Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/12 20:36:20
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Happened in somebody else's game and I was asked to make a ruling, Swooping Hawks had Soul Blaze and left the table. I figured the fairest way to rule it was to continue to roll to see if it stayed on them but until they are back on the table they cannot suffer the wounds (so theoretically when they deep strike in next turn, they could still be on fire).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/12 23:19:09
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Nothing about leaving the table specifies that you lose counters, that's why other things like RP tokens have been specified as lost. Soul Blaze doesn't mention that - and nothing about the rule requires the models to be on the table, either. So I'd say they still suffer.
It helps that the wounds would have to be randomly allocated anyway.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/13 05:55:55
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
Neenah, Wisconsin
|
Hey, if I can't cast powers from a transport because I am "not on the table" then I am not taking casualties from a power that affects units in play either.
|
Visit my blog at www.goingaming.blogspot.com
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/13 06:02:05
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Kyrolon wrote:Hey, if I can't cast powers from a transport because I am "not on the table" then I am not taking casualties from a power that affects units in play either.
If you had fire points you can cast and you can cast powers on yourself or the tank so yes you are on the table.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/13 11:57:48
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Kyrolon wrote:Hey, if I can't cast powers from a transport because I am "not on the table" then I am not taking casualties from a power that affects units in play either.
Those powers that don't work from a transport either need line of sight or have been specifically FAQ'ed. The Blood Angels power Shield, for example, still works while the Librarian is embarked and therefore off the table... in fact it's measured from the vehicle's hull. There's your precedent.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/13 12:48:56
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Emboldened Warlock
|
Can Swooping Hawks that start on the table and Skyleap turn 1 , Deepstike in subsequent turns?
The BrB states "In order for a unit to deep strike, all models in the unit must have the deep strike rule and the unit must start the game in reserve."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/13 13:00:01
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
PredaKhaine wrote:Apologies if this has been asked before, I've checked the op and didn't see it, so if its already been asked and answered I'd like to be pointed in the right direction
The exarch power fast shot states
Eldar Codex wrote:This model always fires one more shot than is normal for his weapon
When the exarch uses a quad gun or an icarus lascannon, does this count as 'his' weapon or is 'his' weapon what he brought with him(ie, only his actual wargear)?
Anyone?
|
Blacksails wrote:
Its because ordinance is still a word.
However, firing ordinance at someone isn't nearly as threatening as firing ordnance at someone.
Ordinance is a local law, or bill, or other form of legislation.
Ordnance is high caliber explosives.
No 'I' in ordnance.
Don't drown the enemy in legislation, drown them in explosives. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/13 13:06:08
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Nivoglibina wrote:Can Swooping Hawks that start on the table and Skyleap turn 1 , Deepstike in subsequent turns?
The BrB states "In order for a unit to deep strike, all models in the unit must have the deep strike rule and the unit must start the game in reserve."
Yes, as you are in ongoing reserve
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/13 17:39:00
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Emboldened Warlock
|
I think they should be able, but wouldn't RAW dictate they must come on walking?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/14 20:25:09
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
yakface wrote:
???
That's called if/when they publish the Games Workshop Eldar FAQ (or an updated version in this case, since they put out one already with a single errata).
Not sure what connections you think I have!
Yakface I need this faq asap!  The biggest question I am waiting on is whether you can cast both the blessing and the malediction of a runes of battle spell.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/15 02:03:08
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
Pittsburgh, PA
|
Tomb King wrote:Yakface I need this faq asap!  The biggest question I am waiting on is whether you can cast both the blessing and the malediction of a runes of battle spell.
It doesn't seem like you can. Even though it has two modes of use, it's still the same power, and you can only use a power once per turn. Think of it like the firing modes on a Fire Prism, even though it can be used multiple ways, you can only pick one per turn to use.
|
Eldar shenanigans are the best shenanigans!
DQ:90S++G+M--B+IPw40k09#+D++A++/areWD-R++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/15 16:03:23
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Crazed Savage Orc
|
Hello:
Im not super familiar with 6th ed, so I hope this isn't too dumb a question:
If an Autarch starts the game reserved joined to, lets say, Dark Eldar Reavers, does he lose the Path of Strategy manipulation on himself?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/15 16:27:17
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Here is one for the Iyanden book. Assuming leaks are accurate and you can make a Wraithknight your warlord, does said model gain the Character classification or is this the only warlord in all of 40k who cannot fight in challenges?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/15 16:54:06
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Niccolo wrote:Hello:
Im not super familiar with 6th ed, so I hope this isn't too dumb a question:
If an Autarch starts the game reserved joined to, lets say, Dark Eldar Reavers, does he lose the Path of Strategy manipulation on himself?
Yes, as he is not an Eldar unit any longer. P39, IC joining rules. No FAQ needed
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/15 17:07:05
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Crazed Savage Orc
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Niccolo wrote:Hello:
Im not super familiar with 6th ed, so I hope this isn't too dumb a question:
If an Autarch starts the game reserved joined to, lets say, Dark Eldar Reavers, does he lose the Path of Strategy manipulation on himself?
Yes, as he is not an Eldar unit any longer. P39, IC joining rules. No FAQ needed
Thanks for the reply. Thats how I read the situation, just wanted to make sure I didn't short myself.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/15 18:52:15
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Phazael wrote:Here is one for the Iyanden book. Assuming leaks are accurate and you can make a Wraithknight your warlord, does said model gain the Character classification or is this the only warlord in all of 40k who cannot fight in challenges?
That's not exactly FAQ-worthy. Either he becomes a character or he doesn't, it won't exactly be unclear.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/15 20:13:31
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
Super Ready wrote: Phazael wrote:Here is one for the Iyanden book. Assuming leaks are accurate and you can make a Wraithknight your warlord, does said model gain the Character classification or is this the only warlord in all of 40k who cannot fight in challenges?
That's not exactly FAQ-worthy. Either he becomes a character or he doesn't, it won't exactly be unclear.
Well, the wraithknight only being able to shoot 2 weapons per turn is pretty clear, as well, but it's just one of those things that actually is a frequently asked question. I had this Iyanden codex concern as well, because I could have sworn there was some special rule or power in the game that involved fighting an opponent's warlord in a challenge. I can't find it, and I might be making it up, but it does seem a little strange to have a non-character warlord.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/15 20:16:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/15 21:54:05
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Nothing I can think of. There are a few special rules that only concern challenges - particularly with the new Eldar Codex - but nothing Warlord-specific. You may be thinking of the Slay the Warlord objective, but getting an MC stuck in a challenge is actually usually a BAD way of achieving that...
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/15 23:14:41
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
Personal Traits, Legendary Fighter. You gain VP for characters slain in challenges.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/16 05:11:07
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Phazael wrote:Here is one for the Iyanden book. Assuming leaks are accurate and you can make a Wraithknight your warlord, does said model gain the Character classification or is this the only warlord in all of 40k who cannot fight in challenges?
He's have to since only characters can be warlords iirc.
But how about you wait for that book...
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/16 16:36:55
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Question about Disarming Strike: If you use this power on a specialist weapon on a model with another non-specialist melee weapon or pistol, can that model then claim the +1 Attack bonus for two melee weapons?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/16 23:02:50
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
tgjensen wrote:Question about Disarming Strike: If you use this power on a specialist weapon on a model with another non-specialist melee weapon or pistol, can that model then claim the +1 Attack bonus for two melee weapons?
Yes, as the specialist weapon is treated as a bog standard CCW, and bog standard CCWs don't have the Specialist Weapon rule. So the model in question would have two weapons, neither of which were Specialist Weapons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 01:19:21
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Regarding the limits of taking Remnants of Glory:
Can an autarch purchase a weapon, and then replace that purchased weapon with a Remnant of glory?
Example: Buy a scorpion chainsword for 3 points and then exchange it for a firesabre, thus giving you +1 attack from having 2 close combat weapons (keeping your pistol).
Furthermore, can you exchange the twin-linked shuri-cats on a jetbike for a remnant of glory? Jetbike entry on p.66 says that the model riding the bike has the guns, not the bike itself.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/17 01:19:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 09:16:04
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Nivoglibina wrote:Can Swooping Hawks that start on the table and Skyleap turn 1 , Deepstike in subsequent turns?
The BrB states "In order for a unit to deep strike, all models in the unit must have the deep strike rule and the unit must start the game in reserve."
I vote for this one too. Right now they have to walk back on if they Skyleap after deploying normally.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/17 09:16:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 20:09:39
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
When do you have to decide / declare you're going to fire a weapon on a vehicle with a scatter laser?
I don't think the BRB covers this;
If I have a scatter laser on a wave serpent, can I decide to fire the shield after rolling for the scatter laser?
Normally, all weapons are fired simultaneous, so you have to decide/declare all at once.
The laser lock rule specifically says to fire the scatter laser *first* then all others. Why shouldn't the eldar player be able to say what "all others" means after knowing whether or not the scatter laser hit?
(Note, this doesn't really matter against most targets, the TL scatter laser is almost always going to hit. But against flyers, you might only want to fire the shield if its twin linked, and about half the time the scatter laser will not get a single hit against flyers)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/17 21:13:45
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
The Eldar power Death Mission says 'at the end of each phase'. This means also the opponent's phases?
Since there are 3 phases in each player turn (movement, shooting, assault) and you only gain D3+2 counters (max 5) you can die in the opponent's phase if you roll badly?
With a 50% chance to remove a counter each turn I have not yet found a use for this power.
|
Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/18 01:47:11
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Shandara wrote:The Eldar power Death Mission says 'at the end of each phase'. This means also the opponent's phases?
Since there are 3 phases in each player turn (movement, shooting, assault) and you only gain D3+2 counters (max 5) you can die in the opponent's phase if you roll badly?
With a 50% chance to remove a counter each turn I have not yet found a use for this power.
It says each phase. That means exactly what it says.
So, if you want to use Death Mission, then you better be ready to win then and there. Your farseer will be dead before your next turn.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/18 01:51:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/18 02:00:59
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
jcress410 wrote:When do you have to decide / declare you're going to fire a weapon on a vehicle with a scatter laser?
I don't think the BRB covers this;
If I have a scatter laser on a wave serpent, can I decide to fire the shield after rolling for the scatter laser?
Normally, all weapons are fired simultaneous, so you have to decide/declare all at once.
The laser lock rule specifically says to fire the scatter laser *first* then all others. Why shouldn't the eldar player be able to say what "all others" means after knowing whether or not the scatter laser hit?
(Note, this doesn't really matter against most targets, the TL scatter laser is almost always going to hit. But against flyers, you might only want to fire the shield if its twin linked, and about half the time the scatter laser will not get a single hit against flyers)
The Laser Lock rules tell you. Namely, that you have to be firing one or more weapons with laser lock and one or more without. Which means you have to declare all the weapons you are firing as normal. So no, no waiting until after firing the Scatter Laser to find out if you want to blow your shield. The Laser Lock rule only modifies the step where you roll to hit, not the step where you declare who is firing what.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/18 13:52:24
Subject: Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Chrysis wrote:jcress410 wrote:When do you have to decide / declare you're going to fire a weapon on a vehicle with a scatter laser?
I don't think the BRB covers this;
If I have a scatter laser on a wave serpent, can I decide to fire the shield after rolling for the scatter laser?
Normally, all weapons are fired simultaneous, so you have to decide/declare all at once.
The laser lock rule specifically says to fire the scatter laser *first* then all others. Why shouldn't the eldar player be able to say what "all others" means after knowing whether or not the scatter laser hit?
(Note, this doesn't really matter against most targets, the TL scatter laser is almost always going to hit. But against flyers, you might only want to fire the shield if its twin linked, and about half the time the scatter laser will not get a single hit against flyers)
The Laser Lock rules tell you. Namely, that you have to be firing one or more weapons with laser lock and one or more without. Which means you have to declare all the weapons you are firing as normal. So no, no waiting until after firing the Scatter Laser to find out if you want to blow your shield. The Laser Lock rule only modifies the step where you roll to hit, not the step where you declare who is firing what.
I think it needs a faq.
I tend to agree with your interpretation, but (unless i've missed something in the BRB, which I don't have on me at the moment) I don't think you're required to declare which weapons are firing when you decide to fire a model.
I've seen different rulings on this question already, though not in a tournament setting.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/19 12:14:49
Subject: Re:Eldar 6th Edition codex FAQ collection thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
May Swooping Hawks arrive via Deep Strike if they began the game on the table, used Skyleap in the first or later turn and then arrive again in the subsequent turn?
|
hello |
|
 |
 |
|