Switch Theme:

Augmented Puretide Council 1850 [Tournament Winner]  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Iron-Fist wrote:
FAQs only apply to the book it was written for. If Shrike has a specific exception, then it is granted to Shrike and Shrike alone, not to other ICs.

FAQs that rule on issues apply to all books. IIRC, an example was when, in 5th ed, the Space Wolf FAQ clarified that rage did not set off with counter attack, thus putting limits on the Tyranids as well.


Both Rage and Counter Attack are BRB USRs. Shrike is not a BRB USR. The wording of his FAQ does not in any way alter or affect the wording of Infiltrate. Again, the only way an IC can join a unit "before deployment" is if the unit goes into reserves. It is impossible for an IC to join a unit before deployment if it then starts on the table. Why? Because of how units are deployed!
To quote IC rule: "An IC can begin the game already with a unit, either by being deployed in unit coherency with it or, if the unit is in reserve, by informing your opponent of which unit it has joined." There are two and only two options: 1) Be in coherency in your deployment zone; 2) Start in reserve with the squad.

Infiltrators have Infiltrate, which requires them to deploy last: "ARE deployed last" (BRB p38). So, for your squad that does not have Infiltrate...where are they located after "all other units (friend and foe) have been deployed" (BRB p38)? If they are not deployed, then they must be in reserve. And if they are in reserve, then they cannot be infiltrating! Remember that an IC CANNOT join a unit except in two cases: if they are already on the table and in coherency, or if they are in reserve together. This falls under neither of those cases.
Shrike MIGHT have an explicit exception. But note that his FAQ does not mention Shadowsun, who has to abide by all the normal permissions and restrictions of Infiltrate.

Here's a similar example: My GK assassins have a FNP. The BRB says that FNP is a 5+, but my book says that assassins have a FNP of 6+; I must abide by the restrictions set in my own codex. It would be cheating to go against the rules that are written for my own particular model. In this case, my codex makes the USR worse; that's just something I have to deal with.
The parallel: Shrike has the Infiltrate USR. The BRB gives certain restrictions to Infiltrate, and his FAQ gives a clarification to how that works. (Although I'm still sure that has to do only with the Outflank aspect of Infiltrate).
Does Shadowsun have a special exception? No. And if we start applying all unique models' special exceptions to all other models, then FNP changes to a 6+, since that's what my assassins have to use. Or we could agree that each model has its own rules, and sometimes even special versions of BRB rules: Assassins, Shrike, and Shadowsun all included.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Iron-Fist wrote:
Um... the FAQ's are the errata... and the whole game is GW's house rules...

You're welcome to your interpretation, this is not a clear cut issue and hasn't been for a long time. I actually emailed GW about it yesterday and they say they always respond within 3 business days. *skeptical fingers crossed*


This is from GW site

What Are Amendments, Errata and FAQs?

It's helpful to people's understanding of these documents that we provide a clear distinction between Errata and FAQs.

Errata provide corrections to the errors that sometimes creep into our books. It is important to note that Errata carry the same 'authority' as the main rules and permanently modify published material; where one of our books says one thing and the errata changes this to something else, the errata takes precedence as the 'correct' version of that material.

Amendments are changes made to our rules in order to make them work within a new context; the most common example would be when a new core rulebook is released which then has a knock-on effect of invalidating existing material. They are not designed to fix newly created weaknesses or shortfalls, but simply to ensure that no rule, unit, item of equipment or whatever else is left incompatible with the current edition of the game.

FAQs, or Frequently Asked Questions are grey areas, points of confusion or places where rules can and have been interpreted in conflicting ways. For each FAQ we provide the answer as determined by the Games Development team; while these are not hard and fast rules text in the same way as Errata, they should be considered the 'official' interpretation.


So no FaQs are not RaW, but GW official RaI.

Please note that I'm not attacking your argument, that your interpretation is RaW, after all the passage you used from the SM FaQ is a replace para rather than a FaQ. I simply don't like the misconception that FaQs=RaW.

Cheers

Andrew


I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Redding, California

I first saw this list the day it was posted and i have to say I LOVE the synergy and bad ass HQ action. The only thing I would like to see is some AV14 poping ability, and maybe just a little anti-flyer.

I was wondering what you would think of droppng the hammer head and throwing in a BA stormraven. They have a much higher chance of poping AV14 and heldraks and other flyers will fall mercilessly to the ground. IMO having a storm raven fly on the board to kill two heldraks and watch as your worst match up becomes your best.

And as far as the FMC lists go just chalenge with the sword HQ i believe he has a 3+inv so your shouldnt have trouble surviving a round of combat before you hit and run. ??? or am i missing something.

Also i was wondering with overwatch and this unit, can you buff their over watch some how??? if you can even deadlier.

This lists synergy is AWESOME. And if you can keep your marines and kroot alive this list will murder most others. Thanks for the post.


NorCon 2010 - Best Overall
NorCon 2012 - Best General
Alight in the Grimdark invitational 2012 - Best General
NorCon 2013 - Player Choice
LVO Primer Tournament 2013 - Best General
NorCal 2014 ITC associate Tournament league - 1st place Know No Mercy GT "A second chance" 2016- Best General
Clash of the Titans 2015 - 2nd place
Contest of Campions #2 2015 - Best General
RageCon GT 2015 - 2nd Place "first loser"
Clash of the Titans 2016 - 2nd place... doh "Ill get it one day"
Contest of Champions #1 2016 - Best General
Contest of Champions #3 2016 - Best General
Know No Mercy GT 2016 - Best Daemons :-) "ROCK ON DAEMONS ill miss you D thirster" 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I was wondering what you would think of droppng the hammer head and throwing in a BA stormraven. They have a much higher chance of poping AV14 and heldraks and other flyers will fall mercilessly to the ground. IMO having a storm raven fly on the board to kill two heldraks and watch as your worst match up becomes your best.

I like stormravens, they are very good flyers, but they aren't that great against AV14 (only S8, AP 1 doesn't matter with only the rare glancing hit) and they are super expensive points wise. Plus they would be something for enemy AV to shoot at, where as in the current list they are just wasted points.

And as far as the FMC lists go just chalenge with the sword HQ i believe he has a 3+inv so your shouldnt have trouble surviving a round of combat before you hit and run. ??? or am i missing something.

Yeah that's a good idea. It's only a 4++, but if he doesn't have any wounds on him yet he has a good chance of surviving.

Also i was wondering with overwatch and this unit, can you buff their over watch some how??? if you can even deadlier.

Monster hunter still works in overwatch, but beyond that there is nothing in this list that can help that much. Not sure what else to add, I can't think of any way for them to gain preferred enemy or anything like that.
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el





United States

 AndrewC wrote:
Iron-Fist wrote:
Um... the FAQ's are the errata... and the whole game is GW's house rules...

You're welcome to your interpretation, this is not a clear cut issue and hasn't been for a long time. I actually emailed GW about it yesterday and they say they always respond within 3 business days. *skeptical fingers crossed*


This is from GW site

What Are Amendments, Errata and FAQs?

It's helpful to people's understanding of these documents that we provide a clear distinction between Errata and FAQs.

Errata provide corrections to the errors that sometimes creep into our books. It is important to note that Errata carry the same 'authority' as the main rules and permanently modify published material; where one of our books says one thing and the errata changes this to something else, the errata takes precedence as the 'correct' version of that material.

Amendments are changes made to our rules in order to make them work within a new context; the most common example would be when a new core rulebook is released which then has a knock-on effect of invalidating existing material. They are not designed to fix newly created weaknesses or shortfalls, but simply to ensure that no rule, unit, item of equipment or whatever else is left incompatible with the current edition of the game.

FAQs, or Frequently Asked Questions are grey areas, points of confusion or places where rules can and have been interpreted in conflicting ways. For each FAQ we provide the answer as determined by the Games Development team; while these are not hard and fast rules text in the same way as Errata, they should be considered the 'official' interpretation.


So no FaQs are not RaW, but GW official RaI.

Please note that I'm not attacking your argument, that your interpretation is RaW, after all the passage you used from the SM FaQ is a replace para rather than a FaQ. I simply don't like the misconception that FaQs=RaW.

Cheers

Andrew

And yet, they are RAW. Games-Workshop makes the rules. An FAQ comes out that adjusts something, that thing is adjusted. That's how it works, you don't get to ignore FAQs because you don't like them.

And Iron-Fist, please point out how a BA librarian can use a power on the Farsight bomb? They aren't battle brothers. You can't use powers on Allies of Convenience.

The Bomb should be Deep-struck in anyway. Prevents not only the whole "infiltrate" issue, but any confusion about who can go with what when. Everything in reserves, the come out, shenanigans ensue.
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






 McNinja wrote:

And Iron-Fist, please point out how a BA librarian can use a power on the Farsight bomb? They aren't battle brothers. You can't use powers on Allies of Convenience.


Except he's not targeting a friendly unit or an enemy unit or even targeting anything at all. The cover save granted by the BA Libby is to all units within 6" of the Librarian. As long as a part of the farsight bomb is within 6" of the Librarian, the bomb gets a 5+ cover that would be modified to 2+ thanks to shadowsun.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/29 18:10:43


 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el





United States

Mulletdude wrote:
 McNinja wrote:

And Iron-Fist, please point out how a BA librarian can use a power on the Farsight bomb? They aren't battle brothers. You can't use powers on Allies of Convenience.


Except he's not targeting a friendly unit or an enemy unit or even targeting anything at all. The cover save granted by the BA Libby is to all units within 6" of the Librarian. As long as a part of the farsight bomb is within 6" of the Librarian, the bomb gets a 5+ cover that would be modified to 2+ thanks to shadowsun.
Ah, well that works then. Nice little exploit there

Honestly, if you infiltrated that close to my 1850 eldar army, I'd tear you a new one. Eldar have the capacity to field a crapton of AP2. As for the Wraithknight, you might have Hit and Run, but the WK is also I5 and you all hit at the same time. You have a lot of attacks that don't hurt me and the ones that do (Farsight's Dawn Blade) won't do any significant damage.

I like the list. I've thought of doing something similar, but I lacked the money to make it a reality at the time. Against a scant few matchups, you'll have trouble (flyer-heavy lists, GK deathstars*, fast AP2 spam eldar**), but against everything not competitive, you'll wreck face, as you did in the tournament.

*A word on GK deathstars - bear in mind that those Missiles will only do so much, and if you're in plasma range, you're also in Psycannon range. 4 S7 AP4 rending shots per Psycannon, and if they're smart they'll have a bunch. If you get into CC, Halberds strike before Farsight, then swords, then everything else, then Daemonhammers. That is not something you will live to hit and run from.

** Also a word on AP2 eldar - honestly, these will give you a run for your money. D-Scythes will slaughter the entire unit in a turn. A friend of mine managed 40 hits on a single unit with his Wraithguard. Granted, that was prime positioning, but still, it makes you think. Wraithknights with Suncannons, Vypers and War walkers with Starcannons, and lots of troop-mounted shurikens will kill you, and since you have no AA, a single Crimson Hunter will throw a wrench into your schemes.

Using Shadowsun as the warlord offers one option (staying away from infiltration, because i don't want to get into that). Use the 3d6 boost to move fast upfield. You may get shot up, but hey, cover. If you use Farsight as the WL, you have another option; deep strike without scatter. I favor the DS option, but hey.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/07/29 18:36:20


 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






 McNinja wrote:

Using Shadowsun as the warlord offers one option (staying away from infiltration, because i don't want to get into that). Use the 3d6 boost to move fast upfield. You may get shot up, but hey, cover. If you use Farsight as the WL, you have another option; deep strike without scatter.


I'd like to know an official stance on that too. I really hate being left out in the open for that ruling. It's what is holding me back from buying tau
   
Made in us
Screaming Shining Spear





Central Pennsylvania

I could also make an equally nasty Eldar bomb of doom if I summarily ignored the rules as written and made up my own interpretations. :-P

Okay, seriously though. It is a nasty bomb, and local kids will have issues playing against it. But never will experienced GT players have a problem manhandling this list with movement and forcing you to have to expose yourself to something...be it out of LoS assaulters(Striking Scorpions) or the oncoming reserves with ignore-cover (Serpents)

Farseer Faenyin
7,100 pts Yme-Loc Eldar(Apoc Included) / 5,700 pts (Non-Apoc)
Record for 6th Edition- Eldar: 25-4-2
Record for 7th Edition -
Eldar: 0-0-0 (Yes, I feel it is that bad)

Battlefleet Gothic: 2,750 pts of Craftworld Eldar
X-wing(Focusing on Imperials): CR90, 6 TIE Fighters, 4 TIE Interceptors, TIE Bomber, TIE Advanced, 4 X-wings, 3 A-wings, 3 B-wings, Y-wing, Z-95
Battletech: Battlion and Command Lance of 3025 Mechs(painted as 21st Rim Worlds) 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





Philadelphia

A user named Teschio on here just allies in a vanilla SM Libby with gate. You then deploy
Normally and just gate with 24" T1. Problem solved....until the new SM codex completely changes gate haha.

Rule #1 is Look Cool.  
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Teschio is using Gate in a way that is illegal just as much as Iron fist here. But teschio has a much better Farsight bomb build. A proper bomb is probably the most powerful build out there right now. Its only really bad competitive match up is double death&despair Cronair.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el





United States

 FlingitNow wrote:
Teschio is using Gate in a way that is illegal just as much as Iron fist here. But teschio has a much better Farsight bomb build. A proper bomb is probably the most powerful build out there right now. Its only really bad competitive match up is double death&despair Cronair.
Not as far as I can see. Gate uses Deep Strike the same way a veil of darkness does to move, and since Farsight does not scatter when deep striking, the bomb can move 24" (assuming the Librarian gets the power off) and land with impunity.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Farsight does not scatter when he ARRIVES by deepstrike the DS rules define the arriving part as coming from reserves. Hence it does not work with GoI as that merely places you using the DS rules.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre






 FlingitNow wrote:
Farsight does not scatter when he ARRIVES by deepstrike the DS rules define the arriving part as coming from reserves. Hence it does not work with GoI as that merely places you using the DS rules.


This is correct. Arriving refers to entering from reserves, Gate does not satisfy the requirement for Through Boldness, Victory.

40k is 100% Skill +/- 50% Luck

Zagman's 40k Balance Errata 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





Philadelphia

Ally SM librarian. Gate of infinity never scattering. Problem solved....until they completely change GoI in the codex lol.

Rule #1 is Look Cool.  
   
Made in fi
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor




Finland

 The Shrike wrote:
Ally SM librarian. Gate of infinity never scattering. Problem solved....until they completely change GoI in the codex lol.

You are encouraging him to play against the rules? Cool.

2013 Wins/Losses in Tournaments
Necrons (with various allies ): 9/3 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The Bomb should be Deep-struck in anyway. Prevents not only the whole "infiltrate" issue, but any confusion about who can go with what when. Everything in reserves, the come out, shenanigans ensue.

I thought the same thing... until you don't get him in on turn 2 and your are absolutely screwed. This unit is too expensive not to be on the field, shooting every turn. It needs to deploy, normally or by infiltrate it doesnt really matter which.

*A word on GK deathstars - bear in mind that those Missiles will only do so much, and if you're in plasma range, you're also in Psycannon range. 4 S7 AP4 rending shots per Psycannon, and if they're smart they'll have a bunch. If you get into CC, Halberds strike before Farsight, then swords, then everything else, then Daemonhammers. That is not something you will live to hit and run from.

When a deathstar has 24'' range and moves at infantry speeds... why get in that range? At worst, you pick a side and just plink away at it while zipping away to a perfect 31'' from anything meaner than storm bolters every turn. Even then, 4x psycannons will inflict 1.4 wounds a turn against a 2+ cover save.

** Also a word on AP2 eldar - honestly, these will give you a run for your money. D-Scythes will slaughter the entire unit in a turn. A friend of mine managed 40 hits on a single unit with his Wraithguard. Granted, that was prime positioning, but still, it makes you think. Wraithknights with Suncannons, Vypers and War walkers with Starcannons, and lots of troop-mounted shurikens will kill you, and since you have no AA, a single Crimson Hunter will throw a wrench into your schemes.

Who cares about AP2 when you have a 2+ cover save? Those highly unlikely 40 hits would do 3 wounds. Crimson hunters are terribad, I would literally ignore it the whole game. Vypers and War Walkers are this unit's perfect target and again can't get through the cover save.

Flyers are a weakness, though.

Okay, seriously though. It is a nasty bomb, and local kids will have issues playing against it. But never will experienced GT players have a problem manhandling this list with movement and forcing you to have to expose yourself to something...be it out of LoS assaulters(Striking Scorpions) or the oncoming reserves with ignore-cover (Serpents)

It would take some seriously lucky play to put a unit that moves 6+3d6'' a turn in a position where they can be assaulted by something they can't shoot first. And keeping the serpents in reserve would be perfect: let them come on piece meal and rely on their lil' pinging shots rather than their cargo.

This is correct. Arriving refers to entering from reserves, Gate does not satisfy the requirement for Through Boldness, Victory.

Another argument that goes deep into the semantics of what "arriving" means. Do they mean arriving from reserve? Do they mean "arriving on the table"? It isn't clear. As it is, I'll probably be deploying my Puretide Council normally and just attaching Shadowsun during the infiltration phase to avoid this argument entirely lol.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Who cares about AP2 when you have a 2+ cover save? Those highly unlikely 40 hits would do 3 wounds


Your maths is off here. Not that he'd get anything like 40 hits with 5 flamers unless you are a complete moron. But you are T4 so 40 hits = 20 wounds 7 of which cause ID. With no saves allowed that is your bomb toast. But as stated you'd have to be a complete moron to let that happen. You'd just kill the D-Scythe Serpent first and then they move 6" a turn so you can deal with them at your leisure.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




LoL, yeah, I was looking at the heavy version which is just blast, not template. Good catch.
   
Made in it
Regular Dakkanaut




FlingitNow wrote:Teschio is using Gate in a way that is illegal


No it's not

FlingitNow wrote:But teschio has a much better Farsight bomb build. A proper bomb is probably the most powerful build out there right now. Its only really bad competitive match up is double death&despair Cronair.


Yes, i know my list is cool I don't really agree on the double D&D unit as a hard counter though... sure, if he hits you with both units, you are toast. But the trick in this match-up is to never get out of your deployment zone until those two scythes come in... so i have a turn to kill them before they can shoot at the bomb, and a turn is all i need.

FlingitNow wrote:Farsight does not scatter when he ARRIVES by deepstrike the DS rules define the arriving part as coming from reserves. Hence it does not work with GoI as that merely places you using the DS rules.


Is it specifically written that the no-scatter part applies only when arriving from Reserve (like the Interception rule, for example)? No, it's not. The fact that normal deep-strike arrives from Reserve is not enough to assume that if i don't come from Reserve i don't benefit from that Trait. GoI follows all deep-strike rules, therefore the Trait applied to it without any problem. Until a FAQ comes out of course, i am sure this is not the way GW intended the rule to work, but it's the way it works... well, in October this won't matter anymore since the new SM codex will kill the list for good... but until now, it's totally legal.

BTW, i never had any issue with this rule in any tournament i attended to with that list. No opponent complained, and no judge ruled against me. And i have been playing my list a lot in tournaments (winning them, ofc, because the list is severely unbalanced )

Oh, i was almost forgetting: about the Infiltrate thing, of course you can't infiltrate with Shadowsun! Shrike works differently because it's specifically written that it does, but this is not enough to assume that every IC with Infiltrate works in the same way. The best you can do is put Shadowsun just 2" outside of your deployment zone, in coherency with the unit that is inside it. Not really a big deal....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/30 14:22:27


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Is it specifically written that the no-scatter part applies only when arriving from Reserve (like the Interception rule, for example)? No, it's not.


The Tau codex disagrees with you here. See page 32 "Your Warlord, and any unit he joins, does not scatter when ARRIVING by Deep Strike" emphasis mine. So when don't you scatter yeap when you are arriving by deep strike. The deep strike rules specify that this is when you are coming from reserve. Lots of other rules have had similar wording and no tournament I know has allowed any of those to work with GoI. That you've gotten away with it doesn't mean it is legal.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in it
Regular Dakkanaut




Technically speaking, the unit always "arrives by deep-strike" ... this is because the GoI wording says that the unit is removed from the table, and then deployed back within 24" of its original position. You imply that the word "arriving" automatically means "arriving from Reserve", but you can't quote a rule that supports that. Because there is none... Is it an exploit? Certainly. But, RaW, it works...

And it's not about "getting away with it", no tournament judge has ever ruled against me, and basically everyone i know agrees with my interpretation. Which they should, since there is nothing against it in the rules
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Page 36 Deep strike rule disagrees with you. Look at the section titled "Arriving by Deep Strike".

BrB page 36 wrote: Roll for the ARRIVAL of all deep striking units as specified in the rules for RESERVES and then deploy them as follows:


What is this telling us about what constitutes arriving from deepsstrike? As you can see this clearly states arriving is from reserve, you then deploy using the rules listed. The GoI jumps to that second part as it does not involve a reserves rule it therefore is not arriving by deep strike...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre






"ARRIVING FROM RESERVES
At the start of your Turn Two, you must roll aD6 for each
unit being held in reserve - these are known as Reserve
Rolls. If the roll is a 3 or more, that unit arrives this turn. If
the roll is less than 3 it remains in reserve and is rolled for
again next turn."
BRB Pg124

The BRB tells us exactly what arriving means. Arriving from reserves. Gate uses the DS rules for scatter etc it does not let a unit rearrive from reserves as nothing has placed them back into reserves.

The argument is by no means conclusive and should be FAQed, but with the new dex on the horizon that is unlikely. Either way, I'd challenge it and bring it to a TO, something your opponents seem to have not done.

40k is 100% Skill +/- 50% Luck

Zagman's 40k Balance Errata 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el





United States

 FlingitNow wrote:
Page 36 Deep strike rule disagrees with you. Look at the section titled "Arriving by Deep Strike".

BrB page 36 wrote: Roll for the ARRIVAL of all deep striking units as specified in the rules for RESERVES and then deploy them as follows:


What is this telling us about what constitutes arriving from deepsstrike? As you can see this clearly states arriving is from reserve, you then deploy using the rules listed. The GoI jumps to that second part as it does not involve a reserves rule it therefore is not arriving by deep strike...
It means that no matter what, you always arrive from deep strike. The gate of infinity power tells you to use deep strike rules when placing the models. They still arrive by deep strike, you just aren't rolling for the arrival out of reserves, because they weren't in reserves. If you had to be in reserves in order to deep strike, God would not work at all. But it does, because you are told to use the deep strike rules. Which includes automatically arriving.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





That's not what the rules are telling us. DS tells us it has two distinct parts one is arriving which requires a reserves roll, the other is deployment by DS. GoI jumps straight to the second part it can not be arriving because there is no reserves roll. The rules are very explicit here. If you want GoI to trigger arriving by deep strike you need to find the rule that states GoI rolls for reserves or states you auto arrive from reserve or it to state to arrive by deep strike. You'll notice no such rules exist...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in it
Regular Dakkanaut




FlingitNow wrote:Page 36 Deep strike rule disagrees with you. Look at the section titled "Arriving by Deep Strike".

BrB page 36 wrote: Roll for the ARRIVAL of all deep striking units as specified in the rules for RESERVES and then deploy them as follows:


What is this telling us about what constitutes arriving from deepsstrike? As you can see this clearly states arriving is from reserve, you then deploy using the rules listed. The GoI jumps to that second part as it does not involve a reserves rule it therefore is not arriving by deep strike...


The phrase you quoted applies to arrival from Reserve. I mean, you also used capital letter for the word RESERVE Does the same phrase apply to a unit that does not arrive from Reserve? Is "arrival" a synonym of "arrival from Reserve"? I don't believe it is, and nowhere in the BRB you will find something like that. Is GoI just a 24" movement with scatter? No, it's a deep-strike. Which means all rules for deep-strike apply: mishaps, impossibility to assault, etc. This includes Farsight's Trait as well. Sure, the thing needs to be FAQed, and i am pretty sure if such a FAQ will arrive it will say Farsight's Trait doesn't work with GoI. But until such a FAQ, it does work. You make the mistake of saying that "arriving" means only from Reserve, but there is no rule supporting that.

You want another proof? BRB, page 422, Gate of Infinity (which btw in every tournament around here is applied to the SM power as well, since it's obviously the same power but with much clearer wording): "It then immediately arrives using the rules for Deep Strike". Well well well, it seems like the unit ARRIVES using the deep-strike rules And since it arrives, it does not scatter.

Zagman wrote:"ARRIVING FROM RESERVES
At the start of your Turn Two, you must roll aD6 for each
unit being held in reserve - these are known as Reserve
Rolls. If the roll is a 3 or more, that unit arrives this turn. If
the roll is less than 3 it remains in reserve and is rolled for
again next turn."
BRB Pg124

The BRB tells us exactly what arriving means. Arriving from reserves. Gate uses the DS rules for scatter etc it does not let a unit rearrive from reserves as nothing has placed them back into reserves.

The argument is by no means conclusive and should be FAQed, but with the new dex on the horizon that is unlikely. Either way, I'd challenge it and bring it to a TO, something your opponents seem to have not done.


Interesting, you quote the "arriving from Reserve" paragraph to prove that "arriving" means "arriving from Reserve"... sometimes you guys are funny

That phrase applies to units in Reserve (obviously), you have nothing that enables you to extend it to any unit. Find me in the BRB (or in a codex, or in a FAQ, or anywhere...) where it specifically says that "arriving" means only "from Reserve", and you will be right. Until then....

Oh, my opponents (some of them at least) brought it to TOs and judges. They agreed with me every single time. And again, they should have, because i am right


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 FlingitNow wrote:
If you want GoI to trigger arriving by deep strike you need to find the rule that states GoI rolls for reserves or states you auto arrive from reserve or it to state to arrive by deep strike. You'll notice no such rules exist...


Sure it does, BRB page 422

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/30 16:18:28


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Sorry crossed purposes GoI from Telekinesis does involve arriving by Deep Strike and would work with Farsight. GoI in the SM book power does not.

The section I quoted tells you that arriving by deep strike is arriving from reserve. I highlighted reserve to illustrate that. Read the non-capitalised words too. So this is the rule in the BrB you are looking for that tells you arriving from deep strike is arriving from reserves.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

And since the SM GoI doesn't work, the tactic relies on a random roll on the Telekenesis table...which makes it undependable, and thus a not-very-good tactic!

Edit: Comparison of the SM GoI to the BRB GoI
Marine dex wrote:
The Librarian, and any unit he is with, are removed from the tabletop and immediately placed back together anywhere within 24" using the deep strike rules.

BRB wrote:
Remove the target unit from the board. it then immediately arrives using the rules for Deep Strike.


There's a clear difference in wording.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/07/30 19:53:35


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Wow a bunch of interesting comments, even on this ol' thread!

Yes, i know my list is cool

I'd be interested to check out your version of the Council, if you wanna post a link!

Oh, i was almost forgetting: about the Infiltrate thing, of course you can't infiltrate with Shadowsun! Shrike works differently because it's specifically written that it does, but this is not enough to assume that every IC with Infiltrate works in the same way. The best you can do is put Shadowsun just 2" outside of your deployment zone, in coherency with the unit that is inside it. Not really a big deal....

This actually came up on 3++ yesterday... and a lot of people (Abusepuppy for one) were on my side of it.
http://www.3plusplus.net/2013/07/tau-codex-review-commander-shadowsun/

in October this won't matter anymore since the new SM codex will kill the list for good... but until now, it's totally legal.

I'm kinda excited to see what that means for Tau. That excitement is like 100% the reason why GW introduced allies.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K Army Lists
Go to: