Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/29 20:17:56
Subject: question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
In your squads, doing the chainsword tango
|
Hi there guys, looking for some clarification in some situations-
1) If a ork nob bosspoles his unit, does the unfortunate boy who got hit by the pole get a armour save?
2) If a Chaos Lord gets hit by his own daemon weapon (aka rolls a 1), can his invulnerable save help him?
3) as far as blast/large blast/ordanance weapons go, for determining cover, do you assume the hit is coming from the centre of the template? AFAIK this is done for indirect fire, but what about direct fire? or is it determined from the firer as normal?
Cheers in advance
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/29 20:26:47
Subject: question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
1. Yes, you can take an armour save.
2. Yes, you make take an Inv save.
3. From the firer.
|
Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/29 20:27:00
Subject: question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Mighty Brass Scorpion of Khorne
|
1) yes, aslong as the nob has no power weapon
2) yes, they are allowed their Inv
3) i think, cover is only determined from the centre of the blast when a barrage weapon is used, all other cover saves are determined as normal.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/29 20:32:47
Subject: question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
1 - You can take an Armour or Invulnerable save. You may not take a cover save.
2 - Yes, they can take an Invulnerable save but not a cover save.
3- From the Firer. You only measure from the centre hole for barrage.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/29 20:33:05
Subject: question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
1. The wargear causes a wound on the unit, and doesn't say anything about saves. Therefore the regular save can be taken (and Feel No Pain, if there's a painboy involved, as there usually is with Nob mobs).
2. The description on p 93 specifically rules out armor saves, but does not forbid invulnerable saves.
3. Direct fire blast and ordnance weapons still determine cover from the perspective of the firer.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/29 20:33:37
Subject: question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Gorechild wrote:1) yes, as long as the nob has no power weapon
This is incorrect. You can take the Armour save anyway. The wound is caused by the Bosspole, not the Nob, so it doesn't use the Nobs weapons.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/29 20:33:56
Subject: question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
Gorechild wrote:1) yes, aslong as the nob has no power weapon
This has nothing to do with the boss pole. You are choosing to inflict a wound, the Nob is not inflicting the wound. There is no weapon profile or rules to the wound, so it is just a normal wound.
|
Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/29 20:53:37
Subject: Re:question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
In your squads, doing the chainsword tango
|
Excellent  thank you for that clarification
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/30 01:49:19
Subject: question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher
Castle Clarkenstein
|
InquisitorFabius wrote:Gorechild wrote:1) yes, aslong as the nob has no power weapon
This has nothing to do with the boss pole. You are choosing to inflict a wound, the Nob is not inflicting the wound. There is no weapon profile or rules to the wound, so it is just a normal wound.
And nobz can't get power weapons.)
|
....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/30 01:53:27
Subject: question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
mikhaila wrote:InquisitorFabius wrote:Gorechild wrote:1) yes, aslong as the nob has no power weapon
This has nothing to do with the boss pole. You are choosing to inflict a wound, the Nob is not inflicting the wound. There is no weapon profile or rules to the wound, so it is just a normal wound.
And nobz can't get power weapons.)
Technically they can. Power Klaws are Power Fists, which are Special Power Weapons
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/30 15:39:54
Subject: Re:question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Special this, special that, gotta love how technical you get GWAR
Also to add, when it comes to things like this, that inflict wounds, it will tell you in the description is the wound is un-savable. Example with the bosspole, it just says "you may choose to inflict a wound on the unit"
Since it doesnt say "you may choose to inflict a wound, that ignores armor saves" then you can take a save. Kind of the same with the demon weapon, it causes a wound that ignores armor saves ( dont have the codex at the moment so Im just winging its qoute) it will ignore the normal armor save, but INV are still usable.
Just something to think about
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/30 15:42:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/30 17:54:04
Subject: question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
Your info about a Daemon weapon was correct.
|
Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/30 17:58:59
Subject: question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Something to point out is that a Chaos Lord of Tzeentch armed with a Deathscreamer can roll 1D6 S4 AP3 shots in the shooting phase (from memory, may be slightly wrong) at BS5, and then +1D6 extra attacks in the assault phase. This puts him nearly on par with a Lord of Khorne armed with a Bloodfeeder, balancing the Lord of Khorne's opportunity to fire a Combi-Weapon or Plasma Pistol in the shooting phase with a Iv4+ against misfiles from his Death Screamer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/30 20:46:18
Subject: Re:question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
In your squads, doing the chainsword tango
|
oooo, don't have my dex on me (at work), but doesn't the rule say that after a DW rebels, the chaos lord can't use it for the rest of the turn? Maybe im wrong, but i swear i read something in there like that...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/30 20:58:56
Subject: question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Could be: I don't have my codex on me at the moment either.
Bueller? Bueller?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/30 20:59:40
Subject: Re:question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Jihallah wrote:oooo, don't have my dex on me (at work), but doesn't the rule say that after a DW rebels, the chaos lord can't use it for the rest of the turn? Maybe im wrong, but i swear i read something in there like that...
he rolls a 1 it bites him in the ass ... he can do nothing else that phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/30 21:57:55
Subject: Re:question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Tri wrote:Jihallah wrote:oooo, don't have my dex on me (at work), but doesn't the rule say that after a DW rebels, the chaos lord can't use it for the rest of the turn? Maybe im wrong, but i swear i read something in there like that...
he rolls a 1 it bites him in the ass ... he can do nothing else that phase.
Except be hit
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/31 03:26:46
Subject: question regarding saves in some specific situations
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Jihallah:
The rules for the Deathscreamer say: "If a 1 is rolled for the number of shots, no shots are fired and the wielder suffers a wound with no armour saves allowed."
Which really makes it better than the Bloodfeeder in terms of both damage and user-friendliness. They'd need to upgrade the Bloodfeeder to take a wound from either die, add either die to the number of attacks, and only lose all attacks on snake-eyes to really equal it.
|
|
 |
 |
|