Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:19:12
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners
|
Am I the only one that feels that the FAQ for Nids made them a bit more viable considering that we now have a unit that can assualt when coming in from reserve?
Also somone mentioned that Nids FMC got nerfed...how?
|
5000pts
5000pts
5000pts
3000pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:19:16
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Shots resolved at a Zooming Flyer can only be resolved as Snap Shots (unless the modelor weaponhas the Skyfire specialrule,as described on page 42).Template, Blast andLarge Blast weapons cannot hit Flyersin Zoom mode. Skyfire - Amodel with this special rule, or that is firing a weapon with this special rule, fires using its normal Ballistic Skill when shooting at Flyers,Flying Monstrous Creatures and Skimmers. Unless it also has the Interceptor special rule, it can only fire snap shots against other targets. There is no permission for templates or blasts to hit flyers in Skyfire.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 19:20:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:20:59
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I'm just excited that FMCs can skyfire when swooping. Gives Chaos Daemons a massive boost. That one thing alone is huge for Daemon players.
|
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:24:32
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
matphat wrote:I love that people are so damn excited to see Nob Bikers, which were not really that big of a deal anyway, get nerfed in to the "Not worth the points" category AGAIN, while standard army builds from competitive armies still can do more killing and survive longer at less points and no one seems to give a damn.
I understand that the LOS rules were stupid and a huge PITA as they were pre FAQ 1.1, but I am totally lost as to why it's such a big reason to celebrate when a mediocre army gets one of it's few hard hitters nerfed into the ground.
^^^^ This
The already less than stellar Orks got kicked hard in their fungal jimmies! 6th had already mauled Green Tide, Kan Wall and KOS builds. Nobz were about it for semi-competitive Ork builds.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:25:29
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
@Centurian99
Yeah it is. Absolutely huge since now you don't have to just survive flyers, now you can shoot those bastards down
|
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:33:24
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Q: If mindshackle scarabs are used against a model with a force
weapon or a weapon which allows the wielder to inflict Instant Death
with a successful Leadership test, can the Necron player force the enemy
model to utilise this ability? (p81)
A: Yes.
*shock*
Q: Is there any way to embark back onto a Night Scythe?
A: Yes – follow the rules for Embarking on page 78, treating
the Night Scythe’s base as its Access Point. Note that this is
possible despite the Night Scythe being a Zooming Flyer.
hooray !
Hooray?
Becuse the necron cheese needed to be even more buffed
At least they killed of those ridiculous2++ reroll archon+eldrad bombs.
If the deamon weapon (chaos) is AP2 what is the GK inquisitor deamon sword then?
|
Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:35:36
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Pyriel- wrote:
At least they killed of those ridiculous2++ reroll archon+eldrad bombs.
They didn't. An archon joining a Codex: Eldar Harlequin unit with Eldrad is still a Codex: Eldar unit and can be fortuned. Automatically Appended Next Post: Pyriel- wrote:
If the deamon weapon (chaos) is AP2 what is the GK inquisitor deamon sword then?
Less effective in the hands of a non-believer?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 19:36:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:36:47
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Fort Worth, TX
|
pretre wrote:To be fair, Rune Weapons weren't unclear before. Only Njal's has been changed to a stave though. The rest are unusual.
OK. Then I'm not missing anything, unless they were referring to Njal.
Rune Priests have a generic "runic weapon", similar to a Librarian's "force weapon", which can be modeled to be a sword, axe, staff, etc. I thought I'd missed something limiting it a specific runic weapon.
Time to convert and wolf up a sword bearing Librarian.
|
I out with in both 40k and WHFB.
Co-host of the HittingOn3s Podcast
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:38:25
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
No, Runic Weapons are unique since they wound daemons on a 2+. So they are S: User and AP3. Njal is stuck with S:+2 AP4.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:38:43
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
kcwm wrote: pretre wrote:To be fair, Rune Weapons weren't unclear before. Only Njal's has been changed to a stave though. The rest are unusual.
OK. Then I'm not missing anything, unless they were referring to Njal.
Rune Priests have a generic "runic weapon", similar to a Librarian's "force weapon", which can be modeled to be a sword, axe, staff, etc. I thought I'd missed something limiting it a specific runic weapon.
Time to convert and wolf up a sword bearing Librarian.
Just remember that the Runic Weapons on normal Rune Priests are unusual, so always S: User AP: 3.
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:41:59
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Pyriel- wrote:At least they killed of those ridiculous2++ reroll archon+eldrad bombs.
Could always use a Phoenix Lord instead of an Archon anyway.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:43:19
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Phoenix Lord doesn't have an Invul of 2+.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:49:26
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
furbyballer wrote:Q: Does a Nemesis Dreadknight armed with a Nemesis greatsword have
4 Attacks at Strength 10 that, because of the Nemesis greatsword, can
re-roll To Hit, To Wound and Armour Penetration rolls?(p54)
A: Yes.
Yeah, I'm kind of WFT? about this. I understand the attacks and Greatsword benefits, but how is it strength 10? It still has to shoose between the Greatsword and the doomfist.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:50:43
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Fort Worth, TX
|
pretre wrote:No, Runic Weapons are unique since they wound daemons on a 2+. So they are S: User and AP3. Njal is stuck with S:+2 AP4.
LOL, I was so caught up in the type of weapon that I missed the fact that it's unusual. LOL, it's rare that my RP gets into combat that it's never come up.
|
I out with in both 40k and WHFB.
Co-host of the HittingOn3s Podcast
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:52:46
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
cuda1179 wrote:furbyballer wrote:Q: Does a Nemesis Dreadknight armed with a Nemesis greatsword have
4 Attacks at Strength 10 that, because of the Nemesis greatsword, can
re-roll To Hit, To Wound and Armour Penetration rolls?(p54)
A: Yes.
Yeah, I'm kind of WFT? about this. I understand the attacks and Greatsword benefits, but how is it strength 10? It still has to shoose between the Greatsword and the doomfist.
Attack with the Doomfist, get STR10. Because the sword benefits are tied to having it, not attacking with it, the Doomfist benefits.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:54:14
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
disel24 wrote:Am I the only one that feels that the FAQ for Nids made them a bit more viable considering that we now have a unit that can assualt when coming in from reserve?
Also somone mentioned that Nids FMC got nerfed...how?
Your not talking about Ymgarls are you? They could already assault from reserve, it specifically says in the codex, didn't need an FAQ to say that. Unless your referring to something else...
|
DC:90-S+G++M--B++I+pW40k08+D++A++/eWD257R++t(S)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:54:47
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
He's referring to Ymgarls.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 19:57:41
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Jervis Johnson
|
Someone explain this to me:
Q: Can a Doom Scythe’s death ray hit enemy Flyers and/or Flying
Monstrous Creatures? (p50)
A: The Death Ray can hit Flyers in Hover Mode (friendly or
enemy) and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures (friendly or
enemy). It cannot hit Zooming Flyers or Swooping Flying
Monstrous Creatures.
What rule can this possibly be based on? Why is this question even asked? The Doom Scythe can fire skyfire which means it can shoot at flyers without resorting to snap shots. The only Death Ray related question I would've asked is that if it shoots skyfire and the beam goes through a flyer does it still hit ground models behind the flyer too. Instead someone asks if it can hit flyers period, and the answer is without any explanation a no.
I get the feeling that as long as you get to ask the strangest questions from the devs you'll get absolutely non-ambigous rules overturned with atleast a 50% accuracy.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/07 20:00:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:00:04
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Therion wrote:Someone explain this to me:
Q: Can a Doom Scythe’s death ray hit enemy Flyers and/or Flying
Monstrous Creatures? (p50)
A: The Death Ray can hit Flyers in Hover Mode (friendly or
enemy) and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures (friendly or
enemy). It cannot hit Zooming Flyers or Swooping Flying
Monstrous Creatures.
What rule can this possibly be based on? Why is this question even asked? The Doom Scythe can fire skyfire which means it can shoot at flyers.
I get the feeling that as long as you get to ask the strangest questions from the devs you'll get absolutely non-ambigous rules overturned with atleast a 50% accuracy.
Skyfire does not allow you fire prohibited weapon types. This is a common misconception.
Amodel with this special rule, or that
is firing a weapon with this special rule,
fires using its normal Ballistic Skill when
shooting at Flyers,Flying Monstrous
Creatures and Skimmers. Unless it also
has the Interceptor special rule, it can
only fire snap shots against other targets.
Shots resolved at a Zooming Flyer can only be resolved as Snap Shots
(unless the modelor weaponhas the Skyfire specialrule,as
described on page 42). Template, Blast andLarge Blast weapons
cannot hit Flyersin Zoom mode.
You can never fire Template, Blast, Large Blast, Line, Auto-hit, etc at a Flyer. Skyfire gives you no exception to that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:00:45
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
Therion wrote:Someone explain this to me:
Q: Can a Doom Scythe’s death ray hit enemy Flyers and/or Flying
Monstrous Creatures? (p50)
A: The Death Ray can hit Flyers in Hover Mode (friendly or
enemy) and Gliding Flying Monstrous Creatures (friendly or
enemy). It cannot hit Zooming Flyers or Swooping Flying
Monstrous Creatures.
What rule can this possibly be based on? Why is this question even asked? The Doom Scythe can fire skyfire which means it can shoot at flyers. The only Death Ray related question I would've asked is that if it shoots skyfire and the beam goes through a flyer does it still hit ground models behind the flyer too. Instead someone asks if it can hit flyers period, and the answer is without any explanation a no.
I get the feeling that as long as you get to ask the strangest questions from the devs you'll get absolutely non-ambigous rules overturned with atleast a 50% accuracy.
Skyfire gives permission to fire at full BS against flyers, as deathray does not use a BS it was ruled out. That seems to be the logic.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:01:15
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Templates, Blast and Large Blasts are excluded from being fired at flyers even if they aren't snap shot by the Hard to Hit rule. So they are double excluded.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:02:56
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Jervis Johnson
|
Skyfire does not allow you fire prohibited weapon types. This is a common misconception.
No you're the person making the misconception. The model has skyfire, meaning the fact that Death Rays can't be snap shot is irrelevant. The Death Ray is not a template, blast or a large blast weapon so the blanket 'can't hit' does not apply.
We had plenty of YMDC threads about this very subject already a while ago and they were quite easily resolved because the issue is unambigous. Doom Scythes can fire Death Rays at flyers. Skyfire has nothing to do with BS. It only has to do with having or not having to resort to snap shots.
The FAQ ruling is made up out of thin air and you're just trying to find intent from the rules where there is none to be found.
The level of GW games design is so incredibly bad that reasonable gamers probably wait these FAQs with dread.
Unless my eyes deceive me I also think they failed to clarify the issue of a Night Scythe being destroyed and whether the passengers suffer wounds before becoming reserved or not.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/09/07 20:07:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:03:44
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
[DCM]
.
|
Q: If mindshackle scarabs are used against a model with a force
weapon or a weapon which allows the wielder to inflict Instant Death
with a successful Leadership test, can the Necron player force the enemy
model to utilise this ability? (p81)
A: Yes.
Not being familiar at all with the new Necrons, can someone explain just what the hell all of that means then?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:04:07
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
So no one can use special rules on Hammer of Wrath attacks anymore (except Baron Sathonyx for no reason).
Sorry Shrikes with Boneswords. Even though your rules say all of your wounds caused ignore armor saves (and you still don't have a close combat weapon), it doesn't count for Hammer of Wrath.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 20:04:32
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:04:50
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Kevin949 wrote: Anpu42 wrote: Kevin949 wrote:
Isn't the demolisher an ordnance weapon? So you'd still have to snap shot other weapons anyway.
SHOOTING WITH HEAVY VEHICLES: For the purposes of determining which weapons a Heavy vehicle can fire (and at what BallisticSkill),Heavyvehicles are
always treated as having remained Stationary.
And ordnance weapons always require you to snap shot other weapons, it doesn't matter if you move or not. Trust me, I've gone over this with my monolith a bunch because I was so pissed that heavy didn't matter for it (in a substantial way, it does allow you to shoot all the gauss flux arcs if you move...whoopie!)
Here's what will really get you though, Vehicles have relentless...which means you count as stationary when shooting Heavy, salvo or ordnance weapons. But heavy does the same thing except it limits your movement speed. Kinda redundant...
I belive in 6th edition, the penalty to firing ordnance weapons applies only to non-vehicle units.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:06:12
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
pretre wrote:No, it is quoting the default rule. Skyfire is the exception to the rule.
So, it it is only quoting the default rule, does that mean that a Deathray using skyfire CAN hit fliers? by your logic I mean.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:07:19
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
cuda1179 wrote: pretre wrote:No, it is quoting the default rule. Skyfire is the exception to the rule.
So, it it is only quoting the default rule, does that mean that a Deathray using skyfire CAN hit fliers? by your logic I mean.
No, because Skyfire does not override the restriction for flyers not to be hit by prohibited weapons.
And also No, because the FAQ says no.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:09:14
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Jervis Johnson
|
No, because Skyfire does not override the restriction for flyers not to be hit by prohibited weapons.
That's a great way to misguide your readers. What the heck are prohibited weapons? There is no such category. They list blast, template and large blast weapons. Death Ray is none of them.
And also No, because the FAQ says no.
This is correct. The only reason why Death Rays can't be shot at flyers is because the FAQ says so. It's not based on the rules of 40K.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:09:23
Subject: Re:new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Trazyn's Museum Curator
|
Alpharius wrote:Q: If mindshackle scarabs are used against a model with a force
weapon or a weapon which allows the wielder to inflict Instant Death
with a successful Leadership test, can the Necron player force the enemy
model to utilise this ability? (p81)
A: Yes.
Not being familiar at all with the new Necrons, can someone explain just what the hell all of that means then?
Basically, you randomly select a model in base contact with the MSS bearer.
If he fails a leadership test on a 3d6, he inflicts D3 against his own squad.
This is done at the start of the combat, and the necrons still get to fight as normal.
The mind controlled guy does not get to strike (except against his own squad).
|
What I have
~4100
~1660
Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!
A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 20:10:25
Subject: new 40k FAQs..
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
pretre wrote:
Shots resolved at a Zooming Flyer can only be resolved as Snap Shots
(unless the modelor weaponhas the Skyfire specialrule,as
described on page 42).Template, Blast andLarge Blast weapons
cannot hit Flyersin Zoom mode.
Skyfire -
Amodel with this special rule, or that
is firing a weapon with this special rule,
fires using its normal Ballistic Skill when
shooting at Flyers,Flying Monstrous
Creatures and Skimmers. Unless it also
has the Interceptor special rule, it can
only fire snap shots against other targets.
There is no permission for templates or blasts to hit flyers in Skyfire.
But it does allow things like the Deathray to be fired, as it isn't a blast weapon or a template.
|
|
 |
 |
|