Switch Theme:

Dual Pistol, Dual Witchfire Shooting  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA



 liturgies of blood wrote:
Lungpickle wrote:
tHE RULE TO USE A SECOND WITCHFIRE ALLOWS YOU BECAUSE YOU CAN FIRE TWO PISTOLS.

Citation please?


Any models with two pistols can fire both in the Shooting phase.


he can manifest only
one witchfire power - regardless of its subtype (see below).
However, if he can shoot more than one ranged weapon per
turn, he can use a different witchfire power in place of each
(assuming he has enough Warp Charge).


Can he fire more than 1 ranged weapon?
Yes
That's the requirement which the model has met.

   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

But Gunslinger isn't a rule the model has, it's a property of the pistols. When not shooting the pistols, the model has no capability to shoot two weapons.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in ca
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes




Virginia

It does not matter if it is a property of the pistols, he still has the ability to fire two weapons, which is the only requirement for him to shoot two witchfires
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

He only has that property WHEN shooting two pistols. When he's not, he doesn't.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

thisisnotpancho wrote:
It does not matter if it is a property of the pistols, he still has the ability to fire two weapons, which is the only requirement for him to shoot two witchfires

An ability the model does not have if using anything other than pistols.
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




He has a permission to fire two pistols. Pistols are weapons. Therefore he meets the requirement of being able to shoot two witchfires.

Lets say a psycher has two pistols and a bolter. He can choose to shoot:

-one pistol and one witchfire shot
-two pistol shots
-two witchfire shots
-one bolter shot
-one witchfireshot

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/25 03:32:05


 
   
Made in nz
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine





In The depths of a Tomb World, placing demo charges.

 Mannahnin wrote:
He only has that property WHEN shooting two pistols. When he's not, he doesn't.

I think Mannahnin explains it pretty clearly, nowhere in the Gunslinger entry does it give permission for him to fire anything else twice.

]
 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot





Sparta, Ohio

Polecat wrote:
He has a permission to fire two pistols. Pistols are weapons. Therefore he meets the requirement of being able to shoot two witchfires.

Lets say a psycher has two pistols and a bolter. He can choose to shoot:

-one pistol and one witchfire shot <------- I disagree with this .... if he fores one pistol he can fire ONLY another pistol. That is the permission given via gunslinger
-two pistol shots<-------- Agreed
-two witchfire shots<--------- Disagree not accessible via Gunslinger rule
-one bolter shot<------- Agree
-one witchfireshot<------- Agree


I have to disagree with the Gunslinger rule allowing you to fire Psyker powers 2 times in one round as the rule only allows it to be pistols.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/25 03:59:20


Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!)  
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut





However, if he can shoot more than one ranged weapon per
turn, he can use a different witchfire power in place of each


Can you shoot two pistols per turn?
Yes.

Are pistols weapons?
Yes.


You dont have to fire the pistols to be able to fire both of them. You only need the permission to fire them.

You are given permission to fire two weapons (pistols) per turn, so now you can "use a different witchfire power in place of each", as quoted.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





You're given permission to fire two weapons per turn as long as they're both pistols.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes




Virginia

rigeld2 wrote:
You're given permission to fire two weapons per turn as long as they're both pistols.


Yes, but he can use witchfire in place of the pistols, exactly as if he were firing two
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Except that statement isn't supported by rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/25 04:44:55


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
You're given permission to fire two weapons per turn as long as they're both pistols.


The actual rule is

Any models with two pistols can fire both in the Shooting phase.
This follows the normal rules for shooting.


You seem to suggest that those pistol shots need to be the actual pistol shots and that they can not be replaced with witchfire shots. There is no such restriction in the rules.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Polecat wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
You're given permission to fire two weapons per turn as long as they're both pistols.


The actual rule is

Any models with two pistols can fire both in the Shooting phase.
This follows the normal rules for shooting.


You seem to suggest that those pistol shots need to be the actual pistol shots and that they can not be replaced with witchfire shots. There is no such restriction in the rules.

It can fire both.
Both what?
Pistols.
If you're firing a whitchfire power, are you firing a pistol?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:

If you're firing a whitchfire power, are you firing a pistol?


Irrelevant question.

The permission to fire two pistols does not disappear when you replace the shots from the pistols for witchfire shots.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Polecat wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

If you're firing a whitchfire power, are you firing a pistol?


Irrelevant question.

The permission to fire two pistols does not disappear when you replace the shots from the pistols for witchfire shots.

Except it does. You're given permission to fire two pistols.
If you're not firing two pistols, you don't have two shooting attacks.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:

Except it does. You're given permission to fire two pistols.
If you're not firing two pistols, you don't have two shooting attacks.


You are given permission to fire two weapons that just happen to be pistols.

Then you are given permission to fire a witchfire shot in place of any weapon shot.


Nowhere in the gunslinger rule does it say that those pistol shots can not be replaced with another shots. If you are given permission to replace them, then you can replace them.
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

if the model has the potential to shoot 2 weapons then he can witchfire twice if he can shoot both pistols (he can) then he can shoot 2 witchfire

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Just curious, what ML 2 psyker has 2 pistols ?
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Fragile wrote:
Just curious, what ML 2 psyker has 2 pistols ?


Chaos IIRC, think they can trade their Sword for a plasma pistol Pew Pew

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Polecat wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

Except it does. You're given permission to fire two pistols.
If you're not firing two pistols, you don't have two shooting attacks.


You are given permission to fire two weapons that just happen to be pistols.

Then you are given permission to fire a witchfire shot in place of any weapon shot.


Nowhere in the gunslinger rule does it say that those pistol shots can not be replaced with another shots. If you are given permission to replace them, then you can replace them.

It gives you permission to fire both.
Both what? Pistols.

If you aren't firing a pistol, you cannot fire both.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:

It gives you permission to fire both.
Both what? Pistols.

If you aren't firing a pistol, you cannot fire both.


You are given permission to fire both pistols, and then you choose to replace those shots with witchfire.

No rules are broken, because you are given permission to replace the shots with witchfire.
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

it says you CAN fire it does not say you must fire both so he can use 2 witchfire powers because he CAN shoot 2 different weapons

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

Polecat wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

It gives you permission to fire both.
Both what? Pistols.

If you aren't firing a pistol, you cannot fire both.


You are given permission to fire both pistols, and then you choose to replace those shots with witchfire.

No rules are broken, because you are given permission to replace the shots with witchfire.


It seems to me that the rules ARE broken, because there is an assumption that you choose the weapon you're going to fire, then you gain all the associated permissions, then you suddenly decide to replace it with another weapon while retaining the initial permissions. Think of it this way:

"I'm firing two witchfire powers."
"You can't."
"Well, I can because I'm actually firing two pistols, but then replacing the two pistols with a witchfire power each."
"But you get to keep the permission to fire both guns despite not firing any guns at all?"

I can't think of a response that lies within the rules.
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




 Unit1126PLL wrote:
Polecat wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

It gives you permission to fire both.
Both what? Pistols.

If you aren't firing a pistol, you cannot fire both.


You are given permission to fire both pistols, and then you choose to replace those shots with witchfire.

No rules are broken, because you are given permission to replace the shots with witchfire.


It seems to me that the rules ARE broken, because there is an assumption that you choose the weapon you're going to fire, then you gain all the associated permissions, then you suddenly decide to replace it with another weapon while retaining the initial permissions. Think of it this way:

"I'm firing two witchfire powers."
"You can't."
"Well, I can because I'm actually firing two pistols, but then replacing the two pistols with a witchfire power each."
"But you get to keep the permission to fire both guns despite not firing any guns at all?"

I can't think of a response that lies within the rules.



If that wasnt how it worked, tben NOBODY could use psychic powers.
Please refer to page 12, the rules for shooting. Now please show me the step where you are required to pick a weapon and declare that you are using it.

Hint, hint.... There isnt one.

So that wierd occurence you desribed is ACTUALLY how all psychic powers must work in an order of effect sense.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

I can the permission isn't for two weapons, it specifies pistols.




Automatically Appended Next Post:
It's akin to claiming the +1 attack for a pistol when armed with a specialist weapon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/25 12:08:47


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Polecat wrote:

However, if he can shoot more than one ranged weapon per
turn, he can use a different witchfire power in place of each


Can you shoot two pistols per turn?
Yes.

Are pistols weapons?
Yes.


You dont have to fire the pistols to be able to fire both of them. You only need the permission to fire them.

You are given permission to fire two weapons (pistols) per turn, so now you can "use a different witchfire power in place of each", as quoted.

You are given permission to fire two weapons of a very specific type (pistols). You're trying to change that very specific permission into a general permission. You can't do that. Its like saying that by being allowed to drive one direction on a one-way street allows you to drive both ways. That is not the case.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




 Unit1126PLL wrote:

"But you get to keep the permission to fire both guns despite not firing any guns at all?"



The permission is right here: "Any models with two pistols can fire both in the Shooting phase".

It does not go away. You have the permission as long as you have two pistols. You dont need to fire the pistols to be able to fire both of them. You only need to have them to be able to fire them.

Then you have the permission to replace them with witchfire shots.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Polecat wrote:
 Unit1126PLL wrote:

"But you get to keep the permission to fire both guns despite not firing any guns at all?"



The permission is right here: "Any models with two pistols can fire both in the Shooting phase".

It does not go away. You have the permission as long as you have two pistols. You dont need to fire the pistols to be able to fire both of them. You only need to have them to be able to fire them.

Then you have the permission to replace them with witchfire shots.

So you're agreeing that if I had two nonpistol weapons, you could fire both of those?

You're reading it wrong. The rule requires firing both pistols. If you don't fire both pistols but make 2 shooting attacks instead, you're not firing both pistols.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Except once again, you're ignoring the very specific requirements that Gunslinger only applies to pistols. The rule does go away if you're not firing two pistols just like the double strength goes away if a model equipped with a power fist decides to use a different weapon in close combat.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/25 14:01:05


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: