Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/16 13:37:20
Subject: Re:Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
Grey Templar wrote:But Abbadon doesn't have the MoT.
he has the Mark of Chaos Ascendent(which, according to the fluff, is the mark of all the gods)
it doesn't say that he has the MoT.
actaully it does
it doesn't say "he has mark of tzeench"
what it says is "because of mark of tzeench, his invulnerable is improved" therefore he must have mark of tzeench
|
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/16 13:40:31
Subject: Re:Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Implication means nothing,
it doesn't give him the MoT.
if the MoCA said, Abbadon has all 4 marks. then it would be true, but its not.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/16 13:44:41
Subject: Re:Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Grey Templar wrote:
if the MoCA said, Abbadon has all 4 marks. then it would be true, but its not.
Page 46 CSM, Mark of Chaos ascendant: "He bears a unique mark that combines all the gifts" And then it goes on to list specific effects of each mark for clarity.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/16 14:41:55
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
UNique mark /= MoT.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/16 23:33:07
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:UNique mark /= MoT.
but it has the same effect as MoT. Therefore if he didnt have an armor save it would do the same thing MoT does, give him a 5++
|
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 00:20:56
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
I'd say that by RAW it could very easily be argued that he loses it.
RAI is another issue: it seems odd that Abaddon himself would lose his invulnerable save, but a regular Chaos Lord would not, because they have a 5+ invulnerable save listed as part of their special rules, not from wargear. It doesn't make sense to me.
But of course, fluff =! rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 01:06:13
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Exergy wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:UNique mark /= MoT.
but it has the same effect as MoT. Therefore if he didnt have an armor save it would do the same thing MoT does, give him a 5++
it doesn't have the same effect.
MoT gives +1 to existing Invulns and a 5++ in the absense of an existing one.
MoCA just gives +1 to existing invuln.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 01:17:24
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Grey Templar wrote:Exergy wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:UNique mark /= MoT.
but it has the same effect as MoT. Therefore if he didnt have an armor save it would do the same thing MoT does, give him a 5++
it doesn't have the same effect.
MoT gives +1 to existing Invulns and a 5++ in the absense of an existing one.
MoCA just gives +1 to existing invuln.
It is even simpler than that; MoT gives a +1 to existing Invulnerable saves, OR a 5++ to models without an existing Invul; depending on to whom it was given.
Whether MoCA is rules-wise all Marks or not, does not matter, in this case it was given to a model with a pre-existing Invul. That invul was therefore increased by 1(by increased we mean of course the Numeric value was lowered); this is told to us by his rules. If said invul is removed, so too are the MoT(-like) benefits.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 01:28:42
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Mark of Chaos Ascendant:
"...Over the millenia Abaddon has melded the Marks of Chaos granted to him, and now bears a unique Mark that combines all of the gifts. Because of Mark of Tzeentch, the invulnerable save provided by his armour is increased to 4+. The other benefits are included in his profile..."
It's quite hard to interpret. "Because of Mark of Tzeentch, the inulnerable save provided by his armour is increased to 4+" Implies that he has the Mark of Tzeentch, for if he does not have it then he cannot get the increased save it provides, as the Mark of Chaos Ascendant does not specifically give it to him, it simply says that it is granted by the Mark of Tzeentch.
There is room to argue that he only has a 5+ Invul because the MoCA does not give him the increased save, instead it says that he has the Mark of Tzeentch which grants it; if you argue that he does not have the Mark of Tzeentch, then he only has a 5+ invul from the terminator at all times and the shot would remove this save.
It's a very difficult rule to work with.
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 02:55:15
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:
It is even simpler than that; MoT gives a +1 to existing Invulnerable saves, OR a 5++ to models without an existing Invul; depending on to whom it was given.
Whether MoCA is rules-wise all Marks or not, does not matter, in this case it was given to a model with a pre-existing Invul. That invul was therefore increased by 1(by increased we mean of course the Numeric value was lowered); this is told to us by his rules. If said invul is removed, so too are the MoT(-like) benefits.
typically you give marks to characters before you give them other wargear or at the very least at the same time unless the MoT was provided by an Icon.
actually thinking of an icon is helpful. Assuming Icons effected ICs.
if Abadon was in a unit with an Icon of Tzeench would he have a 3++ or a 4++. If MotA does not have MoT inside it, he has a 3++ if MotA does have MoT then he has a 4++. If a regular terminator in a unit with an Icon of Tzeench is shot by this kind of round then he would go from a 4++ to a 5++.
|
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 03:30:50
Subject: Re:Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
it would seem to be cumulative with an Icon.
assuming he actually doesn't have the MoT.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 03:32:26
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Icons Very Specifically deny the ability to ICs that join the unit. Well, all excepting Chaos Glory. Also A termie with the Icon of Tzneetch would lose all invulnerables, just like any other model with multiple invul saves from different wargear(The Sheild breaker round removes all invul saves not just any given 1) The real Question is whether Marks of Chaos are Wargear or just some sort of upgrade to CSM ICs; A Lord in termie Armor with the MoT has 2 4++ saves, 1 Natural(then lowered via mark), and 1 from wargear(the Termie armor). Icons are Clearly Wargear, but basic marks... I am not entirely Sure. The Shieldbreaker round would remove a Regular termie lord+MoT's Termie armor granted 4++, but will it remove the quasi-natural 4++ from just the Mark(There is no doubt whatsoever that he would retain the natural 5++, even if the Bonus from the mark gets removed)?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/04/17 03:41:16
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 05:15:50
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Normal marks are wargear, however the mark of the chaos ascendant is a special rule that seeming provides the same effects as the marks combined into a simple special rule.
If the mark of chaos ascendant was listed as wargear, then no saves at all from vindicare, but since it's a special rule...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 07:11:14
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Bush? No, Eldar Ranger
stockton, ca aka Da Hood
|
Marks of chaos, not icons, are listed under special rules for models that carry them base in their profile. This leads to marks being special rules, not wargear. Icons are undoubtedly wargear as of right now..
A lord, either in termie armor or in base power armor will always have a 4++ with a mark of tzeentch.
I would say abaddon should have a 5+, given to him by his mark of tzeentch that his entry states he has the benefits of.
|
Eldar 8+ years/CSM 4+ years
If your around the northern CA area, check out our gaming group, Central California Commanders on Facebook for dates of tournaments and events! And we're always looking for new commanders!
BAO2012-4/3/0
GoldenThroneGT2012-4/2/0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 07:26:23
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Calculating Commissar
|
I think he loses the save. MoCA seems to assume that he will always have an invul, so it says that his invul is increased. Remove said invul, nothing to increase, so nothing happens.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 09:59:38
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
He loses the save. He normally has an Inv, therefore ALL MoCA does is improve the save. When the shieldbreaker removes the terminator armour inv save you lose the 5++, and therefore lose the inv save.
There is NO WAY for MoCA to give abaddon a 5++ . None.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 13:21:20
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:He loses the save. He normally has an Inv, therefore ALL MoCA does is improve the save. When the shieldbreaker removes the terminator armour inv save you lose the 5++, and therefore lose the inv save.
There is NO WAY for MoCA to give abaddon a 5++ . None.
yes there is, MoCA has MoT, which will give a model without an invunerable save a 5++
|
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 13:46:05
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
Exergy wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:He loses the save. He normally has an Inv, therefore ALL MoCA does is improve the save. When the shieldbreaker removes the terminator armour inv save you lose the 5++, and therefore lose the inv save.
There is NO WAY for MoCA to give abaddon a 5++ . None.
yes there is, MoCA has MoT, which will give a model without an invunerable save a 5++
But he has an invulnerable save, which means all it does is increase it by 1. Besides, MoCA=/= MoT, as repeatedly pointed out.
|
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 14:14:04
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Exergy wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:He loses the save. He normally has an Inv, therefore ALL MoCA does is improve the save. When the shieldbreaker removes the terminator armour inv save you lose the 5++, and therefore lose the inv save.
There is NO WAY for MoCA to give abaddon a 5++ . None.
yes there is, MoCA has MoT, which will give a model without an invunerable save a 5++
Assuming that he does has all the effects of MoT, he would not gain the 5++ as that bonus is only given to models who do not "normally have an invuln". Under normal circumstances Abaddon has an Invuln, so the only benefit he could gain from the MoT is to increase it by 1. MoT does not give the 5++ to any model with out invuln's, only to models that under normal circumstances do not have one.
This of course assumes MotA does include MoT, which only does in terms of fluff, not rules. As a special Rule MotA increases his armour's invuln to 4++ and gives cause for the raise in stats in his profile.
RAW either way, all Abaddon would get is his armour invuln increased to 4++, which is then lost by Shield-breaker.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 15:03:49
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought
Potters Bar, UK
|
AlmightyWalrus wrote:Exergy wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:He loses the save. He normally has an Inv, therefore ALL MoCA does is improve the save. When the shieldbreaker removes the terminator armour inv save you lose the 5++, and therefore lose the inv save.
There is NO WAY for MoCA to give abaddon a 5++ . None.
yes there is, MoCA has MoT, which will give a model without an invunerable save a 5++
But he has an invulnerable save, which means all it does is increase it by 1. Besides, MoCA=/= MoT, as repeatedly pointed out.
This.
MoT=/= MoCA,
and even if it was, MoT has improved his inv save by one, so you then cannot use the 5++ because he did have an inv before, he just doesnt after (and it would be stripped by the shield breaker round anyway)
|
inmygravenimage wrote:Have courage, faith and beer, my friend - it will be done!
MeanGreenStompa wrote:Anonymity breeds aggression.
Chowderhead wrote:Just hit the "Triangle of Friendship", as I call it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 15:06:46
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Besides, MoCA=/=MoT, as repeatedly pointed out.
I'm going to repeat my post since it addressed this:
It's quite hard to interpret. "Because of Mark of Tzeentch, the inulnerable save provided by his armour is increased to 4+" Implies that he has the Mark of Tzeentch, for if he does not have it then he cannot get the increased save it provides, as the Mark of Chaos Ascendant does not specifically give it to him, it simply says that it is granted by the Mark of Tzeentch.
There is room to argue that he only has a 5+ Invul because the MoCA does not give him the increased save, instead it says that he has the Mark of Tzeentch which grants it; if you argue that he does not have the Mark of Tzeentch, then he only has a 5+ invul from the terminator at all times and the shot would remove this save.
Then paraphrase to:
It states that because of MoT, he has an increased invul. If he does not have MoT, then he would not have an increased invul as MoCA does not specifically give it to him, it states that it is given by MoT.
Either he has MoT, or he does not have MoT and will never actually have the 4+ invul stated by the MoCA because the MoCA isn't the rule giving it to him.
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 15:09:48
Subject: Re:Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
even IF the MoCA gives him the true MoT, he won't have an invuln after the vindicare shoots him.
this is because the effect of the MoT is applied at the beginning of the game. a model with an Invuln of its own has it increased by +1 or, if it has none at the time of the games beginning, a 5++. in Abaddon's case it becomes a 4+.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 15:19:01
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Ok after reading it over and over again, the MoCA grants the gifts of the 4 marks. It explains their effects (as standard) afterwards. This means the MoCA is just a special rule, no wargear involved (no extra marks inside)
Now because MoT does what it does, at what point do we determine if a model normally doesn't have an invun? At the start of the game? If for the rest of the game they don't? We don't really know.
Furthermore the MoT is applied all game long, not just a single effect in the beginning, otherwise it would cease to effect the model.
This just needs either more FAQ or people with vindicare assassins to stop trying to get around a 5+ invun provided by special rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 15:55:08
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
even IF the MoCA gives him the true MoT, he won't have an invuln after the vindicare shoots him.
I'm not saying it will, i'm just arguing that he must have it to get the 4+ invul stated by the MoCA in the first place, because if he doesn't have it then he will only ever have a 5+ invul due to the MoCA not granting it to him.
It adds nothing else to him but i'm trying in part to settle the "does he or doesn't he have MoT?" issue.
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 17:43:55
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
Avatar 720 wrote:even IF the MoCA gives him the true MoT, he won't have an invuln after the vindicare shoots him.
I'm not saying it will, i'm just arguing that he must have it to get the 4+ invul stated by the MoCA in the first place, because if he doesn't have it then he will only ever have a 5+ invul due to the MoCA not granting it to him.
It adds nothing else to him but i'm trying in part to settle the "does he or doesn't he have MoT?" issue.
he has MoT, MoCA gives him all 4 marks plus EW
|
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 17:49:52
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Exergy wrote:Avatar 720 wrote:even IF the MoCA gives him the true MoT, he won't have an invuln after the vindicare shoots him.
I'm not saying it will, i'm just arguing that he must have it to get the 4+ invul stated by the MoCA in the first place, because if he doesn't have it then he will only ever have a 5+ invul due to the MoCA not granting it to him.
It adds nothing else to him but i'm trying in part to settle the "does he or doesn't he have MoT?" issue.
he has MoT, MoCA gives him all 4 marks plus EW
I know? I've been arguing that he has MoT?
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 19:28:16
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Exegy - no, he does NOT have all 4 marks. He has, for the last time, MoCA, which *in fluff* is a bit like all 4, but in actuality isnt. This is one reason he doesnt have a poisoned, ID causing weapon rolling 2D6 additional attacks which also shoot in the shooting phase.
He does not have MoT. He has MoCA, which improves his inv save by 1. WHen the vindicare hits and wounds, this save is entirely removed and is not replaced by a 5++, as he normally has an inv save.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 19:36:56
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Sinister Chaos Marine
|
It's fully possible that they intended MoCA to differ from MoT, and wrote the rules differently as such. It makes sense that, even if he has all of the marks, melding them into one wouldn't change or diminish their original properties-- the marks symbolize very contradictory forces when compared to eachother.
IMO, he loses his saves. Even Abby can't have his cake and eat it too!
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/04/17 19:39:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 19:37:11
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Whether MoCA gives the model MoT, or just functions with the same rules; He has an Invul Save per the Termie armor(not an inherent 5++ as with every other Chaos Lord); therefor since he has the Mark(granting the Same ability as MoT) and has an invul; his invul is increased, it will never give him the no-invul to start benefit of a flat 5++.
Abaddon wounded with a Shield breaker will be left with no invul save at all.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/04/17 19:39:33
Subject: Vindicare Vs. Abaddon
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Exegy - no, he does NOT have all 4 marks. He has, for the last time, MoCA, which *in fluff* is a bit like all 4, but in actuality isnt. This is one reason he doesnt have a poisoned, ID causing weapon rolling 2D6 additional attacks which also shoot in the shooting phase.
He does not have MoT. He has MoCA, which improves his inv save by 1. WHen the vindicare hits and wounds, this save is entirely removed and is not replaced by a 5++, as he normally has an inv save.
his daemon weapon is different from other daemon weapons. I dont see how he doesnt have MoT, when it says "Because he has MoT his save is 1 better to 4++" Automatically Appended Next Post: another thing
the vindy's shield breaker removes ++ saves from ITEMS of wargear, not just wargear. A mark my be wargear, but is it an item?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/17 19:43:51
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
|