Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 20:37:47
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread (including Iyanden Supplement)
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Hey everyone, I figured it would be a good idea to collect all the legitimate questions you find in the new Eldar codex together into one thread. so they can be sent to tournament organizers and/or GW for use in making their FAQs.
So if you see legitimate arguments/discussions about rules questions in other threads, then please post the pertinent question (along with any relevant rules information) into this this thread. If a question is based on a loophole that 95% of players and judges are going to agree on the answer, then it isn't worth including on this list.
But most importantly: PLEASE DO NOT ACTUALLY DISCUSS/ARGUE THE RULES IN THIS THREAD. If you think a particular question has an easy answer that was missed by the person adding it into the thread, then posting about it ONCE is fine (and appreciated), but please do not engage in a back and forth discussion about a rule...start another thread on the topic if you need to do that.
Thanks!
PSYCHIC POWERS
• Does Doom allow all 'to wound' rolls to be re-rolled as described in the summary, or just failed rolls to wound as described in the main rules (especially in consideration that players may want to re-roll successful 'Bladestorm', 'Monofilament', etc, wounds in an attempt to roll a '6' to wound).
• (rulebook question) Are the effects of multiple blessings/maledictions (cast by different psykers) onto the same unit cumulative?
• Can a model on a Death Mission still activate the 'force' ability of his weapon, or is this considered to be using a psychic power?
• Do the split abilities of each 'Rune of Battle' count as the same or different psychic power in regards to the restriction about not being able to use the same psychic power more than once per turn? For example, could a Spirtseer attempt to cast both Conceal and Reveal in the same turn?
• (partially main rulebook question) Can 'Look Out Sir' be used to reallocate wounds caused by a Focused Witchfire psychic power that rolled a '5' or less on its psychic test? If yes, when it comes to Mind War, if the wounds caused by Mind War be reallocated to another model, what about the WS/BS reduction caused by the power?
WEAPONS
• Do weapons with either the 'Bladestorm' or 'Monofilament' special rules cause a wound on a 'to wound' roll of '6' even against a target that they could not normally wound (such as S4 vs T8, for example)?
• (main rulebook question) Can weapons that have both a ranged and melee profile (such as Laser Lances, etc) be used to both make a ranged attack and close combat attacks in the same turn (as pg 51 of the rulebook seems to indicate you can only use one type of profile per turn)?
• When firing a unit that has a Scatter laser and multiple different weapons and/or weapons with different firing modes, exactly when do you have to declare what weapons/modes the unit is firing? Can you wait until after you see if the Scatter laser scores any hits to declare what other weapons/modes the unit is firing? Or do you have to declare every weapon/mode the unit is firing before rolling for the Scatter laser?
EQUIPMENT
• Who counts as the 'attacking unit' for the Blind tests caused by a Scattershield? For example, if a model that is part of a unit has a Scattershield and passes a saving throw using the Scatterfield, does both he and his unit count as the 'attacking unit' (and therefore auto-pass their Blind test)?
• If a model with a Shield of Grace is successfully controlled by Necron Mindshackle Scarabs, are they still able to (by the choice of the Eldar player) use Shield of Grace? If yes, does this reduce the attacks the Minshackled model makes down to 1 (instead of D3)?
VEHICLE EQUIPMENT
• Does a Crystal Targeting Matrix allow a vehicle to fire one weapon at its full BS after moving flat-out even if the vehicle is prevented from firing its weapons at full BS for another reason besides the fact that it moved flat-out (such as when suffering from a 'crew shaken' damage result, for example)?
SPECIAL RULES
• Can the Disarming Strike Exarch Power affect Tyranid close combat biomorphs at all?
• Does the Fast Shot power allow an Exarch throwing a grenade to add +1 to the number of shots the grenade makes? Or does the limit in the rulebook about only throwing one grenade per unit take precedence here? Does Fast Shot allow an Exarch firing a Gun Emplacement to add +1 to the number of shots it fires?
• Is Crushing Blow a modifier to the base profile of the model (like a Thunderwolf Mount is in the SW codex), thereby being added before doubling the model's Strength via a Scorpion's Claw? Or in other words, if a model is normally S3 and has both Crushing Blow and a Scorpion's Claw does it strike at S7 or S8?
HQ
• (main rulebook question) In regards to Illic Nightspear, is an IC with infiltrate allowed to join a unit that doesn't have Infiltrate allowing them all to Infiltrate together during deployment?
• If Illic Nightspear is able to join a unit to infiltrate with during deployment (even if that's just joining a unit that has the Infiltrate ability on its own), does this allow he and the unit he has joined to Infiltrate utilizing his 'Walker of the Hidden Path' special rules for Infiltrating (being able to deploy essentially anywhere)?
• Can Illic Nightspear's 'Walker of the Hidden Path' allow him to deploy directly into base contact with an enemy model, and if so, does this mean he starts the game locked in combat?
• If Fuegan suffers an unsaved wound that is later healed (by the 'Renewer' psychic power, for example), does he then lose the +1A & +1S gained from that wound via 'Unquenchable Resolve'?
• Does an Autarch with Swooping Hawk wings have the 'Skyleap' and 'Herald of Victory' special rules? If not, does this means when joined to a unit of Swooping Hawks he essentially prevents them from utilizing these special rules?
• Can a Warlock Council be taken at all as part of an allied detachment?
• Are psychic powers for Warlocks determined before or after they are assigned to lead a different unit?
• If a Warlock with a Jetbike is assigned to lead another unit, is their unit type still changed to 'Infantry (character)' or should it be 'Jetbike (character)'?
• If a model is able to take items from the 'Remnants of Glory' list, can he only take a maximum of one item from this list no matter what? Or can he take any number of the items that don't replace a weapon (The Phoenix Gem, etc)? and if the model has two or more weapons, can he replace both of these weapons with two items from the 'Remnants of Glory' list (that each replace one weapon)?
• Can grenades (being weapons) be swapped out by an Autarch for a Remnant of Glory?
• If Eldrad uses his last Warp Charge to cast a psychic power and rolls double 1's on his psychic test, causing a Perils of the Warp, is his Spiritlink rule resolved before or after the wound caused by Perils in the Warp? In other words, would he be able to get a Warp Charge back from his Spiritlink special rule to then immediately utilize with his Ghosthelm?
TROOPS
• Why do Windrider Jetbike squads have the 'Battle Focus' special rule when they can't use it (as they cannot run)? or is turbo-boosting supposed to be the equivalent of 'running' in this instance?
DEDICATED TRANSPORT
• Is the Wave Serpent's Serpent Shield a weapon that can be destroyed by a 'weapon destroyed' damage result? If so (and the Serpent Shield is destroyed), does this remove the ability of the Serpent Shield to downgrade penetrating hits to glancing hits?
ELITES
• (technically a Necron question) How do Necron Mindshackle Scarabs function in regards to bonus attacks a model has that are resolved at a different Initiative from their normal attacks, such as Eldar Mandiblasters, Hammer of Wrath and Techmarine Servo-arms, for example? Do they prevent such attacks from occurring that round if the model fails his Mindshackle Ld test?
• Are Mandiblaster attacks resolved at the I10 step after any models that strike at I10 have completed their Pile-in move?
FAST ATTACK
• Can a Vyper first upgrade its twin-linked Shuriken Catapult to a Shuriken Cannon and then upgrade that Shuriken Cannon into a Starcannon/Bright Lance/Scatter laser?
• If a Hemlock Wraithfighter fires its heavy D-scythes at an enemy unit that has been Spirit Marked by a Spiritseer, is it able to re-roll the scatter for a blast if either of the scatter dice rolled come up as a '1'? If not, what is the point of the Hemlock Wraithfighter being listed as a unit that benefits from Spirit Mark?
• (rulebook question) Since the rules for Deep Strike specify that a unit has to start in Reserve in order to Deep Strike, does that mean a unit that has the Deep Strike ability but doesn't start the game in reserve cannot Deep Strike into play if it later gets returned to ongoing reserves (such as Swooping Hawks starting on the table and then using Skyleap to go into ongoing reserve)?
• (rulebook question) If a unit that has an ongoing effect on it that has to be rolled for (like Soul Blaze, for example) goes into ongoing reserves (such as Swooping Hawks via Skyleap) do you still roll for the ongoing effect? If so, what happens if casualties and/or morale checks are caused?
HEAVY SUPPORT
• If a Dark Reaper unit first takes the option to have Starshot missiles for 8 points per model and then upgrades one Reaper to an Exarch, does the Exarch's Reaper Launcher count as having Starshot missiles (without having to pay 10 points for this upgrade)?
• Can a Falcon first upgrade its twin-linked Shuriken Catapult to a Shuriken Cannon and then upgrade that Shuriken Cannon into a Starcannon/Bright Lance/Scatter laser?
• Is a Wraithknight supposed to be able to fire more than 2 weapons at once (since it can take 4 at a time)?
IYANDEN SUPPLEMENT
• The Guardian Helm of Xellethon says that wounds reallocated by Look Out Sir must be allocated onto a Wraithguard/Wraithblade model. Does this mean the rule may only be used when a Wraithguard/Wraithblade model is the closest model to the character with the Helm, or that any non-Wraithguard/Wraithblade model that happens to be closer in the unit to the character with the Helm is simply ignored when reallocating a wound via Look Out Sir?
• Can a unit that gains Battle Focus via the Voice of Twilight psychic power make a run move that takes the unit out of range of the power (beyond 12") and then still fire fire using the Battle Focus special rule? Or is the Battle Focus ability lost as soon as the unit runs beyond range? Conversely, can a unit that doesn't have Battle Focus (but can gain it from Voice of Twilight) run within range of an active Voice of Twilight psychic power and then immediately benefit from Battle Focus to fire after running?
|
This message was edited 39 times. Last update was at 2013/07/03 03:32:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 20:44:42
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Devastating Dark Reaper
|
Are warlocks supposed to be allowed in an allied contingent? By the wording in the codex, one Warlock Council is allowed per primary detachment, which seems to suggest that no Warlocks can be taken as allies.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 20:45:43
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
why do eldar jetbikes have a special rule that pertains only to runniing, when they cannot run? was it put there to overide that, or is it just erroneously there not to do anything?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 20:46:37
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Does Illic's Infiltrate anywhere apply to just rangers and pathfinders or other units as well?
|
Color Scheme
Luggnath Army
Field testing>>>Paper testing |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 20:55:20
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
Are Warlock powers determined before splitting to other squads or after?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 23:17:44
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
GTKA666 wrote:Does Illic's Infiltrate anywhere apply to just rangers and pathfinders or other units as well?
Can you explain further why you think the rule in the codex is unclear?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 23:31:03
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
yakface wrote:GTKA666 wrote:Does Illic's Infiltrate anywhere apply to just rangers and pathfinders or other units as well? Can you explain further why you think the rule in the codex is unclear?
Isn't it the same thing as shrike ( SM)? he and his unit can Infiltrate ... but rules for joining a unit are they must be on the board and he has to be place next to them, there for said unit can't infiltrate as they have already been deployed (might have been able to say that better)
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/03 23:31:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/03 23:35:04
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Tri wrote:Isn't it the same thing as shrike ( SM)? he and his unit can Infiltrate ... but rules for joining a unit are they must be on the board and he has to be place next to them, there for said unit can't infiltrate as they have already been deployed (might have been able to say that better)
OK cool, I see the question now.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/04 07:44:30
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Can Falcon upgrade both of its Shuriken Cannons or only the turret mounted one (Assuming it has first upgraded its twin-linked Shuriken Catapults into a Shuriken Cannon)?
Automatically Appended Next Post:
(Wishlisting, but this has come up several times, so it needs to be asked.)
Wraithknight can have four weapons, but can fire only two; what I'm supposed to do with those expensive extra weapons?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/04 07:47:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/04 09:11:22
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Can Illics Infiltrate, even solo, be used to place him in base to base with an enemy model, as deployment is not a "move"?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/04 14:48:20
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Does an Autarch with Swooping Hawk Wings have the "Herald of Victory" and "Skyleap" rules when attached to a pack of swooping hawks?
(otherwise Hawk Wings on Autarch are a completely pointless upgrade)
There is two wordings of the psyker power Doom in the codex. Which of these wordings is correct?
(One allow rerolling any To Wound the other only allows rerolling "failed" To Wound)
If a Wave Serpent hits with it's Twin Link Scatter Laser will Laser Lock effect a Serpent Field shot as well?
Does a model with Scatter Lasers have to declare all shots before firing the Scatter Laser shots or may it wait to see if Laser Lock is in effect first?
If a model makes an invul save with it's Scattershield is it required to make a Blind test as well?
(it is a unit within 6")
More of a BRB one, but it'll have a big impact on the eldar powers....
Do multiple castings of the same maledictions or blessings stack?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/04 14:48:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/04 17:52:38
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You declare what weapons you are firing before firing any,so laser lock has no effect on that.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/04 18:41:31
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Errata on Dark Reamers. The exharch has an option to pay for missiles that the launcher already comes with. Clearly one type of missile is meant to be included with the launcher and the other purchased later, so which is which is the question.
Seems obvious, but the unit type for Warlocks with the Jetbike upgrade who are then assigned to other units should be Jetbike (Character) so the rules need to reflect this.
Can a vehicle that is incapable of shooting (because it moved flat out or lacks guns) benefit from a CTM.
Do stationary skimmers with Holo Fields get a 6+ cove save? First sentence implies no, but there is no circumstance where a mobile skimmer would have anything worse than a 5+ cover, so....?
Does skyleap allow you to disengage from close combat?
Does the Morale altering effects of the Wraith Fighter extend to tests taken from casualties caused by its destruction? (timing of rules issue)
If a Wave Serpent uses the defensive properties of its field during the controlling player's turn (say to downgrade a hit from an Icarus or Ram) can the field then be fired in that same turn?
Can an Independent Character (say Hawkautac) leave a character during the movment phase and the Swooping Hawks then skyleap in that same phase or is it resolved at the very start of the movement phase?
Was it intended for players to be able to put bike mounted Warlocks into infantry units?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/04 18:55:48
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Kelne
|
Phazael wrote:Errata on Dark Reamers. The exharch has an option to pay for missiles that the launcher already comes with. Clearly one type of missile is meant to be included with the launcher and the other purchased later, so which is which is the question.
Seems obvious, but the unit type for Warlocks with the Jetbike upgrade who are then assigned to other units should be Jetbike (Character) so the rules need to reflect this.
Can a vehicle that is incapable of shooting (because it moved flat out or lacks guns) benefit from a CTM.
Do stationary skimmers with Holo Fields get a 6+ cove save? First sentence implies no, but there is no circumstance where a mobile skimmer would have anything worse than a 5+ cover, so....?
Does skyleap allow you to disengage from close combat?
Does the Morale altering effects of the Wraith Fighter extend to tests taken from casualties caused by its destruction? (timing of rules issue)
If a Wave Serpent uses the defensive properties of its field during the controlling player's turn (say to downgrade a hit from an Icarus or Ram) can the field then be fired in that same turn?
Can an Independent Character (say Hawkautac) leave a character during the movment phase and the Swooping Hawks then skyleap in that same phase or is it resolved at the very start of the movement phase?
Was it intended for players to be able to put bike mounted Warlocks into infantry units?
On the dark reapers you're misreading it. That option is if you don't get a better gun (so the option every trooper gets with their 2 shots launchers to take a krak missile). Good point on others.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/04 19:05:44
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Unrelenting Rubric Terminator of Tzeentch
In the Ring of Debris Around Uranus
|
After reading the codex have a couple minor close combat weapon questions... I know that Singing Spear used to say two handed weapon, I had always assumed that Eldrad's Staff of Ulthamar was two handed but it never really said... Now the reason for my question is that in the codex it DOES specifically say that the Executioner IS a two handed weapon and that Jain Zair's special Executioner (can't remember the name) is very light so I believe that since it does not say on Singing Spear, Staff, Jain Zair's spear that these are all one handed meaning that you would get the bonus for an extra CC weapon....
What is everyone's consensus on them? I would like to hear... I am assuming this will be an argument until it is FAQed... Cheers all Automatically Appended Next Post: How does Monofilament rule work when rolling for blast markers? Is it like plasma weapons, roll a d6 first to see if 6 is rolled or if a 6 is roll on scatter or maybe this rule does not apply to this type?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/04 19:07:17
Armies
Eldar, Dark Eldar, Harlequins, Eldar Corsairs, Orks, Tyranids, Genestealer Cult, Chaos, Choas Space Marines, Tau, Sisters of Battle, Inquisition, Necrons, Space Marines, Space Wolves, Grey Knights, Imperial Knights, Dark Angels, Imperial Guard, Ad Mech, Knights, Skaven, Sylvaneth |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/04 19:10:43
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Eiluj The Farseer wrote:After reading the codex have a couple minor close combat weapon questions... I know that Singing Spear used to say two handed weapon, I had always assumed that Eldrad's Staff of Ulthamar was two handed but it never really said... Now the reason for my question is that in the codex it DOES specifically say that the Executioner IS a two handed weapon and that Jain Zair's special Executioner (can't remember the name) is very light so I believe that since it does not say on Singing Spear, Staff, Jain Zair's spear that these are all one handed meaning that you would get the bonus for an extra CC weapon....
What is everyone's consensus on them? I would like to hear... I am assuming this will be an argument until it is FAQed... Cheers all
No argument possible. Melee weapons are not "handed" unless told otherwise, and so the default of 2 melee (non-specialist, or 2 specialist) will grant an additional attack applies.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/04 19:16:26
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Kelne
|
Eiluj The Farseer wrote:After reading the codex have a couple minor close combat weapon questions... I know that Singing Spear used to say two handed weapon, I had always assumed that Eldrad's Staff of Ulthamar was two handed but it never really said... Now the reason for my question is that in the codex it DOES specifically say that the Executioner IS a two handed weapon and that Jain Zair's special Executioner (can't remember the name) is very light so I believe that since it does not say on Singing Spear, Staff, Jain Zair's spear that these are all one handed meaning that you would get the bonus for an extra CC weapon....
What is everyone's consensus on them? I would like to hear... I am assuming this will be an argument until it is FAQed... Cheers all
Automatically Appended Next Post:
How does Monofilament rule work when rolling for blast markers? Is it like plasma weapons, roll a d6 first to see if 6 is rolled or if a 6 is roll on scatter or maybe this rule does not apply to this type?
What are you on about the monofilament? It's on a 6 to Wound, so it'd work normally. You seem to think it's on a 6 to Hit .
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/04 19:30:27
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Phazael wrote:Do stationary skimmers with Holo Fields get a 6+ cove save? First sentence implies no, but there is no circumstance where a mobile skimmer would have anything worse than a 5+ cover, so....?
Invalid question, as it's not just a skimmer upgrade, it's available for War Walkers. It also explictly says "Provided the vehicle moved", so who cares if the rest is redundant.
Does skyleap allow you to disengage from close combat?
No. Read the longhand rule, not the shorthand rule.
If a Wave Serpent uses the defensive properties of its field during the controlling player's turn (say to downgrade a hit from an Icarus or Ram) can the field then be fired in that same turn?
Again, rule specifically says you're deactivating it in the shooting phase. Who cares about what happened beforehand?
Can an Independent Character (say Hawkautac) leave a character during the movment phase and the Swooping Hawks then skyleap in that same phase or is it resolved at the very start of the movement phase?
Rule specifically says start of Movement phase, before Regroup tests.
Was it intended for players to be able to put bike mounted Warlocks into infantry units?
There is nothing stopping a mix of unit types. It's not always effective (better with ICs that can split off), but it was also possible in the previous codex.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/04 21:16:58
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
However the warlocks can never leave the unit they are assigned to. They are just tougher so its a great idea.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/04 22:24:38
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
BlueDagger wrote:Does a model with Scatter Lasers have to declare all shots before firing the Scatter Laser shots or may it wait to see if Laser Lock is in effect first?
This one is covered by the order of the Shooting phase (pages 12/13). By the time you roll to hit, you have already declared which models are firing. While we're not told at which specific point to choose which weapons to fire, you need to know by the time you roll To Hit as you need to know how many dice to roll to begin with...! Nothing in Laser Lock gives you permission to override anything about basic order EXCEPT splitting your To Hit rolls into two sets. Choosing your weapons must come before this stage, or you break shooting.
However - I will concur that a general Rulebook FAQ defining exactly when you declare which weapons are firing wouldn't go amiss.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/04 22:40:21
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
Montreal, Canada
|
Can the wave serpent shield become "weapon destroyed?"
Only on a turn it was used as a weapon? All the time?
|
Ruler of the small. Tallest midget of them all! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/05 00:07:05
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Been Around the Block
Delawhere?
|
More of a BRB question, but with the Wraithfighter in the game now I think it needs either a FAQ or an errata.
Should the Terrify psychic power affect ATSKNF units in the same way as it does Fearless units?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/05 01:00:14
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
SLC, UT
|
Raesvelg wrote:More of a BRB question, but with the Wraithfighter in the game now I think it needs either a FAQ or an errata.
Should the Terrify psychic power affect ATSKNF units in the same way as it does Fearless units?
It does not affect ATSKNF.
Edit: I guess I should clarify. Terrify removes Fearless. ATSKNF makes you immune to fear, but is not fearless.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/05 01:01:26
"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."
Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.
Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/05 01:09:17
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
He knows that. He's asking if it *should*.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/05 01:45:03
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Been Around the Block
Delawhere?
|
Exactly. It seems highly counter-intuitive that it should remove Fearless but not ATSKNF.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/05 01:48:05
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
SLC, UT
|
I get your point, but fearless and ATSKNF are completely different. "Should" and "Do" aren't the same thing and to debate about what should be is kind of a waste.
|
"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."
Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.
Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/05 02:03:09
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Been Around the Block
Delawhere?
|
Sothas wrote:I get your point, but fearless and ATSKNF are completely different. "Should" and "Do" aren't the same thing and to debate about what should be is kind of a waste.
Hence asking GW to clarify.
I don't expect them to clarify it so that it makes sense, since I fully expect them to keep Marines functionally immune to things because, well, SPACE MARINES, but it would be nice of them to let people know that that was their intent.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/05 02:25:50
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
SLC, UT
|
Raesvelg wrote: Sothas wrote:I get your point, but fearless and ATSKNF are completely different. "Should" and "Do" aren't the same thing and to debate about what should be is kind of a waste.
Hence asking GW to clarify.
I don't expect them to clarify it so that it makes sense, since I fully expect them to keep Marines functionally immune to things because, well, SPEHSS MAHREENS, but it would be nice of them to let people know that that was their intent.
Fixed that for you.
|
"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."
Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.
Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/05 02:37:33
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos
|
Tri wrote: yakface wrote:GTKA666 wrote:Does Illic's Infiltrate anywhere apply to just rangers and pathfinders or other units as well?
Can you explain further why you think the rule in the codex is unclear?
Isn't it the same thing as shrike ( SM)? he and his unit can Infiltrate ... but rules for joining a unit are they must be on the board and he has to be place next to them, there for said unit can't infiltrate as they have already been deployed (might have been able to say that better)
Illic does not have a rule that states " him and his unit". Nor a special entry like Shrike ( SM) that says he gives his ability to a unit. It says "Illic has the infiltrate special rule, and can be deployed anywhere on the battlefield". RAW :his rule is for him alone.
|
2014 Templecon/Onslaught 40k T, Best overall
2015 Templecon/Onslaught 40kGT, Best overall
2015, Nova open 40kGT Semifinalist.
2015 40k Golden Sprue Champ.
2016 Best General Portal Annual Spring 40kGT
2017 Best General, 3rd Annual Winter 40kGT Hosted by The Portal.
2018 Triumph 40k GT. Best Overall.
2018 Best General, 4th Annual Winter 40kGT Hosted by The Portal.
, |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/05 07:00:31
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Deadly Dire Avenger
|
yakface wrote:
HEAVY SUPPPORT
• Is the first option for a Dark Reaper Exarch supposed to say 'Eldar missile launcher with plasma and ' starswarm' missile (as opposed to 'Starshot')? Because a later option allows him to take Starshot missiles for 10 more points, which would be totally redundant.
The second option is only if he keeps the reaper launcher. So either you grab a EML for plasma/starshot or you can keep the reaper launcher and upgrade it to Starswarm/starshot.
|
|
 |
 |
|