| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 12:07:18
Subject: Power fist question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
Elkton, MD
|
I recently started playing 40K and in my first match an ork attacked my monolith with a power klaw. Afterwards I went to my 5th ed rule book but only found one short little paragraph on power fists(klaw). It did say what it does for the users strength but I'm not sure how that translates into better close combat attacks in general. My other question is this: does the Living Metal rule negate power weapons? In the codex it says the attacker uses the unaugmented strength of the model. Therefore if the only thing the power fist does is augment the models strength wouldn't the Living Metal of my Monolith negate the strength upgrade? like I said - only played one match so far so I'm going back over the match seeing where I may not have taken what few advantages the Necrons have. Thanx!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 12:13:35
Subject: Power fist question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Powerfists are power weapons in that they negate armor saves. They also double the strength of the user but reduce his initiative to 1.
Living metal does not negate the strength bonus from the fist, it pretty clearly in the necron codex states something along the lines of, the attacker doesnt get any extra dice when rolling for armor pen, so if they hit you with a melta weapon, they only get 1D6 for armor penetration.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 12:20:41
Subject: Re:Power fist question
|
 |
Monstrous Master Moulder
Sacramento, CA
|
Necron FAQ, powerfists work against living metal.
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1180146_Necrons_FAQ_2004-08_5th_Edition.pdf
If I were to guess at a rules justification it would be that what matters for Living Metal purposes is the strength of the weapon, which in this case is calculated by doubling the strength characteristic of the model holding it. The model might be strength 4, but his powerfist is strength 8.
|
Agitator noster fulminis percussus est |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 12:48:45
Subject: Power fist question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
Elkton, MD
|
Catyrpelius wrote:Powerfists are power weapons in that they negate armor saves. They also double the strength of the user but reduce his initiative to 1.
Living metal does not negate the strength bonus from the fist, it pretty clearly in the necron codex states something along the lines of, the attacker doesnt get any extra dice when rolling for armor pen, so if they hit you with a melta weapon, they only get 1D6 for armor penetration.
I dunno. I'm looking at page 21 of the Necron codex in the last sentence of the Living Metal rule it says a weapon will use it's normal strength no matter what. I'm paraphrasing here to avoid dishing out any rules. But you are right in that the FAQ says you can use a power fist on a monolith - maybe without the added strength?
Also, I looked at the FAQ and I think they have a typo - or I'm misunderstanding something. It says "Q: Can an AP1 hit from the particle whip..." I looked in the codex and the particle whip is listed as an AP3.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/08/05 12:49:42
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 14:26:19
Subject: Power fist question
|
 |
Mighty Brass Scorpion of Khorne
|
You answered this question yourself in the last sentence of the Living Metal rule it says a weapon will use it's normal strength It uses the WEAPONS strength, not the strength of the model using the weapon. As strength of a Klaw is double that of the model using it, so you use S8. If the Nob charged the +1 S bonus from furious charge would not count, as that is a bonus to the models strength. I'm unsure about the particle whip, it may well be a typo. we all know how well GW's proof reading can be.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/08/05 14:27:18
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 14:59:18
Subject: Re:Power fist question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
Elkton, MD
|
Okdoke. I guess I need to spend more time understanding power weapons. Thanx!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/08/05 15:08:32
Subject: Re:Power fist question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The particle whip is an AP3 large blast weapon but has a special rule that any model under the center of the marker takes an AP1 hit. There is no misprint.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|