| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 12:38:38
Subject: Fortuned Farseer Vs Perils of the Warp
|
 |
Mighty Brass Scorpion of Khorne
|
If a farseer with spirit stones has cast fortune on himself and then gets POTW when casting a 2nd power it can be negated by a ghosthelm, then if that fails you get your invulnerable save as I understand it. It says in the BRB that sucessfull Invulnerable saves have to be re-rolled, Fortune says all failed saves can be re-rolled, so what would happen in this series of events, it happened to me last night and i didnt know what to do....
Pass psychic test for fortune.
Roll psychic test for doom, roll's 1,1,5 (runes of witnessing mean i get 1,1 - POTW)
Gosthelm roll's a 2 - POTW not negated
Inv save rolls 5- saved
POTW rules state succesfull rol's must be re-roled, re roll= 3 - save failed
BRB says a dice can't ever be re rolled twice, so is fortune not allowed???
I understand its really unlikely to occur again any time soon, i just wanted some oppinons on what is the right thing to do?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 12:43:05
Subject: Fortuned Farseer Vs Perils of the Warp
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Whatever the first result is, you reroll it. And since you can never reroll a reoll, you're stuck with the second result.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 12:43:53
Subject: Fortuned Farseer Vs Perils of the Warp
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Anytime you have multiple rerolls like this (such as Fateweaver vs Null Zone) you roll the dice once, then pick it up regardless of what it is (since both cases require a reroll) and simply roll it again. Since you cannot roll it any more, that result sticks.
This is statistically equivalent to simply rolling the dice once.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 12:48:37
Subject: Fortuned Farseer Vs Perils of the Warp
|
 |
Mighty Brass Scorpion of Khorne
|
So they basically cancel each other out? You go by whatever the 1st roll for the Invulnerable save is?
Would that mean the save was made in my example, and the target unit is doomed?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 12:51:38
Subject: Fortuned Farseer Vs Perils of the Warp
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I you roll 1,1 for your power your psychic power still goes off even if you take a wound from a PotW attack.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 12:53:45
Subject: Fortuned Farseer Vs Perils of the Warp
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Well, they dont actualy cancel eachother out - you still should pick the dice up, whatever the initial result, and roll them again.
So when you rolled that 5, you were required to roll again - an dyou failed.
If you had failed your save you would have been required to roll again.
Now, ify ou wish you can play a *house rule* that you dont reroll - but absent such an agreement *before* you roll the dice you should pick up.
So no, you didnt pass.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 12:59:14
Subject: Fortuned Farseer Vs Perils of the Warp
|
 |
Mighty Brass Scorpion of Khorne
|
It seems a little odd having to roll a dice and pick it up and roll it again regardless of the result, but if thats the rules then I'll go by it  Thanks guys
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 12:59:19
Subject: Fortuned Farseer Vs Perils of the Warp
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Gorechild wrote:So they basically cancel each other out? You go by whatever the 1st roll for the Invulnerable save is?
Would that mean the save was made in my example, and the target unit is doomed?
No, that is exactly what you do NOT do.
You have to roll the dice, then re-roll it no matter what the result is. While Statistically, it is the same as canceling each other out, that is NOT what the rules do, and doing so will lead to arguments, so it is better to just play by the rules.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 13:27:47
Subject: Fortuned Farseer Vs Perils of the Warp
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Gorechild wrote:It seems a little odd having to roll a dice and pick it up and roll it again regardless of the result, but if thats the rules then I'll go by it  Thanks guys
It might be odd, but it is the easiest way to avoid arguments. Here, obviously, you had passed your save if you werent required to reroll - so there is a a clear advantage for you to argue for a houserule to say you dont. And vice versa - your opponent would want a houserule to not reroll if you had failed.
Which is why IF you want to houserule you must do it before the game, to avoid any advantage.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 13:36:00
Subject: Fortuned Farseer Vs Perils of the Warp
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
And if you had failed the first roll, you would obviously like to have a second attempt...................
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 15:59:45
Subject: Fortuned Farseer Vs Perils of the Warp
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
|
Or you could just say rerolls cancel so we accept the first roll. Long as you say it before you roll it's no biggie. Saves you all of 4 seconds in the, say, 1/20 games it comes up. You could then take all the time you save and at the end of the year take a 20 second nap. Bonus!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|