Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
Times and dates in your local timezone.
Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
2019/09/25 19:03:06
Subject: Re:Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
This is probably my current list (with models that I currently own), note I do not tend to play ITC missions so not worrying about things like gangbusters/kill more etc.
Uhh nice, ya the profit is just for one turn wit assault 18 per bot but moving and shoot without penalty is nice^^ so my thought was right that aegis must be only active to activate the gem and not active the whole turn, nice.
But is the binary override not at the end of any phase?
Iam already at discord with nickname necrow^^ was already in use here that name
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/25 19:08:25
Admech & Deathwatch --------------------------------------
Don´t Hessel the Hof
2019/09/25 19:08:48
Subject: Re:Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
Hesselhof wrote: Uhh nice, ya the profit is just for one turn wit assault 18 per bot but moving and shoot without penalty is nice^^ so my thought was right that aegis must be only active to activate the gem and not active the whole turn, nice.
But is the binary override not at the end of any phase?
Iam already at discord with nickname necrow^^ was already in use here that name
end of the psychic phase (such as it is for Admech...)
Praise the Omnissiah
About 4k of .
Imperial Knights (Valiant, Warden & Armigers)
Some Misc. Imperium units etc. Assassins...
About 2k of
2019/09/25 19:15:22
Subject: Re:Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
Kastelan Robots [18 PL, 330pts]
. Kastelan Robot: Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . Two Heavy Phosphor Blasters: 2x Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. Kastelan Robot: Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . Two Heavy Phosphor Blasters: 2x Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. Kastelan Robot: Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . Two Heavy Phosphor Blasters: 2x Heavy Phosphor Blaster
Heavy Support - 333 1x Skorpius Disintegrator - Belleros Energy Cannon
1x Skorpius Disintegrator - Belleros Energy Cannon
1x Skorpius Disintegrator - Belleros Energy Cannon
Suzuteo wrote: @Pomguo
Oh wow. I never caught that. Ah well, it's a weird edge case anyway. Never charged something and had my fully loaded transport outright killed yet.
Edited and removed the offending passage.
More impact from that faq for stuff like kamikaze berserker rhino. Move rhino up, try to blow up with combi plasma, charge with berserkers. Longer reach with berserkers that way
2024 painted/bought: 109/109
2019/09/26 08:54:56
Subject: Re:Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
I gues the new to go would be, like Iago said, Mars Bots, Cawl, maybe arkebuses and destroyers^^
But what to do against eldar flyers?
Ryzaphrons kill Eldar flyers. Daedalosus + Noospheric Mindlock means +2 to hit. So they usually hit on 4s with RR1, wound on 2s, and deal 2 damage each hit if you don't overcharge, 3 if you do. 6 Ryzaphrons to kill reliably a Hemlock if you don't overcharge; 4 if you do.
Dakkabots really hurt Eldar flyers quite a bit as well. I would especially focus on Venoms and bikers with their guns. Each single rooted Kastelan with Wrath of Mars kills one Venom even at BS4; hits on 5s, wounds on 3s.
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/09/26 12:37:39
2019/09/26 12:35:48
Subject: Re:Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
Kastelan Robots [24 PL, 440pts]
. Kastelan Robot: Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . Two Heavy Phosphor Blasters: 2x Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. Kastelan Robot: Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . Two Heavy Phosphor Blasters: 2x Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. Kastelan Robot: Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . Two Heavy Phosphor Blasters: 2x Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. Kastelan Robot: Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . Two Heavy Phosphor Blasters: 2x Heavy Phosphor Blaster
Kastelan Robots [24 PL, 440pts]
. Kastelan Robot: Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . Two Heavy Phosphor Blasters: 2x Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. Kastelan Robot: Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . Two Heavy Phosphor Blasters: 2x Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. Kastelan Robot: Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . Two Heavy Phosphor Blasters: 2x Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. Kastelan Robot: Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . Two Heavy Phosphor Blasters: 2x Heavy Phosphor Blaster
Kastelan Robots
. . Kastelan Robot: Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . . . Two Heavy Phosphor Blasters: 2x Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . Kastelan Robot: Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . . . Two Heavy Phosphor Blasters: 2x Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . Kastelan Robot: Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . . . Two Heavy Phosphor Blasters: 2x Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . Kastelan Robot: Heavy Phosphor Blaster
. . . . Two Heavy Phosphor Blasters: 2x Heavy Phosphor Blaster
Skorpius Disintegrator: Belleros Energy Cannon, 3x Cognis Heavy Stubber
Skorpius Disintegrator: Belleros Energy Cannon, 3x Cognis Heavy Stubber
++ Battalion Detachment +5CP (Imperium - Adeptus Mechanicus) ++
Skorpius Disintegrator: Belleros Energy Cannon, 3x Cognis Heavy Stubber
Missing the snipers which I don't like but all in all I think this could work. 20 points for Servitors though.
Some quick improvements:
-Do Mars Battalion (Cawl, Manip, Rangers, Dakkabots), Mars Spearhead (Enginseer, 3x Grators), Stygies Battalion (Daeda, Enginseer, Dragoons, Hoplites, Duneriders) to get rid of the Servitors
-Move the Daedalosus to the Stygies unit. Stygies Enginseers are pretty useless without Drills to put them in. Mars Enginseers can repair in a pinch and also can take the +1S Canticle for Mars in desperate circumstances to hit really hard with the Servo-Arm.
-I would consider dropping one shield on the Hoplites for EDT. It lets you disembark, advance with the Dunerider blocking LOS from your opponent, and then shoot. In matchups where you need to clear T3 enemies, this can be important, especially in objective scoring games against opponents like Guard or Eldar. Late game, having the morale reroll is also really nice.
@Thairne
Gloria Mechanicus and Divine Chorus are useful if you don't have Cawl.
Archaeotech Specialists is good if you normally take Mask but have a Lucius Enginseer you want to give the Solar Flare to too.
I have used Dataspike before against Disco Lords.
Doctrinas are also good to cancel out flyer minus to hit.
Dunestriders is good to suddenly capture objectives your opponent thought was out of reach, score Linebreaker, or the usual trick to advance behind LOS blocking terrain inside your opponent's deployment for a charge the next turn.
Acquisition is cheap, considering it's basically paying 2 CP to cut casualties to your Kataphrons or Hoplites by 25-33% and to potentially score VP in the process. Remember that you can use it as many times as you want on as many different units as you'd like.
Machine Spirit's Revenge can be hilariously good for 1 CP.
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/09/26 20:48:51
2019/09/27 05:10:15
Subject: Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
Can you use Acquisition more than once at a time because it happens “at the end of your turn” and so not in a phase (bypassing the usual “once per phase” strat restriction)? Hadn’t heard that.
2019/09/27 05:49:11
Subject: Re:Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
Can you use Acquisition more than once at a time because it happens “at the end of your turn” and so not in a phase (bypassing the usual “once per phase” strat restriction)? Hadn’t heard that.
Yes you can use it more than once. I am still on the fence why you could use it more than once on the same unit though.
2019/09/27 05:57:49
Subject: Re:Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
Can you use Acquisition more than once at a time because it happens “at the end of your turn” and so not in a phase (bypassing the usual “once per phase” strat restriction)? Hadn’t heard that.
Yes you can use it more than once. I am still on the fence why you could use it more than once on the same unit though.
Holy Sh*t o.O nice
Admech & Deathwatch --------------------------------------
Don´t Hessel the Hof
2019/09/27 06:34:07
Subject: Re:Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
Can you use Acquisition more than once at a time because it happens “at the end of your turn” and so not in a phase (bypassing the usual “once per phase” strat restriction)? Hadn’t heard that.
Yes you can use it more than once. I am still on the fence why you could use it more than once on the same unit though.
Been trying to dig up but damn GW doesn't make it easy to determine of multiples of same rule are cumulative or not. Closest I have so far found in FAQ is:
Q: Lots of aura abilities say they grant an ability to nearby
units that are within range of any such models. Are the bonuses
cumulative (i.e. if I am within range of two models with identical
aura abilities, is the bonus doubled)?
A: Unless stated otherwise, no. The bonus for such an
ability applies once if any (i.e. one or more) of these
models are within range
2024 painted/bought: 109/109
2019/09/27 06:44:09
Subject: Re:Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
Can you use Acquisition more than once at a time because it happens “at the end of your turn” and so not in a phase (bypassing the usual “once per phase” strat restriction)? Hadn’t heard that.
Yes you can use it more than once. I am still on the fence why you could use it more than once on the same unit though.
Been trying to dig up but damn GW doesn't make it easy to determine of multiples of same rule are cumulative or not. Closest I have so far found in FAQ is:
Q: Lots of aura abilities say they grant an ability to nearby
units that are within range of any such models. Are the bonuses
cumulative (i.e. if I am within range of two models with identical
aura abilities, is the bonus doubled)?
A: Unless stated otherwise, no. The bonus for such an
ability applies once if any (i.e. one or more) of these
models are within range
Stratagems aren't auras.
There is nothing stating that you cannot use a stratagem on the same unit more than once in a turn. There is a rule stating you cannot use a stratagem more than once per phase, but there is also an FAQ stating that this rule does not apply at the beginning or end of turns.
2019/09/27 07:04:31
Subject: Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
But principle applies. What is wording on acquisition? If it's "within x" of y" then effect is applied when you are within y. But there's no multiplication of effect. You are within x" only once.
2024 painted/bought: 109/109
2019/09/27 07:26:50
Subject: Re:Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
I put this question to the national tourney group and the debate has been FURIOUS. The TO agrees with Suzuteo’s interpretation but very few players do, haha. They think End of Turn means the End of the Morale Phase, since that is the last phase in the turn. Has GW said anywhere that a blank, phaseless space exists between turns? I only found the FAQ answer saying that Deployment is not a phase.
If said space exists, then does that mean that “at the start of your turn” strats are also outside of a phase? So we can make every vehicle act at top damage bracket, and Tau can heal as many D3 wounds as they have CP to afford?
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/09/27 08:30:28
2019/09/27 09:36:34
Subject: Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
Strategic Discipline
The same Stratagem cannot be used by the same player more than once during any single phase. This does not affect Stratagems that are not used during a phase, such as those used ‘before the battle begins’ or ‘at the end of a battle round'.
This clearly indicates that end of turn and round fall outside of phases and thus, the supposition that the end of the turn or round is the end of the Morale phase is not supported by RAW.
And concerning starts of the turn, yes. For example, you can use the Stygies stratagem Clandestine Infiltration on as many units as you would like, as many times as you would like. Though past the first infiltration, it would not benefit a unit to be infiltrated again. This is in contrast to something like Forlorn Fury in the Blood Angels codex.
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2019/09/27 09:39:08
2019/09/27 17:07:39
Subject: Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
RIP stacking Acquisition at Any Cost and also RIP mortal wounds from Wrath of Mars slipping past Savior Protocols. New September FAQ is out btw. First one is in ours, second one is in the Tau FAQ
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/27 17:09:23
2019/09/27 17:09:42
Subject: Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
Strategic Discipline
The same Stratagem cannot be used by the same player more than once during any single phase. This does not affect Stratagems that are not used during a phase, such as those used ‘before the battle begins’ or ‘at the end of a battle round'.
This clearly indicates that end of turn and round fall outside of phases and thus, the supposition that the end of the turn or round is the end of the Morale phase is not supported by RAW.
And concerning starts of the turn, yes. For example, you can use the Stygies stratagem Clandestine Infiltration on as many units as you would like, as many times as you would like. Though past the first infiltration, it would not benefit a unit to be infiltrated again. This is in contrast to something like Forlorn Fury in the Blood Angels codex.
New update - only once per turn now for Acquisition at any Cost
More concerned about the Saviour Protocols side-buffs:
Page 90, 97, 98, 99, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 111, 112,
113, 114 and 116 – Saviour Protocols
Change this ability to read: ‘When resolving an attack made against a <Sept> Infantry or <Sept> Battlesuit unit whilst that unit is within 3" of a friendly <Sept> Drones unit, if the wound roll is successful, you can roll one D6; on a 2+ that Drones unit suffers 1 mortal wound and the attack sequence ends.’
Q: If an attack inflicts mortal wounds on the target, and the attack is subsequently allocated to a Drones unit as a result of the Saviour Protocols ability, what happens to those mortal wounds inflicted?
A: They are cancelled. All damage and mortal wounds inflicted as the result of that attack is reduced to the mortal wound inflicted by the Saviour Protocols ability on that Drones unit.
ry pick the 6s to SP.
Spoiler:
Q: If an attack inflicts a rules effect on a target unit (e.g. Tremor Shells in Codex Space Marines), and that attack is subsequently allocated to a Drones unit as a result of the Saviour Protocols ability, which unit is the rules effect applied to?
A: The Drones unit.
I guess Saviour Protocols got buffed because now it just ends the entire attack sequence. But there is one HUGE problem: If this applies to stratagems, WE CAN NO LONGER SPEED ROLL WRATH OF MARS.
EDIT: May have overreacted. It seems in that case, you would have to stop and finish all wound rolls. Then take the 6s and try to SP for those. Then take the non-6s and try to SP for those. Each time, it cannot be larger than the smallest Drone unit.
EDIT: Sorry, posted the wrong FAQ ruling at the end of those quote blocks.
This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2019/09/27 17:57:26
2019/09/27 17:39:01
Subject: Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
Holy gak that's actually huge Suzuteo, the best you could realistically do is let Savior Protocols activate and batch-roll the wounds in the number of however many Savior drones are remaining in the unit. This kills the AdMech player chess clock, holy gak.
2019/09/27 17:51:39
Subject: Adeptus Mechanicus Tactica 3.0: Riding the Dunes
they need to just release a generic faq about that and "mortal damage in addition to damage"
Orks with grot shields have the same problem and the ruling on it is so dang fuzzy it always sparks arguments.
An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.
14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys