Switch Theme:

Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread (including Iyanden Supplement)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Jacob29 wrote:
Can you add answers to the OP when you get them please.


???

That's called if/when they publish the Games Workshop Eldar FAQ (or an updated version in this case, since they put out one already with a single errata).

Not sure what connections you think I have!


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Honestly, I think they should post a few people on dakkadakka to read some of these questions and then update the FAQ's to answer.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Melbourne

I'd say they definitely keep an eye on forums like this, and once they have enough questions for a FAQ (and have very carefully considered and probably play-tested the answers) they put one out. Only thing worse than requiring an errata before the book is released is requiring errata for an errata document...

Eldar: 8,560
Tyranid: 2,397
Tau: Soon... 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




 yakface wrote:
Jacob29 wrote:
Can you add answers to the OP when you get them please.


???

That's called if/when they publish the Games Workshop Eldar FAQ (or an updated version in this case, since they put out one already with a single errata).

Not sure what connections you think I have!



He he I meant if someone here answers the question
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Melbourne

Even if they get answered pretty well here it's probably a good idea to keep them in there - there's obviously quite a few instances of ambiguous wording in the new codex that need to be addressed, as these questions are cropping up in lots of places. Official FAQ gives everyone a final answer, whether they read Dakka or not

Eldar: 8,560
Tyranid: 2,397
Tau: Soon... 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





If a farseer or a spirit seer(with embolden) is with a shadowseer/warlcok and the shadowseer/warlock suffers a perils, does the shadowseer/warlock get to reroll from the presence of the farseer or the embolden spirit seer? (Kind of like the 4thed faq where the warlock with embolden helped a faseer reroll an unsuccessful psychic power attempt.)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/06 10:21:13


Color Scheme
Luggnath Army

Field testing>>>Paper testing 
   
Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator






GTKA666 wrote:
If a farseer or a spirit seer(with embolden) is with a shadowseer/warlcok and the shadowseer/warlock suffers a perils, does the shadowseer/warlock get to reroll from the presence of the farseer or the embolden spirit seer? (Kind of like the 4thed faq where the warlock with embolden helped a faseer reroll an unsuccessful psychic power attempt.)


Embolden doesn't give re-rolls anymore. It makes the unit Fearless (and Horrify gives an enemy unit -3LD).

I am guessing this is part of the reason why Warlocks can't join Wraith units now as they wouldn't want one rolling this power and it being half useless as the Wraiths are already fearless (although you could default to the Primaris Conceal in this case).

Of course, it could just be a typo or oversight on GW's part.

Chaos Space Marines - Iron Warriors & Night Lords 7900pts

 
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

Jacob29 wrote:
 yakface wrote:
Jacob29 wrote:
Can you add answers to the OP when you get them please.


???

That's called if/when they publish the Games Workshop Eldar FAQ (or an updated version in this case, since they put out one already with a single errata).

Not sure what connections you think I have!



He he I meant if someone here answers the question

I think the purpose of the thread is to get a list of questions with no real obvious answer. The Scorpion's Claw question has a very obvious answer so while people may ask it, this list isn't meant to help with questions that are solved by reading single entries in the codex or rulebook.

Am I correct?

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Devastator






This can be filed under the probably easy to answer questions but worth adding. The power Death Mission says that while it is in effect the seer may not manifest other powers but may manifest Death Mission.

Does this mean this allow a seer with spirit stones to manifest it more than once in a turn?

If you think you are too small to have an impact, try sleeping with a mosquito. 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Delawhere?

steinerp wrote:
This can be filed under the probably easy to answer questions but worth adding. The power Death Mission says that while it is in effect the seer may not manifest other powers but may manifest Death Mission.

Does this mean this allow a seer with spirit stones to manifest it more than once in a turn?


No, you can't attempt to manifest the same power more than once in a turn. (BRB p.67) So you'll have to either roll well on counters or roll well on counter removal if you expect to survive long enough to cast it again.

Worthless damn power.
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Devastator






Like I said this is probably a simple question. The only question is because the power says you may manifest the power does that get around the once per turn limit. I doubt it but worth asking.

If you think you are too small to have an impact, try sleeping with a mosquito. 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





 rohansoldier wrote:
GTKA666 wrote:
If a farseer or a spirit seer(with embolden) is with a shadowseer/warlcok and the shadowseer/warlock suffers a perils, does the shadowseer/warlock get to reroll from the presence of the farseer or the embolden spirit seer? (Kind of like the 4thed faq where the warlock with embolden helped a faseer reroll an unsuccessful psychic power attempt.)


Embolden doesn't give re-rolls anymore. It makes the unit Fearless (and Horrify gives an enemy unit -3LD).

I am guessing this is part of the reason why Warlocks can't join Wraith units now as they wouldn't want one rolling this power and it being half useless as the Wraiths are already fearless (although you could default to the Primaris Conceal in this case).

Of course, it could just be a typo or oversight on GW's part.


Except that Spiritseers roll from the same spell tree haha

"The objective of the game is to win. The purpose of the game is to have fun. The two should not be confused."



 ErikSetzer wrote:

Or you can just claim it's all bad luck and you're really the best player in the world if not for those dice and/or cards.
 
   
Made in us
Unrelenting Rubric Terminator of Tzeentch






In the Ring of Debris Around Uranus

Here is another question...
Does the Exarch power crushing blow give a permanant S bonus or just added on... What I mean by this is say an Exarch Striking Scorpion takes Scorpion Claw would he hit at S 7 or 8.. I would argue 8 as I think it is a permanent S bonus, but I see this causing debate...
On the Same note would the Chainsword add +1 S since the claw is not a Specialist weapon ---- So would it be S8 or 9 depending on how you ruled the first question...

Armies
Eldar, Dark Eldar, Harlequins, Eldar Corsairs, Orks, Tyranids, Genestealer Cult, Chaos, Choas Space Marines, Tau, Sisters of Battle, Inquisition, Necrons, Space Marines, Space Wolves, Grey Knights, Imperial Knights, Dark Angels, Imperial Guard, Ad Mech, Knights, Skaven, Sylvaneth 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Delawhere?

Huh, how'd that happen...

Anyway, I'd say yes, the S bonus from Crushing Blow is permanent, and no, very clearly not able to add the chainsword bonus to the Claw attacks.

And as for Warlocks and Wraith squads, I'd say they they disallowed Warlocks to give Iyanden something special with Seers, to be honest.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/06 19:03:03


 
   
Made in it
Storming Storm Guardian




 Eiluj The Farseer wrote:
Here is another question...
Does the Exarch power crushing blow give a permanant S bonus or just added on... What I mean by this is say an Exarch Striking Scorpion takes Scorpion Claw would he hit at S 7 or 8.. I would argue 8 as I think it is a permanent S bonus, but I see this causing debate...
On the Same note would the Chainsword add +1 S since the claw is not a Specialist weapon ---- So would it be S8 or 9 depending on how you ruled the first question...


No way you can get both bonus from Claw and Chainsword. This has nothing to do with Specialist. However you do get +1A for 2 cc weapons but you'd have too even without a chainsword (pistol).
In my understanding characteristics bonus are included in a profile only when they are not removable in any way. A common example is eldar jetbike. +1T is already included for windraiders but it's not for warlocks, farseers and autarchs.
About profiles I think that the S bonus of the chainsword is not included, for subtle reasons, one of which could be scorpions exarch vs another exarch with disarm. More probably because you can swap that weapon.

About Claw+Blow I'd stick to RAW and brb (and general math), where it's said that moltiplications are before sums.
So 3*2+1 = 7. S7 ap2 at initiave is just good enough to me without asking for a FAQ. Maybe this will be addressed

English is not my mothertongue, sorry for grammar errors

3500
700 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Delawhere?

Eldarcannon wrote:

In my understanding characteristics bonus are included in a profile only when they are not removable in any way. A common example is eldar jetbike. +1T is already included for windraiders but it's not for warlocks, farseers and autarchs.


True, but Warlocks, Farseers and Autarchs do get the +1 Toughness for riding a bike. Crushing Blow isn't a conditional Strength increase, it's permanent. If you had to make a Strength check on the Exarch, you'd make if off a S4, not an S3.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





You make it at STR3+1 unless it asks for unmodified strength - in which case you use a 3.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider





California

 Eiluj The Farseer wrote:
Here is another question...
Does the Exarch power crushing blow give a permanant S bonus or just added on... What I mean by this is say an Exarch Striking Scorpion takes Scorpion Claw would he hit at S 7 or 8.. I would argue 8 as I think it is a permanent S bonus, but I see this causing debate...
On the Same note would the Chainsword add +1 S since the claw is not a Specialist weapon ---- So would it be S8 or 9 depending on how you ruled the first question...


The BRB answers this on page 2. The order of applying modifiers to characteristics is multiply, add/subtract, set values. The example in the BRB of a model with S4 and +1S with a power fist:
(4x2)=8, 8+1=9

So the +1 from Crushing Blow should be added after the doubling of the claw, not before.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




Nocturne

The Avatar of Khaine is immune to all Pyromancy powers. Does this mean that he ignores the effects of Pyromancy blessings cast on other units? For example if my Space Marine Librarian casts Fiery Shield on himself and his unit, does the Avatar ignore the cover save granted by Fiery Shield, or does his immunity only apply to Pyromancy powers actually cast on him?

Sun Tzu "All warfare is based on deception"

Into the Fires of Battle! Unto The Anvil of War!

2500 pts
1500 pts
 
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Melbourne

 Raesvelg wrote:
steinerp wrote:
This can be filed under the probably easy to answer questions but worth adding. The power Death Mission says that while it is in effect the seer may not manifest other powers but may manifest Death Mission.

Does this mean this allow a seer with spirit stones to manifest it more than once in a turn?


No, you can't attempt to manifest the same power more than once in a turn. (BRB p.67) So you'll have to either roll well on counters or roll well on counter removal if you expect to survive long enough to cast it again.

Worthless damn power.


You roll 6 times a turn with a 50/50 to drop a counter. You roll once a turn to get up to 5 counters. If you do the math, you should be averaging a little under +1 counter per turn. You actually have to be a bit unlucky for it to drop off.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 alienvalentine wrote:
The Avatar of Khaine is immune to all Pyromancy powers. Does this mean that he ignores the effects of Pyromancy blessings cast on other units? For example if my Space Marine Librarian casts Fiery Shield on himself and his unit, does the Avatar ignore the cover save granted by Fiery Shield, or does his immunity only apply to Pyromancy powers actually cast on him?


Only those cast on him, RAW. RAI, only those cast on him *He* is immune to fire, nothing to do with anybody else. He doesn't have any special see-through-fire abilities.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/07 00:52:01


Eldar: 8,560
Tyranid: 2,397
Tau: Soon... 
   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior





Dunn, NC

Weapons with bladestorm auto wound on a 6 no matter the toughness of the creature you are shooting at.


"Bladestorm: When a weapon with this special rule rolls a 6 to wound, the target is wounded automatically and the wound is resolved at AP2. "

It never mentions a targets T it just states an autowound happens. Its like the necrons shooting ability only against enemies with a T value.

Tau
Votann
World Eaters
Khorne Daemons
Custodes 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Just because I also play Tyranids:
How (if at all) does Disarming Strike work with Tyranid close combat weapons?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Melbourne

 Happyjew wrote:
Just because I also play Tyranids:
How (if at all) does Disarming Strike work with Tyranid close combat weapons?


My interpretation there - it says it has no effect on models without weapons, so I'd say you could use disarm to get rid of a bonescythe or lash whip, but not claws and teeth, talons or crushing claws etc. Only items that the enemy is actually holding. I'm sure there's relevant stuff with CD as well but I don't know them at all, so can't say...

Eldar: 8,560
Tyranid: 2,397
Tau: Soon... 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

If it's not a weapon Disarm does nothing, so Tyranids are safe because they don't have weapons.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Happyjew wrote:
Just because I also play Tyranids:
How (if at all) does Disarming Strike work with Tyranid close combat weapons?

I thought page 33 meant you didnt have ANY close combat weapons?
   
Made in fr
Swift Swooping Hawk






The way I read it, if you have a close combat weapon listed in the wargear of the model, then it is a possible target for disarming strike.

otherwise if we're saying tyranids are immune then why not powerfists? it's not like he can knock it out of his hand.
   
Made in gb
Flower Picking Eldar Youth



UK

Regarding Faolchu's Wing; the codex states that a model with Faolchu's Wing may run up to 48" and may not shoot or psych after it has done so, but does this ability transfer to the unit this model may be a part of or will the wing be useless in a squad?

Edited for clarity

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/07 08:35:51


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 shamikebab wrote:
The way I read it, if you have a close combat weapon listed in the wargear of the model, then it is a possible target for disarming strike.

otherwise if we're saying tyranids are immune then why not powerfists? it's not like he can knock it out of his hand.

Because tyranids have a rule stating they do not use CCW? That rule, that I quoted, that makes them different to everyone else?

A powerfist is a CCW. Yes or No? Do 'nids use CCW, as defined in their codex? Yes or No?
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury

Regarding Faolchu's Wing - again -- the move presumably ignores the effects of difficult terrain ? Be a bit awkward to roll for otherwise.

Dangerous terrain is ignored as well ?

The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Atra Culpa wrote:
Regarding Faolchu's Wing; the codex states that a model with Faolchu's Wing may run up to 48" and you may not shoot or psych after it has done so, but does this ability transfer to the unit this model may be a part of or will the bearer simply fly off on his own?

No, cannot fly off on their own, reread the rules for run (models move at own speed, but as it is a move must maintain coherency) and the ruls for when ICs are allowed to join and leave units (hint: it isnt int he shooting phase

This question should be removed as it is clearly and unambiguously answered in the BRB
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: