Switch Theme:

40k 9th edition, : App released page 413  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Inspiring SDF-1 Bridge Officer





Mississippi

Surprised you can't load marines into the Starcraft... I mean Hammerfall Bunker. Guess this is the replacement for Drop Pods since you can DS from reserves without needing an actual Drop Pod?

Also, wonder if we'll see armies comprising solely of Hammerfall Bunkers appear. With the 72" range launchers (and no facing rules to stop you from shooting something with all 8 heavy bolters/flamers), I'd give it a shot just to see if it'd work.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:11:00


It never ends well 
   
Made in gr
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch



Netherlands

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Assault Terminators and Custodes ignore all AP now and always make their saves 5/6ths of the time. Glorious days!


You get that, I get unlimited megasmites with Magnus. Deal?

14000
15000
4000 
   
Made in gb
Hulking Hunter-class Warmech





Bristol, England

If I'm reading this right, you can now charge after disembarking, unless the transport is destroyed. That's huge.

Edit: Nevermind, the transport still can't have moved.

Spoiler:

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:14:15


Read the first two novels in the Maelstrom's Edge Universe now:

Maelstrom's Edge: Faith - read a sample here!

and

Maelstrom's Edge: Sacrifice 
   
Made in gb
Ridin' on a Snotling Pump Wagon






 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Necron towers are cool. The bunker's a little GI Joe for my tastes, but I'm a sucker for GW terrain so I'll probably end up getting one.

But superfrag missiles? I know super-kraks existed back in the day, but did super-frags exist (I keep typing "grags"... I have no idea why)?



Maybe you’re secretly His Grace, the Duke of Ankh, Commander Sir Samuel Vimes? He often had grags on the mind?

Fed up of Scalpers? But still want your Exclusives? Why not join us?

Hey look! It’s my 2025 Hobby Log/Blog/Project/Whatevs 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Leth wrote:
Based on a 8th FAQ, there is nothing in the rules that I can see that puts a save limit in place.
https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/Lw4o3USx1R8sU7cQ.pdf Page 5
All modifiers (if any) to a dice roll are cumulative; you must apply
all division modifiers before applying all multiplication modifiers,
and before applying all addition and then all subtraction modifiers.
Round any fractions up after applying all modifiers. A dice roll can
be modified above its maximum possible value (for example, a D6
roll can be modified above 6) but it can never be modified below
1. If, after all modifiers have been applied, a dice roll would be less
than 1, count that result as a 1.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:12:09


 
   
Made in us
Terrifying Doombull




 darrkespur wrote:
If I'm reading this right, you can now charge after disembarking, unless the transport is destroyed. That's huge.

Spoiler:

You can, but only if the transport hasn't moved.

Efficiency is the highest virtue. 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Can you explain that slowly for us?
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.

Current discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/789646.page

Previous Discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/766233.page

Keep in mind this interaction of 1+ saves ignoring all AP is explicitly intended and FAQed in AOS.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:15:25


 
   
Made in us
Inspiring SDF-1 Bridge Officer





Mississippi

Make sure you disembark before enemies engage the transport though - you can't disembark into engagement range, so watch out for fast movers following/encircling your transports and keeping your transportees hostage.

It never ends well 
   
Made in au
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests






Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.

Hey! It's an unboxing video!!!



Industrial Insanity - My Terrain Blog
"GW really needs to understand 'Less is more' when it comes to AoS." - Wha-Mu-077

 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






topaxygouroun i wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Assault Terminators and Custodes ignore all AP now and always make their saves 5/6ths of the time. Glorious days!


You get that, I get unlimited megasmites with Magnus. Deal?
I mean, sure? That's what the rules say.
   
Made in it
Longtime Dakkanaut





 BaconCatBug wrote:
 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Can you explain that slowly for us?
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.

Current discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/789646.page

Previous Discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/766233.page

Keep in mind this interaction of 1+ saves ignoring all AP is explicitly intended and FAQed in AOS.


I can see it getting FAQed fast, but for now there is no reason to assume that they don't have a 2++ when they ruled in that direction for the Bastiladon.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Spoletta wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Can you explain that slowly for us?
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.

Current discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/789646.page

Previous Discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/766233.page

Keep in mind this interaction of 1+ saves ignoring all AP is explicitly intended and FAQed in AOS.
I can see it getting FAQed fast, but for now there is no reason to assume that they don't have a 2++ when they ruled in that direction for the Bastiladon.
Like you said, they explicitly said that was the case for the Bastiladon, but either Terminators and Custodes get a different storm shield rule, or we have effective 2++ Termies and Bananas running about. 7th edition Invisible Deathstars anyone?
   
Made in gr
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch



Netherlands

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Can you explain that slowly for us?
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.

Current discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/789646.page

Previous Discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/766233.page

Keep in mind this interaction of 1+ saves ignoring all AP is explicitly intended and FAQed in AOS.


Why does an unmodified 1 fail but a modified 1 succeed?

14000
15000
4000 
   
Made in ca
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM






I can't find if there is a limit as to how many units can be put in reserve, Is it possible to put your whole army there or is it still 50% like in 8TH?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




To add a little comic relief, they posted the Harlequins preview, with the absolutely amazing hot-take that Voidweavers are going to get more play in 9th because they have blast weapons. Which of course is the complete opposite of reality, because blast on that weapon is a total trap since they can't fire when falling back thanks to the new 9th edition rules (they don't get rising crescendo).
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






topaxygouroun i wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Can you explain that slowly for us?
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.

Current discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/789646.page

Previous Discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/766233.page

Keep in mind this interaction of 1+ saves ignoring all AP is explicitly intended and FAQed in AOS.


Why does an unmodified 1 fail but a modified 1 succeed?
Because the rules say it does?
9th Ed Core Rules PDF, Page 5 wrote:All modifiers (if any) to a dice roll are cumulative; you must apply
all division modifiers before applying all multiplication modifiers,
and before applying all addition and then all subtraction modifiers.
Round any fractions up after applying all modifiers. A dice roll can
be modified above its maximum possible value (for example, a D6
roll can be modified above 6) but it can never be modified below
1. If, after all modifiers have been applied, a dice roll would be less
than 1, count that result as a 1.
9th Ed Core Rules PDF, Page 18 wrote:4. SAVING THROW
The player commanding the target unit then makes one saving
throw by rolling one D6 and modifying the roll by the Armour
Penetration (AP) characteristic of the weapon that the attack
was made with. For example, if the weapon has an AP of -1, then
1 is subtracted from the saving throw roll. If the result is equal
to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model the
attack was allocated to, then the saving throw is successful and
the attack sequence ends. If the result is less than the model’s Save
characteristic, then the saving throw fails and the model suffers
damage. An unmodified roll of 1 always fails.
My save is 1+, I roll a 2, AP-4 can't lower it below 1, so it is modified to a 1. 1 is not less than the model's Save characteristic, so the save is successful.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:24:12


 
   
Made in us
Terrifying Doombull




topaxygouroun i wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Can you explain that slowly for us?
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.

Current discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/789646.page

Previous Discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/766233.page

Keep in mind this interaction of 1+ saves ignoring all AP is explicitly intended and FAQed in AOS.


Why does an unmodified 1 fail but a modified 1 succeed?


He's assuming (sight-unseen) that terminators and custodes with storm shields will be given a 1+ save. Unmodified 1s always fail, but modified rolls don't always fail, even if they end up as 1s (assuming they'd succeed on a 1+). He's assuming a corner case without verifying it actually exists.

Efficiency is the highest virtue. 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Sanctus Slipping in His Blade





topaxygouroun i wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Can you explain that slowly for us?
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.

Current discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/789646.page

Previous Discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/766233.page

Keep in mind this interaction of 1+ saves ignoring all AP is explicitly intended and FAQed in AOS.


Why does an unmodified 1 fail but a modified 1 succeed?


Because they (possibly) have a save of 1+? So unmodified 1s fail, but modified 1s don't. They're separate.

It really is the Bastiladon argument all over again.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:24:24


PourSpelur wrote:
It's fully within the rules for me to look up your Facebook page, find out your dear Mother Gladys is single, take her on a lovely date, and tell you all the details of our hot, sweaty, animal sex during your psychic phase.
I mean, fifty bucks is on the line.
There's no rule that says I can't.
Hive Fleet Hercual - 6760pts
Hazaak Dynasty - 3400 pts
Seraphon - 4600pts
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Voss wrote:
 Daedalus81 wrote:
Voss wrote:

Nope. Any type of move.
The aircraft rules specifically says "Whenever a model makes any type of move... it cannot end the move in engagement range of the aircraft" There isn't any override on that in charge section.
There IS for pile-in, consolidate and heroic intervention, but you can't attack units you didn't charge, and on their turn, the only way you can get attacks off is if they leave the aircraft there... which most can't do, since min movement and all that.


Hmm, so, perhaps no more charging flyers. I imagine if that is the case the Heldrake would get some sort of exception, but then what about hover? Has to be a mistake.

Aircraft only. You can charge flyers just fine. If the Heldrake doesn't have the aircraft rule, there isn't a problem.

Hover presumably solves itself, just as it does now (but in a less wordy way). I expect Hover, Supersonic and Airborne (for example on the Stormtalon) to be FAQed. The bulk of it will simply say that you add the aircraft keyword and hover mode treats the aircraft keyword as not existing.


Sorry - I need to get in the habit of using the term aircraft. Good point, too - hover can change on the sheet.
   
Made in us
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis




On the Internet

 Stormonu wrote:
Surprised you can't load marines into the Starcraft... I mean Hammerfall Bunker. Guess this is the replacement for Drop Pods since you can DS from reserves without needing an actual Drop Pod?

Also, wonder if we'll see armies comprising solely of Hammerfall Bunkers appear. With the 72" range launchers (and no facing rules to stop you from shooting something with all 8 heavy bolters/flamers), I'd give it a shot just to see if it'd work.

Marines couldn't ride in Deathstorms either
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Hey! It's an unboxing video!!!


I wish it was a cracking unboxing...

The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Voss wrote:
He's assuming (sight-unseen) that terminators and custodes with storm shields will be given a 1+ save. Unmodified 1s always fail, but modified rolls don't always fail, even if they end up as 1s (assuming they'd succeed on a 1+). He's assuming a corner case without verifying it actually exists.
True, this is all assuming their Storm Shields have the same rule as the other Storm Shield that has been shown. Given it's GW, we shouldn't assume the same wargear has the same rules between units.
   
Made in gr
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch



Netherlands

 Trickstick wrote:
 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Hey! It's an unboxing video!!!


I wish it was a cracking unboxing...


There's no way to end a HeroQuest unboxing except with another HeroQuest unboxing.

14000
15000
4000 
   
Made in us
Terrifying Doombull




 VladimirHerzog wrote:
I can't find if there is a limit as to how many units can be put in reserve, Is it possible to put your whole army there or is it still 50% like in 8TH?

Strategic reserve rules aren't in this mini-rulebook (like the 8th edition mini rules pamphlet, it leaves things out so you need a real rulebook for the full rules)
Looking at the leaked stuff, I don't see a limit, but there is a CP cost for each unit that goes in (not counting units that have innate rules for reserve, like teleporting, deep striking, genestealer ambush, etc)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:29:06


Efficiency is the highest virtue. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 VladimirHerzog wrote:
I can't find if there is a limit as to how many units can be put in reserve, Is it possible to put your whole army there or is it still 50% like in 8TH?


It's in the matched play mission rules. Same rule as 8th: no more than half the units and points, and everything has to arrive by the end of T3 or be destroyed, unless it went back in after coming out once.

Interestingly, prepared positions does appear to simply be gone from the game.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:29:23


 
   
Made in ca
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM






Voss wrote:
 VladimirHerzog wrote:
I can't find if there is a limit as to how many units can be put in reserve, Is it possible to put your whole army there or is it still 50% like in 8TH?

Strategic reserve rules aren't in this mini-rulebook (like the 8th edition mini rules pamphlet, it leaves things out so you need a real rulebook for the full rules)
Looking at the leaked stuff, I don't see a limit, but there is a CP cost for each unit that goes in (not counting units that have innate rules for reserve, like teleporting, deep striking, genestealer ambush, etc)


yeah , i was talking about the leaks. i'd love to be able to run a null deployment night lords list


Automatically Appended Next Post:
yukishiro1 wrote:
 VladimirHerzog wrote:
I can't find if there is a limit as to how many units can be put in reserve, Is it possible to put your whole army there or is it still 50% like in 8TH?


It's in the matched play mission rules. Same rule as 8th: no more than half the units and points, and everything has to arrive by the end of T3 or be destroyed, unless it went back in after coming out once.

Interestingly, prepared positions does appear to simply be gone from the game.



gotcha, thanks

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:30:06


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 BaconCatBug wrote:
Spoletta wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Can you explain that slowly for us?
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.

Current discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/789646.page

Previous Discussion thread: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/766233.page

Keep in mind this interaction of 1+ saves ignoring all AP is explicitly intended and FAQed in AOS.
I can see it getting FAQed fast, but for now there is no reason to assume that they don't have a 2++ when they ruled in that direction for the Bastiladon.
Like you said, they explicitly said that was the case for the Bastiladon, but either Terminators and Custodes get a different storm shield rule, or we have effective 2++ Termies and Bananas running about. 7th edition Invisible Deathstars anyone?


Good catch
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Illinois

Wait NVM was already posted

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:34:24


 
   
Made in au
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests






Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.

 BaconCatBug wrote:
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.
I'm not sure I get it.

Is the Storm Shield (in this instance) increasing their save to 1+, or is it adding +1 to the saving throw?

And wouldn't this:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
My save is 1+, I roll a 2, AP-4 can't lower it below 1, so it is modified to a 1. 1 is not less than the model's Save characteristic, so the save is successful.
...mean that the Terminator (or whatever) is essentially immune to damage. What would kill them (non-standard sources of damage notwithstanding)?



This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/07/02 15:39:51


Industrial Insanity - My Terrain Blog
"GW really needs to understand 'Less is more' when it comes to AoS." - Wha-Mu-077

 
   
Made in ca
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM






 H.B.M.C. wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
In short, if I have a 1+ save, and you wound me with an AP-6 weapon, I roll a D6-6 to save, which means I can roll the following set of results: {1-6, 2-6,3-6,4-6,5-6,6-6} = {1,1,1,1,1,1}. Because an unmodified 1 always fails, while a modified 1 "is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model" that means you have a 5/6 chance of passing the save, regardless of the AP of the weapon that wounds you. You have a 5/6 chance of passing your saving throw regardless of whether it's a AP-1 weapon or an AP-42 weapon.
I'm not sure I get it.

Is the Storm Shield (in this instance) increasing their save to 1+, or is it adding +1 to the saving throw?

And wouldn't this:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
My save is 1+, I roll a 2, AP-4 can't lower it below 1, so it is modified to a 1. 1 is not less than the model's Save characteristic, so the save is successful.
...mean that the Terminator (or whatever) is essentially immune to damage. What would kill them (non-standard sources of damage notwithstanding)?





A natural roll of 1 on the dice would let the wound go through
   
 
Forum Index » News & Rumors
Go to: