Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
Times and dates in your local timezone.
Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
Surprised you can't load marines into the Starcraft... I mean Hammerfall Bunker. Guess this is the replacement for Drop Pods since you can DS from reserves without needing an actual Drop Pod?
Also, wonder if we'll see armies comprising solely of Hammerfall Bunkers appear. With the 72" range launchers (and no facing rules to stop you from shooting something with all 8 heavy bolters/flamers), I'd give it a shot just to see if it'd work.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:11:00
H.B.M.C. wrote: Necron towers are cool. The bunker's a little GI Joe for my tastes, but I'm a sucker for GW terrain so I'll probably end up getting one.
But superfrag missiles? I know super-kraks existed back in the day, but did super-frags exist (I keep typing "grags"... I have no idea why)?
Maybe you’re secretly His Grace, the Duke of Ankh, Commander Sir Samuel Vimes? He often had grags on the mind?
Fed up of Scalpers? But still want your Exclusives? Why not join us?
All modifiers (if any) to a dice roll are cumulative; you must apply all division modifiers before applying all multiplication modifiers, and before applying all addition and then all subtraction modifiers. Round any fractions up after applying all modifiers. A dice roll can be modified above its maximum possible value (for example, a D6 roll can be modified above 6) but it can never be modified below 1. If, after all modifiers have been applied, a dice roll would be less than 1, count that result as a 1.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:12:09
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.
Make sure you disembark before enemies engage the transport though - you can't disembark into engagement range, so watch out for fast movers following/encircling your transports and keeping your transportees hostage.
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.
Keep in mind this interaction of 1+ saves ignoring all AP is explicitly intended and FAQed in AOS.
I can see it getting FAQed fast, but for now there is no reason to assume that they don't have a 2++ when they ruled in that direction for the Bastiladon.
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.
Keep in mind this interaction of 1+ saves ignoring all AP is explicitly intended and FAQed in AOS.
I can see it getting FAQed fast, but for now there is no reason to assume that they don't have a 2++ when they ruled in that direction for the Bastiladon.
Like you said, they explicitly said that was the case for the Bastiladon, but either Terminators and Custodes get a different storm shield rule, or we have effective 2++ Termies and Bananas running about. 7th edition Invisible Deathstars anyone?
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.
I can't find if there is a limit as to how many units can be put in reserve, Is it possible to put your whole army there or is it still 50% like in 8TH?
To add a little comic relief, they posted the Harlequins preview, with the absolutely amazing hot-take that Voidweavers are going to get more play in 9th because they have blast weapons. Which of course is the complete opposite of reality, because blast on that weapon is a total trap since they can't fire when falling back thanks to the new 9th edition rules (they don't get rising crescendo).
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.
Keep in mind this interaction of 1+ saves ignoring all AP is explicitly intended and FAQed in AOS.
Why does an unmodified 1 fail but a modified 1 succeed?
Because the rules say it does?
9th Ed Core Rules PDF, Page 5 wrote:All modifiers (if any) to a dice roll are cumulative; you must apply all division modifiers before applying all multiplication modifiers, and before applying all addition and then all subtraction modifiers. Round any fractions up after applying all modifiers. A dice roll can be modified above its maximum possible value (for example, a D6 roll can be modified above 6) but it can never be modified below 1. If, after all modifiers have been applied, a dice roll would be less than 1, count that result as a 1.
9th Ed Core Rules PDF, Page 18 wrote:4. SAVING THROW The player commanding the target unit then makes one saving throw by rolling one D6 and modifying the roll by the Armour Penetration (AP) characteristic of the weapon that the attack was made with. For example, if the weapon has an AP of -1, then 1 is subtracted from the saving throw roll. If the result is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model the attack was allocated to, then the saving throw is successful and the attack sequence ends. If the result is less than the model’s Save characteristic, then the saving throw fails and the model suffers damage. An unmodified roll of 1 always fails.
My save is 1+, I roll a 2, AP-4 can't lower it below 1, so it is modified to a 1. 1 is not less than the model's Save characteristic, so the save is successful.
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:24:12
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.
Keep in mind this interaction of 1+ saves ignoring all AP is explicitly intended and FAQed in AOS.
Why does an unmodified 1 fail but a modified 1 succeed?
He's assuming (sight-unseen) that terminators and custodes with storm shields will be given a 1+ save. Unmodified 1s always fail, but modified rolls don't always fail, even if they end up as 1s (assuming they'd succeed on a 1+). He's assuming a corner case without verifying it actually exists.
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.
Keep in mind this interaction of 1+ saves ignoring all AP is explicitly intended and FAQed in AOS.
Why does an unmodified 1 fail but a modified 1 succeed?
Because they (possibly) have a save of 1+? So unmodified 1s fail, but modified 1s don't. They're separate.
It really is the Bastiladon argument all over again.
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:24:24
PourSpelur wrote: It's fully within the rules for me to look up your Facebook page, find out your dear Mother Gladys is single, take her on a lovely date, and tell you all the details of our hot, sweaty, animal sex during your psychic phase.
I mean, fifty bucks is on the line.
There's no rule that says I can't.
Nope. Any type of move.
The aircraft rules specifically says "Whenever a model makes any type of move... it cannot end the move in engagement range of the aircraft" There isn't any override on that in charge section.
There IS for pile-in, consolidate and heroic intervention, but you can't attack units you didn't charge, and on their turn, the only way you can get attacks off is if they leave the aircraft there... which most can't do, since min movement and all that.
Hmm, so, perhaps no more charging flyers. I imagine if that is the case the Heldrake would get some sort of exception, but then what about hover? Has to be a mistake.
Aircraft only. You can charge flyers just fine. If the Heldrake doesn't have the aircraft rule, there isn't a problem.
Hover presumably solves itself, just as it does now (but in a less wordy way). I expect Hover, Supersonic and Airborne (for example on the Stormtalon) to be FAQed. The bulk of it will simply say that you add the aircraft keyword and hover mode treats the aircraft keyword as not existing.
Sorry - I need to get in the habit of using the term aircraft. Good point, too - hover can change on the sheet.
Stormonu wrote: Surprised you can't load marines into the Starcraft... I mean Hammerfall Bunker. Guess this is the replacement for Drop Pods since you can DS from reserves without needing an actual Drop Pod?
Also, wonder if we'll see armies comprising solely of Hammerfall Bunkers appear. With the 72" range launchers (and no facing rules to stop you from shooting something with all 8 heavy bolters/flamers), I'd give it a shot just to see if it'd work.
Voss wrote: He's assuming (sight-unseen) that terminators and custodes with storm shields will be given a 1+ save. Unmodified 1s always fail, but modified rolls don't always fail, even if they end up as 1s (assuming they'd succeed on a 1+). He's assuming a corner case without verifying it actually exists.
True, this is all assuming their Storm Shields have the same rule as the other Storm Shield that has been shown. Given it's GW, we shouldn't assume the same wargear has the same rules between units.
VladimirHerzog wrote: I can't find if there is a limit as to how many units can be put in reserve, Is it possible to put your whole army there or is it still 50% like in 8TH?
Strategic reserve rules aren't in this mini-rulebook (like the 8th edition mini rules pamphlet, it leaves things out so you need a real rulebook for the full rules)
Looking at the leaked stuff, I don't see a limit, but there is a CP cost for each unit that goes in (not counting units that have innate rules for reserve, like teleporting, deep striking, genestealer ambush, etc)
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:29:06
VladimirHerzog wrote: I can't find if there is a limit as to how many units can be put in reserve, Is it possible to put your whole army there or is it still 50% like in 8TH?
It's in the matched play mission rules. Same rule as 8th: no more than half the units and points, and everything has to arrive by the end of T3 or be destroyed, unless it went back in after coming out once.
Interestingly, prepared positions does appear to simply be gone from the game.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:29:23
VladimirHerzog wrote: I can't find if there is a limit as to how many units can be put in reserve, Is it possible to put your whole army there or is it still 50% like in 8TH?
Strategic reserve rules aren't in this mini-rulebook (like the 8th edition mini rules pamphlet, it leaves things out so you need a real rulebook for the full rules)
Looking at the leaked stuff, I don't see a limit, but there is a CP cost for each unit that goes in (not counting units that have innate rules for reserve, like teleporting, deep striking, genestealer ambush, etc)
yeah , i was talking about the leaks. i'd love to be able to run a null deployment night lords list
VladimirHerzog wrote: I can't find if there is a limit as to how many units can be put in reserve, Is it possible to put your whole army there or is it still 50% like in 8TH?
It's in the matched play mission rules. Same rule as 8th: no more than half the units and points, and everything has to arrive by the end of T3 or be destroyed, unless it went back in after coming out once.
Interestingly, prepared positions does appear to simply be gone from the game.
gotcha, thanks
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:30:06
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.
Keep in mind this interaction of 1+ saves ignoring all AP is explicitly intended and FAQed in AOS.
I can see it getting FAQed fast, but for now there is no reason to assume that they don't have a 2++ when they ruled in that direction for the Bastiladon.
Like you said, they explicitly said that was the case for the Bastiladon, but either Terminators and Custodes get a different storm shield rule, or we have effective 2++ Termies and Bananas running about. 7th edition Invisible Deathstars anyone?
BaconCatBug wrote: In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.
I'm not sure I get it.
Is the Storm Shield (in this instance) increasing their save to 1+, or is it adding +1 to the saving throw?
And wouldn't this:
BaconCatBug wrote: My save is 1+, I roll a 2, AP-4 can't lower it below 1, so it is modified to a 1. 1 is not less than the model's Save characteristic, so the save is successful.
...mean that the Terminator (or whatever) is essentially immune to damage. What would kill them (non-standard sources of damage notwithstanding)?
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:39:51
BaconCatBug wrote: In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.
I'm not sure I get it.
Is the Storm Shield (in this instance) increasing their save to 1+, or is it adding +1 to the saving throw?
And wouldn't this:
BaconCatBug wrote: My save is 1+, I roll a 2, AP-4 can't lower it below 1, so it is modified to a 1. 1 is not less than the model's Save characteristic, so the save is successful.
...mean that the Terminator (or whatever) is essentially immune to damage. What would kill them (non-standard sources of damage notwithstanding)?
A natural roll of 1 on the dice would let the wound go through