Switch Theme:

GW Grey Knight FAQ & updated rulebook FAQ released  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Biloxi, MS USA

spyguyyoda wrote: A Force weapon and a DCCW (which pg 73 states is a power weapon) are two different types of special ccw, and do not convey the extra attack.


Except that they DO. Read the Librarian Furioso Dreadnought entry, which states that they still receive the +1 attack for 2 CCWs despite having to choose which to use.

Albeit, whether GW will decide this ruling will affect Dreadknights is debatable.

You know you're really doing something when you can make strangers hate you over the Internet. - Mauleed
Just remember folks. Panic. Panic all the time. It's the only way to survive, other than just being mindful, of course-but geez, that's so friggin' boring. - Aegis Grimm
Hallowed is the All Pie
The Before Times: A Place That Celebrates The World That Was 
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend






The sink.

spyguyyoda wrote:
Noisy_Marine wrote:Force weapon and bolt pistol gives you plus one attack. So they are not 'special' as you say.


Please actually read the rulebook before telling me I am wrong. The bolt pistol is not a special ccw. That is why you get a bonus.

Edit: pg 42 answers your questions about what is and is not a special ccw. Force weapons and Power weapons are both special ccw. The last paragraph on this page states that two different special ccw never convey bonus attacks. Two of the same special ccw do. A Force weapon and a DCCW (which pg 73 states is a power weapon) are two different types of special ccw, and do not convey the extra attack. If you don't believe me, make a YMDC thread. I am done posting about this here.


Anger is the path to the Dark Side.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Platuan4th wrote:
spyguyyoda wrote: A Force weapon and a DCCW (which pg 73 states is a power weapon) are two different types of special ccw, and do not convey the extra attack.


Except that they DO. Read the Librarian Furioso Dreadnought entry, which states that they still receive the +1 attack for 2 CCWs despite having to choose which to use.

Albeit, whether GW will decide this ruling will affect Dreadknights is debatable.


They do when a specific model has a specific rule saying they do, in exception of the general rule.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






nosferatu1001 wrote:Wyomingfox - you;'re wrong: Specific beats general, not codex beats rulebook.

Plasma siphons require you to take a xenos inquisitor, instead of a libby + GKGM. You'll never see a siphon in competitive games, as theyre on a junk model.

Darkwynn - by definition BOTH the doomfist and sword are special CCW, as they are both weapons that do something other than hit people in CC. Doomfists are power weapons and the Sword rerolls hits and misses / AP. So this would mean you have two different CCW and NEVER get the bonus attack.

Trouble is you hop on over to the DCCW section where it states you get +1A for every CCW you have, and this is likely more specific (models with 2 different CCW vs models with 2 different CCW, one of which is a DCCW) so you would still get the attack.

So it essentially makes all DK 10 points more expensive (auto include, effectively) and a hell of a lot sillier looking, as the hammer is NOT big enough!


Just to play devils advocate here and that I don't disagree with you on what your saying but shouldn't they be classified by the special weapons section as Force weapons? They both have Nemesis weapon which makes them force weapons and they have special rules around them but they stilll fall under that force weapon.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






BRB pg 42 wrote:
Two different special weapons
When it is their turn to attack, these models must
choose which weapon to use that turn, but they never
get the bonus attack for using two weapons (such is
the penalty for wielding too many complex weapons!).


Have to say that's pretty clear.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Darkwynn wrote:Just to play devils advocate here and that I don't disagree with you on what your saying but shouldn't they be classified by the special weapons section as Force weapons? They both have Nemesis weapon which makes them force weapons and they have special rules around them but they stilll fall under that force weapon.


I would argue that according to the rule above you'd have to choose which weapon you would use, Nemesis Sword or NDF to determine which special rule to use. By the same rule, you wouldn't get the additional attack.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/15 00:50:10


- Craftworld Kai-Thaine
- Task Force Defiance 36
- Sunwolves Great Company
- 4th Company Imperial Fists
- Hive Fleet Scylla - In progress

If the man doesn't believe as we do, we say he is a crank, and that settles it. I mean, it does nowadays, because now we can't burn him. - M. Twain

The world owes you nothing. It was here first. - M. Twain

DR:70+S++G+++MB-I--Pw40k03+D++A+++/rWD-R+T(R)DM++
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut








Automatically Appended Next Post:
Darkwynn wrote:Just to play devils advocate here and that I don't disagree with you on what your saying but shouldn't they be classified by the special weapons section as Force weapons? They both have Nemesis weapon which makes them force weapons and they have special rules around them but they stilll fall under that force weapon.


I would argue that according to the rule above you'd have to choose which weapon you would use, Nemesis Sword or NDF to determine which special rule to use. By the same rule, you wouldn't get the additional attack.


But my argument would be now that there are the following special close combat weapons under page 42.

Power weapons
Lighting claws
Force weapons
Poisoned weapons
Power fist
Thunder hammers
Rending weapons
Witch blades

Now under the Grey knight book these are both Force weapons correct? So now the question comes aren't these the same of the special weapon? I think an argument could be made for a extra attack now. It might not be that case but if you go by RAW its not very clear.
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot






Darkwynn wrote:

Automatically Appended Next Post:
Darkwynn wrote:Just to play devils advocate here and that I don't disagree with you on what your saying but shouldn't they be classified by the special weapons section as Force weapons? They both have Nemesis weapon which makes them force weapons and they have special rules around them but they stilll fall under that force weapon.


I would argue that according to the rule above you'd have to choose which weapon you would use, Nemesis Sword or NDF to determine which special rule to use. By the same rule, you wouldn't get the additional attack.


But my argument would be now that there are the following special close combat weapons under page 42.

Power weapons
Lighting claws
Force weapons
Poisoned weapons
Power fist
Thunder hammers
Rending weapons
Witch blades

Now under the Grey knight book these are both Force weapons correct? So now the question comes aren't these the same of the special weapon? I think an argument could be made for a extra attack now. It might not be that case but if you go by RAW its not very clear.


I don't get how you're even arguing this:
NORMAL CLOSE COMBAT WEAPONS
Weapons like chainswords, rifle butts, combat blades,
bayonets, etc., do not confer any particular bonus to
the model using them. Remember that, in close
combat, pistols count as normal close combat weapons
and so the Strength and AP of the pistol are ignored.

SPECIAL CLOSE COMBAT WEAPONS
These include more complex and powerful weapons
that enhance the wielder's combat skills and confer
bonuses, and sometimes penalties, to the models using
them. The most widely used are listed below:


Are either the NDF or the sword a normal close combat weapon? No? Good.
Are they the SAME special weapon? As in, do they give the EXACT same bonuses? No? Ok. You don't get a bonus attack.

- 3000
- 145 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






Shrike325 wrote:
Darkwynn wrote:

Automatically Appended Next Post:
Darkwynn wrote:Just to play devils advocate here and that I don't disagree with you on what your saying but shouldn't they be classified by the special weapons section as Force weapons? They both have Nemesis weapon which makes them force weapons and they have special rules around them but they stilll fall under that force weapon.


I would argue that according to the rule above you'd have to choose which weapon you would use, Nemesis Sword or NDF to determine which special rule to use. By the same rule, you wouldn't get the additional attack.


But my argument would be now that there are the following special close combat weapons under page 42.

Power weapons
Lighting claws
Force weapons
Poisoned weapons
Power fist
Thunder hammers
Rending weapons
Witch blades

Now under the Grey knight book these are both Force weapons correct? So now the question comes aren't these the same of the special weapon? I think an argument could be made for a extra attack now. It might not be that case but if you go by RAW its not very clear.


I don't get how you're even arguing this:
NORMAL CLOSE COMBAT WEAPONS
Weapons like chainswords, rifle butts, combat blades,
bayonets, etc., do not confer any particular bonus to
the model using them. Remember that, in close
combat, pistols count as normal close combat weapons
and so the Strength and AP of the pistol are ignored.

SPECIAL CLOSE COMBAT WEAPONS
These include more complex and powerful weapons
that enhance the wielder's combat skills and confer
bonuses, and sometimes penalties, to the models using
them. The most widely used are listed below:


Are either the NDF or the sword a normal close combat weapon? No? Good.
Are they the SAME special weapon? As in, do they give the EXACT same bonuses? No? Ok. You don't get a bonus attack.


Are they both Force weapons under the Nemesis rule? which that answer is a yes, isn't that the same of two special weapons under the category under special weapons.
   
Made in ca
Lethal Lhamean





somewhere in the webway

dont forget, that wielding a storm bolter and a nfw, does NOT count as dual weilding, since a storm bolter is NOT a pistol. the falchions provide the +1A as if you were otherwise dual weilding. simply becasue the model is posed with a storm bolter in a "pistol" style grip does not make it a pistol. its an 24" str 4 ap 5 assault 2 weapon. and therefore does not grant any additonal attacks in CC

Melevolence wrote:

On a side note: Your profile pic both makes me smile and terrified

 Savageconvoy wrote:
.. Crap your profile picture is disturbing....




 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

90% the same isn't enough. The Sword is a Nemesis Force Weapon that does things that a Nemesis Doom Fist does not. Therefore they are not the same, and don't trigger the "two of the same" clause.

The same logic you are trying to use applies to the following.
A Power Fist is a kind of Power Weapon (first sentence in the Power Fist rules), thus it can be combined with a Power Weapon to get a bonus attack even though it can't be combined with a normal CCW. The exception that you must use two fists is only listed as an exception to Normal + Special.
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




The weapons on the DK are DCCWs, which also happen to be NFWs.

If they are DCCWs, then they should allow +1A, regardless of any other effects or rules.

DCCWs are a completely different category of weapon not covered by the rules for weapons for normal models. There are lots of DCCWs that have special or extra rules; so the fact that the sword has additional rules over the fist should not negate the fact that they are both still DCCWs and able to provide a bonus for each other. The only thing that might make them also be considered Special Weapons is the fact that they are force weapons. Take the force weapon effect away, and they are still both DCCWs. Therefore, the only thing that might possibly cause them to be also considered SWs is the force weapon aspect. However, the force weapon portion of their rules are identical, so in affect, they are the same type of special weapon, i.e., force weapons. The extra rules and effects they have fall under the purview of DCCWs. Unless there is an argument to be made that a DCCW is an inherent special weapon, which there is simply no basis for in the rules...I, however, think DCCWs have to be treated as a different class of weapon all together; and if a weapon counts as a DCCW, regardless of any other rules it might have, then any other DCCW provides an extra attack, because that is what the BRB says.

Now, as far as making a utility argument that losing the attack somehow differentiates between the two weapon choices in a meaningful way...I can go for that. Although for the cost of the thing, I'd almost expect it to gain the +1A regardless...

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2011/06/15 05:43:18



GKs: overall W/L/D 16-5-4; tournaments 14-3-2 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

You are missing two very important points:

1. Only the Doomfist is a DCCW. The Greatsword and Daemonhammer are not.

2. "A Dreadnought Close Combat Weapon is a Power Weapon..." from pg. 73. Power Weapons are Special CCWs, so DCCWs are as well.

There is no general rule about mixing DCCWs for extra attacks. Each codex where this is an option outlines specifically what the options for extra attacks with DCCWs on Walkers are. And given the Dreadknight isn't a walker none of the rules for walkers would apply anyway.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Sheesh with people not reading that the Special CCW definition then states the following are *examples*, and not an exhaustive list.

Great Sword IS a special CCW, because it fits the definition of one as given on page 42.

Chrysis - I agree that *normally* page 42s restriction on 2 different special CCW (doomfist + hammer, for example) would kick in, HOWEVER:
- DCCW rules state that for every additional CCW (NOT DCCW, *just* CCW) you have you gain +1 attack
- this is more specific (and thus overrides) the rules on page 42:

Models with a DCCW and a different special CCW is more specific than Models with 2 different special CCW

So you still gain the attack. Making the hammer a nobrainer for 10 points.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:Sheesh with people not reading that the Special CCW definition then states the following are *examples*, and not an exhaustive list.

Great Sword IS a special CCW, because it fits the definition of one as given on page 42.

Chrysis - I agree that *normally* page 42s restriction on 2 different special CCW (doomfist + hammer, for example) would kick in, HOWEVER:
- DCCW rules state that for every additional CCW (NOT DCCW, *just* CCW) you have you gain +1 attack
- this is more specific (and thus overrides) the rules on page 42:

Models with a DCCW and a different special CCW is more specific than Models with 2 different special CCW

So you still gain the attack. Making the hammer a nobrainer for 10 points.


Actually, to clarify, the DCCW rule on pg 73 of the BRB states:

If a walker is armed with two or more close combat weapons, it gains one bonus attack

It specifically states walker, not model. The FAQ makes it clear that the DCCW does not consider the NDK to be a walker. Therefore there is a valid argument that the NDK loses the bonus attack for having different weapons.
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




MD

Well hopefully that will put the argument to bed that the only way to get the extra attack will be from equipping 2 doom fists onto the dreadknight.

And GW had the chance to include other options in the FAQ when they specifically stated that the Doomfist configuration gave +1 attack. If they wanted it to be played that other weapons also gave that bonus they would have included them.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/06/15 14:20:37


 
   
Made in gb
Huge Hierodule






Nottingham (yay!)

Q: If a model with a Nemsesis force halberd has had his Initiative reduced to a fixed number by an ability/special rule, do they still get the +2 Initiative from the Halberd? (p54)
A: No.




Oh, it is ON!

   
Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User




from chaos smurf faq;

Q.Can Ahriman use the same power two or even three times a turn?

A: Powers that are psychic shooting attacks can only be used once per turn. Gift of Chaos can be used multiple times, as it is not a PSA. The same is true for warptime, but of course there is no point in using this power more than once per turn.

New BRB faq

Q Can the same psychic power be cast more than once be cast more than once in a turn?

A No, unless the psychic power itself specifically allows it.


Consistent ah?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/15 18:13:40


Ooops I cuoldn´t even write my name correctly. 
   
Made in us
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos






Toledo, OH

Again, clarifying a general rule on way, but clarifying a specific rule another, is not inconsistent.

I mean, the general rule even allows for exceptions (if the power allows it) so it's not like having a caster that allows it is off the charts wierd.

   
Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User




Their motivation in the Chos smurf Faq is "as it is not a PSA"

Ooops I cuoldn´t even write my name correctly. 
   
Made in gb
Ancient Chaos Terminator






Surfing the Tervigon Wave...on a baby.

W40nerd wrote:from chaos smurf faq;

Q.Can Ahriman use the same power two or even three times a turn?

A: Powers that are psychic shooting attacks can only be used once per turn. Gift of Chaos can be used multiple times, as it is not a PSA. The same is true for warptime, but of course there is no point in using this power more than once per turn.

New BRB faq

Q Can the same psychic power be cast more than once be cast more than once in a turn?

A No, unless the psychic power itself specifically allows it.


Consistent ah?


Bless them. That's hilarity.


Now only a CSM player. 
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend






The sink.

Well there goes the only reason to take Ahriman.
   
Made in gb
Ancient Chaos Terminator






Surfing the Tervigon Wave...on a baby.

Unless you go by the old Adage of Codex trumps BRB.

I love the reasoning.

Can Ahriman case Type X psychic powers multiple times? No, because Type X powers can only be used once per turn. (Assumption here being powers of a specific type can only be used once per turn.)

Can the same psychic power be used more than once per turn (so, in theory can Type Y, Type Z etc.)?
No, unless the power specifically allows it.

So Type X, Y and Z can only be used once per turn unless specifying otherwise.

There are no such powers in the Chaos Codex.

Ahriman, you have just been shot down.


Now only a CSM player. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Noisy_Marine wrote:Well there goes the only reason to take Ahriman.

Ahriman's rule allowing him to cast multiple times will take precedence over a general rule that applies to all psykers, on account of 'Ahriman' being a more specific set than 'everybody'...

 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




nobody wrote:
Actually, to clarify, the DCCW rule on pg 73 of the BRB states:

If a walker is armed with two or more close combat weapons, it gains one bonus attack

It specifically states walker, not model. The FAQ makes it clear that the DCCW does not consider the NDK to be a walker. Therefore there is a valid argument that the NDK loses the bonus attack for having different weapons.


Fair enough...



GKs: overall W/L/D 16-5-4; tournaments 14-3-2 
   
Made in ie
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch





W40nerd wrote:from chaos smurf faq;

Q.Can Ahriman use the same power two or even three times a turn?

A: Powers that are psychic shooting attacks can only be used once per turn. Gift of Chaos can be used multiple times, as it is not a PSA. The same is true for warptime, but of course there is no point in using this power more than once per turn.

New BRB faq

Q Can the same psychic power be cast more than once be cast more than once in a turn?

A No, unless the psychic power itself specifically allows it.


Consistent ah?


Ahriman has a specific exception to the general rules.

DR:80+S++G+MB--IPw40k00#-D++++A+++/aWD100R+T(D)DM++++

Church: So it is a sword, It just happens to function like a key in very specific situations.
Caboose: Or it's a key all the time, and when you stick it in people, it unlocks their death.  
   
Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot






Platuan4th wrote:
spyguyyoda wrote: A Force weapon and a DCCW (which pg 73 states is a power weapon) are two different types of special ccw, and do not convey the extra attack.


Except that they DO. Read the Librarian Furioso Dreadnought entry, which states that they still receive the +1 attack for 2 CCWs despite having to choose which to use.

Albeit, whether GW will decide this ruling will affect Dreadknights is debatable.

I'm not sure if it's been said yet but walker's rules for CCW are different. It states any set CCW gives the bonus; not just a pair of the same.
   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Los Angeles, CA

Literally none of the DCCW rules apply to the doomfist on the Dreadknight as all of them start with "If a walker...". So there's absolutely no reason to label the weapon as a DCCW for the Dreadknight. If they would've mentioned it wasn't a DCCW for the dreaknight or if they had just given him two "nemesis force weapons" then it would've been 1000% less confusing.


http://www.3forint.com/ Back in Action! 
   
Made in us
Sinister Chaos Marine





Let me start by saying that, in my opinion, the GK codex was very poorly written and remains so even after this FAQ.

Falchions giving only +1A: Not a fan of this change. There is a thread on here somewhere that shows Falchions being slightly less competetive than most of the other NFW's when they granted +2A, and quite underpowered if they granted +1A. I don't think I'll see many GK players using Falchions now, and rightfully so.

Not allowing a shunt during a scout move: I was a proponent of allowing shunting during a scout move. I believe GW made the wrong call here.

Dreadknight hitting at S6: Honestly this one makes sense-- there was little to no reason to use the hammer before. I'm not at all impressed with how they worded the rule, however. They made a very confusing reference the the Dreadnought's CCW, but in the end, there was really no reason to even mention it.

Allowing Dreadnoughts to score via GS: An expected change, although it is at odds with the delicate balance between RAI and RAW.

DK a MC that moves like JI: I always thought this one was a no-brainer.

Not being able to cast the same Psychic Power more than once per turn: Glad it has been answered, although this heavily nerfs many otherwise very interesting strategies that I've seen GK players using.


Sorry to the GK players who were on the receiving end of these nerfs.
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Satellite of Love

+1A falchions are not a "change". Most of us understood they only gave +1A in the first place, just like any pair of "special" CC weapons like power fists or lightning claws. Once again, people trying to break a new Codex and break the game to the detriment of all of their opponents are disappointed and complaining about a "change" that never happened. If the rule had been read correctly and with reasonable expectations in the first place by those complaining, there wouldn't be any sense of disappointment for them now. And for the record if it matters, I have a Grey Knights army and I never believed the rules in my Grey Knights Codex stated or implied +2A falchions.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/06/16 03:49:24


"I hate movies where the men wear shorter skirts than the women." -- Mystery Science Theater 3000
"Elements of the past and the future combining to create something not quite as good as either." -- The Mighty Boosh
Check out Cinematic Titanic, the new movie riffing project from Joel Hodgson and the original cast of MST3K.
See my latest eBay auctions at this link.
"We are building a fighting force of extraordinary magnitude. You have our gratitude!" - Kentucky Fried Movie 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






BrassScorpion, most people were divided on the falchion issue. When you broke down the RAW, falchions pointed to 2 attacks, and when you looked at the fluff, falchions pointed to 2 attacks... but pointing towards one thing and GW's intentions can be different as we see in the FAQ. I agree its not so much a change as a horrible/unclear rule in the first place.

I am the one (or one of the ones) that did the math on Falchions that determined that even with +2 attacks they are not amazing. Worth taking for the points, yes, but game breaking, no. At +1 attack only there is no need to ever take them over either more grey knights or other weapons.
   
 
Forum Index » News & Rumors
Go to: