Switch Theme:

Several Concerns of Eldar  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer





US

a few questions directly pertaining to eldar units:

1. Howling Banshees get a Pistol and a Power Weapon, the pistol adds an extra attack in close combat, is this a normal hit? or a power hit?

2. Banshees have Fleet, even with this rule, are they still prohibited from assaulting after running (during the shooting phase, after disembarking in the movement phase) out of a transport that moved in the same turn?

3. Adding one fire-prism's beam to another sacrifices the contributor's chance to fire, but makes the 2nd ones a twin-linked shot, will a third prism add a 3rd re-roll? or an extra attack?

4. can a third prism confer its shot to either of the two prisms that linked in the same turn?

5. Does twin-linked mean i can re-roll the scatter die (and 2d6 scatter) on a miss?

6. Asurmen has defend, an ability that reduces assulting model's attack by one ( to a minimum of 1) if he joins a squad with an exarch (who also has defend), is the effective penalty -2 attacks? this is based on the rule that states: that an independent character joined with an unit, is counted separate during an actual assult.


"There are five possible operations for any army. If you can fight, fight; if you cannot fight, defend; if you cannot defend, flee; if you cannot flee, surrender; if you cannot surrender, die. " Sima Yi
DS:90SGM+B--IPw40k09#+D++A+++/sWD-R+T(S)DM+
_██_
(ಠ_ృ) 
   
Made in gb
Never-Miss Nightwing Pilot





In the Webway.

1) Power weapon

2)No you can't assualt out of a vehicle, unless it's open topped, and no eldar vehicles are open topped so no.

3)Nope, a third combined means you can knock 2 off the AP and 2 added to the S, rather than only one for each if you had two beams. You can never re-roll a re-roll.

4)Yes, but if the other prisms that combined had fired then it can't, you have to combine them all at once.

5)No, but you can re-roll to wound with template weapons.

6)No, if a squad ends up having to of the same exarch power for this reason they aren't cumulative.

"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command yet you still dare oppose our will. "-Farseer Mirehn Biellann

Armies at 'The Stand-still Point':

Cap'n Waaagggh's warband (Fantasy Orcs) 2250pts. Waaagghhh! in full flow... W-D-L=10-3-3

Hive Fleet Leviathan Strand 1500pts. W-D-L=7-1-2 Nom.

Eldar armies of various sizes W-D-L 26-6-3

 
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer





US

thanks for the info, thats all i needed!

"There are five possible operations for any army. If you can fight, fight; if you cannot fight, defend; if you cannot defend, flee; if you cannot flee, surrender; if you cannot surrender, die. " Sima Yi
DS:90SGM+B--IPw40k09#+D++A+++/sWD-R+T(S)DM+
_██_
(ಠ_ృ) 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




5) Yes, you can re-roll scatter with twin linked blast weapons.
   
Made in nl
Emboldened Warlock





Groningen

6:
The double defend is still usefull; an IC is a seperate unit in CC. I think that if only Asurmen has defend, attacks made vs the DA unit still get their full number of attacks?
   
Made in us
Honored Helliarch on Hypex





Back in GA

2). HB's have fleet. This means if they choose to run in the shooting phase they can still assault in the assault phase. The Eldar have no open top vehicles so no, they can not assault out of vehicles.

5). Is a yes you can reroll but you have to reroll both the scatter die and the 2 d6. The blast is not a template weapon. The template reference is for the "flamer" template.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/07 15:15:36


I do what the voices in my wifes head say...
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Nivoglibina wrote:6:
The double defend is still usefull; an IC is a seperate unit in CC. I think that if only Asurmen has defend, attacks made vs the DA unit still get their full number of attacks?
Incorrect, The Defend rule specifically says "Enemy models directing their attacks towards the Exarch's squad lose one Attack in each assault phase", while you resolve attacks as though the IC is a separate unit, the squad he is attached to is still "his squad" as long as he is attached. If anything, you could argue that the IC is not "his squad" and so does not benefit from Defend while everyone else does, but I don't much care for that idea and think the RAW is questionable enough to not rely on it in this case.

With regards to the original question, No, Defend may not stack with itself, this is because "Defend" rules simply say the enemy models lose 1 attack, so once the enemy lose a single attack, both instances of Defend have been satisfied.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in nl
Emboldened Warlock





Groningen

Cool, thanks for the answer Drunkspleen. I'm happy I ended my statement with a question mark.
   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer





US

Fishboy wrote:2). HB's have fleet. This means if they choose to run in the shooting phase they can still assault in the assault phase. The Eldar have no open top vehicles so no, they can not assault out of vehicles....



So, if i move my WS however, then have the HB disembark, they cant move that movement phase. However i Run them in the shooting. . . because they have fleet, can they still assault, even though the transport carrying them moved during the same turn?

"There are five possible operations for any army. If you can fight, fight; if you cannot fight, defend; if you cannot defend, flee; if you cannot flee, surrender; if you cannot surrender, die. " Sima Yi
DS:90SGM+B--IPw40k09#+D++A+++/sWD-R+T(S)DM+
_██_
(ಠ_ృ) 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Anidem wrote:
Fishboy wrote:2). HB's have fleet. This means if they choose to run in the shooting phase they can still assault in the assault phase. The Eldar have no open top vehicles so no, they can not assault out of vehicles....



So, if i move my WS however, then have the HB disembark, they cant move that movement phase. However i Run them in the shooting. . . because they have fleet, can they still assault, even though the transport carrying them moved during the same turn?
No. Fleet allows you to assault after running, it doesn't let you assault after running AND disembarking from a moving transport. In other words, it removes one restriction, but not all restrictions.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

If you want to assault with HB out of a WS, then you have to disembark them BEFORE it moves (within 2"), move, run and assault (this you CAN do).

If the WS moves at all before they get out, they may not assault.

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





So, if i move my WS however, then have the HB disembark, they cant move that movement phase. However i Run them in the shooting. . . because they have fleet, can they still assault, even though the transport carrying them moved during the same turn?


Here is a list of some of the restrictions which prevent you from assaulting:

1) You ran in the shooting phase.
2) You disembarked from a moving vehicle.
3) You are out of assault range.

Fleet removes only the first restriction. By your logic if you can ALWAYS assault if you run there is nothing stopping you from running and then assault someone on the other side of the board 72" away, because you ran...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Mighty Brass Scorpion of Khorne






Dorset, UK

chromedog wrote:If you want to assault with HB out of a WS, then you have to disembark them BEFORE it moves (within 2"), move, run and assault (this you CAN do).

If the WS moves at all before they get out, they may not assault.


where is this written in the rule book? I remember reading it but can't find it again to prove to a friend I game with.

   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare






where is this written in the rule book? I remember reading it but can't find it again to prove to a friend I game with.


Transport section look at disembarking page 67 BRB.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






#3. Yes, contributing the prism to twin linking another prism denies contributor from firing it's own prism cannon, BUT it can fire it's underslung gun. Either the stock TL Catapult or the upgraded Shuriken Cannon. It may also fire at different target than the Prism it's contributing to. This is per FAQ update on GW's site.

2012 tourney record:
Eldar 18W-2L-5D Overall x4
Deathwing 21W-7L-6D Overall x4 Best General x1 Best Appearance x3, 19th place Adepticon 40k Champs.
Space Wolves 2W-0L-1D Best Painted x1

Armies:
1850+ pts. 3000+ pts. 2000+

40k bits go to my ebay... http://stores.shop.ebay.com/K-K-Gaming-and-Bits  
   
Made in gb
Mighty Brass Scorpion of Khorne






Dorset, UK

@Flingitnow...Thanks, don't know how I managed to miss that

   
Made in us
Sybarite Swinging an Agonizer





US

sorry for thread necro, but i have one final question


I tank shock something with my WS full of Banshee, i get the lower-end of the roll and said WS turns up wrecked/'sploded

Can any surviving banshees assault? (in the same turn of climbing out of that wreck)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/13 04:57:55


"There are five possible operations for any army. If you can fight, fight; if you cannot fight, defend; if you cannot defend, flee; if you cannot flee, surrender; if you cannot surrender, die. " Sima Yi
DS:90SGM+B--IPw40k09#+D++A+++/sWD-R+T(S)DM+
_██_
(ಠ_ృ) 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Anidem wrote:sorry for thread necro, but i have one final question


I tank shock something with my WS full of Banshee, i get the lower-end of the roll and said WS turns up wrecked/'sploded

Can any surviving banshees assault? (in the same turn of climbing out of that wreck)


Per BRB, can not assault if disembarking from a vehicle that moved, exception open topped vehicles. Furthermore, if vehicle moved flat out or greater and wrecked/exploded, embarked unit is lost.

2012 tourney record:
Eldar 18W-2L-5D Overall x4
Deathwing 21W-7L-6D Overall x4 Best General x1 Best Appearance x3, 19th place Adepticon 40k Champs.
Space Wolves 2W-0L-1D Best Painted x1

Armies:
1850+ pts. 3000+ pts. 2000+

40k bits go to my ebay... http://stores.shop.ebay.com/K-K-Gaming-and-Bits  
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






Also, 4 days is hardly Thread Necro. Just avoid the 2000 threads like some people do not.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: