just dropped so time for a new thread (the old one
was 166 pages of more or less YMDC
bait and now potentially outdated info).
[Copy/pasted for the lazy][spoiler]ERRATA
Page 86 – Night Scythe, Transport, Transport Capacity
Change the entry to read:
‘Fifteen models. A Night Scythe can transport
Q: Could you please clarify Necron tesla weapons? If you roll a
6 to hit, do you have to roll to hit with the additional hit or is
A: The extra hits are automatic – you do not need to
make any more To Hit rolls.
Q: Do Canoptek Wraiths and C’tan suffer the Initiative penalty
when charging through terrain, despite their special rules which
allow them to treat other models and terrain as if they were open
ground when moving?
Q: Do the Wraithflight and Immune to Natural Law rules work
only in the movement phase or do they work during any kind of
movement, such as Run, charge and Consolidation moves?
A: The Wraithflight and Immune to Natural Law rules
take effect any time the model moves in any phase.
Q: Can Nemesor Zahndrekh accumulate additional Victory
Points in Maelstrom of War missions by generating Warlord
Traits from the Tactical Traits using his Adaptive Tactics
Q: Does a penetrating hit that was saved (by Jinking or cover)
still cause quantum shielding to deactivate?
Q: Does the Lance special rule work against
Q: Can a unit embark on a Night Scythe other than
Q: The C’tan Shard of the Nightbringer’s Gaze of Death special
rule occurs in the Shooting phase, but isn’t a shooting attack.
Can it be used in close combat? Can it be used in Overwatch?
A: Gaze of Death is not a shooting attack, so cannot be
used to fire Overwatch. It can, however, be used even if
the C’tan Shard of the Nightbringer is locked in combat,
either against the unit he is locked in combat with
or against another enemy unit within range and line
Q: Can Eldar Warp Spiders use their Flickerjump special rule
to avoid the C’tan Shard of the Nightbringer’s Gaze of Death?
Q: In the Canoptek Harvest Formation, can you only
include a single Canoptek Spyder or a single unit (i.e. 1-3
A: You can only include a single Canoptek Spyder model.
Q: If a unit from the Canoptek Harvest Formation started
the Movement phase within 12" of the Formation’s Canoptek
Spyder, then moved out of range later in the phase, do they
immediately lose the benefits of Adaptive Subroutines?
A: The effects always last until the start of your next
Movement phase, even if units proceed to move
out of range or the Formation’s Canoptek Spyder is
Q: Can units from a Canoptek Harvest that are currently
benefitting from Reanimation Protocols as a result of their
Formation’s Adaptive Subroutines also benefit from Orikan the
Diviner’s Master Chronomancer special rule?
A: Yes. In fact, they are affected by any and all modifiers
that apply to Reanimation Protocols whilst utilising
Adaptive Subroutines to gain that special rule.
Q: If Canoptek Wraiths from a Canoptek Harvest have
transdimensional beamers and the Shred special rule is chosen
as their Formation’s Adaptive Subroutines, if they started the
movement phase within 12" of the Canoptek Spyder, do their
weapons benefit from the special rule as well, or just their close
A: Just their close combat attacks.
Q: Can a Triarch Praetorian fire with its rod of covenant in the
Shooting phase, and still use its melee profile in the subsequent
Q: Is the Transcendent C’tan in Codex: Necrons intended to
replace the one in Warhammer 40,000: Escalation?
Q: How many Powers of the C’tan can you fire in each
A: A model armed with Powers of the C’tan uses them
as a ranged weapon, so only one can be used in each
Q: How does the Obelisk’s Gravity Pulse special rule interact
with Flying Monstrous Creatures? Does it force a Dangerous
Terrain test even though they are usually immune to these tests?
Q: Can Necrons decrease their Reanimation Protocol rolls
to less than 4+ for any reason, as with the Infinite Phalanx
Q: When fielding a Decurion Detachment (giving models
within it with Reanimation Protocols a +1 bonus to their
Reanimation Protocols rolls), how do further modifiers to
Reanimation Protocols (for having a Cryptek in the unit, for
example) interact with the -1 modifier from the Instant Death
A: The end result can never be improved beyond a
4+ after all modifiers (both positive and negative)
have been applied. In this situation, the required
Reanimation Protocols roll would therefore be 4+ after
the three relevant modifiers (two +1 modifiers and one
-1 modifier) had been applied.
Q: If a unit of Deathmarks fires at a Gargantuan Monstrous
Creature on the turn they arrive from Deep Strike Reserve,
does their Hunters from Hyperspace special rule (enabling
them to wound on a 2+ with shooting attacks) take precedence
over the rule that says that Sniper weapons (like their synaptic
disintegrators) always wound a Gargantuan Creature on a 6+?
Q: Can Necron characters embark upon a Ghost Ark on their
own, or must they be attached to a unit of Necron Warriors to
A: They are free to embark on their own if they wish.
Q: What are the firing arcs of the weapons mounted on Doom
Scythes and Night Scythes?
A: Treat the death ray and twin-linked tesla destructors
mounted on Doom Scythes and Night Scythes as hull-
mounted weapons (giving them 45° lines of sight).
Q: What are the firing arcs of the Obelisk and Tesseract Vault’s
A: For the purposes of establishing firing arcs, treat each
tesla sphere as a sponson-mounted weapon with a 180°
Q: Can a unit charge on the same turn it uses the Veil
Q: Can a unit with an attached Independent Character with
the Veil of Darkness be deployed in Deep Strike Reserve?
A: No – unless the unit already has Deep Strike from
Q: Can the Monolith use its eternity gate on the turn it arrives
from Deep Strike Reserve?
Q: Can Jet Pack Infantry use a Monolith’s eternity gate?
Q: If a Monolith fires its particle whip, are its gauss flux arcs
forced to fire Snap Shots?
Q: Can Necron models benefit from their Reanimation
Protocols special rule before testing to see if is removed from
play by attacks such as Space Wolves’ Helfrost weapons or the
Ravenwing Dark Talon’s stasis bomb?
A: Yes. Necron Reanimation Protocols are taken at the
same time as Feel No Pain rolls would be, to potentially
avoid suffering unsaved Wounds (and any ensuing tests
that suffering an unsaved Wound may cause).
Q: Can cover saves be taken against Imotekh’s Lord of the
Q: Do Night Scythes taken as Dedicated Transports for units
from a Judicator Battalion gain the Formation’s Special Rules?
Q: When included in the Acquisition Phalanx Warhammer
40,000: Apocalypse Formation, Trazyn the Infinite has to
remain part of that unit. If he is subsequently slain, does he
have to leave the unit to return to battle as part of his updated
Surrogate Hosts special rule?
Q: When using a Retribution Phalanx, how exactly do
you deploy returning units of Scarabs and Warriors, and
what actions can they perform on the turn they arrive in
A: Use the rules for Deep Strike; the first model placed
must be within 3" of the Formation’s Necron Overlord,
but the rest of the unit will not scatter. Units arriving in
this manner can Run or shoot, but cannot charge, as per
the normal Deep Strike rules. Any models which cannot
be placed are destroyed.