK.37A.02
IG.56A.03 – Q: Can a Valkyrie/Vendetta model end its
movement over friendly or enemy models and can
other models end their move underneath it?
A: As long as a Valkyrie/Vendetta doesn’t end its move with
its base on top of any model or within 1” of any enemies, it
is fine to have portions of the Valkyrie/Vendetta model end
up over other models, provided they physically fit underneath
the Valkyrie/Vendetta model [clarification].
Ref: BA.38A.03, DE.46A.03, GK.37A.03
IG.56A.04 – Q: Can a Valkyrie/Vendetta end its
movement with part of the model hanging off the
table as long as its base is fully on the table?
A: No, a Valkyrie/Vendetta must end its movement with the
entire model over the table [clarification]. Note that this
means it may have to move faster than ‘combat speed’ when
moving onto the table from Reserves.
Ref: BA.38A.04, DE.46A.04, GK.37A.04
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/11 19:32:02
4,500 Points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 19:32:24
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
axeman1n wrote:When measuring if the vehicle is off of the table, per the FAQ, what do you measure from?
There's no measuring to see if a model is off the table. If part of the model is overhanging the edge, then it isn't fully on the table. The model is used here, not he base.
Prove that a valkyrie is not on the table after it has moved 6".
The Valkyrie is longer than 6" (even with pivoting). Part of the model WILL hang over the edge on a 6" move. Therefore it is not fully deployed.
The only way to show that it is off of the table requires you to measure if it's over top of the edge of the table.
Or you could look at the model. Is any part of it hanging over the edge? If it only moved 6" the answer is a definite Yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 19:32:58
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
jkpz28 wrote:INAT FAQ Citations
While good enough for many people, you can't use INAT FAQ quotes to solve a RAW discussion.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 19:35:41
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Orc Bully with a Peg Leg
The South
|
I thought the point of the FAQ was to help answer confusing RAW?
|
4,500 Points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 19:39:13
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
Auburn WA USA
|
axeman1n wrote:When measuring if the vehicle is off of the table, per the FAQ, what do you measure from?
The FAQ says nothing about stopping measurments to/from the hull during deployment. So the 'Measuring Distances' section of the BRB skimmer section still stands.
axeman1n wrote:These rules overide the rules in the BRB for measuring to skimmers as they are more specific.
Correct...and in fact they only overide the circumstances discussed in the FAQ. What the FAQ answers don't do is tell you to ignore the BRB 'measuring distances' part regarding the table edge and deployment.
axeman1n wrote:Prove that a valkyrie is not on the table after it has moved 6"
Once again, read the 'measuring distances' in the Skimmers section. If you only moved onto the table edge 6"...you'll see the hull is hanging over the edge of the table, and is now considered destroyed (per the FAQ).
axeman1n wrote:When measuring to see if it's over top of something, you use the base instead. Even if it were to be shot down, there are rules to allow it to move the minimum distance to be placed onto the table.
It's really the best way to play the vehicle. It speeds up game play, and is consistant
As far as I know everything dealing with the edge of the table either stops models from crossing that line or destroys models partially over the line. Exactly what rules do you think make exceptions for Skimmers to 'ignore' the table edges?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/11 19:40:18
Bugs and Greenskins FTW! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 19:39:57
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
jkpz28 wrote:I thought the point of the FAQ was to help answer confusing RAW?
The Games Workshop FAQs yes. The purpose of YMDC is to discuss the GW RAW. This means the BRB, relevant codexes, and relevant GW FAQs.
The INAT FAQ isn't a GW product. That doesn't mean I don't appreciate all the work that goes into it.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 19:40:38
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
It is, however, since the INAT FAQ is not written by GW, but a consortium of players, it cannot be used here as an official source. Most people play by INAT FAQ's however, as I stated, they are not "official". Edit: Ninja'd by rigeld. Again.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/05/11 19:41:05
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/05/11 19:43:38
Subject: Deployment of a Skimmer
|
 |
Orc Bully with a Peg Leg
The South
|
Ok, thanks. I thought it was a GW release. Still rather new to 40K.
|
4,500 Points
|
|
 |
 |
|