Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 03:59:42
Subject: Doom of Malan'tai Spirit Leech and Skyshield landing pad
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
You guys keep forgetting that a Leadership test is taken. Exactly like a Nova.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 04:06:39
Subject: Doom of Malan'tai Spirit Leech and Skyshield landing pad
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Happyjew wrote:You guys keep forgetting that a Leadership test is taken. Exactly like a Nova.
But taken by the wrong unit - see?!? Another difference!
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 04:13:07
Subject: Doom of Malan'tai Spirit Leech and Skyshield landing pad
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
It has more things in common with a nova, than with the Soulbalze rule.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 04:19:58
Subject: Doom of Malan'tai Spirit Leech and Skyshield landing pad
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 04:23:31
Subject: Doom of Malan'tai Spirit Leech and Skyshield landing pad
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Disagree all you want, that does not make it true.
A nova power effects all units within a set distance, just like Spirit Leech.
A nova power it is used in the shooting phase, just like Spirit Leech.
It has one thing in common with soulblaze that is is a special rule.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 04:45:36
Subject: Doom of Malan'tai Spirit Leech and Skyshield landing pad
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:
Disagree all you want, that does not make it true.
A nova power effects all units within a set distance, just like Spirit Leech.
A nova power it is used in the shooting phase, just like Spirit Leech.
It has one thing in common with soulblaze that is is a special rule.
And you can pretend that "it's not a psychic power" is just one instance that its dissimilar instead of
1) requiring a Psychic Test - Novas (obviously) require one, Spirit Leech doesn't.
2) targeting all units within range - Novas target, Spirit Leech doesn't.
3) hitting all units within range (a Nova would cause a Grounding test. Spirit Leech doesn't)
4) Novas have a shooting profile. Spirit Leech does not.
5) Novas are Psyker powers. Spirit Leech is not.
6) Novas allow a DtW roll. Spirit Leech does not.
7) Novas cannot effect models/units that are immune to Psychic powers. Spirit Leech can.
Edit: 8) Novas require Warp Charge expenditure - completely forgot about this one.
That's 8 differences wrapped up in your one line. Please don't pretend that's just one difference.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/15 04:47:22
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 04:50:02
Subject: Doom of Malan'tai Spirit Leech and Skyshield landing pad
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Spirit leech targets all units within range. If it hits them then they are a target of the power. (So that is 2 and 3 taken care of)
your #1, #5,#6,#7 all fall under the fact that Nova's are Psychic powers, and SL is not...
So the only difference is #4 (Which is covered by the fact that novas are psychic powers and SL is not).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 04:52:13
Subject: Doom of Malan'tai Spirit Leech and Skyshield landing pad
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:Spirit leech targets all units within range. If it hits them then they are a target of the power. (So that is 2 and 3 taken care of)
Citation required. The codex does not say that.
your #1, #5,#6,#7 all fall under the fact that Nova's are Psychic powers, and SL is not...
That's... Kind of my point. You're wrapping them all up into one difference. That's disingenuous.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 04:58:12
Subject: Doom of Malan'tai Spirit Leech and Skyshield landing pad
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
rigeld2 wrote: DeathReaper wrote:Spirit leech targets all units within range. If it hits them then they are a target of the power. (So that is 2 and 3 taken care of)
Citation required. The codex does not say that.
Spirit leech P. 58 Nid Dex. (The part that tells us that every unit within 6 inches is effected).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 04:59:11
Subject: Doom of Malan'tai Spirit Leech and Skyshield landing pad
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:rigeld2 wrote: DeathReaper wrote:Spirit leech targets all units within range. If it hits them then they are a target of the power. (So that is 2 and 3 taken care of)
Citation required. The codex does not say that.
Spirit leech P. 58 Nid Dex. (The part that tells us that every unit within 6 inches is effected).
And where does that say targeted again?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 05:00:58
Subject: Doom of Malan'tai Spirit Leech and Skyshield landing pad
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The part that tells us that every unit within 6 inches is effected means those units it affects are the target of the power.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/15 05:01:12
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 05:01:49
Subject: Doom of Malan'tai Spirit Leech and Skyshield landing pad
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
DeathReaper wrote:The part that tells us that every unit within 6 inches is effected means those units it effects are the target of the power.
Citation?
Targeted has a specific meaning in 40k. As such, you need to prove your assertion.
Edit: Your stance means that the DoM can only ever assault a unit within 6". Also, you're allowing the DoM to target during the opponents turn.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/15 05:02:53
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/15 10:41:07
Subject: Doom of Malan'tai Spirit Leech and Skyshield landing pad
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:The part that tells us that every unit within 6 inches is effected means those units it affects are the target of the power.
Actually that is not a leap you can make. Target and Effect are two different items in 40k
If you fire a blast that scatters into a close combat, in no way do you ever Target any unit in that close combat, but you definitely do Effect them
|
|
 |
 |
|